We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of Rock 'n' Bowl

Hostel | 22 Nelson Street, Bristol, England BS1 2LA

83.9% Overall Rating

214 out of 270 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/06/2015)

inga kasinskaite thinks…

"For people who benefits art to luxury freedom to" rules" should definitely stay in; Great location + reasonable price, friendly staff. Ideally to come with your friends and have a good time!"

Read all Rock 'n' Bowl reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in you losing your reservation Cancellation Policy Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Payments made to the website are non-refundable. Check-In/Out Details Earliest check-in: 15:00 Latest Check-out: 12:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
27.25 USD

Hostel 77.5% 423 reviews
YHA Bristol
29.59 USD

Hostel 89.4% 326 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
64.62 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Avonside Guest House
40.49 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 231 reviews
Homestay Bristol
23.36 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 46 reviews
The Washington
42.04 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
45.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 9 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
18.69 USD

Hostel 63.9% 232 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

214 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rock 'n' Bowl'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 230 of 264 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

inga kasinskaite

Alone

Business / conference

14 June 2015 inga would recommend this property

Liked: For people who benefits art to luxury freedom to" rules" should definitely stay in; Great location + reasonable price, friendly staff. Ideally to come with your friends and have a good time!

Disliked: I stayed on Friday night because I had courses on Saturday and I needed woke up fresh and early, so at this point the music from the bar was irritating cause was loud and after midnight

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything, bar & bowling, helpful friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception and the kitchen are open 24 hours. Instead of having big showers, there are small rooms having one shower and one toilet in it, which is perfect to get ready. The 4er rooms are comfortable and the information given by the staff of the hotel (how to get to the hostel, where to find anything) is absolutely amazing.

Disliked: -

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 June 2015

Liked: Good location. Some staff are friendly. kitchen facilities are ok.

Disliked: Room smelt of stale cigarettes. There are too few showers for the number of guests. Most of the rooms do not have lockers so there will probably not be a secure place to store your valuables. The Hostel demanded photo ID and threatened to cancel the booking; photo ID may be common in continental Europe but in the UK it is very unusual! I also got emails just an hour before I arrived threatening to cancel the booking because they did not have some of my payment details, which I find very strange given that I'd managed to pay the deposit via Hostelbookers and had had no problems in booking the bed. Overall it is very expensive for what it is, but then it has so little competition in Bristol that it can almost do what it likes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, large common areas and kitchen, key card entry on doors.

Disliked: No lockers, single bathrooms were pretty dirty and two of the three closest to our room were out of order. Our room smelled.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my short stay at the Rock n Bowl. The kitchen and lounge room were nice and large and well looked after by other visitors. Could do with some under bed lockers but they have safe storage at reception for all valuables. The showers are nice but quite wet - and hard to go to the toilets when they are all taken. A bit pricey over the weekend, but I think during the week the rate is alright. Overall a great vibe and very friendly staff, we will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Showers not well ventilated Not many separate toilets to bathroom Weekend price too expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar downstairs is a lot of fun.

Disliked: Washroom facilities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MARIA TZIAKOURI

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2015 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, large, airy and sunniness! The common room was really nice. The staff was friendly and helpfull! Good showers, perfect location!!

Disliked: MARIA left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

leire grande

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 April 2015 leire would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Elesia

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2015 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: It got noisy on a Thursday night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was amazing, having a kitchen was very useful as well. good communal atmosphere

Disliked: not being able to have food and drink the room was annoying. could do with some chairs in the bedrooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is easy to find and centrally located. There is no parking though, and not even really a place to full over and unload, so you'll need to think about this if you are driving here. There is a nice big kitchen and a chill out room, so depending if you are looking for lively socialising or book reading, you have somewhere to go.

Disliked: On a Friday and Saturday night the outside of the hostel was very noisey due to the location of the hostel in town and the bar on the bottom floor. I was able to sleep through it all (as I am a heavy sleeper) but other members of the group found it a bit harder. The hostel was a bit grubby. I wouldn't see it was dirty, but needed a lick of paint or a good deep clean on the carpets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, easy to find you way around from here by foot. Cool bar underneath with cheap drinks and friendly staff

Disliked: room and showers both had a smell of pee. Windows are very old and let a lot of the cold in. Beds aren't very comfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Foo Shen Hwang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2014 Foo Shen would recommend this property

Liked: It honestly felt like home away from home. If I were to go to specifics, I'll start off by saying that the prices are really reasonable for what you get. They have a kitchen (other travelers often leave extra groceries behind so you should check it out before buying yours to save up on cash :D), warm showers in the toilet and a ping pong table. Plus, they are really festive and once you get to know the staff, they are pretty nice. During Christmas Eve, there was a huge party that was loads of fun and they even had a turkey and everything. It's also located in the centre of Bristol so walking around is easy. Overall, I will miss that place :D

Disliked: My room smelled a little stinky feet, but it's not too bad. The wifi is a little unstable at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew McEnroe

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

24 December 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Big and clean kitchen, huge terrace with bar, pizza and bowling (discounts for the hostel guests). Helpful and professional staff, comf bed, central location and cheap price.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Denise Vaughan

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 December 2014 Christine Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Close to evrything, helpful friendly staff, vetyborfanised- tubs for fridges supplied, free ear plugs, names for beds etc staff recommnedatuins for places to eat, large sociable and clean kitchen, hairdryer s, washing facillities if needed. One of the best hosyels I have staued j

Disliked: If I HAD to be forced to choose something, soe of thr showers needed a little revamp (stull very clean thoigj)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bed!

Disliked: Very noisy and bed uncomfortable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Haw

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 November 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a really great location- right opposite the main shopping/entertainment areas of Bristol city centre! It's also a fairly easy walk up to Temple Meads station. I really liked the fact that it had a lot of unqiue artwork inside of it because it's clearly taken inspiration from the gorgeous city it is situated in. Discount on pizza was fantastic too and £51 for three nights in Bristol city centre? That's pretty amazing value.

Disliked: My only complaint is that it was cold in the hostel. However, I would attribute this to the cold weather during my stay and the fact that it is an older building.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014

Liked: Good location, spacious common rooms and overal not such a bad vibe.

Disliked: Noise. As in very very loud noise till early morning hours. Highly NOT recommended for staying during the weekend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jai Gomer

Alone

Business / conference

26 September 2014 Jai would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and helpful staff made my stay a very pleasant one.

Disliked: This is not a quiet, relaxing hostel. The sounds of the city centre merge with those of the patrons enjoying themselves, and - at night - snoring! But, it is friendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Lane

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 September 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi, proper private shower sink facility

Disliked: No curtains around beds,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Colin Kosky

Alone

City break

02 September 2014

Liked: Close to the city centre and the receptionists were friendly and helpful. Fresh sheets and comfortable bed. You could clearly hear if the bowlers got a strike.

Disliked: No hot water in the bathrooms, Showers were unclean, loos wouldn't flush and the poor quality of a number of ten pin bowlers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big and spacious, and it connected to the bowling alley downstairs.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: Duvet too thick for summer, pillow too thin and there was a leak from the roof with the rain and water ran down the wall so my clothes got wet. I had put the bag in exactly the spot where the water came down! Unlucky esp as we have had no rain for weeks.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Damien Krämer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: A lot things to do

Disliked: Showers weren't clean, very loud in the evening and squeaking doors


See all Bristol hostels