We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Falkner Square, Toxteth, Liverpool, England L8 7NU

90.3% Overall Rating

215 out of 236 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2015)

Daniel Lo Cascio thinks…

"The free Beatles walking tour that Kevin Snr conducts on a Thursday night. He is quite knowledgeable and has plenty of stories about his dealings with the Beatles!"

Read all Embassie Liverpool Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
25.42 USD

Hostel 75.3% 221 reviews
International Inn Apartment
48.60 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
33.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 48 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
16.45 USD

Hostel 84.9% 627 reviews
Everton
8.30 USD

Apartment 78.1% 260 reviews
Colebrooke House
44.86 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 8 reviews
Dolby hotel
22.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.9% 17 reviews
YHA Liverpool
16.45 USD

Hostel 84.8% 227 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

215 out of 236 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Embassie Liverpool Backpackers'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 197 of 225 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the hostel was wonderful. He was very friendly and helpful and gave us a free Beatles tour of Liverpool which was very enjoyable. The hostel is located in the prettiest square and very close to the cathedrals in Hope Street. The beds were comfortable and big lockers provided with locks. Free wifi and breakfast ingredients were available as well.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Underdown

Alone

City break

02 April 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: The owners Kevin and Kevin junior couldn't have been nicer. Kevin Senior spent 20 minutes giving me a guide of the cities attractions on a map. They let you help yourself to a range of coffees and teas. They also have toast with a variety of spreads, biscuits, fruit and filled rolls that were available for guests to eat. It was a lovely atmosphere and great location.

Disliked: The walls were a little bit thin, so could be a little bit noisy at night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bruno Mangualde

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really great. The two Kevins are funny and the other staff people are nice.

Disliked: The hostel room was not smelling good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Schwery

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The fantastic reception over there, with all kinds of explanations, information and great stories..

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner are friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is good (except juices). The old style house is cool and the general atomsphere is very nice.

Disliked: Maybe a little bit far from the center. Men's bathroom is quite small and you have to get dressed in the shared part of the bathroom (don't be prude).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Yokota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel stay ever at the start of a 5 month trip, so I can't compare it to others yet. But I can say that I really enjoyed it! Being greeted with a cup of tea on arrival as well as a crash course on where to go/see and a map were a wonderful way to start a stay! The bed was comfortable and the washrooms clean. If you stay, be sure to do Kevin Sr's Beatles Tour! He's very knowledgable about historical and current Liverpool as well as the Beatles and the tour is loaded with great facts and points of interest! Thanks Embassie!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness

Disliked: Too far from city centre

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barry Orr

Alone

City break

02 January 2013 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and common room: beds fairly comfortable. Very helpful and friendly taff member - well done to whoever recruited her! Good social atmosphere when I was there.

Disliked: Nothing specific - that having said, I was only there one night.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012

Liked: There was nothing i liked about this hostel. One of the worst one ever.

Disliked: 1. The lockers were crap and I didn't like leaving anything in them 2. There was no air-condition so our room go so hot. You couldn't open the window because it was right outside the patio and people were yelling and playing the music all night long. 3. The place is so old, doors don't shut properly, floor boards come up, bathrooms have mold everywhere 4. No noise control anywhere. People yelling and screaming play music, running up and down the stair all night. Couldn't get any sleep

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the hostel was great, I felt like at home or maybe better.

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kate McPherson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The WiFi was quite good, and the owners were so nice. The free bread and juice was also very appreciated. The beds were comfortable and my top-floor room was generally quiet.

Disliked: 20 minutes from the city centre, lack of a cozy common area--there was a common area that looked like a pub, which is not my scene. No major complaints.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SEUNGHEE JUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012

Liked: old house but friendly. a little far from centre.

Disliked: an old house. a little chilly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good hostel... a bit of a hippy feel to it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2012

Liked: The location and the map they provided were very useful for getting around Liverpool.

Disliked: I had read reviews about it being rundown. That was a huge understatement. You can loose things through the gaps in the floor planks and the hole in the bathroom ceiling is huge. The entire place was dirty. They had a great locking system but it didn't lock automatically so every time I returned to my room I was able to just walk in. They offer parking but require you give them your keys to use it. That made us pretty uncomfortable since the car isn't ours and had some valuables. A bigger deposit would have been less worrisome.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin Sr. added a lot of character to the place. His Beatles tour on Thursday nights is a great way to learn a little bit about the city as well as the Beatles history in the area. I also appreciated the free toast, coffee and tea 24/7, which made for a more friendly, family feel.

Disliked: It was loud! People ringing the bell to get in every time, plus the old nature of the building meant that especially on the weekend you could hear most people coming in and out of the building.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: Nice neighborhood.

Disliked: The general feeling of the hostel was as if you were staying in someone else's house - someone you don't really know. So it might be comfortable for some people, but not for me. There's no reception, so it's hard to identify who are the staff. I woke up around 8 and there was no sign of breakfast. The bathroom was regular, not exceptionally clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rejane Lima

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Rejane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff. They are really kind and helpfull.

Disliked: They do not have locks enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are so friendly and helpful. Kevin is fantastic and welcomed me like I was staying at his home! I would definitely recommend staying on a thursday night to take Kevin's free Beatles tour which was fantastic! Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a really unique place!

Disliked: not much lockers; the door of the dorm was secured with a pin code but it was not working, so the door of my room was always open as they couldn't fix it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kimberly Law

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so friendly and helpfull. Fun atmosphere. Free all-you-can-eat toast and tea. Plus they have fun activities to do.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Rowe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. It felt like staying with friends.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebecca Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room facilities were comforting and great kitchen.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a little weird

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner greeted us at the door and it was the friendliest welcome I have ever received. He was full of character like the hostel itself

Disliked: Lack of bathrooms, but it did not seem to matter

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: Staff were friendly upon arrival and very informative about what was available to do in Liverpool. The house had character and an endless supply of tea/coffee and bread. Reception open 24 hour.

Disliked: I felt the security of the hostel could have been better. You had to ring the door bell every time you entered the place, but were not checked if you were actually staying there. Lockers in the room didn't work properly. Not enough bathroom/toilet facilities available for the amount of people staying in the place - 2 showers in the only female bathroom with no private area to change.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, pleasant relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: The map card I was given at the hostel has wrong information about the departure point for the Irish Ferries. Luckily, I had popped in to the Tourist Office, and they told me quite definitely that the ferries are now leaving from the other side of the river. If I had been following your map, I could have been in real trouble, trailing around the endless docks at the wrong place, looking for the boat. I think a big cross over that part of the map would alert hostellers that the map is not correct at that point. Kristin Barrett