We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HOAX Hostel

Hostel | 54 Stanley Street, Liverpool, England L1 6AU

88.7% Overall Rating

79 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

"It's a clean property and I could easily get to Liverpool Lime Street and Liverpool Central :-)"

Read all HOAX Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

Please note that after completing your booking you will need to send your full card details to the HOAX Hostel in order to fully confirm your booking. Failing to do that may result on the cancellation of your booking and no refund will be made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

YHA Liverpool
12.99 USD

Hostel 83.7% 226 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
19.49 USD

Hostel 91.4% 603 reviews
Dolby hotel
26.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.7% 16 reviews
International Inn
27.61 USD

Hostel 78.1% 220 reviews
City B&B
16.24 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cocoon Pod Hotel
36.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 47 reviews
International Inn Apartment
52.79 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
O'Tooles B&B
19.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

79 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HOAX Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 82 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a clean property and I could easily get to Liverpool Lime Street and Liverpool Central :-)

Disliked: I didn't see on the websites that I would need a lock to lock my stuff away. But I could buy a lock at the reception for 4,5 Pounds.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just a great place - funky and central :) .....

Disliked: ....nothing !!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jack molloy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 August 2014 jack would recommend this property

Liked: The room itself is dead-set the best room I've ever stayed in. Extremely comfy and private beds with a power point and light right next to you. The lockers are great and most people could fit their entire luggage inside. Located literally right in the middle of Liverpool.

Disliked: The hostel allowed 6 drunk and drugged locals to book and enter the hostel at 3am on a weeknight. These men proceeded to party until 7am in the room. One member of staff caught the men smoking in the room and taking drugs red-handed and did nothing about it even after complaints. Terribly handled. The atmosphere in the hostel is also poor. There is a bar but it is quite expensive and mainly only people from the public go there. It shuts very early most nights. Overall a good hostel but there is definitely better in this city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, stylish and appealing from the building itself to the room, and I really liked the personal light above each bed. The lockers were functional as were the shower and bathroom.

Disliked: The amount of bathrooms available in the dorm room wasn't desirable, and a pillow wasn't available. The lock system on the luggage room was tempremental and unreliable.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trent Buckland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: Very well set up. Nice rooms and incredible location!!

Disliked: Staff were very quiet and not very helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artur Kot

Alone

City break

24 July 2014 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, friendly staff

Disliked: It was very hot, despite the window being opened

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

André Barranco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2014 André would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean, the lockers are big and the staff is great. The bar on the underground has a big screen, great to watch sports. The rooms are spacious, and the location is the best possible.

Disliked: It might get loud at night, since it's close to all the buzz.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Almeida Dias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Very well placed

Disliked: The host luggage could have a card control, too

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCELINO ROMERO CASTILLO

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2014 MARCELINO would recommend this property

Liked: I recommend for a stay in Liverpol.

Disliked: nothing, i think all is good

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Leah Malinski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Needed key cards to get to elevator and floors and rooms

Disliked: The floors weren't very clean, lots of dust and hair in our room. Also, it's right in the center of shops so it's quite load at night, but it's close to everything

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: This centrally located hostel rules! Only a 10 minute walk from the station, the Hoax couldn't be better! Friendly staff, nice clean and new rooms! Right in the centre of town, so everything is a short walk! You would be foolish to stay anywhere else!

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station, lockers in the rooms - just bring your own lock.

Disliked: The bathrooms and shower are in the hostel rooms, so quite noisy in the mornings, the shower is approx 1 metre square and the change room part of it is also 1 metre square, so fairly difficult to get changed in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Reedy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very chic hostel with Matthew Street literally around the corner! Gonna stay there when I go back for sure!

Disliked: They have an awesome bar in the hostel but it was closed everyday I was there. Granted it was Sunday to Wednesday. But they still have a restaurant connected with a bar so its really a non issue I guess. Really good hostel.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jean Santos

Alone

City break

27 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noise, cleanliness, crowded room

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very central staff are very friendly and helpful price was good but a small bit expensive in the bar for food and drink otherwise a great place to stay and I will be going back and would recommend it to my family and friends

Disliked: Clean centrally located and price was good

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is close to the city center

Disliked: the upper bed is too nearly touching the ceiling, i hurt my self quite a few times

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camille Prioul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 May 2014 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place, clean and calm. We decided to stay one more night !

Disliked: Camille left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the top hostels I have stayed at- the staff were courteous, the facilities were great, the location is unbeatable.

Disliked: Nothing- I think HOAX is great

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014

Liked: Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Noise from nearby bars. Room wasn't cleaned for couple of days. Staff weren't very good at all maybe because it was Avery busy weekend.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Brenda Rogelina Cruz Ortiz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Brenda Rogelina would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the recent building

Disliked: I was looking for a place to sleep but this was full of mainly drunk men that makes me feel uncomfortable.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in an awesome location. Espeically if you are a Bealtes fan (who isn't?). The hostel is located right around the corner from the Cavern Club. Its also really close to great shopping, and a short walk to lime street station. Which was super handy. Rooms were really really nice, modern and clean. The bunk beds have their own powerpoint and light. I would definetly return & recommend to anyone staying in Liverpool.

Disliked: Unfortunately, when I stayed i had an issue with my room. I was locked out because someone had locked the door from inside room. Reception didn't have a master key & were unable to unlock it and I was located to another room for the night. The whole situtation was quite frustrating and in the morning reception didn't really seem to care. So my stay ended on a bit of a bad note. However, I know that was a once off and rare situtation, and shouldn't take away from the vibe, location or quality of the hostel.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room set up, fabulous location and many great entertainment places :)

Disliked: Was disappointing when majority of the staff were quite blunt, rude and unfriendly when it came to offering advice. Their unhelpful manner left us feeling a bit lost and frustrated. It's a shame the staff acted this way as everything else about the hostel was fabulous.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zarko Vasovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Zarko would recommend this property

Liked: overall I enjoyed it.

Disliked: Deposit for hairdryer and having to buy a padlock to keep your staff secure.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean with good facilities.

Disliked: Depending on the night and room location club music can be very loud when trying to sleep.

The property's response is...