HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hatters Liverpool

Hostel | 56-60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England L3 5SD

83.4% Overall Rating

507 out of 556 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/02/2014)

Mark Tallett thinks…

"The people in my 14bed dorm were really friendly and although most were from other countries, the facilities such as the bar and common room made it unbelievably easy to make friends. I made friends…"

Read all Hatters Liverpool reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Customers can cancel their reservation anytime up 12pm 1 day prior to the day of arrival. For cancellations made outside this period or in the case of no shows, the first nights stay will be charged. Deposits paid to HostelBookers are non-refundable. For bookings of between 7-14 pax 100% of the booking value will be charged within 7 days of arrival. If cancelled 7 days before arrival no fee will be charged. **If you are more than 15 people please contact HostelBookers groups department in order to make your reservation. We won’t accept group bookings done directly from the site. **All bookings MUST have valid bank/credit card details in order to stay with us** ** Please bring photo ID with you - you need it to check in! Drivers license or passport.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

International Inn
28.50 USD

Hostel 76.7% 215 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
37.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 45 reviews
International Inn Apartment
54.48 USD

Apartment 89.6% 8 reviews
Embassie Liverpool Backpackers
26.82 USD

Hostel 88.6% 222 reviews
HOAX Hostel
22.63 USD

Hostel 89.6% 57 reviews
YHA Liverpool
21.79 USD

Hostel 85.7% 218 reviews
Dolby hotel
21.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.0% 14 reviews
Everton
11.01 USD

Apartment 82.1% 230 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

507 out of 556 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hatters Liverpool'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 399 of 529 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a cat!! He is so cute and friendly!! The owners were really nice and funny and sweet, they helped me buy tickets for the Beatles Story for a cheaper price and pointed me in the right direction for interesting things :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jesse Gentzen

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 March 2013

Liked: I felt the location was perfect. It provided easy access to the centre of town and the surrounding attractions including Albert Dock. Was also just a short walk from the bus stop.

Disliked: I found the staff to be most unhelpful. We checked in with a group of seven. At no point at our original check in time did I hear that the group would be separated. When I came back after the 2pm check in time I was told that the group would be separated across two different floors. The man who served us the second time was also extremely rude and made us go through the check in process again although I had already spent time doing this hours earlier. WIFI in the rooms costs money, which considering I had paid almost 20 pounds a night felt a little steep. Whilst the facility was clean I felt the room to be run down with a towel rail on the floor in the bathroom. The bunk beds also creek very loudly. The hostel also uses this policy where you need to have printed pieces of receipt to re enter the facility after an evening out, this is not practical whatsoever as a lot of people staying at the hostel go out to pubs and night spots and carrying a flimsy piece of receipt is not practical as it can easily get lot. My friends and I were not satisfied with our stay and I would only Reccomend this accommodation for its location and nothing else.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, the staff very friendly and the rooms okay.

Disliked: A couple of things were broken or being fixed, I think the hostel was overpriced for what you get (but that might be because we booked rather late) and the public toilets were far from clean. Also, our curtains didn't close completely, both in the living room as well as in the bathroom, which is a little odd.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Diego Riveros

Alone

City break

23 February 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The heater didnt work and the room was FREEZING!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gavin Wilkinson

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

23 February 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good prices, friendly and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Rooms are very, very basic and looking a bit tired and dated, they could Do with a good deep clean and some modernisation.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location. It's pretty feasible to get to various attractions on foot.

Disliked: The room I booked was damp and quite smelly when I arrived.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stefan Hudcovic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: great location, could do better on weekend rates

Disliked: both nights there appeared to be overbookings, its just frustrating , when they make someone move out of their room at 5.00am in the morning keycards did not work properly

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sašo Gorjanc

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Sašo would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, frendliness of the staff and the location.

Disliked: Cleanliness, shity internet speed and weird showers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013

Liked: The staff was very helpful and breakfast was good.

Disliked: The room was not clean at all, there was mould on the walls, and it was very packed for the amount of people sleeping there. The space between beds was very very narrow. There were no lockers inside the room, there were some down the hall but were pretty inconvenient. Wifi was ONLY available in the basement, and it didn't even get to the kitchen (right next to the wifi spot). Also you had to login every 15 minutes which was very, very, very annoying. Some toilets didn't even have paper towels or something to dry your hands. I'd recommend it if you are looking for a crappy hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Filgueiras dos Santos

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Bedroom.

Disliked: Bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ligia Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Ligia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very kind, friendly and good location between train station, city center and touristc places.

Disliked: Hostel doesnt have a chargers enough into the rooms and place to put value objects, strongbox for exemple.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That hostel was really good located in the city of liverpool and near to Lime Street so we had not to walk to far after arriving in Liverpool!

Disliked: The breakfast was the best

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the city centre and the train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

michelle storey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2013 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION WAS GREAT

Disliked: michelle left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathleen Bomers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, good common areas

Disliked: Room was a bit small and crowded, hostel's a little too big to be friendly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, but the hostel itself was not really a place that invited you to meet people. Wifi was not working unless you paid for the Internet. Ensuite in the bedroom was particularly dodgy with terrible showers. Good only if you want a place to sleep in but not if you want to spend time there.

Disliked: See above

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Wolfenden

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 December 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, with attentive staff and their policies on arrival/departure/entering/exiting etc. were top notch.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price, Free wifi and breakfast included

Disliked: The shared toilets were very dirty

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 December 2012

Liked: j

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2012

Liked: Location was great. Rooms with ensuite were better than mixed dorms in basement.

Disliked: Very noisy, especially in corridors with drunk people when they return from night clubs. While one could say that this is not uncharacteristic of hostels, we were made to sign paperwork saying we will be fined for noise and being dirty. They don't seem to enforce it much. We were also given a room in the basement for 6 people where radiators did not work, there was a cat at all times as company and the toilets were stinking and sticky! Would not stay there again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kyle Pelchy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Hatter's was prime. Everything was only a short walk away, with a lovely Tesco right next door. The staff was super helpful, friendly, and welcoming, especially Mike who made sure to let me know about Free Pizza Wednesday and the Friday Pub crawl, which is a MUST for anybody fancying to experience Liverpool's hopping college nightlife, led by none other than Mike. I've never had a harder time leaving a hostel before, but I left reassuring myself that I will be back to Hatter's ASAP.

Disliked: The heat in my first room didn't work, but after consulting the front desk, they made sure to get me in to a nice, warm, and cozy room. So the problem was solved in a matter of minutes. :)

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok

Disliked: IT was ok

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012

Liked: Good breakfast Buen desayuno Bom cafe da manha

Disliked: I was on a medical condition and i was waiting an urgent call from my travelling assistance company to arrange an appointment with a doctor, but the staff did not want to put me trough the line when my company called. Conclution I remaind without treatment until I moved from hostel. In some countries is possible to sue them for such thing, I do not know in England. The only weapon I have is to warm my colleages backpackers what to expect here. Durante mi estadia sufri una urgencia medica y necesitaba contactarme con mi seguro medico para que me den un turno con un doctor. Pero cuando el seguro llamaba al hostel la recepcion no me queria pasar el telefono para poder coordinar. Al final no recibi asistencia medica hasta que me cambie de hostel y me pudieron contactar. Como no conosco las leyes Inglesas lo unico que puedo hacer es advertirles a todos los mochileros que esperar aqui. Eu estevi uma emergencia medica e eu tinha que fala r com meu seguro medico para que eles procurem uma visita ao dotor. Mas quando meu seguro ligava ao hostel as pessoas do hostel(staff) não passacam o telefone. Conclusão eu sò foi ao dotor quando eu troquei de hostel. Eu sò posso advertir a meus irmãos viajamtes que vai a sofrer lá.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Camilo Gomez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Juan Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, we got all the information about tours and places to see from the staff. Rooms were very clean, would recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ten jun guo tai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 ten jun guo would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed for 3 nights from 9-12nov, 2person in a 4 mixed shared room, room is not very clean but not dirty, good cooking facilities in kitchen and excellent breakfast with much choice. good value for money.

Disliked: expect noise at late nit sometimes and especially weekends, the hostel is hugh place thus difficult for staff to monitor noise, kitchen sink is filled with unwashed utensils due to people who don't wash up after use, there is rooms for improvements if free wifi is available in the comfort of our room, only assessible in basement area.