HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Falkner Square, Toxteth, Liverpool, England L8 7NU

88.6% Overall Rating

202 out of 222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

Brianna Ford thinks…

"This hostel was very homey. Free breakfast and coffee/time all day which is nice. Owner is really nice and helpful. Bathrooms are like home style bathrooms (as in, not stalls). Large kitchen and…"

Read all Embassie Liverpool Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
28.42 USD

Hostel 76.7% 215 reviews
International Inn Apartment
54.34 USD

Apartment 89.6% 8 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
37.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 45 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
20.06 USD

Hostel 83.4% 556 reviews
Everton
10.98 USD

Apartment 82.1% 230 reviews
Colebrooke House
50.16 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 8 reviews
Dolby hotel
21.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.0% 14 reviews
YHA Liverpool
21.74 USD

Hostel 83.9% 217 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

202 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Embassie Liverpool Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 211 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly, and very much a home away from home

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Lockwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Liverpool and maybe even the UK. Friendly atmosphere, cosy and like a home away from home

Disliked: A little far out of the city but worth it to stay at such a fantastic hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely kitchen and relaxation area - great ambience. Great location on beautiful tree lined square close to the UNiversity.

Disliked: No outside door key given so had to ring the doorbell and justify why you were there. Gets tedious after you have to do this 3 times in 6 hours to 3 different members of hostel staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. the host is the nicest ive had, free juice/bread at all times. free beatles tour every thursday. very safe and comfy

Disliked: nothing i disliked. maybe a little far from main liverpool but not too bad

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the building and facilities

Disliked: not much information about the city

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ive never been like this hostel :D

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xianyi Lee

Alone

City break

18 October 2011 Xianyi would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Kevin is an absolute nice chap! The staff there were really helpful as well. Nice quaint place that actually has quite a number of rooms! Bread, condiments, milk, tea etc was free. It has free wifi throughout the building as well! Loved every minute of my stay there....

Disliked: Might get a bi noisy at night but that is expected in a hostel I guess...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really like the location and the building itself

Disliked: The carpets on the hostel were not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly! They provided free tea, coffee, bread, jam, peanut butter, apples, and muffins at all hours. We were given a free gift too!

Disliked: No complaints!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hand down the BEST hostel we stayed in our whole trip. next time im in liverpool i will definitely go back!

Disliked: friendly, made to feel at home, beatles tour on thursday nights was great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jouju Uechi

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 September 2011 Jouju would recommend this property

Liked: Full cooking tools and free bread and coffee

Disliked: The system of entering. I have to ring the bell everytime when I enter the hotel. But the staffs always open the door in no time. No problem.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011

Liked: The Beatles tour was very interesting and I have never ever had an interest in them. Having Sky was useful when it was raining too heavy to go outside.

Disliked: It is in need of some maintenance it's flirting with going from have character to being run down. The shower arrangement was somewhat annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael kerle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly and helpful staff, great bathrooms and showers, free toast any time of the day

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, very friendly atmosphere. Great location aswell.

Disliked: My things go stolen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best choice at Liverpool if you are looking for The Beatles or soccer. Staff realy friendly and helpfulness, the same to the other guests. Close to the centre and the nightlife. You can have tea and toats all day long (not just for breakfast). Clean as a hostel use to be (personally, I think it can be better, it is not really clean...). Anyway, my sister, my brother and me recomends Embassie.

Disliked: It can be more clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

glauber de bona

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 glauber would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing free Beatles tour, free gift, they sell beer for a fair price, and they treat you like family.

Disliked: nothing at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere and beautiful, if a bit run down, building.

Disliked: A bit out of the way from the city centre, but still at walking distance.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were friendly

Disliked: you are not paying your deposit, they ask us pay the full price include deposit.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Original English House

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Bernardo Santos

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Bernardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy, great spirit of friendship between staff and guests

Disliked: Probably not appropriated for long stays because of noise, but for a short experience is great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Everything ! Friendly staff; really nice and cosy place to stay!! Amazing and familiar Beatles Tour through Liverpool, plus there is always something to snack in the kitchen, serioulsy!

Disliked: There is nothing not to like about it !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: girls' dorm was huge, good kitchen, very helpful staff, it's in a nice area (close to university) and close to Tesco

Disliked: there could be more girls toilets and a bigger fridge

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jorge Esteban Lopez Deiana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Jorge Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, great beds and facilities. Very nice neighborhood too. I definitely recommend this hostel because of the friendly people working there. I had a wonderful time.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: The outside

Disliked: No available lockers Several flights of steep stairs to climb with HEAVY luggage is less than ideal. Bedroom Ceiling leaked. balls of hair and dust and goodness knows what else were under the beds Not enough power points - in todays society everybody travels with mobile phones, laptops, ipads plus hairdryer etc.... Dorm door did have a lock pad but it didn't autonmatically lock when the door closed, I would come back and find it unlocked and without a locker I had valuables that I couldn't keep on my person which were available to be thieved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit awkward to write about this hostel, because it didn't feel like a hostel at all. It rather felt like "a home away from home" and this is the reason why I find it hard to rate it as any other hostel I've stayed in. I had such a lovely time here that I just didn't want to leave. The people I've met there, staff included, were really great. They care about details that are usually overlooked in ordinary hostels (like offering you a cup of tea upon arrival, or giving you free towels...), and know how to make Liverpool taste at its fullest. The atmosphere of this place just can't be beaten! Also, if you are a Beatles fan, you don't want to miss Kevin's free tour of the Beatles' Liverpool, ending with a free entry to the Cavern where a great cover band plays every thursday night! All in all, if you are looking for a life-changing experience and for a laid-back place where you will feel at home and meet some special people, then I DEFINITELY suggest you booking here. But If you are one of those who think that a hostel is basically nothing more than a cheap hotel, and if you're looking for a high level of comfort, then to be honest you might be disappointed with a few things...

Disliked: ... for instance the bathrooms are in a small number and their doors sometimes can't be properly locked or can't be locked at all. Also, the place is quite old and can get a little creaky and dusty at times. Yet with all these flaws, I strongly recommend the Embassie to anyone... just be flexible ;-) !!!