HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cheltenham YMCA

Hostel | 6 Vittoria Walk, Cheltenham, England GL50 1TP

79.2% Overall Rating

40 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Dorm is big enough to have your own space. Shower room with door is a plus. Clean toilets."

Read all Cheltenham YMCA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cheltenham?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

40 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cheltenham YMCA'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm is big enough to have your own space. Shower room with door is a plus. Clean toilets.

Disliked: The upper bunk is not high enough. Slipping in the lower bunk will feel "pressure". The upper bunk is better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristian hathaway

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2013 kristian would recommend this property

Liked: nice friendly chap on reception.. room very nice clean an also nice an warm

Disliked: nothing really

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff

Disliked: `Seemed a bit gloomy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a kitchenette in my dorm, and a TV that worked occasionally. Location was excellent.

Disliked: If providing a TV it would be good if it actually worked when required. Some staff were OK, one blatantly gave me incorrect information. Free wifi worked only in the lounge area. Seating in the lounge didn't look clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PETER SMITH

Alone

Events / festivals

13 July 2012 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: It's attractive interior

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe

Disliked: the kitchen is not well equipped

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen in the room, good location

Disliked: Big house with lots of residents but not very friendly atmosphere

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 May 2012

Liked: The location is the only good thing.

Disliked: The staffs are pretty unhelpful, though polite to some extend. There are flies everywhere. It seems like part of the hostel is being used for homeless people, who stay for there for quite a period of time. The YMCA called me 'short term resident'. The kitchen is very messy. The shower has hot water... but not well maintained.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ryan BROOKS

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 May 2012 ryan would recommend this property

Liked: CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS LOVELY

Disliked: CLEANLINESS POOR ..PERMANENT RESIDENTS WHO LIVE THERE ARE HOSTILE AND TREAT THE COMMUNIAL AREAS LIKE KITCHEN AND TV ROOM LIKE RUBBISH AND DISREGARD ANYONE ELSE WHO IS STAYING AT THE HOSTEL ....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff Very good central location Many facilities as the laundry, gym club, TV room, kitchen, etc. Choice between individual room and dorm. Both options are cheap

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lee Harvey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location & very secure

Disliked: A lot of stairs to climb to get to the rooms!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyting was ok.

Disliked: Shower Place

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and secure, I personally had a whole 4 person room to myself, so it was nice to have a room where I could crash and cook my meals when I wanted.

Disliked: The only thing that bothered me was that I couldn't have a female guest in my room even if she was my sister...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location right next to the city centre, staff were friendly and helpful with giving me directions and tops about the town. Safe and secure etc

Disliked: It's really the kind of hostel designed with young homeless people in mind, so the area for B and B guests is quite small and there aren't really any facilities designed with short-term guests in mind except the bathroom on the B+B floor. Perfectly comfortable for a short budget visit though

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like i was staying a hotel! The staff were extremely helpful and showed me to my room, where the facilities were and how to open my room door.

Disliked: nothing, it was all good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

22 January 2012

Liked: The chap working to let us in at the late time was a very friendly helpful man.

Disliked: The bed was hiddeous and the showers were filthy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

claire mills

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2011 claire would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Safety and facilities offered.

Disliked: Bathrooms do need an upgrade.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and helpful

Disliked: The shower was a bit of a thin drizzle

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location close to main town. Good security messures 24h guard to let you in after 10pm. Also the fact that it is the only hostel type of accomodation in Cheltenham/Gloucester area! is much needed.

Disliked: Uncomfortable matress.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the security measures

Disliked: bathrooms - not the top of standard unfortunately

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Rooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Well organised and clean. There were cooking facilities in the bedroom. It was fairly central.

Disliked: Quite a few stairs to climb, hard after a long day of cycling. The receptionist was busy doing lots of things, and it took about 20 minutes to actually get me checked in and into my accomodation.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: some of the staff were friendly

Disliked: It's an unwelcoming place, showers and toilets were in a very bad condition, the kitchen offers nothing - plates, knives, pots etc. were only given to us when we kindly asked at the reception. It feels like the hostel only finances other parts of the facility. I would not recommend the place for anyone.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The toilet is clean. The bathroom is quite clean too. I met a few very helpful and friendly staff. May ask for a map if you need.

Disliked: A bit too far from the train station, especially when I arrived in heavy rain with my big big luggage...Bus is available but the stop is still not very close though...Quite difficult for one who has heavy luggage like me...But if you are with light luggage, it will be much more easy and acceptable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful and friendly. Central location.

Disliked: Not enough implements in kitchen to make breakfast.