We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Anfield Road Hostel

Hostel | 27 Anfield Road, Liverpool, England L4 0TF

69.9% Overall Rating

44 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

Martin Hudek thinks…

"polite owner and staff, location near anfield stadium, no problem getting there by buses"

Read all Anfield Road Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 9.84
  • Towel USD 6.56

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

The King Harry Bar & Hostel
24.59 USD

Hostel 61.2% 7 reviews
Everton
9.10 USD

Apartment 78.3% 243 reviews
Knowsley B&B
19.35 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cocoon Pod Hotel
36.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 47 reviews
International Inn Apartment
53.29 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Bankhall Hotel
27.87 USD

Hostel 87.8% 350 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
19.68 USD

Hostel 90.7% 606 reviews
International Inn
27.87 USD

Hostel 78.1% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.9%

Overall Rating

44 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anfield Road Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
72.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emelda mohammad adnan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 emelda would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and owner they simply take and eat my foods at freezer

Disliked: so far it is valuable place to visit.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: being free to come and go when we want at night time.

Disliked: very dated, furniture was in poor condition ( the steps on the bunk bed were broken off), no lighting in bathrooms, only one shower with hot water. we could not get wifi in our room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, near the stadiums

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Hudek

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: polite owner and staff, location near anfield stadium, no problem getting there by buses

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Melanie Argent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014

Liked: Location close to anfield park for football. If you are in Liverpool for other reasons please read the rest of my review

Disliked: Never in my life have I ever been made to feel so UNSAFE and UNWELCOME. My advice to tourists: DO NOT STAY HERE. I had no issues with my first night stay, however it was all downhill from there. On my second night I appeared to have the 10 bed dorm to myself but I was woken at 1am by 10 loud guys entering my room (which as a solo travelling female made me feel unsafe and uneasy) they then proceeded to inform me that I'll probably be moved because there was 10 of them. Sure enough the owner came up and moved me into a smaller room which appeared to not have been cleaned since the last people had stayed there but due to the hour of the day I just wanted to sleep and didn't put up a fuss. The next afternoon I went to the main office (which is in a separate building down the road) because the power had gone and I wanted to talk to the owner. He informed me that the power was off for safety reasons and that i should be thankful that the power was out, after asking if he could fix it he begrudgingly got his keys and started toward the hostel when he asked "this isn't going to be a bad review is it?" To which I replied that I was not happy with how things had been handled so far. This caused him to start ranting about bad reviews and raving and yelling at me about how I was ungrateful and making crazy threats and then he turned around back to his office refusing to fix the power. As I no longer felt safe with his threats and the way he handles the business I checked out at the then 9pm at night and checked into a cheap hotel elsewhere. Advice to owner: if you worried less about harassing people about what review they're giving you and more about how you treat your customers you may get more good reviews.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was fairly clean and I felt safe there.

Disliked: It's a bit far from town and the property seemed poorly run. The man in charge was very scatter-brained and barely spoke to me.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jeanette Whittaker

Alone

Relaxation/spa

28 May 2014

Liked: The shower was working

Disliked: the bed I had was a top bunk and was broken/extremely unsafe, there were no staff in residence at this property, I did not like the location, on the last night a gang of men forced me out of the room and the management only reinforced this decision this left me traumatised and I had no choice but to stay in another room as It was late night and my only other option would be the streets

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Santos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: É na realidade uma casa, portanto da um clima diferente de um hostel normal, os quartos possuem chave e a entrada no hostel é com código, internet funciona no quarto e possui tomadas próximas a cama

Disliked: Não possui fogão na cozinha, luzes por sensor de movimento que desligam constantemente enquanto você está no cômodo, muito barulho no quarto quando alguem entra devido aos rangidos (inclusive se alguem entrar no quarto de cima!)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location Plenty of facilities and Wi-Fi in public areas Relaxing garden 3 hot showers all day and night Good value for money

Disliked: Can be noisy especially Fridays and Saturdays. Can be arqward to eat in dining room especially if there's lots of guests.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities

Disliked: No curtain on our room window

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good place to stay, It is located close to both grounds Liverpool and Everton's ground.Owner is a very good guy, Andy's very helpful. There's good atmosphere, I enjoyed my stay here, If I ever go back to Liverpool I definitely will book in this Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Anfield. Very safe!

Disliked: Family room was right next to communal bathroom. Stunk when we walked out of our room door

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Great location near Anfield Stadium, only really good for games though as there's not a lot to do in the area and if you want to head into town you have to take the bus/taxi. -On non-game days its very cheap, so thats a definate pro, despite the owner, the other staff were very kind and helpful! -Oh i paid for a 10 bed dorm but ended up in a 5 for my 3 nights, which was a decent score.

Disliked: -I think a few of the comments outline that the owner is temperamental. I'm going to be nice and say i think he was just a slightly disorganised and then inturn, a frustrated man, I'd like to lie, but one night i did see him go off at another person staying in the hostel in quite an aggressive manner, slightly in a patronising kind of, Parent to a Child kind of way. Definately not how you should speak to guests, regardless of how much a night they're paying. -The Bathrooms could do with a clean, honestly i probably would've cleaned all the showers for like 20 pounds or something, it's not hard to clean a bathroom a mere once week! Jesus other hostels clean their bathrooms daily, I was deep in my travels so it wasn't so bad at all for me, but if i had just come up for the weekend or not a seasoned traveller i'd have been slightly unimpressed. -I rocked up to reception find nobody there, even though reception wasn't suppose to close for another 2 hours. It eventually got sorted out, but given that the Anfield area doesn't 'feel' the safest at night, it could be slightly intimidating if you lacked street smarts. Honestly Patrick, a few small changes to the place and you could charge much more a night, get much better reviews and be onto a winner I think. I'd ONLY recomment this to people looking for somewhere cheap to stay for a while, or maybe just to come for a night or two for the game, especially if travelling alone.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: See above

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

doug futers

Alone

City break

28 October 2013 doug would recommend this property

Liked: Whilst located in the suburbs (near both football grounds) it is easy to get into the city on buses 17 & 19. It wasn't very busy when I stayed, may be a bit crowded when full

Disliked: bit cold, seems there is a mix of travellers and long stay residents

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Graysmark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL EVER :-)

Disliked: Nothing,it was all good :-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Antonio Pereira Filho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Luiz Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: I made a trip of two weeks, and i had the two best days in that place. This is all up to Andy, the owner of the Hostel and the Epstein House Hotel, in the same street. He is a really good guy and I have certain the he gonna help you in all of the things that you gonna need. Have a nice stay there, Travelers!

Disliked: Luiz Antonio left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christian Moran

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to Liverpool stadiumc and to public transport.Friendliness of staff.

Disliked: No Locker Keys and no cooker working!!!!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessi Lebrocq

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: It cheap. It's conveniently located for the stadium.

Disliked: The hostel is definitely you get what you pay for. It's cheap which is great but does not offer much. Very awkward to check in as we needed to pick up keys from one place but where staying in another down the road. The guy at reception was very awkward to deal with. We had booked two beds in a 5 bedroom. When we arrived our room had a double bed and one bunk bed which was fine as we we're the only ones in it but would have been odd if others had turned up.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very dirty rooms, the wifi is pretty bad, 1 badroom for 3 rooms, the staff is very very rude!! Is worse than a free hostel, you have to pay 2 pounds bus to go to the center and another 2 pounds to come back. I would rather pay a hostel 4 pounds more expensive. They have no maps. Very bad hostel!!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff of the hostel and the whole area was quiet original and genuine to me

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds Quiet neighbourhood Wifi

Disliked: Showers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the bus stop & right behind the Anfield stadium

Disliked: Old building & a little bit dirty