We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Brooklands Guest House

Guesthouse | 95 Cherry Hinton Road, Cambridge, England CB1 7BS

83.2% Overall Rating

65 out of 75 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"The landlady was kind and friendly. The atmosphere was homely. Breakfast was adequate. I felt quite at home."

Read all Brooklands Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cambridge?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cambridge

Abbeyfield Guest House
64.91 USD

Hostel 60.5% 143 reviews
Lichfield House
53.55 USD

Guesthouse 73.1% 7 reviews
YHA Cambridge
25.97 USD

Hostel 77.6% 405 reviews
Cambridge City Tenison Towers
60.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 24 reviews
The Mowbray Bed & Breakfast
52.74 USD

Guesthouse 70.3% 75 reviews
Aylesbray Lodge Guesthouse
76.27 USD

Guesthouse 54.5% 11 reviews
Lensfield Hotel & Boutique Wellness Spa
116.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Christs College Cambridge
68.97 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

65 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brooklands Guest House'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 58 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2014

Liked: The landlady was kind and friendly. The atmosphere was homely. Breakfast was adequate. I felt quite at home.

Disliked: The worst thing was that it was virtually impossible for us to wash. The bedroom washbasin had no plug so there was either very hot or cold water. The water heater for the shower did not work properly and the water was either boiling or freezing and changed temperature every few seconds. It was impossible to have a shower for the length of the stay. I pointed this out to the landlady but she felt she had had it repaired before our arrival and that it should be working. Which it was not! This may have been a problem only in our room (room 3), but it is the main reason why I would not reccommend the lodgings. The only other bad point was qqqQthat the cleaning lady tended to come into the room very early (ten o'clock on a Sunday) to clean the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff - I had to organise checking in late and the owner was very helpful. Good breakfast. Perfectly positioned between city centre and Addenbrooke's hospital.

Disliked: It wasn't a problem for me but my room was right at the top of the house and would have been awkward if I had a large suitcase or was tall! It was just me in a twin room, which would have been a bit of a squash for 2, but given the price it seems like a reasonable compromise.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideally located for the function we were attending. Quaint décor, but very clean and staff very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean and had good facilities

Disliked: The shower smelt a bit like sewage, only could smell it once inside the shower though.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant bedroom, bathroom and dining area. Clean and tidy house. Parking available close by. Enjoyable continental breakfast

Disliked: Narrow staircase up to bedrooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, nice and quiet

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city center

Disliked: room too small

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff

Disliked: Weird room, average breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient to get to from Cambridge train station and easy to get to city centre. The rooms were small and compact but very clean. We liked the presentation of our rooms and the decor of dining area was lovely.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike really. We had a twin room at the top of the house but luckily my sister and I are not tall so it wasn't a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janice Copsey

Alone

Business / conference

25 November 2012 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and warm on a cold night and flexible (earlier) breakfast time .

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guest house was tidy, spacious, and cozy. Apart from that, the room was to my satisfaction - with lots of light coming in, view to the garden, and quiet in the night.

Disliked: Even if the normal breakfast is included in the price, the extra charge for the English breakfast should not be offered. Either included in the price or not being offered at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sanjay Valavil

Alone

Business / conference

06 September 2012 Sanjay would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and spotlessly clean

Disliked: Room a bit cramped but thats typical in England

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean. Everything worked, including free wifi.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liu Zongyue

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Liu would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD ROOM

Disliked: NONE

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Simoes

As a family with children

Events / festivals

04 June 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy room. Excellent bathroom. Most important, do accepted children under 3. Thank you

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant room, great shower + toilet facilities.

Disliked: Quite a long walk from the city centre -- but it's right by the bus stop, so there's always that option instead.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niklas Smith

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

24 May 2012 Niklas would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant old-fashioned room, with clean en-suite toilet and shower. Code lock on the front door for security and a bus stop right outside for busses to the city centre. A fairly short walk from the Cambridge Rail Station. The price was also decent for Cambridge, which has a shortage of budget accomodation.

Disliked: Location is not so convenient for when busses are infrequent (Sundays and late evenings), though Cambridge has plenty of taxis. The curtains in the room were fairly thin so I woke up early with the morning sunlight.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and cosy good value.breakfast was simple but nice and fresh. Staff helpful.

Disliked: Lighting in room not bright enough for reading.outside front door bit messy just looked bit unkempt.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 October 2011

Liked: The coffee at breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: A bit of a walk to the city center.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, convenient.

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 August 2011

Liked: Safe and secure

Disliked: No shower in our bathroom, very little hot water and the water pressure was very poor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quiet room; discreet but friendly staff; good breakfast

Disliked: location (bit too far from the city centre)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms. comfortable and very nicely maintained. The landlady called us before hand to tell us the code to enter the rooms. Includes a simple but good breakfast. The whole feel was overall very good.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like being at home. People very pleasant and helpfl.

Disliked: I liked everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely. Nice decor, comfortable, friendly helpful staff. I'll definitely stay again next time I'm in Cambridge.

Disliked: No real dislikes. Location is a little out of the way if you'll be spending time in the city center, but the bus stops right outside so it's easy to get anywhere.