HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Kipps Hostel Canterbury Canterbury Hostel

40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 96%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2.54USD

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays.

NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private.

If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 96%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 94%

Showing 61-24 of 24 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff running this hostel are really helpful and friendly, i think it's run by a family so it's pretty intimate and they are concerned to ensure guests enjoy their stay. the vibe is very much like a comfortable house. the kitchen is spotless, so were my rooms and bathrooms, and there's free tea and coffee. there are nice common spaces; a front tv/lounge room, cosy kitchen, and dining room. i thought it was a really nice hostel.

Disliked: maybe the directions from the coach station aren't that clear?

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Me n my friend stayed for two nights here. Very warm-hearted and friendly staff! And very welcoming! We enjoyed the facilities and the home events that the hostel provided. Nice shower and toilet, always clean n tidy. Strong heating and comfortable beddings , as well as satisfactory wifi speed. It's a great place to stay, relax and enjoy yourself .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its really close to town and easy to get to...the staff are so friendly, they are simply wonderful and so helpful, they make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them. Brilliant!

Disliked: the fan in the bathroom was noisy, I dont think it was working properly

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: staff was very nice.and clean.15pounds very cheap but I contented.I want to use again.

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located in a quiet neiboughood but convenient. A very nice garden.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Relatively centrally located hostel with nice garden; free towel a real bonus.

Disliked: It would have been nice to have reading light and/or shelf for the bunks.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: everything. Location: Short walk from the bus and train stations, easy walking distance to canterbury's attractions. Staff: I have never met hostel owners more hospitable and friendly. They make you feel very at home.Rooms: I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. It was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There was ensuite with toilet and shower, but if these were in use there was also shared bathrooms outside theroom. Kitchen: well equipped, free tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Also free potatoes, garlic, herbs and spices and condiments. Very spacious kitchen.Common area: lovely big loungeroom with comfortable couches, tv, dvd's,etc. There is free wifi throughout the hostel, and a shared computer in the loungeroom. There is something organized every night of the week, eg. Movie night, pub night, barbecueI had a lovely stay at kipps. I've stayed in about 40 different hostels, kipps is in the top 3.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Beautiful garden at the hostel where you can sit and eat, or just relax. The room itself was lovely and bright and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff at KiPPs were very helpful and friendly and did a good job of cleaning and maintaining the facilities while no one was looking, somehow. The place has a real "community" feel which I enjoyed, to such an extent that it was hard to tell who was staff and who was a guest. As a Canterbury student I can say that it's a good location to see many of the local tourist hotspots as well as gain access to other parts of Kent and even London.

Disliked: The shower door was a little stiff.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable and enjoyable~! I really like the style of the decoration there. The garden is really nice too! I enjoyed the free hot dogs in the garden that night. Staff and other visitors are friendly.

Disliked: I hope there could be a washing basin inside the bathroom in the dorm room. Sometimes train doesn't stop at Canterbury East station which is near the kipps. I walked with my luggage for 45 mins from Canterbury West station. But if you are not with heavy luggage, it won't take that long. And its location in fact is quite good if one can catch a train stopping at the East station.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability