We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hatters Liverpool

Hostel | 56-60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England L3 5SD

84.9% Overall Rating

571 out of 627 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2015)

Moorea Thill thinks…

"The showers and bathroom were very clean. The common area with the bar is a fun place to hang out, and the location is so close to liverpool 1. The staff are so sweet and helpful."

Read all Hatters Liverpool reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Check-In/Out Details : Earliest Check-in: 14:00. Latest Check-out: 11:00. Customers can cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first nights stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable. For bookings of between 7-14 pax 100% of the booking value will be charged within 7 days of arrival. If cancelled 7 days before arrival no fee will be charged. **If you are more than 15 people please contact HostelBookers groups department in order to make your reservation. We won’t accept group bookings done directly from the site. **All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us** ** Please bring photo ID with you - you need it to check in! Drivers license or passport.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
25.81 USD

Hostel 75.3% 221 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
34.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 48 reviews
International Inn Apartment
49.35 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Embassie Liverpool Backpackers
27.33 USD

Hostel 88.9% 237 reviews
HOAX Hostel
22.02 USD

Hostel 88.0% 89 reviews
YHA Liverpool
15.18 USD

Hostel 85.1% 228 reviews
Dolby hotel
22.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.9% 17 reviews
Everton
8.43 USD

Apartment 78.1% 260 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

571 out of 627 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hatters Liverpool'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 452 of 598 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Myfanwy Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Myfanwy would recommend this property

Liked: First and foremost, I would like to commend Ashley at the front desk for her great service and enthusiasm. She was a stand-out member of staff and I think she deserves the be given a good review here. My friend and I were put in a small room on the first floor, which was fine until we discovered the black mould growing on the curtains and behind the bed. We debated staying in the room, worrying that the staff wouldn't be quite so understanding and would clean the room grudgingly, but in the end decided it would be best if we were honest and said the room wasn't up to scratch. Ashley was extremely understanding and promptly moved us to a mould-free room on the ground floor. Plus, the room was much bigger, which was an added bonus. She also gave us a great recommendation for a lovely Italian restaurant, which I have to say was fab. Overall, the service from Ashley was great and if you ever stay at Hatters Liverpool, make sure you speak to her. The only reason I've not given the quality of service full marks is because the friendliness of the staff isn't consistent. Other than that, everything else was good or great. The location is fantastic, the bar/dining hall is lovely and a great place to socialise. If I ever wish to seek cheap accommodation in Liverpool, Hatters will definitely be on my list.

Disliked: - Poor WiFi signal, very frustrating. My friend paid £5 for a better signal, and that didn't make any difference at all. The PC suite downstairs claims to have a signal, but it doesn't. - Black mould in the rooms... please sort this out, it seems like something so basic that should be taken care of! - I borrowed an iron and put a £10 deposit on it. Fine, but it's not cool if the iron is rusty and old and doesn't even come with an ironing board.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are friendly and the building itself is fantastic. Hostel is located perfectly for sightseeing round Liverpool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mia Amby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Mia would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, friendly staff, uniq atmosphere. The bar/lounge/breakfast-area is quite an attraction in it self, with its combination of styles. Great place to hang out at any time. But they have all kinds of rooms, mostly in the basement. Even a small room for studying! The staff arranges events like game nights and even breakfast sometimes. If you are travelling alone, this is also a good place to meet level minded travellers.

Disliked: Well if I have to mention something it would be the internet. The wifi only works in the reception, and if you want to borrow their computers, you have to pay. Something like 1 pound pr half hour, I think. But as I said - it is hardly worth mentioning, since I enjoyed my stay here.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and the free breakfast is nice

Disliked: internet was a bit annoying, but my biggest problem by far was that they constantly played the top 40 dance/MTV music video shit from the tv all day; i mean its terrible and sooo annoying

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 April 2014

Liked: Location is central to city centre

Disliked: No windows in the room, couldnt turn the heating off so it was like a furnace.........disgraceful. Linen not changed once.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mark Tallett

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The people in my 14bed dorm were really friendly and although most were from other countries, the facilities such as the bar and common room made it unbelievably easy to make friends. I made friends with three Swedish girls and two Irish girls who I shared a dorm with- and as I'm an 18 year old guy, I couldn't complain!

Disliked: Unfortunately there were a few things such as the additional charges for a lock for the lockers (which I didn't find necessary so I didn't bother), and that the wifi coverage didn't reach my room, so I had to sit by the kitchen just to go on the internet on my phone.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the character of the building and its close proximity to the city centre and attractions.

Disliked: toilet was broken.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Cruz Gallo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: It's incredible big

Disliked: The day I was there the place didn't have wi-fi and the staff didn't search a fast solution and I was a little bit dirty for some reshuffle inside.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Toledo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: I really like to stay in this hostel. The style and the staff are so great. The breakfast is so good and the atmospheric is so friendly and nice! The room is comfortable and the bathroom is big and clean. I really recommend this hostel and the city!

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location, excellent breakfast and wifi area, good room (with the shared bathroom inside the room).

Disliked: I don't like the shower on the bathroom.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jiaojiao wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 jiaojiao would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, I was staying at 14beds mix dorm with private bathroom, heaps space & security locker in the room. they have little desks & chair in the room to use. Kitchen is big so does the common area. I didn't use the lounge /game room so not sure. Breakfast is really good for 10pounds a night stay I paid.

Disliked: Location is 5mins walk from Lime Street station but if you walk from Albert dock back to hostel it kinda feel a bit far (but not too far). the lights in the bathroom is motion detective, it can go out while u were still in the shower a bit annoying.. Maybe coz it's Xmas this place don't have many ppl around to talk to. kinda feel lonely..

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From 14th till 16th december I was in Hatters Manchester. There is a big differnce between both hostels. The Hatters Liverpool was cheaper but more friendly than Manchester. Everytime if I came into the hostel someone said hello, they looked motivated and were very heplful. I would recommend this hostel plus of course Liverpool!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location (five-minute walk from the train station) in an atmospheric building (esp. the breakfast room is very nice), clean linen and comfortable beds, comfortable rooms (there are small tables and chairs in the rooms, so you don't have to keep your belongings around your bed). The staff are very helpful and there's free and very good continental breakfast (you can also buy full English breakfast if you want). I enjoyed my stay a lot and would recommend the place to everyone!

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location

Disliked: The beds

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and ensuites were clean and comfortable, and everything was in full working order (shower, TV etc). (You can't take these things for granted in hotels & hostels, believe me.) The staff were very helpful and friendly - they gave us great tips for where to check out to sample the local nightlife, and gave good & efficient service whenever we had a practical query. The hostel is very centrally located - good for arrival/departure, tourist attractions and nightlife. Highly recommended.

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Niamh Casey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2013

Liked: It was a short walk from the square, the rooms were tidy and clean.

Disliked: When we arrived we were told infront of a reception full of people our room didnt lock properly and the number that it was. When we discovered the door didnt lock at all the staff told us they thought it was fixed and that there was nothing they could do, and not to leave any valuables in the room. I automatically felt unsafe sleeping there at night and i had to hide my money as i wouldnt bring it all out at night time.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Franzen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to station

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: Very dirty. The rooms stink and the toilet inside the room are also dirty, the door doesn't close, so no privacy and so then worse smell in the room. The kitchen is also disgusting. All the utensils are dirty as well as the furniture.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and value for money.

Disliked: Were unlucky on our first night and had terrible roomates who slept in our beds twice. Staff were very kind in changing the bedding.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susana Matos

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Susana would recommend this property

Liked: the building is simply fabulous!

Disliked: Susana left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

VICTOR DE LA CRUZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 VICTOR would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy to walk from there to everywhere. Hard to get lost Nice confortable beds with clean sheets and good toilet shower

Disliked: Some staff looked upset all the time. If you ask for some help it seems I was bothering them...Receptionist looked like not interested in customers. When I did checked-in recepcionist was not really helpful. I solved my own problems without them.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Edgar Avalos

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

12 September 2013 Edgar would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Price at weekends

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erica Chung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great! it's right in the Liverpool center and easy to reach all the tourist attractions! and there are supermarkets around also the kitchen supplies are complete! the bed is comfy and the bathroom is clean as well!

Disliked: if the price can go a bit lower will be great!

The property's response is...