HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bankhall Hotel

Hostel | 53 Bankhall St, Liverpool, Liverpool, England L20 8JD

87.8% Overall Rating

334 out of 350 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2014)

Louise Marx thinks…

"Even though the property is not located inthe city centre I would recommend it to anyone staying in Liverpool. It isvery clean, has great facilities (e.g. the kitchen!) and the staff was very…"

Read all Bankhall Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Guests will be contacted by the hotel to re-confirm arrival time and phone number to ensure an easy check-in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

Knowsley B&B
19.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
O'Tooles B&B
20.35 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
City B&B
16.61 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The King Harry Bar & Hostel
24.91 USD

Hostel 61.2% 7 reviews
Anfield Road Hostel
9.97 USD

Hostel 69.9% 61 reviews
HOAX Hostel
23.25 USD

Hostel 88.7% 81 reviews
Everton
9.22 USD

Apartment 78.4% 242 reviews
Hatters Liverpool
19.93 USD

Hostel 91.2% 602 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

334 out of 350 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bankhall Hotel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 272 of 340 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Marx

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Even though the property is not located inthe city centre I would recommend it to anyone staying in Liverpool. It isvery clean, has great facilities (e.g. the kitchen!) and the staff was very friendly and helpful! Also, we had a little fridge on our room, a small sink a TV and comfy beds. Really, nothing to complain about! You can reach the hostel by train from Liverpool central within 8 mins (plus five minutes walking) and taking from the centre to the hostel is only £6.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Montgomery

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nigel burnett

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 nigel would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean ,with helpful friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Martin

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

26 February 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly. Very clean shared facilities.

Disliked: Sign for hotel banging outside window kept me awake for a few hours a night when super windy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIKE PARSONS

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 MIKE would recommend this property

Liked: Found the place easily, met by warm gentleman who showed us around & to our room. The manager {Javier} was most helpful & kept everything organised and running smoothly, & he had 2 house keepers go through the place daily. They cleaned to a high standard. The room had a big bed, a sink, flat screen tv, & was spacious enough for us as well as being very clean. You have the use of a large common room with PC & printer, full Sky package on a massive tv, & also in the kitchen a washing machine & dryer as well as your own fridge, use of a fully functioning kitchen to cook in. The hostel is a 2 minute walk from the train station, then it is a short journey into the centre of Liverpool. Overall, the manager, Javier was a great help, the showers, WC & kitchen are so clean & if one day we go back to Liverpool we will without hesitation stay there again. ((*_*))

Disliked: Nothing, no complaints at all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the environment are very friendship

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness.

Disliked: The atmosphere and the location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonie Braunstein

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Leonie would recommend this property

Liked: We expected an average hostel for paying only 20pound a night in a two-bed room with breakfast, but the room looked very clean and comfortable so more like a hotel. It is really worth the money!

Disliked: It was not easy to find somebody for check-in and when we needed something. Besides, there was no more milk left for breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GERMAN PEREZ CAMPO

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 October 2013 GERMAN would recommend this property

Liked: Cool staff and helpfull.

Disliked: The beds have such a big size that sometimes is difficult open your luggage.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark white

Alone

Business / conference

20 October 2013 mark would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: At this price nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camila Emidio

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

01 October 2013 Camila would recommend this property

Liked: Great accomodation! The room is clean and confortable.

Disliked: The location is away from the center, but is next to underground.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah ruscoe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It is an old building with modern facilities. The toilets and kitchen are extremely clean, better than some 5 star hotels I have been too.

Disliked: It is in an industrial park

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NICHOLAS NEALE

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 NICHOLAS would recommend this property

Liked: location next to a station. Very friendly owner. Great facilities. Fab value for money

Disliked: other guests who dont dry up after themselves

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Tim Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The building is charming in an old and slightly decrepit way, the locks are arranged randomly clockwise and anti-clockwise, so it keeps one on their toes. The kitchen area was excellent and had free laundry facilities. There is also a good selection of free breakfast food to make at any time day or night (Cereals and Toast mostly, also Nutella)

Disliked: The location is quite far from the actual city center, the train makes up for it a bit. Heading east and north leads to quite a few decent little pubs, but no one at the hostel felt that was worth mentioning so I kept ending my evenings in time for the last train until I finally decided to explore for myself.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior of the hotel was a lot better than expected from observing the building outside. Double room was decent with wash basin and tv. Good facilities - kitchen, washing machines and games room. Bathrooms relatively clean.

Disliked: The location isn't great. Although only a couple of stops out of the city by train it's in a pretty run down and industrial area with absolutely nothing nearby in terms of restaurants, shops etc. Pretty filthy area. Breakfast is included but seems to be old bread/cereal that's been sitting in the kitchen for god knows how long. Hotel is ok itself but I wouldn't stay longer than a night or two as you're not near any civilization.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, great kitchen facilities

Disliked: Some confusion over room booking as manager was on leave, but once sorted with owner, worked out well.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Baxter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value for money, great service and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Peruši?

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: Bankhall hotel is so warm and welcoming, we felt at home as soon as we got there. It has all you need, we especially liked umbrellas that you could borrow :D It's great that you can cook your own food, as well as coffee, and even wash your clothes. And it's really clean. Would recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: At first we were a bit afraid of the location, but it's actually ok, just a little empty. Too bad there aren't any pubs and shops nearby, but on the other hand, it's just a few minutes from centre if you take the train.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Paul

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great and welcoming customer service, very hospitable and extremely clean. Value for money and very clearly intent on making our stay as pleasant as possible.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: slept well. enjoyed facilities.

Disliked: there's no shops around here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hotel is situated very close to the "Bankhall Station" - if you don't mind buying a day rider (3.60) and coming home not too late (so that you can get the last train/bus) - this is a perfect location, really! I also liked the big common rooms - PCs, 8ball, table tennis, everything that you could wish for! And a nice kitchen as well. The toilets were rare but perfectly clean and separated from each other ( a big bonus!). The shower had a continuous and stream of hot water - no animals or any other bad things..

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like about this place was that the rooms were quite old and - obviously - former guests were allowed to smoke in their rooms because you could smell that easily. If you're allergic to the smell of cold smoke, you probably shouldn't stay there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wong Sze Yin, Cheryl

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 February 2013 Wong would recommend this property

Liked: The place was generally clean, there is a huge pantry for us to cook and the guy who checked us in was very friendly. Even though we booked 2 double rooms, we managed to change one to a twin room upon request.

Disliked: Wong left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ke Jun Baey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Ke Jun would recommend this property

Liked: Free use of computers. A chill-out room with table tennis and a pool table. Free breakfast. Walking distance to Anfield (which very probably is the reason for your visit!), takes less than 30min. Just ask people along the way, everyone knows where it is!

Disliked: Shared toilet wasn't something we were expecting considering this is a hotel. But that said, the shared toilets were very clean to be honest, so no complaints. In the wee hours of our stay, one guest outside our room was screaming "I wanna have sex with you!!" in a drunken tone. Rather irritating, but no fault of the hotel. Location is not in the city centre, but you can easily catch a train which brings you to Bankhall station, but still costs some money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service and wonderful staff!!! Alex was very helpful with all his advice about sightseeing in Liverpool. Lovely room and safe, friendly atmosphere. Railway station is 2 min walk from the hostel and train takes you straight to the Liverpool centre. No problem with the hostel location at all. Would come there again and will recommend the place to everyone.

Disliked: All was fine.