We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lake District Backpackers Lodge

Hostel | High Street, Windermere, Lake District, England LA23 1AF

77.3% Overall Rating

310 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2015)

Helen Wombwell thinks…

"Great location for Windermere station, only a couple of minutes away. Loads of buses go from there to Bowness, Ambleside etc. Great that you get breakfast of toast, cereals and hot drinks included.…"

Read all Lake District Backpackers Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: If traveling by car that there is no parking in front of the hostel. This area belongs to local residents and your car will be clamped!! Parking is available on the road overnight and in public car park during the day, 5 minutes walk. Guests must check their email and spam folders for a mail from the Lake District Backpackers hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lake District?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lake District

Glenville House
67.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Fairfield House
80.96 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Burn How Garden House Hotel
73.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
YHA Windermere
15.03 USD

Hostel 86.5% 26 reviews
YHA Hawkshead
12.60 USD

Hostel 77.6% 24 reviews
Thorney How,Grasmere
26.99 USD

Hostel 94.7% 7 reviews
Kendal Hostel
30.84 USD

Hostel 87.7% 41 reviews
Hazel Bank Country House
123.36 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

310 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lake District Backpackers Lodge'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
59.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 303 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Wombwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2015 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for Windermere station, only a couple of minutes away. Loads of buses go from there to Bowness, Ambleside etc. Great that you get breakfast of toast, cereals and hot drinks included. Nice area with bean bags and tv to chill out in. Lockers available to keep your stuff safe. Showers stayed hot all day, I saw a few reviews that said it's hard to get in the showers as there aren't enough of them but we didn't have that problem at all and the hostel was supposed to be full the night we stayed.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shuyi Zhou

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Shuyi would recommend this property

Liked: A great location, near the Windermere Station.

Disliked: I haven't received any email including passwords or any necessary information from the hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

01 April 2015

Liked: The bean bags

Disliked: Getting kicked out at 10.30 on the dot. Made to feel uncomfortable and had to leave. No one around to sort the wifi out or give us our change from paying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quick WiFi Good location Hot water Can manage the heat in the room Very clean Cozy common room

Disliked: Nothing to say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ho Fong Seng

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 December 2014 Ho would recommend this property

Liked: " un-man/un-manned " hospitality.

Disliked: Nil

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jan Ruben Zilke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Jan Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: It is central

Disliked: Smelled a bit funny

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Seabrook

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location and ease of check in

Disliked: Beds were knackered and uncomfortable. Back aches ensued.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and very central. Nice private room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms, the shower is not good. There are no hair dryers .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in a quiet town, clean room and toilets.

Disliked: nothing much.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Canipe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Windermere

Disliked: The reception process was a bit confusing especially since I didn't receive an email with key codes on it so that I could get into the building. In the end everything worked out fine.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its close to all amenities, its good value for money.

Disliked: Access at first was hard to obtain as the phone numbers available were none responsive at first. This could be improved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fung Yee Lau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Fung Yee would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience

Disliked: Fung Yee left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located. Clean and cosy. You have toast, tea, milk, coffe for free to have breakfast. I had a really good experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, just few minutes walk from the station

Disliked: not manned, may not be able to contact the manager promptly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Malone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the money. It was all I was expecting.

Disliked: The shower had 2 settings, BOIL and FREEZE, nothing in between, and it randomly switched between the two adding to the excitement. A fun game.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sally Uren

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2014 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Only two showers, one wasn't working very well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Self service makes my stay easy and feel safe. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Room is not warm enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Rose

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2013 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and fresh bedding. Great value

Disliked: I cant think of any bad points.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Backpackers Lodge at Windermere was in a perfect location being as near to the railway station and the bus stop as a hostel could be, being literally across the road. There was no-one there to meet us at the property but there was a pin number to open the front door and details were well provided inside. The room was excellent and the facilities were very good with plenty of free coffee and tea and also toast and cereal for breakfast provided. The lounge was comfortable with plenty of seating. I would definitely recommend it as abase for the lakes and would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: I could not find much wrong with the hostel. If I was being really picky I could say that one of the showers needs looking at as it is a bit weak but otherwise couldn't fault the facilities.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, warm bedrooms. Breakfast included in the price, as was unlimited tea and coffee. Wi-Fi free.

Disliked: The lounge was above our bedroom and it was very noisy. Could hear every footstep. Also security was not brilliant as I noticed the man in the next room use the same code as we had for our room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matt Read

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Reads per the description, completely self catering. Reasonable price as not much around and close to station. Breakfast is basic but ok. Clean. Recommened

Disliked: Not much help or assistance as self-contained

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable, good location

Disliked: Improvement with the self-help breakfast

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Natasha Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the rail station ...

Disliked: It will be a hit or miss on whether the other people staying here would be trustworthy as well or not and the lock codes on the rooms should all be a little more varied ...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Security was terrible, we were not professional safe breakers but easily managed to get access to our second room

The property's response is...