HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hatters Hostel- Liverpool Liverpool Hostel

56/60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 83%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.53USD

Important Information

Check-In/Out Details :
Earliest Check-in: 14:00.
Latest Check-out: 11:00.

Customers can cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first nights stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

For bookings of between 7-14 pax 100% of the booking value will be charged within 7 days of arrival. If cancelled 7 days before arrival no fee will be charged.

**If you are more than 15 people please contact HostelBookers groups department in order to make your reservation. We won’t accept group bookings done directly from the site.

**All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us**

** Please bring photo ID with you - you need it to check in! Drivers license or passport.

Hatters enforces a strict 14 night maximum stay policy.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 83%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 86%

Showing 81-90 of 93 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: First and foremost, I would like to commend Ashley at the front desk for her great service and enthusiasm. She was a stand-out member of staff and I think she deserves the be given a good review here.My friend and I were put in a small room on the first floor, which was fine until we discovered the black mould growing on the curtains and behind the bed. We debated staying in the room, worrying that the staff wouldn't be quite so understanding and would clean the room grudgingly, but in the end decided it would be best if we were honest and said the room wasn't up to scratch.Ashley was extremely understanding and promptly moved us to a mould-free room on the ground floor. Plus, the room was much bigger, which was an added bonus. She also gave us a great recommendation for a lovely Italian restaurant, which I have to say was fab. Overall, the service from Ashley was great and if you ever stay at Hatters Liverpool, make sure you speak to her.The only reason I've not given the quality of service full marks is because the friendliness of the staff isn't consistent.Other than that, everything else was good or great. The location is fantastic, the bar/dining hall is lovely and a great place to socialise. If I ever wish to seek cheap accommodation in Liverpool, Hatters will definitely be on my list.

Disliked: - Poor WiFi signal, very frustrating. My friend paid £5 for a better signal, and that didn't make any difference at all. The PC suite downstairs claims to have a signal, but it doesn't.- Black mould in the rooms... please sort this out, it seems like something so basic that should be taken care of!- I borrowed an iron and put a £10 deposit on it. Fine, but it's not cool if the iron is rusty and old and doesn't even come with an ironing board.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your wonderfully kind review. We will make sure Ashlea reads this, as we are sure it will make her day! We really appreciate the feedback you have given us, and we will most certainly use it to improve on the areas you have mentioned. We apologise that your original room wasn't quite up to scratch, but we're very happy that you still enjoyed yourself and would like to come again if you're ever in Liverpool! Thank you again for the review! ...With love from Liverpool

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: Walking up and down five floor each day is quite tiring, especially while check in and out

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We take the health of our guests very seriously, so we do all we can to keep you nice and fit! We're joking of course, and do apologise for the lift being temporarily out of action during your stay. However, you can ask any member of staff, anytime, and they will be more than happy to carry your luggage up and down for you!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good beds, friendly staff, uniq atmosphere. The bar/lounge/breakfast-area is quite an attraction in it self, with its combination of styles. Great place to hang out at any time. But they have all kinds of rooms, mostly in the basement. Even a small room for studying! The staff arranges events like game nights and even breakfast sometimes. If you are travelling alone, this is also a good place to meet level minded travellers.

Disliked: Well if I have to mention something it would be the internet. The wifi only works in the reception, and if you want to borrow their computers, you have to pay. Something like 1 pound pr half hour, I think. But as I said - it is hardly worth mentioning, since I enjoyed my stay here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the wonderful review! You have put a huge smile on our face! We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay and managed to take part in our evening activities! Our personal faves are film night on Monday, free food night on Tuesday, games night on Wednesday and the Beatles Pub Crawl on Thursday! Actually, the Friday and Saturday pub crawls are pretty awesome too....(I guess that just leaves Sunday for guests to chill out and recharge.) We hope to see you again!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location is central to city centre

Disliked: No windows in the room, couldnt turn the heating off so it was like a furnace.........disgraceful. Linen not changed once.


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! It sounds like the previous guest may have bricked your window up! All of our bedrooms have windows...or so we thought! :P The radiators in your room can be adjusted as you wish. If you have trouble turning them off, you could always ask a friendly staff member, day or night, and they will sort it for you straight away! The same can be said about linen changes. If you had stayed a little longer, we would have changed it. Although, we're happy to do it anytime if you ask ;)

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it was clean and the free breakfast is nice

Disliked: internet was a bit annoying, but my biggest problem by far was that they constantly played the top 40 dance/MTV music video shit from the tv all day; i mean its terrible and sooo annoying

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! Free breakfast is always a winner! It's a shame you're not a fan of the absolute TV gold that MTV has to offer (extremely questionable), but come back and see us again, and we promise you can watch whatever you want! Football, golf...fishing? Jokes aside, we try to mix the TV up a bit to cater for all guests, but we always have the remote nearby so you can usually watch whatever you like! :)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The people in my 14bed dorm were really friendly and although most were from other countries, the facilities such as the bar and common room made it unbelievably easy to make friends. I made friends with three Swedish girls and two Irish girls who I shared a dorm with- and as I'm an 18 year old guy, I couldn't complain!

Disliked: Unfortunately there were a few things such as the additional charges for a lock for the lockers (which I didn't find necessary so I didn't bother), and that the wifi coverage didn't reach my room, so I had to sit by the kitchen just to go on the internet on my phone.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We have our free wifi in communal areas because we want our guests to socialise and make friends! (It sounds like you've got that down to an art!) We do have wifi in the rooms for a small charge, but most guests tend to use the free network anyway. Also, we have padlocks available at reception for a small deposit, but like yourself, most don't find it necessary to use the lockers. We have a luggage room available free of charge 24/7, so that tends to do the trick!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the character of the building and its close proximity to the city centre and attractions.

Disliked: toilet was broken.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We're really sorry about the toilet! Can I ask, did you let reception know? We would have moved you to a different room straight away. Your feedback is so valuable as it helps us to constantly improve our services, so thank you for the review!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Bar

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We love the bar too! It would be great to see you again some time! First round's on you!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's incredible big

Disliked: The day I was there the place didn't have wi-fi and the staff didn't search a fast solution and I was a little bit dirty for some reshuffle inside.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback! Due to an external fault which was out of our control, our wifi connection was unfortunately affected. However, we immediately set up a temporary network to ensure any inconvenience to our guests was minimal. Staff posted clear signs throughout the building, informing guests of the new network and password.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really like to stay in this hostel. The style and the staff are so great. The breakfast is so good and the atmospheric is so friendly and nice! The room is comfortable and the bathroom is big and clean. I really recommend this hostel and the city!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Well you certainly know how to make us feel special! It's so great to hear that you enjoyed yourself at Hatters Liverpool! We would love for you to come back and visit us again soon! Thanks for the awesome review. It will put a big smile on our faces for the rest of the day :)

Check Availability