We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kipps Hostel

Hostel | 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England CT1 3JT

93.3% Overall Rating

319 out of 324 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ambiente e staff estremamente familiare, accogliente e disponibile. Presenza del wi-fi. Centro città raggiungibile con una passeggiata. Peccato per la pioggia che non ci ha permesso di usare il…"

Read all Kipps Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays. NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private. If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

319 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kipps Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 233 of 262 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and friendly people and homely atmosphere

Disliked: Seven people sharing a slightly shabby shower and non-separate toilet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonardo D Rivadeneira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Leonardo D would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere of the place

Disliked: the kitchen closed too early for argentinean time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok so it was on top of a hill. But it's not so big that it warrants people complaining about it in their comments. Besides there is a bus service that stops right at the door of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing really. Would be better if the wi-fi was free.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff running this hostel are really helpful and friendly, i think it's run by a family so it's pretty intimate and they are concerned to ensure guests enjoy their stay. the vibe is very much like a comfortable house. the kitchen is spotless, so were my rooms and bathrooms, and there's free tea and coffee. there are nice common spaces; a front tv/lounge room, cosy kitchen, and dining room. i thought it was a really nice hostel.

Disliked: maybe the directions from the coach station aren't that clear?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me n my friend stayed for two nights here. Very warm-hearted and friendly staff! And very welcoming! We enjoyed the facilities and the home events that the hostel provided. Nice shower and toilet, always clean n tidy. Strong heating and comfortable beddings , as well as satisfactory wifi speed. It's a great place to stay, relax and enjoy yourself .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane couchman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: Its really close to town and easy to get to...the staff are so friendly, they are simply wonderful and so helpful, they make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them. Brilliant!

Disliked: the fan in the bathroom was noisy, I dont think it was working properly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Risa Kawakami

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Risa would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very nice.and clean.15pounds very cheap but I contented.I want to use again.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiang Li

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Xiang would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a quiet neiboughood but convenient. A very nice garden.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively centrally located hostel with nice garden; free towel a real bonus.

Disliked: It would have been nice to have reading light and/or shelf for the bunks.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Whitney Peterson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2011 Whitney would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful garden at the hostel where you can sit and eat, or just relax. The room itself was lovely and bright and very clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Bussell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: everything. Location: Short walk from the bus and train stations, easy walking distance to canterbury's attractions. Staff: I have never met hostel owners more hospitable and friendly. They make you feel very at home. Rooms: I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. It was spacious, clean and very comfortable. There was ensuite with toilet and shower, but if these were in use there was also shared bathrooms outside the room. Kitchen: well equipped, free tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Also free potatoes, garlic, herbs and spices and condiments. Very spacious kitchen. Common area: lovely big loungeroom with comfortable couches, tv, dvd's,etc. There is free wifi throughout the hostel, and a shared computer in the loungeroom. There is something organized every night of the week, eg. Movie night, pub night, barbecue I had a lovely stay at kipps. I've stayed in about 40 different hostels, kipps is in the top 3.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Kemble

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at KiPPs were very helpful and friendly and did a good job of cleaning and maintaining the facilities while no one was looking, somehow. The place has a real "community" feel which I enjoyed, to such an extent that it was hard to tell who was staff and who was a guest. As a Canterbury student I can say that it's a good location to see many of the local tourist hotspots as well as gain access to other parts of Kent and even London.

Disliked: The shower door was a little stiff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hunter

Alone

Events / festivals

31 July 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, easy to meet other people, great value for money.

Disliked: They closed the hostel for 2-3 hours everyday between around 11am and 1pm - this was inconvenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and enjoyable~! I really like the style of the decoration there. The garden is really nice too! I enjoyed the free hot dogs in the garden that night. Staff and other visitors are friendly.

Disliked: I hope there could be a washing basin inside the bathroom in the dorm room. Sometimes train doesn't stop at Canterbury East station which is near the kipps. I walked with my luggage for 45 mins from Canterbury West station. But if you are not with heavy luggage, it won't take that long. And its location in fact is quite good if one can catch a train stopping at the East station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliest staff ever, lovely place and they even had a nice little garden.

Disliked: I can't think of anything to complain about.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, warm and cosy feel.

Disliked: Noise from the traffic can be annoying at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ioannis Chouvardas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Ioannis would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, safe, good location

Disliked: You can check in after 2 pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Nicholson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, great location. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, nice people, not too far from the center

Disliked: problems with the Internet connection

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent kitchen!

Disliked: Very loud snoring guest in our dorm room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I got to Kipp´s after running through the rain and 48 hours of being awake, I was greeted with a towel, a hot shower, and a bed. The staff is friendly and accomodating, they plan event nights so that it is easier to meet people, and the town of Canterbury is very sweet as well.

Disliked: Nothing! (Really, and that is saying a lot, because sometimes I can be picky...) As a solo female traveler, I can´t recommend this hostel enough!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Heard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2011 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Not too busy and big, nice quite hostel, but there is always someone new to meet and the staff are so easy to talk to and always welcoming.

Disliked: Nothing, loved my stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really charming and friendly. Also clean and quiet.

Disliked: 5 minute walk to the city, but not a real problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2011 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super cheerful and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly staff. they were also very helpful and helped me book my train ticket.

Disliked: none