HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stobart Truckstops Ltd

Hostel | Parkhouse Road, Kingstown Trading Estate, Carlisle, England CA3 0JR

68.0% Overall Rating

67 out of 96 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2013)

"Low price was the biggest attraction. A simple, clean room with hot showers and new towels. A minute away is large ASDA shop with food, a restaurant, fuel. We bought supplies for breakfast here, and had a simple but…"

Read all Stobart Truckstops Ltd reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Carlisle?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.0%

Overall Rating

67 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stobart Truckstops Ltd'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
67.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Russell

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 October 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Basic but good.

Disliked: Shared bathroom!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Low price was the biggest attraction. A simple, clean room with hot showers and new towels. A minute away is large ASDA shop with food, a restaurant, fuel. We bought supplies for breakfast here, and had a simple but tasty meal in the restaurant. The motel advertises it is "room only" (i.e., no on-site restaurant) but this was not a problem as Carlisle centre has great, old style pubs. Staff were very friendly in reception. If you want a clean, cheap place to sleep, this is great. If you want fancy, with an on- site restaurant, this is not for you.

Disliked: Difficult to find. The property is called "Night Owl Hotel", but don't look for this. It is also referred to as "Stobart Trading", but don't look for this! Find Parkhouse Road, use the Postcode on your GPS, look for the "NT Services" branded truck refuelling station, directly opposite Curry'sPC world, a distinctive shop directly opposite the motel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola ellwood

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 July 2013 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were really friendly and very helpfull and helped us in our hour of need and the breakfast are great just what you need in the morning . Would stop again

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Danny Aston

Alone

City break

13 April 2013 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: After a long day of traveling it was nice to have a helpful and friendly staff member to sort my room out for me (despite arriving at 5am), comfortable bed, tv with freeview, can't really ask for my more for what you pay.

Disliked: 11am check out time and the location is a bit out of the way.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and reasonably priced

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very interesting guests - all the truckers. Very quiet place.

Disliked: Old Sheets in a pile on the floor when we arrived.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

BILLY FOX

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

03 January 2011 BILLY would recommend this property

Liked: Handy for m6 and kingston Ind est

Disliked: Shared toilet and shower

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

02 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cheapest

Disliked: It was very difficult to find in the dark. I could not see a single sign that said 'Nightowl' or 'Motel', eventually realised that it was the 'Truckstop'. As a solo, female traveller I would not have booked at 'Nightowl' had I known it was a truckstop and that the shower room was shared. However I would still recommend it to male friends.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Business / conference

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff. Everyone was willing to go the extra mile to cater to our needs (photocopying, printing, storage etc.)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: No drying room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Close to motorway. Food was basic but excellent. The young staff were bright and helpful. Dining room staff were also cheerful where in a "truckstop" type dining room one may not have expected this.

Disliked: A little hard to find. Appeared a bit threatening. We were assured car park was under surveillance at night making us a little apprehensive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and basic, just what we wanted. Room was clean, beds made, towels and soap provided. If you don't have ensuite you only share with one other room rather than loads. Shower over bath. It is really a 'stop over' for travelers rather than a cosy B&B but was suitable for our one night stop. You get what you pay for, cheap and cheerful without having to pay for things you don't want!!

Disliked: Very hard to find, not sign posted or labeled at all. The directions provided are out of date as they refer to places that no longer exist.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its a good place to stay one night

Disliked: the sitting-room is in the evening full from notebooks and all the travellers are hide behind it.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gregor Pobežin

With my spouse / partner

05 August 2010

Liked: The only good thing about this place is that it's cheap.

Disliked: Everything but the price.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

angel kokudev

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 angel would recommend this property

Liked: i do no know

Disliked: angel left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

dave pearson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2010

Liked: staff were friendly

Disliked: grubby,old,smelly!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

22 September 2009

Liked: easy to find and convenient.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Davison

23 August 2009 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This Truck Stop provided a good, basic, unpretentious place for a "quick stop" to get some sleep and move on. Ideally situated for the M6 at J44. Food served in the bar was "transport cafe" basic, but plenty of it, hot and well cooked (I had pie chips and peas). TV with Freeview set top box in my room. Bed was small, but comfortable. The room was clean.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

17 August 2009

Liked: close to the motorway

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ELTON SILVA

12 August 2009 ELTON would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a twin nice and clean, we shared a bathroom with another room but that was clean as well, very simple and good for the price.The lady at the front desk was amazing! I forgot her name but we came late at night and I had to see a GP and she did everything she could for me to print a map and find the GP address and give me directions etc etc and there was another person there called Dave who helped as well, the staff were lovely that night and I thank them wholeheartedly!

Disliked: ELTON left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a trucker hostel, so it's good to stay here for a short time. The rooms are very good, every day cleaning. The location is not so nice, it's in the middle of an industrial terrain. But near to the supermarket.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap alternative to other accommodation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bastian Ziemer

21 July 2009 Bastian would recommend this property

Liked: Truckers Motel, but good value for money and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Bastian left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cheap and cheerful, very industrial setting

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.