HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Penzance Cornwall Hostel

Castle Horneck, Alverton, Cornwall, TR20 8TF, Cornwall, England

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.18USD

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will be cancelled not refunded***

Please note - All bookings made via the agency for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

From 1st of April our standard breakfast price will increase from £4.99 to £5.25

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cornwall?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 86%

Location 66%

Safety 93%

Staff 96%

Value 85%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Despite arriving late the cafeteria staff were still willing to put a pizza in the oven for me. receptionist was also incredibly helpful. Above and beyond the call of duty. Good Sized breakfast

Disliked: Shed for the bikes didn't seem really too secure.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful staff. good food.

Disliked: Didnt like Penzance so didnt feel comfortable in the twon area itself when i arrived in the evening, fair walk to the venue and signs could have been better from station.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was super clean and tidy, the entire building was nicely furnished and very comfortable. I felt very welcome.

Disliked: The location is great for families that come around with a car. Despite all the benefits of this great hostel, I would not say it is perfect for younger people who depend on public transportation and would probably like to have a night out every now and then. The hostel is quite far away from the city centre and the train station, it takes about half an hour to walk there.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: very clean accom, staff very helpful and a peaceful and relaxed place

Disliked: nothing there I didn't like

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was helpfull when in need for information on the area.

Disliked: - Wifi not included and very expensive (50p 10 min or 5 pounds/day...)- I didn't feel like in a youth hostel in the sense that the atmosphere was like in a normal hotel, with families and not with backpackers.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: YHA Penzance itself is a charming and interesting building in a peaceful location. The real reason I'm writing this review is express my thanks to Nula (I hope I have your name correct) who was the lovely lady checking me in. She knew who as I approached, checked me in efficiently, expressed an interest in the purpose of my stay helped me with my onward travel but best of all she is warm, friendly and kind in genuine manner that made me feel welcome and much better after a long and tiring days travel. Not just doing her job,but putting real care into it a credit to the YHA and hosteling in general. Thank you.

Disliked: Couldn't really fault the propety itself, but be warned its difficult to find an accurate map. If you use the 'not to scale map' supplied by the hostel as I did - it's easy to follow but the distances are quiet deceptive. Be prepared for a wee bit of a walk too and from the town centre, it's pleasent enough but a bit of a work out if you have heavy luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly and very helpful staff who even made sure we had dinner though we arrived late.Very strong and secure bunk beds with thoughtfully placed lighting and hooks and drawers

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A fantastic hostel! Large bedrooms, new beds and bedding and the best-ironed linen I've seen in a hostel. The building is lovely and beautifully decorated. Last but not least, the staff was excellent. My visit in Penzance was very short and the guy in reception helped me make the most of it. He checked bus schedules to find the best to get me to Land's End the next morning. Definitely hope to stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice stuff!

Disliked: A little far away to the town center

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability