HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of Homestay Bristol

Guesthouse | 68 Queens Road, Bristol, England BS8 1QU

81.7% Overall Rating

32 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2014)

"It was comfy and I felt very safe. The location is brilliant, in a lovely part of Bristol. I liked that the shower was in a closed bathroom not a stall."

Read all Homestay Bristol reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Berkeley Square Hotel
69.95 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Washington
45.51 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
42.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.3% 4 reviews
Rodney Hotel
51.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Avonside Guest House
40.45 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 221 reviews
YHA Bristol
26.63 USD

Hostel 88.9% 310 reviews
Rock 'n' Bowl
26.97 USD

Hostel 81.6% 239 reviews
The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
29.50 USD

Hostel 75.0% 413 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

32 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Homestay Bristol'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good mattress and bed.

Disliked: No safety at all. Door open all night. Not enough quantity of breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathon South

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 June 2014 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, the shower was very good and the bed was comfy

Disliked: The room smelled a bit of cigarette smoke, and the curtains wouldn't draw

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was comfy and I felt very safe. The location is brilliant, in a lovely part of Bristol. I liked that the shower was in a closed bathroom not a stall.

Disliked: I thought it was a bit dingy and the dorm was tiny. It smelt a little funny. That might have been the subway downstairs. The shower wasn't brilliant. I wasn't expecting luxury but it would be nice if a little love went into these places.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Looked very clean and modern - not like many shabby places I have stayed at before. Was really impressed.

Disliked: Nothing really

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marcin Nowik

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 February 2014 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: afordable, it's good for people who come to party in bristol for one night, good location near pubs and clubs

Disliked: self-catering breakfast is not the best idea, the selection of products for breakfast was strongly limmited and quickly runs out, better offer cheaper price without breakfast, no lockers in the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and brilliant location. Very comfy beds.

Disliked: The only toilets that work are on the third floor, which is a pain!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2013

Liked: Locationwise: very good! Staff: superfriendly and helpful!

Disliked: Not very clean and quite expensive for a hostel

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013

Liked: good location. big kitchen with good cooking facilites

Disliked: we had a 6 bed room. The price for the this room was not reasomable. the kitchen attached to the room was bigger than the room itself. for the price we could have very easily stayed in the travel lodge down the road. we were told that there was breakfast available. there was none there to eat. the front door had no facility to be locked just a padlock on the outside. overall the room would be better if they hadn't made a poor effort to change an old living room with kitchen into a 6 person dorm. also the toilets didn't work.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, nice living room and kitchen facilities, central, good value for money, helpful efficient staff.

Disliked: Though I had a great night's sleep, I was woken up early on Sunday by conversations in the hall, the closed door unfortunately didn't offer any protection against noise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a comfortable living room and kitchen on every floor and has free laundry. It would be a nice place for a long term stay, most of the people living there are foreign students.

Disliked: The bedrooms do not have lockable cabinets for valuables.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: The noise from the street can be very loud even until 5am or 6am, and the windows are very thin and do not keep out the noise at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Sebastian Gomez

Alone

Events / festivals

17 September 2013 Juan Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel's name describes perfect it. It is like home.

Disliked: Juan Sebastian left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthias Kirisits

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Matthias left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Burlow

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, lots of people were staying long term (2 months plus) because they liked the place so much. Felt at home. The lounge was nice and cosy, with lots of people gathering there to watch tv together or just chat. Breakfast facilities were really good. Could either have cereal or cook yourself a full English, whatever you wanted.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: Kitchen and Bathrooms were fully equipped, the location is very convenient (everything you need is nearby, and the centre is just a 10 minute walk down the hill). The breakfast is very eclectic, you can get everything you want, but you have to help yourself to it in the kitchen

Disliked: Our double room was located right next to the kitchen and the bathrooms, and it was very noisy (the other guests were drunk late at night in the kitchen and one apparently threw up in front of our door), although that is not the fault of the property. Still, the double room would be better located somewhere else, because people in this room usually like to stay for themselves and get some sleep after 1 or 2 am. Also, it was very hard to shut our door properly, and one of the showers on our floor was broken

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff

Disliked: Didn't have a storage locker

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff, we felt most welcomed. The hostel is clean, and they provide their guest with a small breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near a main avenue and well served by buses (including buses from the train station). It was fairly chilled out, staff were friendly but often you had to "go and find them". 24-hour reception was often empty.. with no bell to ring. Breakfast was basic (toasts, jam, spreads) but generous. Overall, a bit expensive for what you get but still OK.

Disliked: The place was sometimes TOO chilled out and a not very coordinated. For example, check out was simply "Leave your keys with me", I wasn't given towels or details about check-in & out times on arrival; I had to go and find a member of staff and ASK for all these things. It would be nice to be welcomed more properly and given the stuff (towels, little info sheet with Wifi password and times). Guests don't have to go and take time finding staff to ask about these things... this should be a service provided on arrival. Also: no lockers, no locked storage room and very few hangers to hang stuff. Shower cubicles need a good scrub, but otherwise the place was fairly clean (but needs a bit of love.. )

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the city museum.

Disliked: A bit hard to find.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandra Osinska

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: There was really homey atmosphere, very friendly and helpfull stuff. Place was safe and the price was resonable. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: I can't say that there was anything I disliked, really :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Simpson

Alone

City break

19 April 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: What a great place to stay! - The mattress was more comfortable than my own - The location is FANTASTIC - right near everything you want to see - They provided towels and breakfast (bread/jam, yogurt, cereal), - Also had video games, movies and TV, board games and footballs (or soccer balls for us Americans) for fun - Free wifi, as promised - Located right next to Bristol University, Sainsbury's and Boston Tea Party (go here for breakfast...mmmmmmmm)

Disliked: - It was a little loud outside the window - there are a few clubs down the street, but nothing too bothersome. (This is also exam week, so I can't speak for term-time) - No lockers!!!! I was a bit apprehensive, but nothing bad happened. (I also only had one roommate in a 5 bed room.) Still, I think it would be a good idea to get them! - I couldn't lock the room from the inside? Only the outside. Maybe I'm inept, ha.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Le Breton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant rooms for low prices! I enjoyed my stay here a lot!

Disliked: A little hard to find, as the door isn't marked. However, if you go to the address you should be able to get up to the place, just go from the ground floor to the second floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like Home!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Coleman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the communal meals and living areas where everyone can come and go and talk and meet each other. I liked how comfortable and easy going it is. It's great meeting people from all over the world, and it's heaps clean and comfortable too. It's an awesome place to hang out, thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: That I couldn't stay longer.


See all Bristol hostels