We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Old Dairy

Guesthouse | 39a kempton road, wavertree, Liverpool, England L15 1he

90.4% Overall Rating

342 out of 359 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2014)

Glenys Stevens thinks…

"Michelle and David who are the owners of The Old Dairy were a pleasure to know. They couldn't do enough to make your stay welcome. Everything was so clean and the bedroom and ensuite bathroom was…"

Read all The Old Dairy reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We DO NOT accept large Boozing Groups (5 or more), Stag & Hen Parties or similar. We prefer a peaceful environment for all of our guests. Tourist groups (5 or more) welcome but must check with us first prior to making reservation. PLEASE NOTE: We request all guests to contact us up to 24 hours before arrival to confirm your arrival time. You will receive all our contact details once you have confirmed your reservation. PLEASE NOTE, IF YOU DO NOT RE-CONFIRM YOUR ARRIVAL TIME, YOUR BOOKING, THIS MAY RESULT INTO YOUR BOOKING BEING CANCELLED. ADVANCE BOOKINGS: Bookings more than 4 weeks in advance of arrival date will be charged A NON-REFUNDABLE 50% of the balance in advance. The remaining balance is then payable upon arrival. Guests are notified by proprietor of advance payments made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Liverpool?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Liverpool

Old Hessey's
53.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Devonshire House Hotel
44.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.4% 27 reviews
Embassie Liverpool Backpackers
27.59 USD

Hostel 92.3% 230 reviews
Colebrooke House
48.69 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 8 reviews
Rose Lane
19.47 USD

Hostel 90.5% 9 reviews
Everton
9.01 USD

Apartment 77.1% 245 reviews
International Inn Apartment
52.74 USD

Apartment 89.1% 11 reviews
Cocoon Pod Hotel
36.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

342 out of 359 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Old Dairy'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 275 of 299 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenys Stevens

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Glenys would recommend this property

Liked: Michelle and David who are the owners of The Old Dairy were a pleasure to know. They couldn't do enough to make your stay welcome. Everything was so clean and the bedroom and ensuite bathroom was first class. The bus service was very good with only a 5 minute wait. To travel into the city centre only took about 15 minutes.Nothing was too much for them and we were greeted as old friends. The Old Dairy has excellent security and in a very quite location. There is a paved area which can be used. I would definitely recommend a stay at The Old Dairy and will be making another reservation.

Disliked: Can't think of anything to dislike about this property.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wouter Baas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Wouter would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners

Disliked: Wouter left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cornelis Hoek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Parking our car was a bit of a problem.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly owners.lovely residential area that hostel is situated in. We were really glad not to have stayed in the city and it was such an easy and quick bus ride anyway. Breakfast was amazing, we really werent expecting chocolate waffles! Coffee and tea in our ensuite room was also great! Our accomodation was one of te highlights of our visit!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Carey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff

Disliked: early check out time of 10.30am

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming staff and great value. The room was clean and had everything you need. Free breakfast was nice also

Disliked: Noise at night by the other people staying there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Holl

As a family with children

Events / festivals

29 August 2012 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay clean and secure rooms are first class and the owners dave and michelle are the coolest people you,ll ever meet

Disliked: nowt

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Michelle and David are perfect hosts. The hostel is 10 min away from the city centre, but plenty of buses passes the hostel and will all take you down to liverpool one or Albert Dock. It's in a quiet street, very clean - I Highly recommend it. ingjerd

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faith Osiobe

Alone

Events / festivals

17 July 2012 Faith would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness

Disliked: The checkout time is too early

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funny and friendly staff, good facilites and great value

Disliked: I'm not a fan of sweet breakfasts so I missed a piece of cheese

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny haig

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

24 June 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly proprietor ,nothing too much trouble, great breakfast, self service which was great , spotlessly clean, lovely hot showers, great value for money !would definately go again and recommend.

Disliked: Little difficult finding property and entrance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are the most friendliest hostel owners I've probably met by now. Already on our walk to the hostel we got a phone call by them aksing if everything is alright and if we need some help with the directions. This was the first good impression. When arrived at the hostel, we were welcomed and we immediately felt a warm, familial atmosphere. When we first saw our room we thought we are rather in a nice bed and breakfast than in a hostel. The rooms are really nice and with high standard. After checking in and chatting with the owners, we were told what the breakfast will be like: croissant, waffles, crumpets, cereals, juices, tea, coffee... That is really amazing! The standard of the rooms and the breakfast are what I like most about this property. Furthermore it is once more to mention that the owners are lovely. Me and my friend just spend one night there and wanted to go to the Liverpool match in the evening. As we talked about it to the owners we found out that the man supports Liverpool as well (the lady supports Everton instead) and that he is going to watch the match as well. He then offered us to give us a lift to the stadium. We were really grateful for that as otherwise we would have walked there (about 40 minutes). He even waited for us after the game to bring us back to the hostel. You not often find helpful people like that.

Disliked: As it also says in the description the hostel is not in the city center. But still it is possible to walk there from the center in about 30 - 40 minutes.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good value for money - and a short taxi ride from the city centre was only £2 more than the bus which we also used.

Disliked: The guests staying in the adjacent room left their bathroom light on into the early hours and the noisy extractor fan kept us awake.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were so nice and spend much time advising about the area. They were full of goodwill, they came back from a day off because we wanted to arrive a day early. Breakfast was good. The rooms were very nice furnished and there was nice hot water. I absulutely can recommend this place!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 100% cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 April 2012

Liked: Clean and spacious room.

Disliked: Thin walls. No sink in the toilet.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size room, friendly owners, clean, good hot shower, good options for breakfast.

Disliked: Slightly thin walls - ear plugs recommended in case of any noise (only bathroom extractor fan noise in our case) in adjacent rooms - though they definitely try to discourage noisy party groups so this wasn't a big propblem at all.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners, good facilities, very clean, loads of breakfast options. We booked a twin room with shared bathroom but ended up with an ensuite.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hospital hosts, very clean. Good choice for breakfast., hot and cold. Comfortable bed, plenty of hot water. Excellent value for money. Would not hesitate to return and recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ALL WAS EXCELLENT!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything! Nice bedroom, nice bathroom, perfect breakfast, nice owners though we didn't see a lot of them. Really comfortable and pleasant to be in!

Disliked: a bit far from the city centre but since we had our car it was OK.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners, David and Michelle, were absolutely fantastic, welcoming us with real warmth and care and were on hand throughout the stay to answer any questions. They were both extremely friendly and fun people with a real sense of humour. They genuinely cared about our stay and wanted us to enjoy Liverpool and the hostel. The cleanliness and the facilities in the room were much better than the usual hostel standard and the breakfast / cooking facilities were top notch.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with friendly staff. Very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Rodgers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean and the couple who run it are really friendly and welcoming. Was also really secure

Disliked: No complaints

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, the owners were super friendly, a mini kitchen, and overall good value for money.

Disliked: A little bit far from city, however a taxi only cost around 6 pounds.