HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Kipps Hostel Canterbury Canterbury Hostel

40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 96%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2.55USD

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays.

NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private.

If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 96%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 94%

Showing 11-20 of 26 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: everything! the staff were absolutely incredible! the garden was a favourite of mine also! this hostel has a very homey feel but still feels like a hostel. kitchen available (although closed mostly during the day for cleaning)

Disliked: nothing! ow ever the closure of the kitchen was a but of a hassle, but nothing too major

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff, great activities, good amenities

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Sky sports, beautiful garden and lovely staff.

Disliked: Sharing with snoring Spaniards

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location was good,near the town centre and the station,clean and kind staffs

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment. We feel very happy that you had a great stay at Kipps and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Kipps Staff

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was an amazing and uncomplicated stay! Definitely recommendable especially for backpackers and students because you get more for your money than you could ever expect. The staff was always kind and it felt like being a part of a big family. They were always ready to help and equipment was perfect. Free wifi, breakfast for £ 1, 95 so no reason to moan about!Thanks for being the best hostel I've been to!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.

We are very happy that you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you in the future!

Kind regards, Kipps Staff

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff are lovely

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your rating!

We feel very happy that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards, Kipps Staff

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Overall, it's a decent hostel.

Disliked: Being lied to 3 times that there was heat when there wasn't. 5 degrees outside calls for heat inside. Basta con las mentiras! 2 people in a bed. Exactly why mixed dorms shouldn't exist.


The property's response is

Hello,

Thank you for your rating!

We feel very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Your complaints are very untrue, and we understand that hostels are not for every traveller. We suggest that a hotel or B&B might be more suitable for your preferences. However, we offered you assistance and support at all times,we invited you to take part on our events. Also, we cannot help our guests if you are shouting at us. We work very hard to look after our guests as visible in our ratings!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are quite friendly and the atmosphere is more like being in someone's home than a hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.

We are very happy that you enjoyed staying at Kipps and we hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
Kipps Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was the best hostel experience I've had. It ticked all the boxes - location great, clean, amazing friendly staff and the other guests are wonderful. I would definately stay here again if I ever happen to be in the area.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us and we wish you best luck in your future travels.

Kind regards,
Kipps team

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness of staff, common areas good, beds comfortable

Disliked: Could do with a refurbishment, bathroom in dorm but there were only one toilet and shower for the private rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability