HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hatters Hostel- Liverpool Liverpool

Hostel

56/60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.10USD

Important Information

Check-In/Out Details :
Earliest Check-in: 14:00.
Latest Check-out: 11:00.

Customers can cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first nights stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

For bookings of between 7-14 pax 100% of the booking value will be charged within 7 days of arrival. If cancelled 7 days before arrival no fee will be charged.

**If you are more than 15 people please contact HostelBookers groups department in order to make your reservation. We won’t accept group bookings done directly from the site.

**All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us**

** Please bring photo ID with you - you need it to check in! Drivers license or passport.

Hatters enforces a strict 14 night maximum stay policy.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

Showing 61-70 of 127 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The old building is really beautiful.

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room. Although there are some available on the ground floor. The kitchen was in a deplorable state too. Not much in the way of things to cook with.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We're really lucky to have such a beautiful building, so we're really glad to see that you appreciate it! Our kitchen is typically well stocked and is checked regularly. However, our guests occasionally get together for group meals and drinks, so if you use the kitchen straight after them, it can be a bit messy! It's easily fixed though! Just let reception know and they will be in there asap, giving Kim and Aggie a run for their money!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: OK

Disliked: Still about toilet, very dirty and old

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback.

You were staying in our biggest dorm so the bathrooms do tend to get a bit busier even though we clean them daily.
Just give us a heads up at reception we have a friendly staff member on standby 24/7 with a mop and bucket :) .

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: G

Disliked: G

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

:) Thanks

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location, atmosphere, staff

Disliked: problem with the showers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! Your feedback is really valuable to us, and we apologise about the showers! I'm not too sure what happened, but hopefully it was fixed quickly by one of our wonderful staff members! If guests ever have an issue with anything, we ask that they come to reception right away so we can fix the problem there and then :) We're a pretty good team here at Hatters Liverpool, so problems usually don't stay problems for long! Thanks again for the review!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very close to Lime Street station for quick getaway. Large recreation areas. Recently refurbished. Clean and spacious.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the great review! We're glad you like our new look! We think it looks fantastic :D There's still a few more areas that need to be finished though, so maybe you could come back when it's finished and see the new-look Hatters in all its shimmering glory!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: the staff was just amazing, friendly, helpful, ( all good only for the staff ); the breakfast was "ok"; location is really good, close to everythink,

Disliked: oh my god, am so sad in say that, but is not about the hostel, ( but it is) the custumers was so shit, drunk guys, snooring all the night was terrible, smell everywhere in this hostel, but notthing was like that, on the bedroom 215 is just a door of the hell, everythink broken, tap, sink, toilet bowl, showers, saddly someone from Helsink was filling drunk and vomited in the shower, its can happens, but saturday afternoon, and i left the hostel today, (monday night) and the shower was still the same... horrible, but was weekend, the "who" should clean that should be singing somewhere....

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We're grinning like the Cheshire Cat! Our staff are a fantastic team, and as you can see from our other reviews, our staff are a much loved bunch :D Also, you're absolutely right. We are close to everything, making our location pretty much perfect for anybody visiting Liverpool! Apologies about your roommates! As Gump's Momma said, 'life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get!' (Or in your case 'who' you're gonna get!) Thanks for the review, we hope to see you again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are friendly and the building itself is fantastic. Hostel is located perfectly for sightseeing round Liverpool

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Woohoo! A Short and sweet review, but it makes us smile all the same! Thank you! Hopefully we will see you again :)

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Including breakfast

Disliked: Can't use free wifi Inside of the roomAnd it's wet the floor in the bath shower room


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! It's great to see you give our free breakfast a big thumbs up! We think it's the perfect way to start an inspiring day of Liverpool sightseeing. Also, we think the free tea and coffee we offer 24hrs a day, is the perfect way to relax when you get back! We just love to spoil you! (Did I mention the free wifi too!) :P

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast was good.

Disliked: They didn't have easter eggs. They want to have the credit card details even if you pay by cash. Expensive accomondation for what you get.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! It is our policy to ask for photo ID and a valid bank card from all guests when checking in. This is to ensure the safety of all guests, in that the right people are checking in to the right rooms. Also, we only have your card details whilst your here, should there be any issues, i.e breakages in the room. We're really sorry about the lack of Easter eggs by the way! We ate them all before you got here :O Hopefully the free breakfast filled you up though!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: First and foremost, I would like to commend Ashley at the front desk for her great service and enthusiasm. She was a stand-out member of staff and I think she deserves the be given a good review here.My friend and I were put in a small room on the first floor, which was fine until we discovered the black mould growing on the curtains and behind the bed. We debated staying in the room, worrying that the staff wouldn't be quite so understanding and would clean the room grudgingly, but in the end decided it would be best if we were honest and said the room wasn't up to scratch.Ashley was extremely understanding and promptly moved us to a mould-free room on the ground floor. Plus, the room was much bigger, which was an added bonus. She also gave us a great recommendation for a lovely Italian restaurant, which I have to say was fab. Overall, the service from Ashley was great and if you ever stay at Hatters Liverpool, make sure you speak to her.The only reason I've not given the quality of service full marks is because the friendliness of the staff isn't consistent.Other than that, everything else was good or great. The location is fantastic, the bar/dining hall is lovely and a great place to socialise. If I ever wish to seek cheap accommodation in Liverpool, Hatters will definitely be on my list.

Disliked: - Poor WiFi signal, very frustrating. My friend paid £5 for a better signal, and that didn't make any difference at all. The PC suite downstairs claims to have a signal, but it doesn't.- Black mould in the rooms... please sort this out, it seems like something so basic that should be taken care of!- I borrowed an iron and put a £10 deposit on it. Fine, but it's not cool if the iron is rusty and old and doesn't even come with an ironing board.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your wonderfully kind review. We will make sure Ashlea reads this, as we are sure it will make her day! We really appreciate the feedback you have given us, and we will most certainly use it to improve on the areas you have mentioned. We apologise that your original room wasn't quite up to scratch, but we're very happy that you still enjoyed yourself and would like to come again if you're ever in Liverpool! Thank you again for the review! ...With love from Liverpool

Check Availability