HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Cambridge

Hostel | 97 Tenison Road, Cambridge, England CB1 2DN

69.1% Overall Rating

311 out of 390 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

stephen adams thinks…

"when ever im acting in Cambridge this is my first choice to stay, the people there are great and they always make me feel welcome"

Read all YHA Cambridge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the website for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cambridge?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cambridge

Cambridge City Tenison Towers
62.96 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 22 reviews
Abbeyfield Guest House
67.16 USD

Hostel 61.3% 141 reviews
Brooklands Guest House
54.57 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 70 reviews
Lensfield Hotel & Boutique Wellness Spa
120.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Christs College Cambridge
71.36 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Lichfield House
55.41 USD

Guesthouse 73.1% 7 reviews
The Mowbray Bed & Breakfast
33.58 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 71 reviews
Aylesbray Lodge Guesthouse
78.91 USD

Guesthouse 61.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

311 out of 390 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Cambridge'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
76.0%
Value
60.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 299 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CHIA-TIEN TSAI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 CHIA-TIEN would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is worthy.

Disliked: The bed is too small and short.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013

Liked: Nothing in particular.

Disliked: Had to pay to get wifi! More a family hostel, bad beds, not allowed to sit outside after 10.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 July 2013

Liked: They let me use the washing machine after 10.30, the staff member was nice

Disliked: This hostel was a great disappointment; I had a different expectation of YHA. The toilets are very dirty, they need to be replaced altogether as they are very old and smelly. Also, this hostel is too far from the city centre and it is also a bit of walk from train and bus station. I didn't feel comfortable walking back at night. Check-in time is 2.30 which is very inconvenient, I asked if I can do an early check-in as I had a conference and wanted to have a shower, but they showed no flexibility and said that they need the time for cleaning, however when I came at 2.30, the toilets were ridiculously dirty and there were no hand wash for 2 days. Like some other hostels the toilets are unisex which basically they will always be dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen adams

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: when ever im acting in Cambridge this is my first choice to stay, the people there are great and they always make me feel welcome

Disliked: nothing its all good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Angel Obregon Sierra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Angel would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect.

Disliked: Angel left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Ng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: It was the only hostel in Cambridge. Good facilities, had a kitchen, laundry machine and a semi-common area (really the restaurant.)

Disliked: The Wi-Fi was not free, and some areas of the hostel were not very clean.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013

Liked: Comfortable beds and clean, spacious bathrooms. Good café and cleanliness level.

Disliked: NO good lighting in the lounge (dark and uncomfortable), NO free coffee or tea facility, NO free wireless Internet, and worst of all, a very unfriendly and unwelcoming night reception female who is dominating and rude most of the time!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 April 2013

Liked: The location is good. It close to the trainstation and 15 min walk from the old center of Cambridge.

Disliked: I visted different hostels before and the YHC is the most expencive and very simple. For one night you pay 26 euro's and therefor you got a bed and not even breakfast. It's the only hostel in Cambridge and a B&B is more expensive so are no alternetives.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

JISEUNG JUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 JISEUNG would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is beautiful.

Disliked: power outlet does not work. and too small of numbers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jen Bailey

Alone

Business / conference

24 March 2013 Jen would recommend this property

Liked: It was basic yet clean. Friendly staff. Great coffee in the morning. Located near to the city centre. Room was quiet.

Disliked: Not enough vegetarian options in the cooked breakfast to give value for money. However, there was a good selection of cold breakfast. A wholemeal/brown bread option would have been good too.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: Noisy beds

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Isabelle Meunier

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013

Liked: Quiet night and rather good mattress. Cheap.

Disliked: Lockers not for free, cleanness average, showers pretty bad and most of the furniture pretty old and damaged

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adele Thornton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Adele would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station, and the staff were nice and helpful.

Disliked: You had to pay for internet and breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Georgina Oliver

Alone

Business / conference

14 January 2013 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: They let me keep my stuff in the luggage room before check-in time. This was very convenient. The lady (Georgina) at the daytime reception was very polite and friendly.

Disliked: There are no lockers in the bedrooms, only pay-for lockers which you have to pay for each time you open them. No bed-side tables or reading-lamps either. The lady at the night reception was quite patronising. I work in a hostel too and I would not patronise my clients in such a way - I would not keep my job for long!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cheap opt-in roast for dinner.

Disliked: Wifi is charged and only available in one room...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lianbin Chen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 January 2013 Lianbin would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient of its location.

Disliked: No wifi, no breakfast included.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Melvin Nicholas

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Melvin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and clean shower!

Disliked: Quite a distance from the city centre, otherwise everything is perfect.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Carlos Barranco Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012

Liked: The value por money.

Disliked: It's not clean at all.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs were helpful. Clean and nice bed and room.

Disliked: Little bit not clean. Continental breakfast not worth the money. Loud Korean groups when I was there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: You have to pay for WiFi and 2 pound for lockers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Gray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful

Disliked: It's in need of a refurbishment

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and had nice beds.

Disliked: Not enough power outlets in the rooms and no lockers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, staff is very helpful and very tasty breakfast.

Disliked: No free internet.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 November 2012

Liked: nothing in special

Disliked: the heater in the room was no working

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to the train station and only a short walk into the city centre. The staff were really friendly and helpful as well. It was quiet at night.

Disliked: I think the bus timetables they gave me were out of date as they didn't seem to match up with when the buses actually came (I could be wrong though). One of the showers was dirty on one occasion. You had to pay for the internet which I think should be included in the price.