HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hatters Liverpool

Hostel | 56-60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England L3 5SD

83.4% Overall Rating

507 out of 556 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/02/2014)

Mark Tallett thinks…

"The people in my 14bed dorm were really friendly and although most were from other countries, the facilities such as the bar and common room made it unbelievably easy to make friends. I made friends…"

Read all Hatters Liverpool reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Customers can cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first nights stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable. For bookings of between 7-14 pax 100% of the booking value will be charged within 7 days of arrival. If cancelled 7 days before arrival no fee will be charged. **If you are more than 15 people please contact HostelBookers groups department in order to make your reservation. We won’t accept group bookings done directly from the site. **All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us** ** Please bring photo ID with you - you need it to check in! Drivers license or passport.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
28.42 USD

Hostel 76.7% 215 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
37.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 45 reviews
International Inn Apartment
54.34 USD

Apartment 89.6% 8 reviews
Embassie Liverpool Backpackers
26.75 USD

Hostel 88.6% 222 reviews
HOAX Hostel
22.57 USD

Hostel 89.3% 56 reviews
YHA Liverpool
21.74 USD

Hostel 83.9% 217 reviews
Dolby hotel
21.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.0% 14 reviews
Everton
10.98 USD

Apartment 82.1% 230 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

507 out of 556 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hatters Liverpool'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 399 of 529 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and the free breakfast is nice

Disliked: internet was a bit annoying, but my biggest problem by far was that they constantly played the top 40 dance/MTV music video shit from the tv all day; i mean its terrible and sooo annoying

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 April 2014

Liked: Location is central to city centre

Disliked: No windows in the room, couldnt turn the heating off so it was like a furnace.........disgraceful. Linen not changed once.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mark Tallett

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The people in my 14bed dorm were really friendly and although most were from other countries, the facilities such as the bar and common room made it unbelievably easy to make friends. I made friends with three Swedish girls and two Irish girls who I shared a dorm with- and as I'm an 18 year old guy, I couldn't complain!

Disliked: Unfortunately there were a few things such as the additional charges for a lock for the lockers (which I didn't find necessary so I didn't bother), and that the wifi coverage didn't reach my room, so I had to sit by the kitchen just to go on the internet on my phone.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the character of the building and its close proximity to the city centre and attractions.

Disliked: toilet was broken.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Cruz Gallo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: It's incredible big

Disliked: The day I was there the place didn't have wi-fi and the staff didn't search a fast solution and I was a little bit dirty for some reshuffle inside.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Toledo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: I really like to stay in this hostel. The style and the staff are so great. The breakfast is so good and the atmospheric is so friendly and nice! The room is comfortable and the bathroom is big and clean. I really recommend this hostel and the city!

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location, excellent breakfast and wifi area, good room (with the shared bathroom inside the room).

Disliked: I don't like the shower on the bathroom.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jiaojiao wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 jiaojiao would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, I was staying at 14beds mix dorm with private bathroom, heaps space & security locker in the room. they have little desks & chair in the room to use. Kitchen is big so does the common area. I didn't use the lounge /game room so not sure. Breakfast is really good for 10pounds a night stay I paid.

Disliked: Location is 5mins walk from Lime Street station but if you walk from Albert dock back to hostel it kinda feel a bit far (but not too far). the lights in the bathroom is motion detective, it can go out while u were still in the shower a bit annoying.. Maybe coz it's Xmas this place don't have many ppl around to talk to. kinda feel lonely..

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From 14th till 16th december I was in Hatters Manchester. There is a big differnce between both hostels. The Hatters Liverpool was cheaper but more friendly than Manchester. Everytime if I came into the hostel someone said hello, they looked motivated and were very heplful. I would recommend this hostel plus of course Liverpool!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location (five-minute walk from the train station) in an atmospheric building (esp. the breakfast room is very nice), clean linen and comfortable beds, comfortable rooms (there are small tables and chairs in the rooms, so you don't have to keep your belongings around your bed). The staff are very helpful and there's free and very good continental breakfast (you can also buy full English breakfast if you want). I enjoyed my stay a lot and would recommend the place to everyone!

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: The beds

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and ensuites were clean and comfortable, and everything was in full working order (shower, TV etc). (You can't take these things for granted in hotels & hostels, believe me.) The staff were very helpful and friendly - they gave us great tips for where to check out to sample the local nightlife, and gave good & efficient service whenever we had a practical query. The hostel is very centrally located - good for arrival/departure, tourist attractions and nightlife. Highly recommended.

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Niamh Casey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2013

Liked: It was a short walk from the square, the rooms were tidy and clean.

Disliked: When we arrived we were told infront of a reception full of people our room didnt lock properly and the number that it was. When we discovered the door didnt lock at all the staff told us they thought it was fixed and that there was nothing they could do, and not to leave any valuables in the room. I automatically felt unsafe sleeping there at night and i had to hide my money as i wouldnt bring it all out at night time.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Franzen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to station

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: Very dirty. The rooms stink and the toilet inside the room are also dirty, the door doesn't close, so no privacy and so then worse smell in the room. The kitchen is also disgusting. All the utensils are dirty as well as the furniture.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and value for money.

Disliked: Were unlucky on our first night and had terrible roomates who slept in our beds twice. Staff were very kind in changing the bedding.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susana Matos

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Susana would recommend this property

Liked: the building is simply fabulous!

Disliked: Susana left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

VICTOR DE LA CRUZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 VICTOR would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to walk from there to everywhere. Hard to get lost Nice confortable beds with clean sheets and good toilet shower

Disliked: Some staff looked upset all the time. If you ask for some help it seems I was bothering them...Receptionist looked like not interested in customers. When I did checked-in recepcionist was not really helpful. I solved my own problems without them.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Edgar Avalos

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

12 September 2013 Edgar would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Price at weekends

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erica Chung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great! it's right in the Liverpool center and easy to reach all the tourist attractions! and there are supermarkets around also the kitchen supplies are complete! the bed is comfy and the bathroom is clean as well!

Disliked: if the price can go a bit lower will be great!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. There were a number of communal areas, including outside garden and large living room/ dining room. There was also a very good selection of music playing too (IMO) 2. The staff were friendly and helpful and the dorm rooms were quiet. It was no hassle coming and going from the hostel at all hours. 3. Good selection of free breakfast and there was plenty of coffee and tea available. 4. The cat :)

Disliked: 1. I think more than one toilet per 10 person dorm might be a good idea (especially if fully booked). The showers also stopped working for a while. That said, there are a couple of communal bathrooms on a different floor. 2. The shared kitchen could do with a wash; the surfaces are wiped clean, but the handles of cupboards were absolutely encrusted. 3. The free wifi didn't seem to work (though it appeared possible to use the computers).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Laura Barragán Chávez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Ana Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast has variety of everything. Good location.

Disliked: Wi-fi is only in ground floor, if you want wi-fi in your room you have to pay for it. On Sunday I guess they don't clean the cups of the free coffee/tee in the bar because the whole day were dirty.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tim Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Hatters has a very nice aesthetic and is located right in the heart of everything one should do, also has numerous tie ins to local tours (Specifically the Fab Four cab tour)

Disliked: The bathroom had two locks, neither of which was functional... more odd than a complaint. The wifi was bad in literally every area of the hostel

The property's response is...