We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Penzance

Hostel | Castle Horneck, Alverton, Penzance Cornwall, England TR20 8TF

84.6% Overall Rating

30 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

"Everything was super clean and tidy, the entire building was nicely furnished and very comfortable. I felt very welcome."

Read all YHA Penzance reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will be cancelled not refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via the agency for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cornwall?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cornwall

Lower Penderleath Farm Hostel
25.99 USD

Hostel 81.6% 11 reviews
Porthtowan Backpackers
34.92 USD

Hostel 92.0% 63 reviews
Falmouth Surf School Accommodation
29.24 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

30 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Penzance'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 27 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was super clean and tidy, the entire building was nicely furnished and very comfortable. I felt very welcome.

Disliked: The location is great for families that come around with a car. Despite all the benefits of this great hostel, I would not say it is perfect for younger people who depend on public transportation and would probably like to have a night out every now and then. The hostel is quite far away from the city centre and the train station, it takes about half an hour to walk there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cathy Griffin

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2014 Cathy would recommend this property

Liked: very clean accom, staff very helpful and a peaceful and relaxed place

Disliked: nothing there I didn't like

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: YHA Penzance itself is a charming and interesting building in a peaceful location. The real reason I'm writing this review is express my thanks to Nula (I hope I have your name correct) who was the lovely lady checking me in. She knew who as I approached, checked me in efficiently, expressed an interest in the purpose of my stay helped me with my onward travel but best of all she is warm, friendly and kind in genuine manner that made me feel welcome and much better after a long and tiring days travel. Not just doing her job,but putting real care into it a credit to the YHA and hosteling in general. Thank you.

Disliked: Couldn't really fault the propety itself, but be warned its difficult to find an accurate map. If you use the 'not to scale map' supplied by the hostel as I did - it's easy to follow but the distances are quiet deceptive. Be prepared for a wee bit of a walk too and from the town centre, it's pleasent enough but a bit of a work out if you have heavy luggage.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpfull when in need for information on the area.

Disliked: - Wifi not included and very expensive (50p 10 min or 5 pounds/day...) - I didn't feel like in a youth hostel in the sense that the atmosphere was like in a normal hotel, with families and not with backpackers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and very helpful staff who even made sure we had dinner though we arrived late. Very strong and secure bunk beds with thoughtfully placed lighting and hooks and drawers

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pagona Tzanakaki

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Pagona would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic hostel! Large bedrooms, new beds and bedding and the best-ironed linen I've seen in a hostel. The building is lovely and beautifully decorated. Last but not least, the staff was excellent. My visit in Penzance was very short and the guy in reception helped me make the most of it. He checked bus schedules to find the best to get me to Land's End the next morning. Definitely hope to stay there again.

Disliked: Pagona left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice stuff!

Disliked: A little far away to the town center

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JIANGUO GAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 June 2012 JIANGUO would recommend this property

Liked: staff is really nice and friendly. it is very clean, cozy.

Disliked: little far away the main road.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prasanthi Cottingham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Prasanthi would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place to stay. Well equipped with everything you need - a kitchen, a lounge, a restaurant. The dorms aren't too big, and are pretty quiet. Out of the town, but not too far to walk.

Disliked: Wifi was expensive. The directions on the email are shocking, I suggest they both change them to be less vague, and you google map it before you go!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property itself is beautiful and the staff are lovely.

Disliked: Location - further than I would have thought from the station and it is a bit expensive. However lovely overall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent. Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gaurav Singh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at the reception was very kind. Toilets/showers were very very clean!

Disliked: Location. Too far from station.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anne-Mette Momsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2011 Anne-Mette would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities

Disliked: away from train station

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorms, comfy beds with individual reading lamps, big buffet breakfast, nice area but out of the way.

Disliked: A mission and a half to get there! Luckily I was on my bike but feel sorry for any walkers with big backpacks. Towel hire £2 a bit steep, also the airport-like fee to use the internet - £1 for 10 minutes?? Too much

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, convenient showers (a lot of space)

Disliked: location - very far away from city center... unforntunately you can't change it anymore!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great old house, beautiful grounds.

Disliked: The desk help was a little pushy, but I've had worse. It's also further outside the town than I expected.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Zubaidah Shaburdin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 March 2011 Zubaidah would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful Manor. Lounge rooms were very comfortable. Heating was at perfect temperature. Kitchen and dining room were spacious and clean. Dorm beds had reading light as well as a little mini-table to place your mobile phones while it is charging. Plenty of powerpoints too. Bathrooms clean.

Disliked: No free wifi. No free continental breakfast. Bar had very little to offer and not that cheap. Can find cheaper alcohol in town. Food at restaurant were quite dear too for a hostel. Showers get clogged easily (seems to be a YHA trademark as had similar experience in Oxford). It's quite far from town - about a 25 minute walk to the centre. Would not reccommend walking back to hostel after dark as it's not very well lit area. Even to get to bus stop is a bit of a walk.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 August 2007

Liked: I liked the self-cateering kitchen and the lounge. The other holiday makers were friendly. Lots of interesting people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly,helpful staff. Lovely garden. Good food available.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a bit of a hike from the train station, but the town and the outskirts are beautiful...you feel as though you're walking into this quiet retreat. The building is old and lovely, and there is a garden. The hostel is right on the A30, which is convenient for drivers. Quite possibly the nicest staff I encountered anywhere in the UK! The food is decent, big breakfast and a menu to order from all day. Decent sized rooms with average beds, but it was very clean and convenient to most everything you'd want to do in Cornwall. Also close to some of the public footpaths and hiking trails!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Andrea Philips

13 May 2007

Liked: BBQ facility in the garden, possibility to camp

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

19 December 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, excellent clean facilities, the only drawback IMO was distance from town.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 December 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and friendly staffs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 October 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, short walk from town, great place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.