We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Abbeyfield Guest House

Hostel | 2 Rustat Road, Cambridge, England CB1 3QT

60.5% Overall Rating

85 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/06/2013)

"Cambridge centre is very close, a 30 minute walk away or a quick bus ride. Next door to a leisure centre, activities to do if unsure what to do in the evening"

Read all Abbeyfield Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit cards are used to secure the room only. Payments are by cheque or cash on arrival. There is no permanent reception staff please call us 15 minutes prior to arrival to have someone meet you at the guest house.Cancellation:If cancelled up to three days before arrival, 50% of all nights will be charged. If it is cancelled later on in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. For group bookings (2 rooms or more), our cancellation policy is one week’s notice prior.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cambridge?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cambridge

Brooklands Guest House
52.79 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 75 reviews
YHA Cambridge
25.99 USD

Hostel 76.9% 404 reviews
Cambridge City Tenison Towers
60.91 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 24 reviews
Lichfield House
53.60 USD

Guesthouse 73.1% 7 reviews
The Mowbray Bed & Breakfast
44.66 USD

Guesthouse 70.3% 75 reviews
Aylesbray Lodge Guesthouse
76.34 USD

Guesthouse 54.5% 11 reviews
Lensfield Hotel & Boutique Wellness Spa
116.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Christs College Cambridge
69.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.5%

Overall Rating

85 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Abbeyfield Guest House'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
54.4%
Staff
69.6%
Value
61.6%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly! It's a very quiet place.

Disliked: The showering facilities were bad and the bathroom was not clean. The beds were very simple and quite bad. The dining room didn't have any deep plates, drinking glasses and proper spoons.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet. Rooms are decent size.

Disliked: Old house atmosphere - old furniture. Basic facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 March 2014

Liked: Bedroom very clean and fresh linen provided

Disliked: Cleanliness of bathroom

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gabriela Spath

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014

Liked: nice neighborhood

Disliked: too expensive, old and partially broken furniture, staff was reserved, bad cleanliness

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, not unpleasant place to sleep for a night.

Disliked: Thin walls if that boths people, not a problem for myself.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to reach, good organization of the locals

Disliked: Pay in cash, absolute absence of staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Renato Gomes Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Renato would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, so calm and peaceful

Disliked: Location

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 September 2013

Liked: The price was ok for Cambridge.

Disliked: The whole place is run down. It is smelly in the room (mould). Everything is only cleaned superficially. The common room could be much nicer so that people actually want to spend time there. In the ground floor one of my windows could not be locked, so anyone could have just climbed in.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Calvin Yeoh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Calvin would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Too far from the train station and we cant store luggages

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: it is far from city centre. it is not clean. most importantly, the landlord cheat us! He changed the room which we booked and forced us to pay 50% more money than that we booked online, without inform us in advance!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cambridge centre is very close, a 30 minute walk away or a quick bus ride. Next door to a leisure centre, activities to do if unsure what to do in the evening

Disliked: Slightly chilly

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2013

Liked: Tidy

Disliked: The hostel didn't help me to store my luggage after check out, I had to pay for a locker near railway station. It's very inconvenient.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Abbeyfield Guest House was easy to find, well situated, clean and comfortable. I had all the facilities I needed at a very reasonable price.

Disliked: Be sure to ask for an extra set of blankets during the colder months. I woke up shivering in the morning when the heating hadn't yet turned back on!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitesh Nair

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Mitesh would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and near to the city centre

Disliked: It doesnt have an option to pay by card

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pariya Sithikong

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 October 2012 Pariya would recommend this property

Liked: reasonable price, near train station.

Disliked: kinda old

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 September 2012

Liked: The property is located reasonably close to the railway station, and is easy to find. Free tea and coffee was provided, and wireless internet is available in the rooms. The owner was friendly and polite.

Disliked: On arrival at the property, I was told the single room I had booked was unavailable as it had been flooded by the previous occupants misusing the shower on the floor above, and was given a 4 bed dorm, of which I was the only occupant. There were items of rubbish around the room (empty yoghurt pots, crisp packets etc.) and there was an assortment of rancid food in one of the drawers (mouldy margerine, half-full bottle of lemonade, and other similar items). The drawer in the bedside table was missing its bottom, and all of the fixturing was wobbly and flimsy, with loose handles. The mugs provided for tea and coffee were stained. The mattress was old and uncomfortable.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 August 2012

Liked: nothing really

Disliked: Very noisy, if someone booked the room next to yours; the facilities are not clean; the matrass very bad and old; I haven`t seen there any staff except on arrival; during two of the for nigths we were staying there, we had one running water tap, the other one were as well out of order; ....

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yang Shi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 yang would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean place with good location for cambridge train station. But need to call manager for checkin.

Disliked: yang left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse is close to the train station. The staff was very friendly. At the time I looked for a place to stay in Cambridge, this place was among the cheapest.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms were only cleaned superficially once a day (roundabout at lunchtime). In the evenings and mornings the bathrooms were disgusting. I guess the toilet brush is almost as old as I am. The room was ok, although there was dirt in drwawers. The beds were nothing for people that already have back pain. It´s hard to find a spot where you don´t feel the springs in your back. In one of the bathrooms there was a highway of ants. In the other bathroom, the window can not be opened and the shower curtain as well as the sprinkler should be replaced.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Veerle Uhlenbusch

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

12 July 2012 Veerle would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, calm

Disliked: Very small

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

09 July 2012

Liked: Very close to the train station

Disliked: Room was very warm. Tea and mugs were provided but no spoons. Door was difficult to close and required a lot of strength to do so. Lock was also tricky

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 June 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: At no time was I comfortable in this property. At all times, it was open & therefore unlocked & unsecured; there was never any staff in attendance; the property was dirty, run-down, & cold. The owner left our keys under the dirty door-mat for us to find on arrival. I had to ring him to let him know we were there. He turned up & knocked on the door at 11pm to register us & collect our money, then he left.The were about10 bed-rooms in the place, & only 2 toilets & showers. It was disgusting.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean property close enough to shops etc. The owner upgraded our room for nothing which was nice.

Disliked: Limited kitchen facilities.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location, friendly staff, good value for money.

Disliked: Perhaps it could be more clean...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012

Liked: It is enough for staying one or two nights.

Disliked: It needs some improvements about facilities, maintenances.