HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lake District Backpackers Lodge

Hostel | High Street, Windermere, Lake District, England LA23 1AF

75.3% Overall Rating

306 out of 428 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2014)

"Very well located. Clean and cosy. You have toast, tea, milk, coffe for free to have breakfast. I had a really good experience."

Read all Lake District Backpackers Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: If traveling by car that there is no parking in front of the hostel. This area belongs to local residents and your car will be clamped!! Parking is available on the road overnight and in public car park during the day, 5 minutes walk.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lake District?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lake District

Glenville House
68.97 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
White Lodge Hotel
80.33 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Fairfield House
72.22 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Burn How Garden House Hotel
77.09 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
YHA Windermere
26.78 USD

Hostel 86.5% 26 reviews
YHA Hawkshead
21.37 USD

Hostel 77.6% 24 reviews
Thorney How,Grasmere
26.78 USD

Hostel 94.7% 7 reviews
Kendal Hostel
32.46 USD

Hostel 87.3% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.3%

Overall Rating

306 out of 428 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lake District Backpackers Lodge'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
56.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 289 of 298 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jan Ruben Zilke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Jan Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: It is central

Disliked: Smelled a bit funny

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Seabrook

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location and ease of check in

Disliked: Beds were knackered and uncomfortable. Back aches ensued.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and very central. Nice private room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms, the shower is not good. There are no hair dryers .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in a quiet town, clean room and toilets.

Disliked: nothing much.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Canipe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Windermere

Disliked: The reception process was a bit confusing especially since I didn't receive an email with key codes on it so that I could get into the building. In the end everything worked out fine.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to all amenities, its good value for money.

Disliked: Access at first was hard to obtain as the phone numbers available were none responsive at first. This could be improved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fung Yee Lau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Fung Yee would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience

Disliked: Fung Yee left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located. Clean and cosy. You have toast, tea, milk, coffe for free to have breakfast. I had a really good experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, just few minutes walk from the station

Disliked: not manned, may not be able to contact the manager promptly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Malone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the money. It was all I was expecting.

Disliked: The shower had 2 settings, BOIL and FREEZE, nothing in between, and it randomly switched between the two adding to the excitement. A fun game.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sally Uren

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2014 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Only two showers, one wasn't working very well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Self service makes my stay easy and feel safe. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Room is not warm enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Rose

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and fresh bedding. Great value

Disliked: I cant think of any bad points.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Backpackers Lodge at Windermere was in a perfect location being as near to the railway station and the bus stop as a hostel could be, being literally across the road. There was no-one there to meet us at the property but there was a pin number to open the front door and details were well provided inside. The room was excellent and the facilities were very good with plenty of free coffee and tea and also toast and cereal for breakfast provided. The lounge was comfortable with plenty of seating. I would definitely recommend it as abase for the lakes and would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: I could not find much wrong with the hostel. If I was being really picky I could say that one of the showers needs looking at as it is a bit weak but otherwise couldn't fault the facilities.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, warm bedrooms. Breakfast included in the price, as was unlimited tea and coffee. Wi-Fi free.

Disliked: The lounge was above our bedroom and it was very noisy. Could hear every footstep. Also security was not brilliant as I noticed the man in the next room use the same code as we had for our room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matt Read

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Reads per the description, completely self catering. Reasonable price as not much around and close to station. Breakfast is basic but ok. Clean. Recommened

Disliked: Not much help or assistance as self-contained

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable, good location

Disliked: Improvement with the self-help breakfast

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Natasha Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the rail station ...

Disliked: It will be a hit or miss on whether the other people staying here would be trustworthy as well or not and the lock codes on the rooms should all be a little more varied ...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Security was terrible, we were not professional safe breakers but easily managed to get access to our second room

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHITING CHEN

Alone

City break

29 September 2013 CHITING would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, clean bathroom and kitchen!

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

sébastien maurer

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2013 sébastien would recommend this property

Liked: Its intimacy and cosy atmosphere; its ideal location.

Disliked: The dirtiness and lack of respect of some guests : dirty dishes left aside and not washed, crumbs in the sink not taken away which clogged up the sink, ... The mattresses, which were much too soft.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very close to railway station and supermarked. Kitchen is fully equiped.

Disliked: Room was quite small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasa Urosevic

Alone

Business / conference

25 July 2013 Natasa would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well stocked kitchen and very convenient location

Disliked: no staff in attendance, could create problems if there were issues