HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 94%

Safety 87%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.63USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked.
Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split.
If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people)
You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival.
One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 85%

Location 94%

Safety 87%

Staff 85%

Value 85%

Showing 171-61 of 61 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel is really close to Kings Cross station and really easy to find. The bathroom facilities were really clean and the luggage storage was very handy!

Disliked: The room was disappointing and was not like the rest of the hostel. It was very small and completely plain and not decorated like everywhere else (and the rooms pictured on the website)The bed linen was clean but there were some stains on it that obviously didn't come out with washing - they should have just been replaced.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Danielle,
we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Clink261 and found our facilities clean and confortable.
As for the bed linen, we provide guests with bedsheets upon arrival; should any of them be stained or not cleaned properly by the external company we hire for that, we can change them immediately if asked at the front desk, which is open 24/7. looking forward to seeing you soon at Clink261, many thanks for taking time writing this review.

Sincerely,

Clink261 Staff

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Only thing likable is location

Disliked: Rooms were absolutely tiny. Paid for a 6 bed dorm and the room couldn't have been more than 12' x 8'. Only enough room for the beds. Only 2 outlets in the room. Booked for a week and only stayed one night.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Clink261.
Despite the size of the room you booked being small, for any complaints or needs that you could have had we have a 24 hour reception available at your convenience.
Should you choose us for another stay in London, we suggest you may try one of our bigger dormitories or private rooms.
Many thanks for taking time writing this review.

Sincerely,

Clink261 Reception Staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: excellent kitchen and tv room

Disliked: bed without curtains

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Vyacheslav,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Clink261.
It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished common areas.
we will keep in mind your suggestion for bed curtains in bed, should another refurbishment take place in the future.
Many thanks for the time you spent writing this review.

Faithfully,

Clink261 Staff

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Liked: design, breakfast

Disliked: no mirrors in showers, no place there to get dressed, dry hair etc.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,
thank you for taking time writing your feedback for Clink261.
Any comment or suggestion is always very welcome, in order to improve our facilities and the level of service offered.
Hoping you will choose us for another stay in London,

Best Regards,
Clink261 Staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great hostel. Will definitely return when I'm next in London.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the nice review and see you soon!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: A great hostel for that price. Very friendly staff, and nice common area.

Disliked: Very small rooms (at least the one we got).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Erik,
it is really a pleasure to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us.
we are very glad that you found our common areas efficient, and appreciated the service offered by our reception and housekeeping staff, always available for any needs our guests might have.
Hoping to see you again in Clink261,

Sincerely,

Clink261 Staff.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Common room, kitchen, location

Disliked: Bathrooms were not too clean, no individuals lights on each bed

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time writing this feedback.
we are pleased that you overall appreciated our facilities, service and location.
as far as our toilets and showers are concerned, our housekeeping staff do a great job in order to keep them clean and tidy, considering they are shared amongst all of our guests.
we hope to see you again in the future for another stay at Clink261,

Faithfully yours,

Clink261 Staff.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff are genuine and helpful. The kitchen is fully equipped and huge. The tv room is cosie and a good place to relax and meet people if u want to.

Disliked: No free wifi, Fake fire place, a real one would be better. A snoking area is sort of there but u are not allowed to use it. A tad strange. But hanging out front to smoke was ok by me, just worried for the non.smokers having to walk thru it daily. Would be better to be more respectful.to both smokers and the non smokers and provide another are. REALLY need mirrors in female toilet and shower.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kirsten,
thank you very much for your feedback and the time taken for this review.
our staff is delighted to hear you appreciated their service and our facilities, and we do take in consideration every comment for further improvement.
as for the smoking area, in the UK is strictly forbidden to smoke in public places, reason why smokers have to go outside Clink261, since we do not have an area for that purpose.
hoping to see you soon,
Best Regards,

Clink261 Staff

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Proximity to Kings Cross/St Pancras is very convenient. Fairly clean, and free breakfast is good. Swipe card access is handy.

Disliked: The beds are too short. I'm not 5'11" and both my head and feet were hard pressed against the ends.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Stuart,
thank you very much for the nice review and the time spent writing it.
We do appreciate every suggestions made to optimize our hostel, and are glad you found our facilities useful and practical.

Hoping to see you soon,

Sincerely,

Clink261 Staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free breakfast in the basement

Disliked: Nothing bad to say really

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kirsty,
we are very thankful for your review.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our free continental breakfast, served every morning in the hostel.
Looking forward for to seeing you again in Clink261,

Kind Regards,

Clink261 Staff

Check Availability