We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Falkner Square, Toxteth, Liverpool, England L8 7NU

87.8% Overall Rating

219 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2015)

"Owner is a really nice person. The tour he offers for free about the beatles is awesome. If I go again to liverpool no doubt I would come here."

Read all Embassie Liverpool Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
26.75 USD

Hostel 75.4% 224 reviews
International Inn Apartment
51.15 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
35.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 48 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
18.89 USD

Hostel 82.3% 637 reviews
Everton
10.83 USD

Apartment 79.1% 268 reviews
Colebrooke House
47.21 USD

Guesthouse 79.1% 10 reviews
Dolby hotel
25.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.9% 17 reviews
YHA Liverpool
17.31 USD

Hostel 85.1% 228 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

219 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Embassie Liverpool Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really like the location and the building itself

Disliked: The carpets on the hostel were not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly! They provided free tea, coffee, bread, jam, peanut butter, apples, and muffins at all hours. We were given a free gift too!

Disliked: No complaints!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hand down the BEST hostel we stayed in our whole trip. next time im in liverpool i will definitely go back!

Disliked: friendly, made to feel at home, beatles tour on thursday nights was great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jouju Uechi

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 September 2011 Jouju would recommend this property

Liked: Full cooking tools and free bread and coffee

Disliked: The system of entering. I have to ring the bell everytime when I enter the hotel. But the staffs always open the door in no time. No problem.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011

Liked: The Beatles tour was very interesting and I have never ever had an interest in them. Having Sky was useful when it was raining too heavy to go outside.

Disliked: It is in need of some maintenance it's flirting with going from have character to being run down. The shower arrangement was somewhat annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael kerle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly and helpful staff, great bathrooms and showers, free toast any time of the day

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, very friendly atmosphere. Great location aswell.

Disliked: My things go stolen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best choice at Liverpool if you are looking for The Beatles or soccer. Staff realy friendly and helpfulness, the same to the other guests. Close to the centre and the nightlife. You can have tea and toats all day long (not just for breakfast). Clean as a hostel use to be (personally, I think it can be better, it is not really clean...). Anyway, my sister, my brother and me recomends Embassie.

Disliked: It can be more clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

glauber de bona

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 glauber would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing free Beatles tour, free gift, they sell beer for a fair price, and they treat you like family.

Disliked: nothing at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere and beautiful, if a bit run down, building.

Disliked: A bit out of the way from the city centre, but still at walking distance.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were friendly

Disliked: you are not paying your deposit, they ask us pay the full price include deposit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Original English House

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bernardo Santos

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Bernardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy, great spirit of friendship between staff and guests

Disliked: Probably not appropriated for long stays because of noise, but for a short experience is great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Everything ! Friendly staff; really nice and cosy place to stay!! Amazing and familiar Beatles Tour through Liverpool, plus there is always something to snack in the kitchen, serioulsy!

Disliked: There is nothing not to like about it !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: girls' dorm was huge, good kitchen, very helpful staff, it's in a nice area (close to university) and close to Tesco

Disliked: there could be more girls toilets and a bigger fridge

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jorge Esteban Lopez Deiana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Jorge Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, great beds and facilities. Very nice neighborhood too. I definitely recommend this hostel because of the friendly people working there. I had a wonderful time.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: The outside

Disliked: No available lockers Several flights of steep stairs to climb with HEAVY luggage is less than ideal. Bedroom Ceiling leaked. balls of hair and dust and goodness knows what else were under the beds Not enough power points - in todays society everybody travels with mobile phones, laptops, ipads plus hairdryer etc.... Dorm door did have a lock pad but it didn't autonmatically lock when the door closed, I would come back and find it unlocked and without a locker I had valuables that I couldn't keep on my person which were available to be thieved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit awkward to write about this hostel, because it didn't feel like a hostel at all. It rather felt like "a home away from home" and this is the reason why I find it hard to rate it as any other hostel I've stayed in. I had such a lovely time here that I just didn't want to leave. The people I've met there, staff included, were really great. They care about details that are usually overlooked in ordinary hostels (like offering you a cup of tea upon arrival, or giving you free towels...), and know how to make Liverpool taste at its fullest. The atmosphere of this place just can't be beaten! Also, if you are a Beatles fan, you don't want to miss Kevin's free tour of the Beatles' Liverpool, ending with a free entry to the Cavern where a great cover band plays every thursday night! All in all, if you are looking for a life-changing experience and for a laid-back place where you will feel at home and meet some special people, then I DEFINITELY suggest you booking here. But If you are one of those who think that a hostel is basically nothing more than a cheap hotel, and if you're looking for a high level of comfort, then to be honest you might be disappointed with a few things...

Disliked: ... for instance the bathrooms are in a small number and their doors sometimes can't be properly locked or can't be locked at all. Also, the place is quite old and can get a little creaky and dusty at times. Yet with all these flaws, I strongly recommend the Embassie to anyone... just be flexible ;-) !!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, lot of stuff at disposal in kitchen, very friendly owner

Disliked: x

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast

Disliked: no curtains in the dorm room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome hostel, really friendly and helpful staff if your going to Liverpool stay here! Free coffee tea and bread 24 hours a day to!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere with excellent hosts. The bedrooms are clean. Place could do with a bit of paint but would fully recommend this hostel to anybody travelling alone or in a group on a budget.

Disliked: Bathroom facilities could do with an upgrade.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sadat Quoraishi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 May 2011 Sadat would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good facilities for the price.

Disliked: Some shower cubicles had no curtains or doors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Baxter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 May 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: The people running it are great, friendly and make u feel at home

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexis Nisiforou

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2011 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location where the hostel is based. The hostel is a terraced house and feels very homely. Helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and small bathroom.