We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Falkner Square, Toxteth, Liverpool, England L8 7NU

89.9% Overall Rating

212 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2015)

"Staff showed me to the dorm and where facilities were. Friendly staff. No problems with facilities. Temperature fine (except toilet-see below). Liverpool is a very friendly and interesting city."

Read all Embassie Liverpool Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
25.91 USD

Hostel 78.1% 220 reviews
International Inn Apartment
49.54 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
34.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 47 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
18.29 USD

Hostel 86.3% 620 reviews
Everton
8.46 USD

Apartment 76.8% 257 reviews
Colebrooke House
38.11 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 8 reviews
Dolby hotel
19.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.7% 16 reviews
YHA Liverpool
16.77 USD

Hostel 84.8% 227 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

212 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Embassie Liverpool Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 222 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best choice at Liverpool if you are looking for The Beatles or soccer. Staff realy friendly and helpfulness, the same to the other guests. Close to the centre and the nightlife. You can have tea and toats all day long (not just for breakfast). Clean as a hostel use to be (personally, I think it can be better, it is not really clean...). Anyway, my sister, my brother and me recomends Embassie.

Disliked: It can be more clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

glauber de bona

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 glauber would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing free Beatles tour, free gift, they sell beer for a fair price, and they treat you like family.

Disliked: nothing at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere and beautiful, if a bit run down, building.

Disliked: A bit out of the way from the city centre, but still at walking distance.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were friendly

Disliked: you are not paying your deposit, they ask us pay the full price include deposit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Original English House

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bernardo Santos

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Bernardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy, great spirit of friendship between staff and guests

Disliked: Probably not appropriated for long stays because of noise, but for a short experience is great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Everything ! Friendly staff; really nice and cosy place to stay!! Amazing and familiar Beatles Tour through Liverpool, plus there is always something to snack in the kitchen, serioulsy!

Disliked: There is nothing not to like about it !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: girls' dorm was huge, good kitchen, very helpful staff, it's in a nice area (close to university) and close to Tesco

Disliked: there could be more girls toilets and a bigger fridge

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jorge Esteban Lopez Deiana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Jorge Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, great beds and facilities. Very nice neighborhood too. I definitely recommend this hostel because of the friendly people working there. I had a wonderful time.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: The outside

Disliked: No available lockers Several flights of steep stairs to climb with HEAVY luggage is less than ideal. Bedroom Ceiling leaked. balls of hair and dust and goodness knows what else were under the beds Not enough power points - in todays society everybody travels with mobile phones, laptops, ipads plus hairdryer etc.... Dorm door did have a lock pad but it didn't autonmatically lock when the door closed, I would come back and find it unlocked and without a locker I had valuables that I couldn't keep on my person which were available to be thieved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit awkward to write about this hostel, because it didn't feel like a hostel at all. It rather felt like "a home away from home" and this is the reason why I find it hard to rate it as any other hostel I've stayed in. I had such a lovely time here that I just didn't want to leave. The people I've met there, staff included, were really great. They care about details that are usually overlooked in ordinary hostels (like offering you a cup of tea upon arrival, or giving you free towels...), and know how to make Liverpool taste at its fullest. The atmosphere of this place just can't be beaten! Also, if you are a Beatles fan, you don't want to miss Kevin's free tour of the Beatles' Liverpool, ending with a free entry to the Cavern where a great cover band plays every thursday night! All in all, if you are looking for a life-changing experience and for a laid-back place where you will feel at home and meet some special people, then I DEFINITELY suggest you booking here. But If you are one of those who think that a hostel is basically nothing more than a cheap hotel, and if you're looking for a high level of comfort, then to be honest you might be disappointed with a few things...

Disliked: ... for instance the bathrooms are in a small number and their doors sometimes can't be properly locked or can't be locked at all. Also, the place is quite old and can get a little creaky and dusty at times. Yet with all these flaws, I strongly recommend the Embassie to anyone... just be flexible ;-) !!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, lot of stuff at disposal in kitchen, very friendly owner

Disliked: x

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast

Disliked: no curtains in the dorm room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome hostel, really friendly and helpful staff if your going to Liverpool stay here! Free coffee tea and bread 24 hours a day to!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere with excellent hosts. The bedrooms are clean. Place could do with a bit of paint but would fully recommend this hostel to anybody travelling alone or in a group on a budget.

Disliked: Bathroom facilities could do with an upgrade.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sadat Quoraishi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 May 2011 Sadat would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good facilities for the price.

Disliked: Some shower cubicles had no curtains or doors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Baxter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 May 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: The people running it are great, friendly and make u feel at home

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexis Nisiforou

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2011 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location where the hostel is based. The hostel is a terraced house and feels very homely. Helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and small bathroom.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was full of character and served its purpose for the time we stayed there. The staff were lovely and friendly and i would recomend to a friend.

Disliked: It was quite unclean, the toilet was blocked for the length of our stay and although the room had a lock it was not very secure.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the best ever. Kevin was really kind and helped me in everything, and also the girl. They were always glad to help everybody.

Disliked: Maybe that the location isn't the best, but I recommend this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location in a nice area, close to the city centre. Really friendly greeting and helpful staff. Good character and nice outdoor area

Disliked: Some repairs are in order. But it had no effect on my stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Raef

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: I will never forget my stay here, it was without a doubt the best hostel I have stayed at. Kevin Sr. invites you into the kitchen, gives you tea, free tickets to the Cavern, explains things about Liverpool, where to eat, what to see and is one of the most welcoming people I have ever met. It made me feel like I was staying with a family, not staying overnight for a bed and a bathroom. The atmosphere is warm and cozy and the rooms and bathrooms are clean and nice. The staff is really what makes this place great. At night one of the elder staff came out and talked to us about his youth in Liverpool and old stories in the patio outside..it was like your grandpa telling you stories. This place is great. Kitchen, great basement with pool table, free computer to use, free tea and toast. Plus, you get a great discout at the Beatles Story museum by staying with them. Awesome place, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Nothing. This place was fantastic!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was extremely friendly. He offered a free Beatles tour on the night we came, as well as free entrance to The Cavern Club which is all stuff that we wanted to do when visiting Liverpool. He told us tons of good places to go, as well as a great, and cheap, restaurant we could eat at the first night. They hostel also offered free bread and jam, as well as lemonade, all day long. The poeple were very nice. The atmosphere was a little quirky, but charming. I would definitely give this a very high rating. It was the most interesting place we stayed at during our entire spring break. It was also extremely cheap. Overall, great experience and extremely highly recommended.

Disliked: The place was rather dusty and the door to the bathroom did not close all the way (it had a latch, but it was still open an inch or so which was a little uncomfortable).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Natalia Resendiz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: The Beatles tour was the best!! Its given by the owner of the hostel which met the Beatles so be ready to hear plenty of marvelous stories each Thursday! Staff is very nice and helpfull! I would stay there the next time!

Disliked: Cleannes in the bathrrom early in the morning

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good location

Disliked: few toilets