We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kendal Hostel

Hostel | 118-120 Highgate, Kendal, Lake District, England LA9 4HE

89.4% Overall Rating

36 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Samantha Holl thinks…

"The lady who runs the place is absolutely lovely. She was very helpful and made sure that she put our two groups close together. One of our group dropped out last minute, and we were not charged for…"

Read all Kendal Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lake District?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lake District

Lake District Backpackers Lodge
26.23 USD

Hostel 75.3% 428 reviews
Glenville House
69.68 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
White Lodge Hotel
81.16 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Fairfield House
71.32 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Burn How Garden House Hotel
110.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
YHA Windermere
18.86 USD

Hostel 86.5% 26 reviews
YHA Hawkshead
21.10 USD

Hostel 77.6% 24 reviews
Thorney How,Grasmere
27.05 USD

Hostel 94.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

36 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kendal Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 September 2014

Liked: Central location, plenty of information abour what was on in the area.

Disliked: Unfortunately it was not that clean - it could have done with a good vaccumm and clean in the bathrooms. We were unaware that the owner had a dog and cat on the premises which in teh common roomwas fine, but not up in the halls and aroundthe bedrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere,friendly staff and the pool table.n

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elsan Rai

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2014 Elsan would recommend this property

Liked: I love the fact it is in the high street and everything is near to the hostel.

Disliked: Elsan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROBERTA BURNS

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 ROBERTA would recommend this property

Liked: Local for ammenities, clean, friendly & cheap!

Disliked: Air con would have been great - yes even in Scotland :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Holl

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

28 July 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The lady who runs the place is absolutely lovely. She was very helpful and made sure that she put our two groups close together. One of our group dropped out last minute, and we were not charged for that person also. We had a brilliant time and we would all certainly stay there again.

Disliked: No problems with anything.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014

Liked: Homely feel in lounge area.

Disliked: Security. Door was broken when arrived (was fixed immediately). One shower had no water pressure, the other the water didn't drain away. Dogs and cats live on site in common areas. (Partner allergic to cats).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great rooms and bathrooms, fantastic atmosphere

Disliked: Wifi doesn't work in all areas of the hostel

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Keith Aubrey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very tired facility lacking in cleanliness.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy and cozy living room with snooker. Enjoyable shower (water run with a lot of pressure. you feel like under a waterfall)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying over the last 4 nights. We were a group of 4 and in the evenings we had the use of the dinning room to hang out. The kitchen is tightly packed but nevertheless we still were able to prepare our meals each night. The best part if staying in the hostel was the place itself. You can tell it's a very old building and together with the owner and her pets, this gives it character.

Disliked: The pressure in the showers could be stronger.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Weiyan Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Weiyan would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location with a cinema just 100 steps away from the hostel! See a film every night during my staying

Disliked: The private toilet and washroom are not cleaned daily

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and homely

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shehzad Mahmood

As a family with children

Family Holiday

12 October 2013 Shehzad would recommend this property

Liked: Size of the room, space in the dinning room,

Disliked: The showers have very very less pressure but for the value of money still ok. The linen is kept on the bed should be done because some people dont knw how to use

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jan went out of her way to make sure everyone was looked after tea, coffee, sugar and milk for drinks, fresh fruit and biscuits are all available free of charge beds comfortable, lots of showers and toilets

Disliked: lots of stairs at the end of a walking day!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Central location, easy to find, and most over that it was right next to the brewery, which is a great place to listen to music and hang out, and have a nice pint outside if the weather is good.

Disliked: The car parking was a bit complicated to get too, but that was mainly because of the one way system in Kendal itself. The kitchen also did not have an oven as far as I can recall. Which might be a drawback for some people. Also the pressure in the shower was quite low, but nice and warm :)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gertraud Axtmann

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Gertraud would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, just next to the Brewery, a theater/restaurant/pub. Free parking just 3 minutes away. Good kitchen, lovely dining room. Very friendly welcome.

Disliked: Sleeping quarters could do with up-dating.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic! Kendal is a beautiful place, and I am eager to return.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very cute, so is the Town itself. And the staff was very friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleni McIlroy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2013 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and the hostel so homey.

Disliked: Nothing worth mentioning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Stevens Irving

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Kristina was super helpful telling me all the things to do in the lake district and how to get around. Very friendly. Very nice dining room and kitchen had good equipment and was clean.

Disliked: Could hear the cars on the main road from my room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place, had a very homely feel about it. There are rules clearly stated out on the board about noise past 10pm, a fairly large kitchen, dining rooms, tv and pool table downstairs. In short, everything that travelling university students would love. We could have had spent all day there if it weren't for the fact that we had to explore lake district itself! The staff themselves were very friendly - we asked for advice on what to see/do in winderemere and she immediately pointed us in the right in direction and gave us several tips on what to do for a whole day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Pugsley

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very clean and tidy, staff were very friendly

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Angela Kidson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

03 January 2013 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Kristina was so helpful, really went above and beyond to help us out. We were hugely impressed and very thankful.

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luke Tudge

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The lady who saw us in was really friendly and helpful. We got the best welcome we have ever had, and free tickets for a night out! I would thoroughly recommend this place for anyone visiting the Lake District. Central location in Kendal and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing really.