HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kipps Hostel

Hostel | 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England CT1 3JT

95.0% Overall Rating

306 out of 310 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"The staff are quite friendly and the atmosphere is more like being in someone's home than a hostel."

Read all Kipps Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays. NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private. If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

306 out of 310 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kipps Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 224 of 248 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are quite friendly and the atmosphere is more like being in someone's home than a hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel experience I've had. It ticked all the boxes - location great, clean, amazing friendly staff and the other guests are wonderful. I would definately stay here again if I ever happen to be in the area.

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

HEIDI ROGERS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 HEIDI would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff, common areas good, beds comfortable

Disliked: Could do with a refurbishment, bathroom in dorm but there were only one toilet and shower for the private rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Gannon

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 February 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as I came in the door I was met with a fantastic, warm welcome by Carmin (the manager) then she whizzed around the house being friendly, helpful & explaining everything. Basically herself & every single member of the staff went out of their way to help you. The beds were fantastic, great facilities in general, breakfast was astounding value and then they have themed free (delicious) dishes every night. I've been to hostels all over Europe and this was by far the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Outstanding.-can't wait to return! All the other guests I met were lovely too.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike-I'm hoping to stay in their brighton Kipps whenever I next get holidays.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very sociable

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff and great atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warmy place, breakfast (£1.90) and tranquillity.

Disliked: Small bathrooms but clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff Lots of events organised Lovely garden Cheap and varied breakfast

Disliked: would need some refurbishment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely friendly staff, free internet,coffee, tea and towel

Disliked: nothing EVERYTHING WAS GREAT

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Bonvonni

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 July 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a lot of character with a lovely garden to relax instead of having to stay inside! Very spacious communal areas and everything was clean, beds were made to perfection and even had a toffee sweet on the pillow!

Disliked: One and only negative would be the creeky floor boards as I had to get up at 5am most days and had to walk like a ninja not to disturb anyone!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firs time I've been motivated to leave a review - it's that good! Just super friendly people, good location, kept nice and clean, with movie nights and BBQs that create a nice relaxed atmosphere. Hot showers and even a bath!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meeri-Liis Tamberg

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Meeri-Liis would recommend this property

Liked: really friendlt staff, sweet atmosphere. really cozy inside

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: garden, grate living room and antmospere

Disliked: some doors hard to close

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! (expect for the tiny things below) Very nice staff!

Disliked: "interesting" locker design... In which you can still open it with the lock provided by the staff. But since people in the room doesn't notice and most of them are quite nice, it's actually ok for the night. The breakfast could be better. But valued for 2quid.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisca Krabberod

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

24 February 2013 Francisca would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that the staff were welcoming from the second I set foot in the place, something I really appreciated after a long travel. I felt safe and secure and they were effective when finding my booking and with information. They also brought my bag up to the room for me! I staying in a room with four other girls and it was very nice. The sheets were already done and I got to chose which bed I wanted to have. They also offered me a towel. I was leaving early in the morning and would miss the breakfast, however they catered to my needs and had a breakfast packed for me in the morning free of charge. Other things to mention: Free WiFi, coffee and tea, and breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: I was only mildly disappointed with the lack of information on buses up to the university and facilities for luggage storage in the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Iredale

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 February 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, homely place in a nice area. Very comfortable and excellent facilities. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: All good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome nice staff, nice people, good location, clean, comfy, evening events with some free food! all in all just great!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivienne Malone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Vivienne would recommend this property

Liked: Have been travelling in UK for 3 months, and this has been my best experience to date. It is the dedicated staff that make this property so special, as they endeavour to cover all aspects of your stay with as much ease as possible, encouraging fellow guests to join in each evening for a joint supper, chat, giggle, and general 'get to know you' time.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Bauer

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

19 December 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Boh

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 December 2012 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Service is extremely good, people are awesome. Even after we checked out, they said we can go back anytime we want to just sit down at the lounge or to use the computer as our bus only left late at night and there might be nowhere outside to hang out at that time. And they actually called us when they found a wallet in our room. We could make tea and coffee anytime we want and they made sausages and bread and popcorns for us. All these for just 10 pounds per person. It is definitely warm and cosy.

Disliked: Maybe the fact that the room is shared, but after all its a hostel bunk. This is to be expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff were amazing and went out of their way to make sure I got the most out of my stay! One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful backyard lounge area

Disliked: Small bunk beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean and a big well-equipped kitchen. There's a cozy common room with a TV and sofas. I really like the toilet in my room (dorm) - big and clean. Friendly staffs! I've only stayed for a night but someone living in my dorm told me there were pub night outs, pancake and pizza-making etc.

Disliked: Narrow staircase so it won't be suitable for those having large suitcase to stay on the top floors. The floor made a creaking noise but it's totally bearable.