We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gatwick White House

Guesthouse | 50/52 Church Road, Horley, Surrey London - Gatwick, England RH6 7EX

75.5% Overall Rating

49 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Candace Thompson thinks…

"The location was decent, the rooms were clean, and the majority of the staff was pleasant."

Read all Gatwick White House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Cot / crib
  • High chair
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.74

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

10% non-refundable deposit will be taken on booking and balance of 90% payments will be taken on arrival at hotel by presenting physical card and using chip and pin system. For card holder not present transaction arrangement need to be done in advance in writing with complete card holder details directly with hotel. For bookings more than one night, 1st night charge will be non-refundable on booking if card declines booking will be cancelled. Cancellation policy is 2days before the date of stay ( 90% will not be charged) and for no-show or late cancellation 100% of booking value will be charged. For using transfer service: By arrival at any terminal of Gatwick Airport, please go to ground floor level (follow sign "courtesy coaches“) find the big sign "HOTELS COURTESY COACHES ". Under this sign there is yellow color free phone. Dial (it is free) the number from there to our hotel, which is also written on the board for Gatwick White House Hotel, after you call we will send our courtesy car to airport within 15 minuets. Stop No 8 & 9 in south terminal and train station and in north terminal. Next day transfer will be arranged at reception at time of check in. Customer need to confirm the booking directly with hotel with security code number of card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to London - Gatwick?

Contact us directly

See other properties in London - Gatwick

Gatwick Belmont Hotel
25.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Masslink Guest House
36.23 USD

Guesthouse 91.6% 14 reviews
Gainsborough Lodge
36.51 USD

Hostel 76.2% 79 reviews
The Lawn Guest House
33.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Da Vinci Manor Guest House
47.06 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.5%

Overall Rating

49 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gatwick White House'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
68.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 56 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Breakfast fruit was fermenting. Very small room for four people. Very narrow shower and broken shower head. Narrow corridors.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Candace Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

13 July 2014 Candace would recommend this property

Liked: The location was decent, the rooms were clean, and the majority of the staff was pleasant.

Disliked: One of the staff members (the Indian man) accused my mom and I of eating the English breakfast instead of the continental breakfast (the latter costs less). He even went so far as to ask another employee what we had for breakfast, and she confirmed what we did in fact eat the continental. The next day when we went down to the breakfast room at 8:55 (which closes at 9:00) he refused to give us milk for our coffee. This man was beyond rude on multiple occasions and clearly has no customer service skills. I would never recommend this hostel due to the fact that such a disdainful person runs the front desk.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Cheap, dated and unclean. No staff on arrival...checked in by a 7 year old who didnt like his video game being disturbed. Had to argue each morning to get the 'included' breakfast. Staff empty a can of air freshener in the corridor each morning which did not hide the smell. Spend a couple of dollars and put some fish in the tanks. Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience of all services.

Disliked: Small food portions.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2014

Liked: The English breakfast was good and I liked being able to call for transport from the airport.

Disliked: Dirty, not very friendly, cheap signs and decorations.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had to check-in late to the hotel and the manager was around to welcome me when I got there at 11.30 that night. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are good as well. Breakfast was included and internet works great, just ask for the passcode when you check-in. Breakfast is quite good as well.

Disliked: There was a bit of mould on the wall of the bathroom. Nothing too serious but still present.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Peter Guyver

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 January 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Clean affordable and value for money

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception. Internet in rooms. Airport taxi. Everything was as advertised

Disliked: Breakfast - please don't serve tinned mushrooms as part of an English breakfast! The single room had three beds in it. One of which was very comfortable. The airport taxi fee was as advertised, but a little excessive given the short distance to the airport (though much cheaper than the extortionate local taxis).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Meagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff, airport ride cheaper than taxi.

Disliked: Bed was broken but not so bad we did bother to tell them until we left, we fixed it with a pillow while there. Could have happened with the last visitors so not sure if they will fix it right away or not.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Angel Cabrera

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Angel would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to airport and railway station

Disliked: beds were to squeaky...but still comfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Of course, it's very close to the airport by car. But not walking distance. It's clean and well-maintained.

Disliked: I did not like having to pay extra for airport shuttle service each way to the airport.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After initial confusion about the transfer from the airport, the guest house provided good, friendly service. The room was clean and comfortable and I had a good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good stuff

Disliked: horible breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They are cheaper than many places around Gatwick, and give you free breakfast and they gave me a ride to the airport for free (they say that the charge is £6). The rooms are nice and the showers are excellent, with good hot water. The breakfast is good.

Disliked: The only power output in the room was hidden behind the bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an easy, lovely walk to the town centre and train station.

Disliked: Although things were clean there was a bit of a moldy smell to the room and my window did not close or lock properly. The place could use a little lover and unkeep in general.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Spike

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, clean, short drive from airport and short walk to Horley town centre, comfortable beds, good shower pressure and nice hot water.

Disliked: Half of the lights in the room weren't working. Room and bathroom were a bit on the small side but not uncomfortable, even with two big suitcases. No desk. Not the most charming and character filled hotel in the world, but very good value and overall a reasonably pleasant place to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hazel Betz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Hazel would recommend this property

Liked: prompt free service to and from the airport and a good breakfast

Disliked: room was a little dark

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011

Liked: The room was very clean and tidy, comfortable bed and very close to the Gatwick airport, free shuttle provided to and from airport

Disliked: Not a good place if you are looking to meet people, very secluded and not many things to do around it, had to argue about being served breakfast, staff not very knowledgeable on the debit/credit card machine,

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Adele Milton Meakin

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 March 2011 Adele would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and cheerful, handy for the airport. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Really disorganised. They didn't have a record of our booking and, after checking twice what time we wanted our car to the airport, they still got it wrong and got us there late.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Oram

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 December 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Indian restaurant open til about 10pm with some good vegetarian. They drive you to airport for £5 and only 5 minutes away.

Disliked: Nothing for the price

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and value for the money. The pick up from the airport was helpful.

Disliked: Maybe this is not the hotel's issue but when we tried call the hotel for pick up from the hotel, there was no sign and yellow phone to do so as described in booking confirmation paga. Gatwick airport is under construction so I would suggest the hotel to keep up the changes of airport facilities to provide customer with the correct instruction. (We had to use our mobile to call the hotel after all.)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to airport, good restaurant, free shuttle to airport, comfy beds

Disliked: N/A

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its is close to Gatwick and they have delivery to aknd from the airport.

Disliked: Mold in the shower and the shredded lining on the window curtain.