HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Falkner Square, Toxteth, Liverpool, England L8 7NU

92.0% Overall Rating

209 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2014)

"Great hostel with super friendly owner and employees, ready to help you discover the nice city of Liverpool! Comfortable bed in my 10-beds dorm (female), a small light for two beds and enough sockets. I would…"

Read all Embassie Liverpool Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
27.65 USD

Hostel 78.1% 220 reviews
International Inn Apartment
52.85 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
36.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 47 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
19.52 USD

Hostel 91.4% 603 reviews
Everton
7.38 USD

Apartment 78.4% 242 reviews
Colebrooke House
48.79 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 8 reviews
Dolby hotel
24.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.7% 16 reviews
YHA Liverpool
17.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

209 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Embassie Liverpool Backpackers'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 190 of 218 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barry Orr

Alone

City break

02 January 2013 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and common room: beds fairly comfortable. Very helpful and friendly taff member - well done to whoever recruited her! Good social atmosphere when I was there.

Disliked: Nothing specific - that having said, I was only there one night.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2012

Liked: There was nothing i liked about this hostel. One of the worst one ever.

Disliked: 1. The lockers were crap and I didn't like leaving anything in them 2. There was no air-condition so our room go so hot. You couldn't open the window because it was right outside the patio and people were yelling and playing the music all night long. 3. The place is so old, doors don't shut properly, floor boards come up, bathrooms have mold everywhere 4. No noise control anywhere. People yelling and screaming play music, running up and down the stair all night. Couldn't get any sleep

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the hostel was great, I felt like at home or maybe better.

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kate McPherson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The WiFi was quite good, and the owners were so nice. The free bread and juice was also very appreciated. The beds were comfortable and my top-floor room was generally quiet.

Disliked: 20 minutes from the city centre, lack of a cozy common area--there was a common area that looked like a pub, which is not my scene. No major complaints.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SEUNGHEE JUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012

Liked: old house but friendly. a little far from centre.

Disliked: an old house. a little chilly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good hostel... a bit of a hippy feel to it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2012

Liked: The location and the map they provided were very useful for getting around Liverpool.

Disliked: I had read reviews about it being rundown. That was a huge understatement. You can loose things through the gaps in the floor planks and the hole in the bathroom ceiling is huge. The entire place was dirty. They had a great locking system but it didn't lock automatically so every time I returned to my room I was able to just walk in. They offer parking but require you give them your keys to use it. That made us pretty uncomfortable since the car isn't ours and had some valuables. A bigger deposit would have been less worrisome.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin Sr. added a lot of character to the place. His Beatles tour on Thursday nights is a great way to learn a little bit about the city as well as the Beatles history in the area. I also appreciated the free toast, coffee and tea 24/7, which made for a more friendly, family feel.

Disliked: It was loud! People ringing the bell to get in every time, plus the old nature of the building meant that especially on the weekend you could hear most people coming in and out of the building.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012

Liked: Nice neighborhood.

Disliked: The general feeling of the hostel was as if you were staying in someone else's house - someone you don't really know. So it might be comfortable for some people, but not for me. There's no reception, so it's hard to identify who are the staff. I woke up around 8 and there was no sign of breakfast. The bathroom was regular, not exceptionally clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rejane Lima

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Rejane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff. They are really kind and helpfull.

Disliked: They do not have locks enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are so friendly and helpful. Kevin is fantastic and welcomed me like I was staying at his home! I would definitely recommend staying on a thursday night to take Kevin's free Beatles tour which was fantastic! Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a really unique place!

Disliked: not much lockers; the door of the dorm was secured with a pin code but it was not working, so the door of my room was always open as they couldn't fix it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kimberly Law

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so friendly and helpfull. Fun atmosphere. Free all-you-can-eat toast and tea. Plus they have fun activities to do.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Rowe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. It felt like staying with friends.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebecca Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room facilities were comforting and great kitchen.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a little weird

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner greeted us at the door and it was the friendliest welcome I have ever received. He was full of character like the hostel itself

Disliked: Lack of bathrooms, but it did not seem to matter

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: Staff were friendly upon arrival and very informative about what was available to do in Liverpool. The house had character and an endless supply of tea/coffee and bread. Reception open 24 hour.

Disliked: I felt the security of the hostel could have been better. You had to ring the door bell every time you entered the place, but were not checked if you were actually staying there. Lockers in the room didn't work properly. Not enough bathroom/toilet facilities available for the amount of people staying in the place - 2 showers in the only female bathroom with no private area to change.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, pleasant relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: The map card I was given at the hostel has wrong information about the departure point for the Irish Ferries. Luckily, I had popped in to the Tourist Office, and they told me quite definitely that the ferries are now leaving from the other side of the river. If I had been following your map, I could have been in real trouble, trailing around the endless docks at the wrong place, looking for the boat. I think a big cross over that part of the map would alert hostellers that the map is not correct at that point. Kristin Barrett

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012

Liked: One of the cheaper Liverpool hostels. Free internet that works in the rooms.

Disliked: Just hated it. It felt really cramped and dirty and no privacy anywhere. Personal opinion though really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graziella Siqueira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Graziella would recommend this property

Liked: The free Beatles tour on thursday was very cool! The guide, the owner of the hostel, is such a nice person. All the staff was friendly and helpful. They offer free towels. Free lockers. Free maps. The rooms and the toilets were clean. The reception is open 24h. No lockout. There is a cool lounge downstairs, with pool, a big TV, a PC, and a large guest's kitchen. It's a 20 min walking from almost everywhere... I can honestly say that I've spent a really good time there!

Disliked: In fact... Nothing! :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Marchi Netto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice maneger (he knows Beatles a lot!), and friendly staff!

Disliked: Need more lockers!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james mc guinness

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 February 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: I found my stay from start to finish. welcoming and very helpful.The owner Kev sr was great.I really enjoyed the Beatles tour(free) on the Thursday.Great way to meet fellow guests and view parts of the city.The hostel is a 10-15 minute ramble to Albert dock and city centre.Staff were great and all guests were happy as Larry.Will defo come back to stay when watching The Mighty Reds.Liverpool 2-1 Man Utd :-)

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin was really nice , everyone welcoming and helpful , the hostel is quite small and the dorms really confortable

Disliked: No lockers

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the free Beatles Tour

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Cole

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 January 2012 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: We had the best time at Embassie! Kevin the owner took us on a tour of Liverpool ending up at the Cavern Club where he gave us a free pass to go in and see a Beatles tribute act - who were great! The staff really went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time in Liverpool. They knew all the best places to go, especially the night life and we were able to help ourselves to tea, fresh coffee and toast whenever we wanted. Will DEFINITELY stay their when I visit next! Loved it!!

Disliked: Nothing! It was great!