HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Clink261 London Hostel

261-265 Grays Inn Road, Kings Cross, London, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 80%

Staff 78%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.55USD

Important Information

Passport, driver's license or government issued identity card required upon check-in.
Guests can check-in until 4am. Guests will only be able to access their room after 2.30pm. A luggage room is available for them to use if they arrive earlier than 2.30pm. Check out time is 10am.
Note that all our dorms are mixed unless a girl dorm is booked.
Guests that wish to bring their children under 16 years of age must book whole dorms or private rooms.
Bookings cannot be accepted from any underage person unless they are accompanied by an adult over 18. They will be refused check-in.
When booking dorm beds in dorm rooms, we cannot guarantee that you will all be staying in the same room. We suggest booking private rooms if you don't want your clients to be split.
If you wish to cancel your reservation, you will need to notify us by email at reservations78@clinkhostels.com 48 hours in advance of your arrival date by 2.30pm (and 7 days before the arrival dates of the 29th, 30th and 31st of December 2014 ). However, if you only let us know the day before your arrival, or fail to show up on the arrival date, you will be charge in full for your stay. If you fail to show for your booking, your full booking will be cancelled. If you arrive a day late without informing the hostel, we will try and find you a bed, but this may not be in the same room type booked and may incur extra charges.
Groups (+15 people)
You will be asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of the 1st night a week after booking is made. The balance will be required 3 weeks before arrival.
One group leader will be required to give a credit card upon arrival for a “Group Deposit”. This will need to be the card holder. We will pre-authorize the card for £300 in case of breakage or for not respecting coach stopping/parking rules.
If your group is arriving by coach, make sure to contact us for information on where to stop and park.
If you do not inform us by email on when booking we cannot guarantee for your group to be in the same rooms and depending on availability your booking might be cancelled.

All group booking over 15 people between December 27th to December 31st inclusive are subject to confirmation by the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 75%

Location 88%

Safety 80%

Staff 78%

Value 80%

Showing 161-54 of 54 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: -Very good location, 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross station-Keycard entry system on all doors, so very secure-Discounted and free entry to various events via the hostel itself, including free entry to the live music pub across the road, Water Rats.-In my opinion, a better atmosphere than the hostel's bigger brother Clink78

Disliked: Struggling to think of any but if I was to scrape the barrel, the lower bunks on beds are *very* low. I'm very tall so this was a bit of an issue, by no means a deal breaker though.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for the nice review, hope to see you soon!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, very patient and always with smile when serving. People living there are friendly, the room was quiet. Kitcken and common room are clean and comfortable. Value for money. Good location, only 2 minutes to walk to Kings Cross station, and buses are available just outside the hostel.

Disliked: The shower was not hot enough for the last two days without knowing why.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hiya! Thank you so much for the great reviews! We had a few problems with the boilers for a couple of days but that's already fixed! Safe travels and hope to see you soon!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All the receptionists were very kind and helpful. Common room with cosy but modern furniture is GREAT for hanging out or just chillin' after a long day. Location is perfect. I recommend it :)

Disliked: The noisy sound of doors everytime someone came into the room. Its not a big deal, but if you are staying with 17 other ppl like us, you wont sleep much.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great ratings!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location was great and the safety system (you only get in with your card) is great.. it was really clean and there where enough showers so i never had to wait

Disliked: i think 1-2 more mirrors and zinks would be good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the nice comments! We already bought extra mirrors and they will be installed soon!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The beds were very close together and barrack style and very few outlets in the entire place.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wow thanks for the great ratings! Safe travels and hope to see you soon!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Cheap hostel

Disliked: Not enough plug sockets in the room.Loud noises early in the morning outside the room.Wifi wasn't free.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff was helpful and able to answer questions and solve problems. Big kitchen with lots of space to cook and eat.

Disliked: Pricey for big dorms. Host of a large group of school children who dominated all the common areas, so the other guests had no place to socialize. Big, modern hostel with all the amenities and none of the soul.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there cheers for the nice ratings! Every now and then we get mini-backpackers who sometimes are a bit territorial, we hope you come back at summer time when everybody is cooking and drinking together and exploring London. Safe travels!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: safety was ok.

Disliked: I can hardly imagine this hostel having won an best-hostel award since there was very little space in the premises, especially in the dormitories. Also, the ratio of toilets and showers compared to the number of beds was quite short - there was just not enough sanitary installations.The bed's matress was old and uncomfortable.Overall, I was disappointed about the poor quality of the infrastructure.


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for appreciating the location and safety, King's Cross St Pancras is only a 3 min walk, we have CCTV cameras on all floors and Reception 24 hours. There are also restrooms on all levels, and a floor (basement) just for the common areas ( kitchen, TV room and Computer area). Safe travels and hope to see you soon!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfect, showers always clean, personally, always found a free bath, perfect breakfast, you can eat varied and elbow as you want and have juice, milk, tea, coffee, etc.. very friendly staff, are 24 hours, you can leave your luggage for free if you want, the bed re well, really good for the price, you can not demand anything more, it.s very well indeed.Perfecto, las duchas siempre limpias, personalmente, siempre encontre una libre para bañarme, el desayuno perfecto, muy variado y podes comer codo lo que quieras y tomar jugo, leche, te, cafe, etc. el personal muy amable, estan las 24 hs, podes dejar el equipaje gratis si queres, la cama re bien, realmente por el precio, no se le puede exigir nada mas, esta muy bien realmente

Disliked: Nothing reallyNada realmente

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Maximiliano,
many thanks for your wonderful feedback regarding Clink261.
Our staff work hard every day in order to provide the best service possible, hence we highly appreciate your comments about them and our facilities.
We look forward to seeing you again here with us!
Faithfully,

Clink261 Staff

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Top staff, flexible and very reasonable. The center location can't be beat!

Disliked: all good

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,
thank you for taking time writing your feedback for Clink261.
We highly appreciate your comments regarding our staff and central location.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hostel,
Best regards,

Clink261 Staff

Check Availability