We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Falkner Square, Toxteth, Liverpool, England L8 7NU

87.0% Overall Rating

221 out of 243 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

"It had 24h reception and we could get something to drink before going to bed. The place had a lot of character and was busy with guests."

Read all Embassie Liverpool Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
26.01 USD

Hostel 75.4% 224 reviews
International Inn Apartment
49.72 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
34.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 49 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
16.83 USD

Hostel 84.9% 649 reviews
Everton
8.60 USD

Apartment 77.0% 269 reviews
Colebrooke House
22.95 USD

Guesthouse 79.1% 10 reviews
Dolby hotel
24.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.4% 18 reviews
YHA Liverpool
14.99 USD

Hostel 85.4% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

221 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Embassie Liverpool Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 203 of 231 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvina Cifre

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

23 July 2013 Silvina would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin, the owner, is the most friendly person ever! We loved his company and all of his helpful assistance. The Beatles night tour was perfect, even though it was raining and it was freezing cold! I'll be back soon!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Pedro Soares Domingues

Alone

City break

20 June 2013 Jose Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, especially Kevin, who's a underfull hoster. They offer tea, coffee, milk, cookies... that's friendly

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a decent hostel. The room is all right, with lockers for each of the beds. It's not too far away from the city center, but Liverpool is quite small anyways.

Disliked: The bathroom is quite small, probably not enough for the hostels size. The bedroom has only one overhead light, rather than each bed having its own light. Nowhere near enough plugs in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christian H. Morris

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2013 Christian H. would recommend this property

Liked: There was free toast, tea and juice at any time of the day. A big continental breakfast for hours each morning. The best part is that on Thursdays one of the owners conducts an awesome free Beatles tour, which ended at the cavern club where you got in for free! The location also could not be better, and was directly beside Brian Epstein's first house and other historical Beatles attractions!

Disliked: For two of the nights we were there, we unfortunately had incredibly loud roommates that checked in very late. As handy as it is to have check in available all night, it can be pretty annoying when a group of loud people join your room at 5 in the morning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Jones

Alone

City break

26 May 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: A FINE HOUSE ON A BEAUTIFUL SQUARE. COSY ATMOSPHERIC KITCHEN AREA. GENERAL FRIENDLINESS OF THE OWNER AND THE CLEANING STAFF. NICE SOLID BUNK BEDS WITH STEPS TO THE TOP BUNK!!! A BIG PLUS.

Disliked: THE WORST ROOM TO STAY, AS IN LESS INSPIRING AND ABIT TOO FULL, IS THE FRONT ROOM WITH THE BAY WINDOW. I'VE STAYED IN THIS TWICE. I THINK NEXT TIME I'LL TRY AND GET A ROOM UPSTAIRS AND EXPLORE THAT PART OF THE HOUSE.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the hostel was wonderful. He was very friendly and helpful and gave us a free Beatles tour of Liverpool which was very enjoyable. The hostel is located in the prettiest square and very close to the cathedrals in Hope Street. The beds were comfortable and big lockers provided with locks. Free wifi and breakfast ingredients were available as well.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Underdown

Alone

City break

02 April 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: The owners Kevin and Kevin junior couldn't have been nicer. Kevin Senior spent 20 minutes giving me a guide of the cities attractions on a map. They let you help yourself to a range of coffees and teas. They also have toast with a variety of spreads, biscuits, fruit and filled rolls that were available for guests to eat. It was a lovely atmosphere and great location.

Disliked: The walls were a little bit thin, so could be a little bit noisy at night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bruno Mangualde

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really great. The two Kevins are funny and the other staff people are nice.

Disliked: The hostel room was not smelling good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Schwery

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The fantastic reception over there, with all kinds of explanations, information and great stories..

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner are friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is good (except juices). The old style house is cool and the general atomsphere is very nice.

Disliked: Maybe a little bit far from the center. Men's bathroom is quite small and you have to get dressed in the shared part of the bathroom (don't be prude).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Yokota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel stay ever at the start of a 5 month trip, so I can't compare it to others yet. But I can say that I really enjoyed it! Being greeted with a cup of tea on arrival as well as a crash course on where to go/see and a map were a wonderful way to start a stay! The bed was comfortable and the washrooms clean. If you stay, be sure to do Kevin Sr's Beatles Tour! He's very knowledgable about historical and current Liverpool as well as the Beatles and the tour is loaded with great facts and points of interest! Thanks Embassie!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness

Disliked: Too far from city centre

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barry Orr

Alone

City break

02 January 2013 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and common room: beds fairly comfortable. Very helpful and friendly taff member - well done to whoever recruited her! Good social atmosphere when I was there.

Disliked: Nothing specific - that having said, I was only there one night.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012

Liked: There was nothing i liked about this hostel. One of the worst one ever.

Disliked: 1. The lockers were crap and I didn't like leaving anything in them 2. There was no air-condition so our room go so hot. You couldn't open the window because it was right outside the patio and people were yelling and playing the music all night long. 3. The place is so old, doors don't shut properly, floor boards come up, bathrooms have mold everywhere 4. No noise control anywhere. People yelling and screaming play music, running up and down the stair all night. Couldn't get any sleep

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the hostel was great, I felt like at home or maybe better.

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kate McPherson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The WiFi was quite good, and the owners were so nice. The free bread and juice was also very appreciated. The beds were comfortable and my top-floor room was generally quiet.

Disliked: 20 minutes from the city centre, lack of a cozy common area--there was a common area that looked like a pub, which is not my scene. No major complaints.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SEUNGHEE JUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012

Liked: old house but friendly. a little far from centre.

Disliked: an old house. a little chilly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good hostel... a bit of a hippy feel to it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2012

Liked: The location and the map they provided were very useful for getting around Liverpool.

Disliked: I had read reviews about it being rundown. That was a huge understatement. You can loose things through the gaps in the floor planks and the hole in the bathroom ceiling is huge. The entire place was dirty. They had a great locking system but it didn't lock automatically so every time I returned to my room I was able to just walk in. They offer parking but require you give them your keys to use it. That made us pretty uncomfortable since the car isn't ours and had some valuables. A bigger deposit would have been less worrisome.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin Sr. added a lot of character to the place. His Beatles tour on Thursday nights is a great way to learn a little bit about the city as well as the Beatles history in the area. I also appreciated the free toast, coffee and tea 24/7, which made for a more friendly, family feel.

Disliked: It was loud! People ringing the bell to get in every time, plus the old nature of the building meant that especially on the weekend you could hear most people coming in and out of the building.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: Nice neighborhood.

Disliked: The general feeling of the hostel was as if you were staying in someone else's house - someone you don't really know. So it might be comfortable for some people, but not for me. There's no reception, so it's hard to identify who are the staff. I woke up around 8 and there was no sign of breakfast. The bathroom was regular, not exceptionally clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rejane Lima

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Rejane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff. They are really kind and helpfull.

Disliked: They do not have locks enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are so friendly and helpful. Kevin is fantastic and welcomed me like I was staying at his home! I would definitely recommend staying on a thursday night to take Kevin's free Beatles tour which was fantastic! Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a really unique place!

Disliked: not much lockers; the door of the dorm was secured with a pin code but it was not working, so the door of my room was always open as they couldn't fix it.