HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lake District Backpackers Lake District Hostel

High Street, Windermere, Cumbria, Lake District, England

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 97%

Safety 78%

Staff 58%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.26USD

Important Information

Guests must check their email and spam folders for a mail from the Lake District Backpackers hostel.

Please note the following: As our reception is not always manned we will email to you the key code for the front door and your bedroom, once the booking is confirmed. We also have an arrivals list and explanatory notices about how the hostel works etc .

Please confirm your booking with the hostel by email within 48 hrs of arrival. WE CANNOT GUARANTEE YOUR BOOKING IF YOU HAVE NOT CONFIRMED TO US BY THE ABOVE METHOD.

Payment must be made in cash on arrival as we do not have a credit card machine on our premises. We run an honesty system for payment and ask you to put your fee into an envelope provided and post into the safe in the lounge. PLEASE DO NOT GIVE YOUR MONEY TO THE CLEANER OR ANYONE ELSE!

Bookings for Bank Holidays will be followed by a request from the hostel for the full payment in advance of your arrival. Please do not book a bank holiday stay if you are unable to pay in full when requested.

We have one parking place at the hostel , designated by white lines. Please only park in this space, as the remaining area belongs to local businesses and residents and you may get blocked in!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lake District?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 97%

Safety 78%

Staff 58%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating


22 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The location is excellent, so close to Windermere rail station! Toilets were wonderful, I felt like I had my own bathroom. Beds were pretty cushy too.

Disliked: No cloth to dry the dishes

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Comfy beds and truly ideal location just around the corner from the train station. Free breakfast things, a good,well equipped kitchen and a nice communal area.

Disliked: The rooms were very hot - but that's more the weathers fault (no fans though)! Very odd system of payment, no actual interaction with any staff, just a honour payment into a lock box in reception. But I was emailed all the details before arrival. Could be a big problem if you don't have email access the day before arrival.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: self-run, super cool

Disliked: you can't leave luggage after check-out

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: kitchen and living room is good.

Disliked: the sheet did not be changed before.when i checked in,i found there is no new and clean sheets in my room.as this hostel is all DIY,so it's not good.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had been interested in this hostel: by own service. it is near train station and information center, very convenient.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: It was within walking distance of the town centre and access to a lot of amenities. Quick arrangements for check in and kitchen available for cooking. Shared shower facilities.

Disliked: It was very basic, reflected in price. No one to greet you. All check in done by email. Kitchen and showers shared and basic items available for breakfast. Cereal and bread.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The bathroom was new and clean, the location was great, short walk from train station and right by tourist info office. Great value for a basic hostel.

Disliked: Nothing really, but just don't expect luxury, it is a basic backpackers.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The facilities are well-organised and well-designed the self-service scheme is easy to understand and quite convenient I would say they put a lot of trust on users' honesty all the kitchen and lounge are very tidy and comfy it's a quite environment to allow you doing stuff yourself they also hv laundry and drying machine which cost 3 pounds to use one time

Disliked: nothing really

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location for Windermere station, only a couple of minutes away. Loads of buses go from there to Bowness, Ambleside etc. Great that you get breakfast of toast, cereals and hot drinks included. Nice area with bean bags and tv to chill out in. Lockers available to keep your stuff safe. Showers stayed hot all day, I saw a few reviews that said it's hard to get in the showers as there aren't enough of them but we didn't have that problem at all and the hostel was supposed to be full the night we stayed.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A great location, near the Windermere Station.

Disliked: I haven't received any email including passwords or any necessary information from the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability