HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 73%

Location 84%

Safety 77%

Staff 76%

Value 80%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free city tour
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note:
●Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
●If the name on your booking is different to the name on the card used to the confirm the booking, the hostel may request a copy of your ID or card for legal reasons.
● Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room from 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for guest use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
● Note that all dorms are mixed unless a girls’ dorm is booked.
● Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
● Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
● When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, the hostel cannot guarantee that guests travelling together will be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms or whole dorms if guests want to ensure they're together.
● For stag/hen parties, please contact us directly. Clink reserves the right to deny entry to anyone who has booked online and is part of such a group.
● If you wish to cancel or amend your reservation to receive a full refund you will need to notify us by email
– For the fully flexible rates: 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 48 hours before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– For the semi flexible rates: 14 days in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of 29th, 30th and 31st of December). If you notify us any less than 14 days before your arrival date, or in case of a no-show, you will not be entitled to a refund.
– Non-refundable rates: If cancelled, modified, or in case of a no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.
– If you arrive a day or more late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.

● In the event of Force Majeure (governmental action; fire; flood; insurrection; earthquake; power failure; riot; explosion; embargo, transportation interruption of any kind; terrorist attack; acts of God…) affecting your booking, the company reserves the right to receive any outstanding payments in connection to your confirmed booking.
● A great-value breakfast is available for £2.

Groups (+15 people)
● We accept groups from age 12+.
● You will be asked to pay a 20% non-refundable deposit a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 4 weeks before arrival.
● One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
● If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
● If you do not inform us by email when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 73%

Location 84%

Safety 77%

Staff 76%

Value 80%

Showing 171-180 of 222 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Top staff, flexible and very reasonable. The center location can't be beat!

Disliked: all good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,
thank you for taking time writing your feedback for Clink261.
We highly appreciate your comments regarding our staff and central location.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hostel,
Best regards,

Clink261 Staff

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very friendly and chilled atmosphere. staff was helpful, the place was clean, rooms big enough for how many beds there were. definitely the best hostel i've stayed in so far!

Disliked: though the windows dont shut and there was no heat onn, so it was cold. and if you arent used to it, the sound of the busy street below is very noisy at night. also, you had to pay for everything, 3 for a towel, rates for wifi, etc.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
many thanks for leaving your feedback for Clink261.
We are delighted to hear such good words for our hostel and glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and the work of our staff!
We will keep in mind your suggestions for further improvement and a better facilities offer.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Best Regards,
Clink261 Staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great Breakfast, nice and clean

Disliked: the cost of the internet was expensive here, but the public library was only a few min away where you can use free wifi!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
we are delighted to read such a good review for Clink261, knowing you appreciated our free continental breakfast and the cleanliness of the hostel.
Hoping to seeing you again here,

Sincerely yours,

Clink261 Staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was quite nice. People in reception were very active, answered all needed questions and beautiful) I wasn't aware that my luggage or other stuff would be stolen.

Disliked: Quite expensive wi-fi, but it is ok.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Kuzma,
thank you very much for the nice words about our staff and facilities.
We hope to see you back in Clink261 soon!

Sincerely,

Clink261 Staff

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: location. if you have a metro pass its in an ideal place for use of the tube and there is a bus stop out front

Disliked: a group of young students (around 15 years of age) were everywhere, and we felt uncomfortable having a beer or two in the lounge

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Justin,
thank you very much indeed for the nice review given to Clink261, we are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Clink261 Staff

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel is really close to Kings Cross station and really easy to find. The bathroom facilities were really clean and the luggage storage was very handy!

Disliked: The room was disappointing and was not like the rest of the hostel. It was very small and completely plain and not decorated like everywhere else (and the rooms pictured on the website)The bed linen was clean but there were some stains on it that obviously didn't come out with washing - they should have just been replaced.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Danielle,
we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Clink261 and found our facilities clean and confortable.
As for the bed linen, we provide guests with bedsheets upon arrival; should any of them be stained or not cleaned properly by the external company we hire for that, we can change them immediately if asked at the front desk, which is open 24/7. looking forward to seeing you soon at Clink261, many thanks for taking time writing this review.

Sincerely,

Clink261 Staff

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Only thing likable is location

Disliked: Rooms were absolutely tiny. Paid for a 6 bed dorm and the room couldn't have been more than 12' x 8'. Only enough room for the beds. Only 2 outlets in the room. Booked for a week and only stayed one night.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Clink261.
Despite the size of the room you booked being small, for any complaints or needs that you could have had we have a 24 hour reception available at your convenience.
Should you choose us for another stay in London, we suggest you may try one of our bigger dormitories or private rooms.
Many thanks for taking time writing this review.

Sincerely,

Clink261 Reception Staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: excellent kitchen and tv room

Disliked: bed without curtains

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Vyacheslav,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Clink261.
It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished common areas.
we will keep in mind your suggestion for bed curtains in bed, should another refurbishment take place in the future.
Many thanks for the time you spent writing this review.

Faithfully,

Clink261 Staff

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Liked: design, breakfast

Disliked: no mirrors in showers, no place there to get dressed, dry hair etc.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,
thank you for taking time writing your feedback for Clink261.
Any comment or suggestion is always very welcome, in order to improve our facilities and the level of service offered.
Hoping you will choose us for another stay in London,

Best Regards,
Clink261 Staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great hostel. Will definitely return when I'm next in London.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the nice review and see you soon!

Check Availability