We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hatters Liverpool

Hostel | 56-60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England L3 5SD

90.7% Overall Rating

554 out of 606 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Neil Benter thinks…

"The staff was amazing. They're easily the best part of this hostel. Everything else was pretty hot too"

Read all Hatters Liverpool reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-In/Out Details : Earliest Check-in: 14:00. Latest Check-out: 11:00. Customers can cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first nights stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable. For bookings of between 7-14 pax 100% of the booking value will be charged within 7 days of arrival. If cancelled 7 days before arrival no fee will be charged. **If you are more than 15 people please contact HostelBookers groups department in order to make your reservation. We won’t accept group bookings done directly from the site. **All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us** ** Please bring photo ID with you - you need it to check in! Drivers license or passport.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
27.61 USD

Hostel 78.1% 220 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
36.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 47 reviews
International Inn Apartment
52.78 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Embassie Liverpool Backpackers
27.61 USD

Hostel 92.3% 230 reviews
HOAX Hostel
21.92 USD

Hostel 88.2% 86 reviews
YHA Liverpool
17.86 USD

Hostel 83.7% 226 reviews
Dolby hotel
24.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.7% 16 reviews
Everton
9.01 USD

Apartment 77.5% 244 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

554 out of 606 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hatters Liverpool'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 439 of 578 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location (five-minute walk from the train station) in an atmospheric building (esp. the breakfast room is very nice), clean linen and comfortable beds, comfortable rooms (there are small tables and chairs in the rooms, so you don't have to keep your belongings around your bed). The staff are very helpful and there's free and very good continental breakfast (you can also buy full English breakfast if you want). I enjoyed my stay a lot and would recommend the place to everyone!

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: The beds

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and ensuites were clean and comfortable, and everything was in full working order (shower, TV etc). (You can't take these things for granted in hotels & hostels, believe me.) The staff were very helpful and friendly - they gave us great tips for where to check out to sample the local nightlife, and gave good & efficient service whenever we had a practical query. The hostel is very centrally located - good for arrival/departure, tourist attractions and nightlife. Highly recommended.

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Niamh Casey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2013

Liked: It was a short walk from the square, the rooms were tidy and clean.

Disliked: When we arrived we were told infront of a reception full of people our room didnt lock properly and the number that it was. When we discovered the door didnt lock at all the staff told us they thought it was fixed and that there was nothing they could do, and not to leave any valuables in the room. I automatically felt unsafe sleeping there at night and i had to hide my money as i wouldnt bring it all out at night time.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Franzen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to station

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: Very dirty. The rooms stink and the toilet inside the room are also dirty, the door doesn't close, so no privacy and so then worse smell in the room. The kitchen is also disgusting. All the utensils are dirty as well as the furniture.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and value for money.

Disliked: Were unlucky on our first night and had terrible roomates who slept in our beds twice. Staff were very kind in changing the bedding.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susana Matos

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Susana would recommend this property

Liked: the building is simply fabulous!

Disliked: Susana left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

VICTOR DE LA CRUZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 VICTOR would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to walk from there to everywhere. Hard to get lost Nice confortable beds with clean sheets and good toilet shower

Disliked: Some staff looked upset all the time. If you ask for some help it seems I was bothering them...Receptionist looked like not interested in customers. When I did checked-in recepcionist was not really helpful. I solved my own problems without them.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Edgar Avalos

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

12 September 2013 Edgar would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Price at weekends

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erica Chung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great! it's right in the Liverpool center and easy to reach all the tourist attractions! and there are supermarkets around also the kitchen supplies are complete! the bed is comfy and the bathroom is clean as well!

Disliked: if the price can go a bit lower will be great!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. There were a number of communal areas, including outside garden and large living room/ dining room. There was also a very good selection of music playing too (IMO) 2. The staff were friendly and helpful and the dorm rooms were quiet. It was no hassle coming and going from the hostel at all hours. 3. Good selection of free breakfast and there was plenty of coffee and tea available. 4. The cat :)

Disliked: 1. I think more than one toilet per 10 person dorm might be a good idea (especially if fully booked). The showers also stopped working for a while. That said, there are a couple of communal bathrooms on a different floor. 2. The shared kitchen could do with a wash; the surfaces are wiped clean, but the handles of cupboards were absolutely encrusted. 3. The free wifi didn't seem to work (though it appeared possible to use the computers).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Laura Barragán Chávez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Ana Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast has variety of everything. Good location.

Disliked: Wi-fi is only in ground floor, if you want wi-fi in your room you have to pay for it. On Sunday I guess they don't clean the cups of the free coffee/tee in the bar because the whole day were dirty.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tim Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Hatters has a very nice aesthetic and is located right in the heart of everything one should do, also has numerous tie ins to local tours (Specifically the Fab Four cab tour)

Disliked: The bathroom had two locks, neither of which was functional... more odd than a complaint. The wifi was bad in literally every area of the hostel

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

30 July 2013

Liked: The Staff. Amazing and helpfull. Nothing was a chore for them. Very pleasent.

Disliked: The whole hotel an especially d the room we stayed in needs a drastic overhaul. Paint job the lot. The sink tap was loose and tiles broken on bathroom floor. Dorm door wasnt very secure. Windows barely opened with out 3 men to push it up to open. Its all cosmetics needing doing.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 July 2013

Liked: The breakfast was good and staff try to help with any problems. The location was really good. Also lots of room in the building.

Disliked: I can't stay anywhere without reliable WIFI and Global Gossip made me crazy. My room smelled horrible the first three nights and improved either after I complained twice or maybe after the smelly people had moved on. The bed was somewhat more comfortable than a bed of nails.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything just perfect. Location, clean and veri nice place!

Disliked: Like all

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, clean, good location!

Disliked: Doesn't have lockers in the rooms!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Newman

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, staff, cleaniness

Disliked: Door to room kept sticking there was a special way to open but staff were very helpful when got stuck outside, TV remote didn't work and not all channels were available but wouldn't put me off going back.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room had a cheerful decor.

Disliked: The curtains didn't quite close.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jessica Hoffmann

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location right in the city centre. It is located close to all sights, Lime Street Station and the high street. Moreover the atmosphere was very nice and I enjoyed the breakfast as well as the community room. All in all, it was worth its money. It's a good place to stay for young people who don't mind the below mentioned facts.

Disliked: I did not like our room, as it was all wet, cold and very mouldy. There was pubic hair and no mirror in the bathroom, the showers did not work very nicely either, as the water was just dripping out of them. Moreover, the beds were wobbly and you could feel all the springs in the mattress. If you're young people looking for a cheap place to stay, you'll still be fine, but if you've got certain claims you should not stay there.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots and lots of common area spaces!

Disliked: Compared to the rest of the hostel, my room really wasn't that good...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara barone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: confortable beds, modern bathroom

Disliked: facilities downstairs

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle McDonald

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 June 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Hatters Hostel for my Hen weekend. Their were 13 of us all looking for a good time....The atmosphere in the hostel definitely made the weekend. The bar facilities and outside sitting area added to our fun festivities also as the weather was scorching. The staff were really friendly and were not too strict on the noise unless it disturbed other people which didnt really happen as everyone in Hatters was up for a good time. It was located close to all the local shops and clubs (approx 5-10min walk.) The staff were also really helpful and recommended some good spots to visit. We stayed in a 10 bedded dorm and although it was not 5* luxury the beds and bathrooms were clean and was definitely worth the money (we paid £45 each). I would def recommend this for someone going on a hen or stag. :D

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...