HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Kipps Hostel Canterbury Canterbury Hostel

40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 95%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.05USD

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays.

NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private.

If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 95%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 93%

Showing 31-26 of 26 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Lovely, homely place in a nice area. Very comfortable and excellent facilities.Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: All good!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: awesome nice staff, nice people, good location, clean, comfy, evening events with some free food! all in all just great!

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Have been travelling in UK for 3 months, and this has been my best experience to date. It is the dedicated staff that make this property so special, as they endeavour to cover all aspects of your stay with as much ease as possible, encouraging fellow guests to join in each evening for a joint supper, chat, giggle, and general 'get to know you' time.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway

Liked: Staff very helpful

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Service is extremely good, people are awesome. Even after we checked out, they said we can go back anytime we want to just sit down at the lounge or to use the computer as our bus only left late at night and there might be nowhere outside to hang out at that time. And they actually called us when they found a wallet in our room. We could make tea and coffee anytime we want and they made sausages and bread and popcorns for us. All these for just 10 pounds per person. It is definitely warm and cosy.

Disliked: Maybe the fact that the room is shared, but after all its a hostel bunk. This is to be expected.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! The staff were amazing and went out of their way to make sure I got the most out of my stay! One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful backyard lounge area

Disliked: Small bunk beds

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: Quiet, clean and a big well-equipped kitchen. There's a cozy common room with a TV and sofas. I really like the toilet in my room (dorm) - big and clean. Friendly staffs! I've only stayed for a night but someone living in my dorm told me there were pub night outs, pancake and pizza-making etc.

Disliked: Narrow staircase so it won't be suitable for those having large suitcase to stay on the top floors. The floor made a creaking noise but it's totally bearable.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: cosy atmosphere,excellent service,kind and helful staff,many facilities,superb breakfast for only 1.95£,one of the best hostels I've ever been.

Disliked: a 15 min.walk from town center (the center is relatively small).

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The friendliness of the staff was so welcoming, the breakfast was lovely and great value. The location was fantastic. Lovely clean facilities.I would definitely recommend it to people travelling alone, in groups or with their families.

Disliked: The only downside was a couple of noisy guests at three a.m. on one of the nights.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability