HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kipps Hostel

Hostel | 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England CT1 3JT

95.0% Overall Rating

306 out of 310 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"The staff are quite friendly and the atmosphere is more like being in someone's home than a hostel."

Read all Kipps Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays. NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private. If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

306 out of 310 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kipps Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 224 of 248 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Whitney Peterson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2011 Whitney would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful garden at the hostel where you can sit and eat, or just relax. The room itself was lovely and bright and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Bussell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: everything. Location: Short walk from the bus and train stations, easy walking distance to canterbury's attractions. Staff: I have never met hostel owners more hospitable and friendly. They make you feel very at home. Rooms: I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. It was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There was ensuite with toilet and shower, but if these were in use there was also shared bathrooms outside the room. Kitchen: well equipped, free tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Also free potatoes, garlic, herbs and spices and condiments. Very spacious kitchen. Common area: lovely big loungeroom with comfortable couches, tv, dvd's,etc. There is free wifi throughout the hostel, and a shared computer in the loungeroom. There is something organized every night of the week, eg. Movie night, pub night, barbecue I had a lovely stay at kipps. I've stayed in about 40 different hostels, kipps is in the top 3.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Kemble

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at KiPPs were very helpful and friendly and did a good job of cleaning and maintaining the facilities while no one was looking, somehow. The place has a real "community" feel which I enjoyed, to such an extent that it was hard to tell who was staff and who was a guest. As a Canterbury student I can say that it's a good location to see many of the local tourist hotspots as well as gain access to other parts of Kent and even London.

Disliked: The shower door was a little stiff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hunter

Alone

Events / festivals

31 July 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, easy to meet other people, great value for money.

Disliked: They closed the hostel for 2-3 hours everyday between around 11am and 1pm - this was inconvenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and enjoyable~! I really like the style of the decoration there. The garden is really nice too! I enjoyed the free hot dogs in the garden that night. Staff and other visitors are friendly.

Disliked: I hope there could be a washing basin inside the bathroom in the dorm room. Sometimes train doesn't stop at Canterbury East station which is near the kipps. I walked with my luggage for 45 mins from Canterbury West station. But if you are not with heavy luggage, it won't take that long. And its location in fact is quite good if one can catch a train stopping at the East station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliest staff ever, lovely place and they even had a nice little garden.

Disliked: I can't think of anything to complain about.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, warm and cosy feel.

Disliked: Noise from the traffic can be annoying at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ioannis Chouvardas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Ioannis would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, safe, good location

Disliked: You can check in after 2 pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Nicholson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, great location. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, nice people, not too far from the center

Disliked: problems with the Internet connection

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent kitchen!

Disliked: Very loud snoring guest in our dorm room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I got to Kipp´s after running through the rain and 48 hours of being awake, I was greeted with a towel, a hot shower, and a bed. The staff is friendly and accomodating, they plan event nights so that it is easier to meet people, and the town of Canterbury is very sweet as well.

Disliked: Nothing! (Really, and that is saying a lot, because sometimes I can be picky...) As a solo female traveler, I can´t recommend this hostel enough!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Heard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2011 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Not too busy and big, nice quite hostel, but there is always someone new to meet and the staff are so easy to talk to and always welcoming.

Disliked: Nothing, loved my stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really charming and friendly. Also clean and quiet.

Disliked: 5 minute walk to the city, but not a real problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2011 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super cheerful and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly staff. they were also very helpful and helped me book my train ticket.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, spacious rooms, good communal areas including the garden. Lovely hostel.

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely and it felt like living with one big family. I arrived very early in the morning and they offered me breakfast! They also arranged a bike for me to use. Very clean and spacious room. Loved the shelf next to my bed where I could put things. Met some very nice people during my stay.

Disliked: For me it was a little far to walk from Canterbury West train station (about 30min).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Vanessa Marro

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Barbara Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly, good beds, very clean, they provide towels, soap, shower gel,...activities in the hostel. Great kitchen with enough plates, cups, cuttlery,.... very helpful staff! Amazing!

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Stephens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Free brownies, hotdogs, fast internet, extremely helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: The only thing that even comes close to a downside is that it's 5 mins from town...which is nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and the staffs here. also, the cleanliness!

Disliked: none of them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Javier González

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

02 March 2011 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: It was an awesome hostel, perhaps the best where i have ever been before!!! The stuff was very friendly. They usually do activities every day or cook cake for everyone in the hostel. You won´t be bored if you book a bedroom with them!!!

Disliked: It was everything ok!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: :):):)

Disliked: nO COMMENTS

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Ottova

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2011 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: family atmosphere

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Cash

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and warm, nice building. Good location 5/10 minutes walk from town, free brekkie and tea/coffee. Super friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: There's not really anything to dislike about it!