HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Anfield Road Hostel

Hostel | 27 Anfield Road, Liverpool, England L4 0TF

74.3% Overall Rating

34 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/11/2013)

"This is a good place to stay, It is located close to both grounds Liverpool and Everton's ground.Owner is a very good guy, Andy's very helpful. There's good atmosphere, I enjoyed my stay here, If I ever go back to…"

Read all Anfield Road Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.07
  • Towel USD 6.71

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

The King Harry Bar & Hostel
25.18 USD

Hostel 76.2% 3 reviews
Everton
11.03 USD

Apartment 82.1% 230 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
37.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 45 reviews
International Inn Apartment
54.56 USD

Apartment 89.6% 8 reviews
Bankhall Hotel
28.54 USD

Hostel 88.5% 347 reviews
Victoria Hall, Liverpool
72.18 USD

Hostel 86.6% 10 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
20.14 USD

Hostel 83.4% 556 reviews
International Inn
28.54 USD

Hostel 76.7% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

34 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anfield Road Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities

Disliked: No curtain on our room window

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good place to stay, It is located close to both grounds Liverpool and Everton's ground.Owner is a very good guy, Andy's very helpful. There's good atmosphere, I enjoyed my stay here, If I ever go back to Liverpool I definitely will book in this Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Anfield. Very safe!

Disliked: Family room was right next to communal bathroom. Stunk when we walked out of our room door

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Great location near Anfield Stadium, only really good for games though as there's not a lot to do in the area and if you want to head into town you have to take the bus/taxi. -On non-game days its very cheap, so thats a definate pro, despite the owner, the other staff were very kind and helpful! -Oh i paid for a 10 bed dorm but ended up in a 5 for my 3 nights, which was a decent score.

Disliked: -I think a few of the comments outline that the owner is temperamental. I'm going to be nice and say i think he was just a slightly disorganised and then inturn, a frustrated man, I'd like to lie, but one night i did see him go off at another person staying in the hostel in quite an aggressive manner, slightly in a patronising kind of, Parent to a Child kind of way. Definately not how you should speak to guests, regardless of how much a night they're paying. -The Bathrooms could do with a clean, honestly i probably would've cleaned all the showers for like 20 pounds or something, it's not hard to clean a bathroom a mere once week! Jesus other hostels clean their bathrooms daily, I was deep in my travels so it wasn't so bad at all for me, but if i had just come up for the weekend or not a seasoned traveller i'd have been slightly unimpressed. -I rocked up to reception find nobody there, even though reception wasn't suppose to close for another 2 hours. It eventually got sorted out, but given that the Anfield area doesn't 'feel' the safest at night, it could be slightly intimidating if you lacked street smarts. Honestly Patrick, a few small changes to the place and you could charge much more a night, get much better reviews and be onto a winner I think. I'd ONLY recomment this to people looking for somewhere cheap to stay for a while, or maybe just to come for a night or two for the game, especially if travelling alone.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: See above

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

doug futers

Alone

City break

28 October 2013 doug would recommend this property

Liked: Whilst located in the suburbs (near both football grounds) it is easy to get into the city on buses 17 & 19. It wasn't very busy when I stayed, may be a bit crowded when full

Disliked: bit cold, seems there is a mix of travellers and long stay residents

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Graysmark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL EVER :-)

Disliked: Nothing,it was all good :-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Antonio Pereira Filho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Luiz Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: I made a trip of two weeks, and i had the two best days in that place. This is all up to Andy, the owner of the Hostel and the Epstein House Hotel, in the same street. He is a really good guy and I have certain the he gonna help you in all of the things that you gonna need. Have a nice stay there, Travelers!

Disliked: Luiz Antonio left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christian Moran

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to Liverpool stadiumc and to public transport.Friendliness of staff.

Disliked: No Locker Keys and no cooker working!!!!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessi Lebrocq

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: It cheap. It's conveniently located for the stadium.

Disliked: The hostel is definitely you get what you pay for. It's cheap which is great but does not offer much. Very awkward to check in as we needed to pick up keys from one place but where staying in another down the road. The guy at reception was very awkward to deal with. We had booked two beds in a 5 bedroom. When we arrived our room had a double bed and one bunk bed which was fine as we we're the only ones in it but would have been odd if others had turned up.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very dirty rooms, the wifi is pretty bad, 1 badroom for 3 rooms, the staff is very very rude!! Is worse than a free hostel, you have to pay 2 pounds bus to go to the center and another 2 pounds to come back. I would rather pay a hostel 4 pounds more expensive. They have no maps. Very bad hostel!!!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff of the hostel and the whole area was quiet original and genuine to me

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds Quiet neighbourhood Wifi

Disliked: Showers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the bus stop & right behind the Anfield stadium

Disliked: Old building & a little bit dirty

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013

Liked: The best I can say about this hostel is that it was cheap and then staff were helpful and friendly. Also if you were going to see a football match the location would be perfect but for general sights in Liverpool it's a bit out of the way.

Disliked: I did not like my stay here at all. The 10 bed dorms can get very crowded as it is literally 5 sets of bunk beds crammed into a small room. The beds are also quite old and make a lot of noise when you move. No secure luggage storage in the rooms and only one powerpoint. The rest of the hostel feels as if you are in someone else's home. I think there are people who live there permanently and so at times I felt as if I was intruding. The kitchen and dining rooms are small, dirty and under equipped. I definitely would not recommend this hostel to anyone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marzena Miziuk

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Marzena would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I had a great time staying there and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms, the bathrooms and the kitchen lived up to our expectations. It is a perfect location if you want to see a football match on Anfield Stadium which is very close (3 minute walk) to the hostel. Also, it takes only 15 minutes to get to the city center. It is great value for money!

Disliked: Marzena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

neil thompson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013 neil would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and great atmosphere, great value for money. Would definitly recomend staying here, we had a great time and everyone was very friendly. Will certainly be returning!

Disliked: neil left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good price and really calm location. Comfortable beds and clean overall.

Disliked: Friendliness of the staff; guests actually living there and dominating the common rooms. Sort of in the middle of nowhere (although The Kop and Goodison Park are pretty close by).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michal Kosciukiewicz

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, near to Anfield Stadium, nice beds, and very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie McLeod

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The building itself is lovely, with the theme of the Beatles running throughout the Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a problem free weekend, it is a great value for money hostel and we enjoyed our stay there.

Disliked: Bathroom didn't have a lock and pillows were too hard for some of the guests but apart from that nothing was wrong.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAFAEL BARROS TEIXEIRA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013

Liked: Good bed, good kitchen, it´s close to the Livepool Stadium and Everton Stadium.

Disliked: The manager/ownes acts like crazy, shouting and it´s quite impossible to have a proper conversation there, its pretty much oppressive to be there, because of him.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner clean easy

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Giovane Bertuol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Giovane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked about the security and silence in there

Disliked: I didn`t like the distance from the city centre

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and warm. Worth the price.

Disliked: Everything was good.

The property's response is...