We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hatters Liverpool

Hostel | 56-60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England L3 5SD

90.7% Overall Rating

555 out of 607 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Neil Benter thinks…

"The staff was amazing. They're easily the best part of this hostel. Everything else was pretty hot too"

Read all Hatters Liverpool reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-In/Out Details : Earliest Check-in: 14:00. Latest Check-out: 11:00. Customers can cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first nights stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable. For bookings of between 7-14 pax 100% of the booking value will be charged within 7 days of arrival. If cancelled 7 days before arrival no fee will be charged. **If you are more than 15 people please contact HostelBookers groups department in order to make your reservation. We won’t accept group bookings done directly from the site. **All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us** ** Please bring photo ID with you - you need it to check in! Drivers license or passport.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
27.59 USD

Hostel 78.1% 220 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
36.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 47 reviews
International Inn Apartment
52.74 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Embassie Liverpool Backpackers
27.59 USD

Hostel 92.3% 230 reviews
HOAX Hostel
22.72 USD

Hostel 88.2% 86 reviews
YHA Liverpool
17.85 USD

Hostel 83.7% 226 reviews
Dolby hotel
24.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.7% 16 reviews
Everton
9.01 USD

Apartment 77.1% 245 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

555 out of 607 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hatters Liverpool'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 440 of 579 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Filgueiras dos Santos

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Bedroom.

Disliked: Bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ligia Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Ligia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very kind, friendly and good location between train station, city center and touristc places.

Disliked: Hostel doesnt have a chargers enough into the rooms and place to put value objects, strongbox for exemple.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That hostel was really good located in the city of liverpool and near to Lime Street so we had not to walk to far after arriving in Liverpool!

Disliked: The breakfast was the best

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the city centre and the train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

michelle storey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2013 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION WAS GREAT

Disliked: michelle left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathleen Bomers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, good common areas

Disliked: Room was a bit small and crowded, hostel's a little too big to be friendly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, but the hostel itself was not really a place that invited you to meet people. Wifi was not working unless you paid for the Internet. Ensuite in the bedroom was particularly dodgy with terrible showers. Good only if you want a place to sleep in but not if you want to spend time there.

Disliked: See above

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Wolfenden

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 December 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, with attentive staff and their policies on arrival/departure/entering/exiting etc. were top notch.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price, Free wifi and breakfast included

Disliked: The shared toilets were very dirty

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 December 2012

Liked: j

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2012

Liked: Location was great. Rooms with ensuite were better than mixed dorms in basement.

Disliked: Very noisy, especially in corridors with drunk people when they return from night clubs. While one could say that this is not uncharacteristic of hostels, we were made to sign paperwork saying we will be fined for noise and being dirty. They don't seem to enforce it much. We were also given a room in the basement for 6 people where radiators did not work, there was a cat at all times as company and the toilets were stinking and sticky! Would not stay there again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kyle Pelchy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Hatter's was prime. Everything was only a short walk away, with a lovely Tesco right next door. The staff was super helpful, friendly, and welcoming, especially Mike who made sure to let me know about Free Pizza Wednesday and the Friday Pub crawl, which is a MUST for anybody fancying to experience Liverpool's hopping college nightlife, led by none other than Mike. I've never had a harder time leaving a hostel before, but I left reassuring myself that I will be back to Hatter's ASAP.

Disliked: The heat in my first room didn't work, but after consulting the front desk, they made sure to get me in to a nice, warm, and cozy room. So the problem was solved in a matter of minutes. :)

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok

Disliked: IT was ok

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012

Liked: Good breakfast Buen desayuno Bom cafe da manha

Disliked: I was on a medical condition and i was waiting an urgent call from my travelling assistance company to arrange an appointment with a doctor, but the staff did not want to put me trough the line when my company called. Conclution I remaind without treatment until I moved from hostel. In some countries is possible to sue them for such thing, I do not know in England. The only weapon I have is to warm my colleages backpackers what to expect here. Durante mi estadia sufri una urgencia medica y necesitaba contactarme con mi seguro medico para que me den un turno con un doctor. Pero cuando el seguro llamaba al hostel la recepcion no me queria pasar el telefono para poder coordinar. Al final no recibi asistencia medica hasta que me cambie de hostel y me pudieron contactar. Como no conosco las leyes Inglesas lo unico que puedo hacer es advertirles a todos los mochileros que esperar aqui. Eu estevi uma emergencia medica e eu tinha que fala r com meu seguro medico para que eles procurem uma visita ao dotor. Mas quando meu seguro ligava ao hostel as pessoas do hostel(staff) não passacam o telefone. Conclusão eu sò foi ao dotor quando eu troquei de hostel. Eu sò posso advertir a meus irmãos viajamtes que vai a sofrer lá.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Camilo Gomez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Juan Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, we got all the information about tours and places to see from the staff. Rooms were very clean, would recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ten jun guo tai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 ten jun guo would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed for 3 nights from 9-12nov, 2person in a 4 mixed shared room, room is not very clean but not dirty, good cooking facilities in kitchen and excellent breakfast with much choice. good value for money.

Disliked: expect noise at late nit sometimes and especially weekends, the hostel is hugh place thus difficult for staff to monitor noise, kitchen sink is filled with unwashed utensils due to people who don't wash up after use, there is rooms for improvements if free wifi is available in the comfort of our room, only assessible in basement area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Estibalitz Etxaide

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 November 2012 Estibalitz would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price and atmosphere.

Disliked: It wasn't so clean and we couldn't have a shower without getting all the bathroom floor wet.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gerard Forrest

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 November 2012

Liked: Good location, good showers

Disliked: Hostel overbooked itself so I was thrown into a bigger room then the one I had booked . Rooms in bad repair

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly

Disliked: I stayed in a 4-bed dorm but it was tiny. Fortunately we were two people only. If the room had been fully booked; I think we would have struggled.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. The place was nice and warm. Breakfast was good, its nothing special but what do you expect for the price! Bathroom in the room is nice, not sharing with a whole floor is good.

Disliked: Mold in the bathroom, they should be able to get rid of that. No lockers. They were happy to put my passport in the safe and look after my computer but I felt I was annoying having to ask to get it back all the time.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2012

Liked: Location was great...free wifi is always a plus!

Disliked: I was overcharged about FORTY pounds. We arrived after travelling for a week and when reception said I owed 90-something pounds (2 people for 2 nights) I thought maybe we had a private room, when I discovered it was an 8 bed I checked my paperwork and they had charged my almost double. I complained and the refunded me the difference, then when I pointed out they actually owed me 5.7pounds more as I had paid a deposit the guy then WITHDREW the 5.7from my account. I noticed this 20 mins later and he said "no we are supposed to debit you, u already paid it...i had to point out the simple maths and he realised he was wrong. He then said, okay so I owe you 10.40 then....no. You owe me 11.40. During this 20 mins I was shopping and there was a man complaining to them as well the whole 20 mins we were gone. There was mould all over our bedroom wall/window. My sister and I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm, and our beds were as fr as possible from each other. The bathroom door lock often got jammed. Our key for our room had to be reprogrammed DAILY for it to work. After all this he said a quiet sorry (t least a room upgrade would have been nice....seeing as it takes 5days for that money you overcharged me to return to my account!) overall unorganized and terrible management. The chairs were all gross downstairs as well, and the lights in the breakfast room turned off one night with no warning and no way to turn them back on? So we were in a dark corner trying to pack up our things with no light. Weird.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lisa rashleigh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel was really close to the city centre and everything else. The staff were all really helpful and friendly too.

Disliked: my room smelt horrible. it constantly smelt of sausage rolls!!! and the bathroom smelt aswell, couldn't open the windows either.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful

Disliked: only one light in the room so if other people already sleeping then you have to get changed in the dark as bathroom is also in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Howard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Well maintained. Good catered breakfast. Just a well run place that works.

Disliked: place is a Bit big. On a quite night, with little people about it was a bit spooky.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, it's located near most of the tourist attractions, clean bedrooms although I will say crap mattresses.

Disliked: Just the mattress condition and pillow thickness.

The property's response is...