HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kipps Hostel

Hostel | 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England CT1 3JT

93.6% Overall Rating

310 out of 315 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2014)

Angelika Brauer thinks…

"It was an amazing and uncomplicated stay! Definitely recommendable especially for backpackers and students because you get more for your money than you could ever expect. The staff was always kind…"

Read all Kipps Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays. NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private. If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

310 out of 315 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kipps Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 253 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Boh

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 December 2012 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Service is extremely good, people are awesome. Even after we checked out, they said we can go back anytime we want to just sit down at the lounge or to use the computer as our bus only left late at night and there might be nowhere outside to hang out at that time. And they actually called us when they found a wallet in our room. We could make tea and coffee anytime we want and they made sausages and bread and popcorns for us. All these for just 10 pounds per person. It is definitely warm and cosy.

Disliked: Maybe the fact that the room is shared, but after all its a hostel bunk. This is to be expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff were amazing and went out of their way to make sure I got the most out of my stay! One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful backyard lounge area

Disliked: Small bunk beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean and a big well-equipped kitchen. There's a cozy common room with a TV and sofas. I really like the toilet in my room (dorm) - big and clean. Friendly staffs! I've only stayed for a night but someone living in my dorm told me there were pub night outs, pancake and pizza-making etc.

Disliked: Narrow staircase so it won't be suitable for those having large suitcase to stay on the top floors. The floor made a creaking noise but it's totally bearable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy atmosphere,excellent service,kind and helful staff,many facilities,superb breakfast for only 1.95£,one of the best hostels I've ever been.

Disliked: a 15 min.walk from town center (the center is relatively small).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff was so welcoming, the breakfast was lovely and great value. The location was fantastic. Lovely clean facilities. I would definitely recommend it to people travelling alone, in groups or with their families.

Disliked: The only downside was a couple of noisy guests at three a.m. on one of the nights.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KIRSTEN MAHLEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 KIRSTEN would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was friendly and helpful, nice garden and breakfast room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were overwhelmingly helpful and welcoming. They made us part of the community, We were older than the average resident but were completely included.

Disliked: Only downside is the shared toilet facilities, but that was not a problem.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrew Moore-Kumah

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff alway ready to help

Disliked: Internet connection was poor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like living in a comfortable home

Disliked: It's all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kathryn Morrison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Sayre

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and very helpful. The property had a very nice family atmosphere and I had a great time. The barbecue and movie night were fun things to come back to in the hostel. I wish I could have stayed longer!

Disliked: No complaints!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff good ambiente clean and comfortable

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rod Hart

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2012 Rod would recommend this property

Liked: Big old place, handy for the city centre, well equipped kitchen, lovely garden, helpfull friendly staff - ticked all the boxes in fact!

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere of the old house and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very quiet and everyone was friendly, there were many outtings to the pubs with other hostel stayers!

Disliked: the showers arent very good... bad water pressure

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a fantastic time, all staff are very friendly and helpfully, best hostel in England for me so far, would definatley stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was PERFECT! Great staff, absolutely well worth the money.

Disliked: No dislikes at all (which is surprising for a hostel).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donald Ursin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: The garden and the sunporch patio

Disliked: living room - too plain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Great atmosphere, clean and very friendly. The organised activities (free pancakes on thursdays and a pub crawl on friday) were heaps of fun and all the staff were so friendly. Could not recommend this place highly enough!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and friendly people and homely atmosphere

Disliked: Seven people sharing a slightly shabby shower and non-separate toilet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonardo D Rivadeneira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Leonardo D would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere of the place

Disliked: the kitchen closed too early for argentinean time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok so it was on top of a hill. But it's not so big that it warrants people complaining about it in their comments. Besides there is a bus service that stops right at the door of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing really. Would be better if the wi-fi was free.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff running this hostel are really helpful and friendly, i think it's run by a family so it's pretty intimate and they are concerned to ensure guests enjoy their stay. the vibe is very much like a comfortable house. the kitchen is spotless, so were my rooms and bathrooms, and there's free tea and coffee. there are nice common spaces; a front tv/lounge room, cosy kitchen, and dining room. i thought it was a really nice hostel.

Disliked: maybe the directions from the coach station aren't that clear?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me n my friend stayed for two nights here. Very warm-hearted and friendly staff! And very welcoming! We enjoyed the facilities and the home events that the hostel provided. Nice shower and toilet, always clean n tidy. Strong heating and comfortable beddings , as well as satisfactory wifi speed. It's a great place to stay, relax and enjoy yourself .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.