We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gainsborough Lodge

Hostel | 39 Massetts Road, Horley, Surrey London - Gatwick, England RH6 7DT

76.0% Overall Rating

66 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/12/2014)

"It is located quite close to Gatwick, however if you arrive after hours as I did, it was difficult to find a taxi that would take us there. The room was clean, had a TV and comfortable bed."

Read all Gainsborough Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.57
  • Breakfast USD 7.57

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London - Gatwick?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London - Gatwick

The Lawn Guest House
29.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Gatwick Belmont Hotel
26.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Gatwick White House
32.17 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 64 reviews
Masslink Guest House
34.82 USD

Guesthouse 91.6% 14 reviews
Da Vinci Manor Guest House
43.91 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

66 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gainsborough Lodge'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 68 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simona Bertoncelj

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 March 2015 Simona would recommend this property

Liked: It was domestic, English styl.

Disliked: /

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

27 December 2014

Liked: It is located quite close to Gatwick, however if you arrive after hours as I did, it was difficult to find a taxi that would take us there. The room was clean, had a TV and comfortable bed.

Disliked: When we arrived, the staff was not present and took several minutes to come tot he desk. When the gentleman arrived he was not particularly friendly, just asked for our info and money and then showed us the room. For the cost, the amenities are very basic and the only real advantage to staying here is that it sis close to the airport. There is no wifi in the rooms and the shower head was broken and sprayed water everywhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a convenient, clean and friendly hotel. The dining room was well organized and the food was good.

Disliked: No, I did not dislike anything.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Because it has home stay eminence

Disliked: The staff is not very friendly or warm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordable and close to my needs

Disliked: nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: most helpful and friendly

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, great for a nights stopover between flights. Very close to Gatwick airport, older simple rooms but very clean.

Disliked: Expesnsive but London is very expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Close to the airport - Friendly staff - Clean & secure

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, location very close to the Gatwick airport

Disliked: /

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: For the price I got more than I bargained for considering it is so close to Gatwick. Comfortable, clean. Decent breakfast. Pick up and drop off t airport included, although I did have to wait half an hour for the pick up from the airport. I would recommend staying here is you are getting a flight to/ from Gatwick.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viviane Laudelino Vieira

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

05 November 2010 Viviane would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrrom and breakfast are great

Disliked: It's possible arrive there only by taxi or transfer. We arrived in the night and we didn't find the place to take the transfer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katy Marie Kinsey

With friends / other travellers

16 August 2010 Katy Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for money

Disliked: Katy Marie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was rather nice and even allowed us to print our boarding passes fro free in their office. If flying in or out of Gatwick and needing a place to stay, this is an affordable option that worked out well for us.

Disliked: The room locks didn't seem particularly secure and the shower/bathroom was fashioned out of a closed and was rather small.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the airport which was great :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to airport, good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 May 2010

Liked: + Close to Gatwick airport, free shuttle avail, cheap.- Commanding & non-friendly tone. Outdoor area almost not held at all. Garbage spread around the area. Temperature regulator in shower is not safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Craig

17 May 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great for the airport, very close to the train. Only bad point was the shower changing temperature every few seconds and the bathroom feeling like a port-a-loo. Room itself was smallish but comfortable. Free wifi.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

10 May 2010

Liked: I have stayed at many hostels and this place was the worst for service. This is one of few negative feedbacks that I have left. They were rude as soon as I walked in the door. I tried to pay with cash and they would not give me a receipt, then I tried to pay with Visa and they said they would just bill my credit card from the reservation so it will be a surprise as to what the bill will be. It was like pulling teeth to get them to drop me off at the airport even though they state that there is free shuttle service to the airport. They tried to get me to take the train. Breakfast was just cereal and toast contrary to their description on this website. You would be waisting your time and money if you stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nearness to the airport. it is quite neat and homely. and the general atmosphere surrounding the place impressed me a lot. the services are fabulous. it is worth being recommended to friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap and convenient

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nadja-Rebecca Haefeli

07 January 2010

Liked: airport pick up

Disliked: Nadja-Rebecca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fernandez ribera maria nieves

04 January 2010 fernandez ribera would recommend this property

Liked: All their activities and the services.

Disliked: fernandez ribera left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 December 2009

Liked: we were at the breakfast room at 8:50 on a Sunday morning but were told that we are too late for the breakfast!! so it is quiet inconvenient for us if not for the many and the stuff wasnt the most helful either.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antonio Lambe

24 December 2009 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: That is was quiet and warm. This opportunity for feed-back is appreciated. But it is disappointing that Hostelbookers is evidently only interested in what guests liked.

Disliked: Antonio left no negative feedback.