HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HOAX Hostel

Hostel | 54 Stanley Street, Liverpool, England L1 6AU

87.3% Overall Rating

57 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

"Hostel is in an awesome location. Espeically if you are a Bealtes fan (who isn't?). The hostel is located right around the corner from the Cavern Club. Its also really close to great shopping, and a short walk to…"

Read all HOAX Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note that after completing your booking you will need to send your full card details to the HOAX Hostel in order to fully confirm your booking. Failing to do that may result on the cancellation of your booking and no refund will be made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

Victoria Hall, Liverpool
72.26 USD

Hostel 86.6% 10 reviews
YHA Liverpool
21.85 USD

Hostel 85.7% 218 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
20.16 USD

Hostel 84.6% 559 reviews
Dolby hotel
25.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.0% 14 reviews
International Inn
28.57 USD

Hostel 76.7% 215 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
37.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 45 reviews
International Inn Apartment
54.61 USD

Apartment 89.6% 8 reviews
Embassie Liverpool Backpackers
26.89 USD

Hostel 88.6% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

57 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOAX Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014

Liked: Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Noise from nearby bars. Room wasn't cleaned for couple of days. Staff weren't very good at all maybe because it was Avery busy weekend.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Brenda Rogelina Cruz Ortiz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Brenda Rogelina would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the recent building

Disliked: I was looking for a place to sleep but this was full of mainly drunk men that makes me feel uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in an awesome location. Espeically if you are a Bealtes fan (who isn't?). The hostel is located right around the corner from the Cavern Club. Its also really close to great shopping, and a short walk to lime street station. Which was super handy. Rooms were really really nice, modern and clean. The bunk beds have their own powerpoint and light. I would definetly return & recommend to anyone staying in Liverpool.

Disliked: Unfortunately, when I stayed i had an issue with my room. I was locked out because someone had locked the door from inside room. Reception didn't have a master key & were unable to unlock it and I was located to another room for the night. The whole situtation was quite frustrating and in the morning reception didn't really seem to care. So my stay ended on a bit of a bad note. However, I know that was a once off and rare situtation, and shouldn't take away from the vibe, location or quality of the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room set up, fabulous location and many great entertainment places :)

Disliked: Was disappointing when majority of the staff were quite blunt, rude and unfriendly when it came to offering advice. Their unhelpful manner left us feeling a bit lost and frustrated. It's a shame the staff acted this way as everything else about the hostel was fabulous.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zarko Vasovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Zarko would recommend this property

Liked: overall I enjoyed it.

Disliked: Deposit for hairdryer and having to buy a padlock to keep your staff secure.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean with good facilities.

Disliked: Depending on the night and room location club music can be very loud when trying to sleep.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Donna Tagg

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Very central loction

Disliked: If you want a quiet nights sleep this hostel isn't for you

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rachel Baring

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, new and central

Disliked: Could do with sound proofing, I can deal with the bars outside but the other patrons could be heard easily and clearly from the hall

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicia Langford

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Felicia would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, especially for the price! Had good size lockers, and you could sit up on the bottom bunk beds - don't get that often! In our dorm we also had separate toilet and shower which was very handy for a 6 bed dorm. Highly recommended!

Disliked: It was noisy at night due to the clubs close by, but they did give you ear plugs at reception!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Spencer

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money! For £10, I got a bed in a 6 man room- however, I was the only guest who stayed in it! Result, and massive value for money!

Disliked: Upper floors a bit noisy as next to a nightclub. Could be seen as a positive depending on the purpose of your stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Josanne Broersen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 February 2014 Josanne would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a great central spot.

Disliked: It is noisy, though this also adds to the atmosphere, so wasnt really a problem for one night.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reasons I chose it were that it's cheap, clean and central. But the welcome and atmosphere were great - very funky

Disliked: No towel (tho I was told I'd have one), no way to turn en suite bathroom light off during the night

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place

Disliked: Pay for continental breakfast

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything clean and staff was so friendly and helpful to me. I loved every moment and I will recommed this Hostel for sure!

Disliked: Everything was perfect to me.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and tidy hostel. It's close to the city centre and main attractions. No reason to feel unsafe as rdoors are impossible to open without an electronic access card.

Disliked: Breakfasts are so simple. I wish they could include at least cheese into the menu.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean, it offers towels, and it is a good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiyun Jeong

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Jiyun would recommend this property

Liked: Literally the best hostel I've ever been! It was so clean and staff were so friendly. I loved the fact they had private bathroom, and they had separate bathroom and toilet so that was very convenient. The breakfast, location... how can I say one bad thing about this hostel? I'd recommend HOAX to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, cleanliness overall, overall experience

Disliked: No common area (except restaurant/bar), toilets not too clean at times, room wasn't really cleaned at all during our stay, even though there were many changes of guests.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

indira aguilar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 indira would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel I ever been, the location was perfect!!! So clean :)

Disliked: Nothing!!! We loved it :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonny Lennon

Alone

City break

28 December 2013 Jonny would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right in the centre of town, clean dorm although even for a 4 bed fairly small but that's really only my minor gripe staff seemed to be pleasant enough. Definitely recommend this place if on a budget the Hopskotch restaurant and bar adjacent to the hostel does an excellent jerk chicken with rice and peas and beer is good.

Disliked: Dorm a tad too small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anders Rhoden

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2013 Anders would recommend this property

Liked: So good I was shocked

Disliked: Anders left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karla Jacqueline Granados

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Karla Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: un excelente hostal!!! ubicacion extraordinaria, internet desayuno incluido, habitaciones super comodas y espaciosas!!

Disliked: nada!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, spacious and decent

Disliked: G

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest, newest and hippest hostel I've ever stayed at! Absolutely top notch quality. Cannot wait for the other Hostels in London and Prague to open.

Disliked: The noise from the club is unbearably loud. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. I had to return to the desk to reprogram my key twice because it erased on the way to my room.

The property's response is...