We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kipps Hostel

Hostel | 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury, England CT1 3JT

93.3% Overall Rating

319 out of 324 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ambiente e staff estremamente familiare, accogliente e disponibile. Presenza del wi-fi. Centro città raggiungibile con una passeggiata. Peccato per la pioggia che non ci ha permesso di usare il…"

Read all Kipps Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.16

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

hostel reception is open between 7h30 and 23h00 Monday to Friday and 8h00 to 23h00 Saturday to Sunday and on public holidays. NOTE: Photo ID is required on checking in (passport or drivers licence). Please mind that we don't take people under 16 on dorm rooms, they're more than welcome to book a private. If you are a wedding group (Stag/ Hen Group) special terms and conditions apply, therefore you must book through the website groups department or get in touch with the hostel directly. If you fail to do so and still book here on line, your reservation maybe cancelled and deposit not refund.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Canterbury?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

319 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kipps Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 233 of 262 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisca Krabberod

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

24 February 2013 Francisca would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that the staff were welcoming from the second I set foot in the place, something I really appreciated after a long travel. I felt safe and secure and they were effective when finding my booking and with information. They also brought my bag up to the room for me! I staying in a room with four other girls and it was very nice. The sheets were already done and I got to chose which bed I wanted to have. They also offered me a towel. I was leaving early in the morning and would miss the breakfast, however they catered to my needs and had a breakfast packed for me in the morning free of charge. Other things to mention: Free WiFi, coffee and tea, and breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: I was only mildly disappointed with the lack of information on buses up to the university and facilities for luggage storage in the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Iredale

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 February 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, homely place in a nice area. Very comfortable and excellent facilities. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: All good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome nice staff, nice people, good location, clean, comfy, evening events with some free food! all in all just great!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivienne Malone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Vivienne would recommend this property

Liked: Have been travelling in UK for 3 months, and this has been my best experience to date. It is the dedicated staff that make this property so special, as they endeavour to cover all aspects of your stay with as much ease as possible, encouraging fellow guests to join in each evening for a joint supper, chat, giggle, and general 'get to know you' time.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Bauer

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

19 December 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Boh

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 December 2012 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Service is extremely good, people are awesome. Even after we checked out, they said we can go back anytime we want to just sit down at the lounge or to use the computer as our bus only left late at night and there might be nowhere outside to hang out at that time. And they actually called us when they found a wallet in our room. We could make tea and coffee anytime we want and they made sausages and bread and popcorns for us. All these for just 10 pounds per person. It is definitely warm and cosy.

Disliked: Maybe the fact that the room is shared, but after all its a hostel bunk. This is to be expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff were amazing and went out of their way to make sure I got the most out of my stay! One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful backyard lounge area

Disliked: Small bunk beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean and a big well-equipped kitchen. There's a cozy common room with a TV and sofas. I really like the toilet in my room (dorm) - big and clean. Friendly staffs! I've only stayed for a night but someone living in my dorm told me there were pub night outs, pancake and pizza-making etc.

Disliked: Narrow staircase so it won't be suitable for those having large suitcase to stay on the top floors. The floor made a creaking noise but it's totally bearable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy atmosphere,excellent service,kind and helful staff,many facilities,superb breakfast for only 1.95£,one of the best hostels I've ever been.

Disliked: a 15 min.walk from town center (the center is relatively small).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff was so welcoming, the breakfast was lovely and great value. The location was fantastic. Lovely clean facilities. I would definitely recommend it to people travelling alone, in groups or with their families.

Disliked: The only downside was a couple of noisy guests at three a.m. on one of the nights.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KIRSTEN MAHLEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 KIRSTEN would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was friendly and helpful, nice garden and breakfast room

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were overwhelmingly helpful and welcoming. They made us part of the community, We were older than the average resident but were completely included.

Disliked: Only downside is the shared toilet facilities, but that was not a problem.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrew Moore-Kumah

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff alway ready to help

Disliked: Internet connection was poor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like living in a comfortable home

Disliked: It's all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kathryn Morrison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Sayre

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and very helpful. The property had a very nice family atmosphere and I had a great time. The barbecue and movie night were fun things to come back to in the hostel. I wish I could have stayed longer!

Disliked: No complaints!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff good ambiente clean and comfortable

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rod Hart

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2012 Rod would recommend this property

Liked: Big old place, handy for the city centre, well equipped kitchen, lovely garden, helpfull friendly staff - ticked all the boxes in fact!

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere of the old house and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very quiet and everyone was friendly, there were many outtings to the pubs with other hostel stayers!

Disliked: the showers arent very good... bad water pressure

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a fantastic time, all staff are very friendly and helpfully, best hostel in England for me so far, would definatley stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was PERFECT! Great staff, absolutely well worth the money.

Disliked: No dislikes at all (which is surprising for a hostel).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donald Ursin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: The garden and the sunporch patio

Disliked: living room - too plain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Great atmosphere, clean and very friendly. The organised activities (free pancakes on thursdays and a pub crawl on friday) were heaps of fun and all the staff were so friendly. Could not recommend this place highly enough!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.