HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kipps Hostel

Hostel | 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England CT1 3JT

93.3% Overall Rating

319 out of 324 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ambiente e staff estremamente familiare, accogliente e disponibile. Presenza del wi-fi. Centro città raggiungibile con una passeggiata. Peccato per la pioggia che non ci ha permesso di usare il…"

Read all Kipps Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays. NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private. If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

319 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kipps Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 233 of 262 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, spacious rooms, good communal areas including the garden. Lovely hostel.

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely and it felt like living with one big family. I arrived very early in the morning and they offered me breakfast! They also arranged a bike for me to use. Very clean and spacious room. Loved the shelf next to my bed where I could put things. Met some very nice people during my stay.

Disliked: For me it was a little far to walk from Canterbury West train station (about 30min).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Vanessa Marro

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Barbara Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly, good beds, very clean, they provide towels, soap, shower gel,...activities in the hostel. Great kitchen with enough plates, cups, cuttlery,.... very helpful staff! Amazing!

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Stephens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Free brownies, hotdogs, fast internet, extremely helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: The only thing that even comes close to a downside is that it's 5 mins from town...which is nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and the staffs here. also, the cleanliness!

Disliked: none of them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Javier González

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

02 March 2011 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: It was an awesome hostel, perhaps the best where i have ever been before!!! The stuff was very friendly. They usually do activities every day or cook cake for everyone in the hostel. You won´t be bored if you book a bedroom with them!!!

Disliked: It was everything ok!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: :):):)

Disliked: nO COMMENTS

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Ottova

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2011 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: family atmosphere

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Cash

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and warm, nice building. Good location 5/10 minutes walk from town, free brekkie and tea/coffee. Super friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: There's not really anything to dislike about it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff - you can tell that they're really there to make sure everyone has the best possible stay. The whole place just feels comfortable and inviting, and I had a great time even though I was only there for one night. The dorms were good - nothing spectacular but very comparable to other hostels. Thank you for a great stay, Kipps!

Disliked: The distance between the top and bottom bunks in my room was small, so I couldn't sit straight up on the bottom bunk i was assigned to. Asked to switch to the top bunk and it was no problem! Other than that, everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Miller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, wonderful, like a fairy tale, superb,

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING!

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jun Wei Tan

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2011 Jun Wei would recommend this property

Liked: the hosts were friendly, and there were many amenities for use.

Disliked: not a lot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen and dinning area were very nice. Lots of books and DVDs and free internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eul Noh

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2010 Eul would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, it was the best hostel I have ever stayed and heared. Everything in Kipps was great. It was beyond my expectation.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edith-Marie Goetghebuer

30 September 2010 Edith-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: L'accueil ouvert, amical et chaleureux. La disponibilité de l'équipe. Près du centre ville dans un agréable quartier. J'ai apprécié la propreté et possibilité de regarder un film, ou de me connecter à internet. Possibilité d' occuper la cuisine pour moi ou mes enfants. A RECOMMANDER;

Disliked: Edith-Marie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte van Aken

Alone

City break

31 August 2010 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great and very welcoming! Made me feel right at home.

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely place and clean.

Disliked: The room is a bit crowded and can't breath sometimes when it is full.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannes Mehner

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: (+) special events in the evening (like Luigi's free pasta and sing-a-long evening or the bbq)(+) clean (!)(+) free wifi (even in rooms and garden), free lockers, free towels, breakfast 1.95 pound - a bargain (as the hostel is in general).(+) ensuite rooms, beds that aren't noisy, power outlet next to the bed, reading lamp(+) garden (+) location, only 6 minutes to the city(+) international (NZ, Netherlands, etc.) Staff - very friendly!(+) Lounge with computer (for those who don't have a notebook) and free dvds and sky (Sky Sports etc.)(+) perfect kitchen (gas and normal stove, free organic vegetables)(+) litte, not too pricy, shop at receptionI've never been to a hostel as good as this. This is as good as it gets if you want to have a lovely time in a much more easy-going city than London. As I had blisters from all the sight-seeing I also stayed in the hostel for one whole day and it was fun!

Disliked: Seem to have a ghost that steals socks... as I don't find mine! JUST KIDDING - No complaints whatsoever!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Whitaker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really well set up. It was extremely clean, had a great kitchen, outdoor area and lounge room with free Internet, sky tv, movies, books and board games. A really nice quite place 2 stay

Disliked: I have never seen so many old people in a hostel in my life (and I have stayed in a lot of hostels!!).- so the fun factor was lost big time!! They also promoted that they had free parking- they don't have parking- it is street parking that happens to be free- so there's no guarantee there will be parking.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good hostel, with also internet!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, very helpful staff, quite clean, very well-equipped kitchen, not far from the sights and station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a very clean hostel and near the city center. also, the staffs are helpful.

Disliked: when the time of cleaning, all the people need to leave out between 11..00-14.00, all the rooms are closed. and i think it would be better to leave at least one place for those who don't want to leave.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Minh-Long Nguyen

09 May 2010 Minh-Long would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and peoples. I would have liked stay for longer.Anyway, Luigi's pastas are delicious :)

Disliked: Minh-Long left no negative feedback.