HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cambridge City Tenison Towers

Guesthouse | 148 Tenison Road, Cambridge, England CB1 2DP

87.4% Overall Rating

23 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

john shirley thinks…

"Very comfotable bed. Good location very close to the station. Very accomodating young lady in charge, trying hard to attend to our dietary requirements."

Read all Cambridge City Tenison Towers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed
  • High chair

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that we charge the first night's stay at the time of booking, if you cancel your booking in accordance with our cancellation policy which is 7 days we will refund the first night stay, no refunds for late cancellations and no shows. Check-in time to 2-6mp. Guests can contact us if they would like to arrive before or later.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cambridge?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cambridge

YHA Cambridge
28.48 USD

Hostel 76.0% 401 reviews
Abbeyfield Guest House
66.38 USD

Hostel 60.5% 143 reviews
Brooklands Guest House
53.93 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 75 reviews
Lensfield Hotel & Boutique Wellness Spa
119.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Christs College Cambridge
70.53 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Lichfield House
54.76 USD

Guesthouse 73.1% 7 reviews
The Mowbray Bed & Breakfast
45.64 USD

Guesthouse 70.3% 75 reviews
Aylesbray Lodge Guesthouse
78.00 USD

Guesthouse 54.5% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cambridge City Tenison Towers'

Atmosphere
86.7%
Location
84.2%
Facilities
87.5%
Cleanliness
91.7%
Staff
95.0%
Value
76.7%
Safety
90.0%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

john shirley

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

20 August 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfotable bed. Good location very close to the station. Very accomodating young lady in charge, trying hard to attend to our dietary requirements.

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station so convenient when arriving late. Very friendly owner, smiling a lot. Good breakfast (above average compared to English B&Bs), coffee not instant and they even had Jarlsberg cheese and not cheddar - which impressed me a lot, being from Norway. Bread not bad for English bread either, at least it was brown and whole-grain. Room was ok, seemed clean and was cleaned every day.

Disliked: My room had windows out to the street, and there is a lot of traffic that awoke me at 5am. So if you are sensitive to noise, then keep the windows closed (although I could still hear it). The room got quite stuffy with the windows closed. The room gets very bright early in the morning, so if you need darkness to sleep this might not be for you - although it did not bother me. Bed was very soft. Small bathroom, so not for fat people! Shower pressure not very good, but this is normal in England...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location next to the rail station, walking distance from the city, too. The hostess is very friendly and considerate. Both our room and the public areas were clean. The breakfast was good of quality except the orange juice, which was made of concentrate.

Disliked: The room was cold. The bathroom was on the corridor, even though it was supposed to be our private bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Pemberton

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

28 December 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed and friendly service.

Disliked: Pokey bathroom

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inga is such a lovely, friendly and helpful host. The room we had was nice and clean with a huge comfortable bed. Close to the train station and the centre of town, it's a great place to stay in Cambridge.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012

Liked: It's cheating, the room does not deserve £70! 2A 3 star room is cheaper than this hotel

Disliked: Share bath room, poor facility, expensive room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcomed warmly by Frances who gave us an upgrade to a beautiful double room with en suite facilities . This was a lovel surprise. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient. What we saw of the other parts of Tenison Towers [which is in 3 houses] were clean and brightly furnished

Disliked: Although the kitchen facilities were spotless Guests who had prepared their own food the previous night had not switched on the dishwasher. As a consequence we had to take dirty items of cutlery out of the dishwasher and wash them ourselves before we could have breakfast

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds.

Disliked: The kitchen has a strong smell.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely, very nice. They went out of their way to make me feel at home, encouraging me to help myself to the food in the kitchen. Breakfast food not being limited to a couple of hours in the morning was very good. Definitely worth the money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DIAN DIAN

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

18 June 2012 DIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful Garden, Very Quiet, Nice staff!

Disliked: DIAN left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Deepak Lawrence

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

29 February 2012 Deepak would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to Cambridge railway station,rooms, bathroom cum toilets were very clean and neat, room heaters and hot water supply were there, complimentary continental breakfast was good enough........the hostess (Ms. Inka) was very friendly and helpful.........

Disliked: We almost liked every thing there.........

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and the beds were really comfortable. The free breakfast was really good as well and was a step above cornflakes. The train station is very close and the market and several museums are within a twenty minute walk. It's on a quiet street so it's a good place to catch up on sleep if needed. There was also a tv in the room and towels were free.

Disliked: There was almost zero water pressure in the shower

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and good sized rooms. Perfect location to the station and city centre. Great choice of restaurants close to the B&B. Breakfast involved a lovely choice of cereals, toast and muffins.

Disliked: Not applicable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ray howarth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2011 ray would recommend this property

Liked: clean and friendly

Disliked: Helga

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 2min walk from the train station. 10min walk from city center.Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The room was a bit small, but then, you spend most of the time outside it so it's not such a big issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, even with a baby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nicholas Fletcher

14 January 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, breakfast was great and has an awesome location for access to cambridge and the railway

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.