HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of Rock 'n' Bowl

Hostel | 22 Nelson Street, Bristol, England BS1 2LA

76.6% Overall Rating

169 out of 217 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"Location was good.. and offered discount on the next door bowling alley (20% off)."

Read all Rock 'n' Bowl reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in you losing your reservation Cancellation Policy Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Payments made to the website are non-refundable. Check-In/Out Details Earliest check-in: 15:00 Latest Check-out: 12:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
29.41 USD

Hostel 73.6% 409 reviews
YHA Bristol
29.91 USD

Hostel 86.4% 304 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
52.09 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Avonside Guest House
40.33 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 214 reviews
Homestay Bristol
40.97 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 35 reviews
The Washington
42.85 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
40.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.3% 4 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
16.80 USD

Hostel 69.5% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

169 out of 217 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rock 'n' Bowl'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 189 of 213 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: Friendliness of staff and location

Disliked: Squeaking beds, old and unclean bathrooms, very loud during the night...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katrin Pech

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Katrin would recommend this property

Liked: Great Big kitchen.

Disliked: No lockers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.. and offered discount on the next door bowling alley (20% off).

Disliked: There wasn't any secure storage within the dorm rooms - it was available elsewhere - and it would have been beneficial to have easier access to it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location.

Disliked: there were a lot of bathrooms out of order

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Tayla Macdonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014

Liked: Mattresses we good

Disliked: Showers and toilets were dirty, one of the sinks was filled with vomit for 3 days before getting cleaned. I was denied access to all bathrooms for 3 hours due to cleaning. Locks on doors were broken meaning I wasn't able to access my room on multiple occasions. Overall a terrie stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

della beech

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 della would recommend this property

Liked: i felt like a fish out of water as i was an older visitor and was treated with a lot of care and attention by staff and other guests alike making my visit great

Disliked: no bad comments

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a really good location, the staff were friendly and the hostel was quite safe in regards to who came and went and that your bags were safe.

Disliked: The bathrooms were very dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Considering it was a dorm, I managed to get a reasonable night's sleep. The bedding was clean. The showers were good and other guests were relatively helpful and considerate. Staff were very helpful and honest. Ear plugs helped.

Disliked: The first night it was a bit smelly but this might have been my neighbour.. Noise from some 3 others guests on first night and to a lesser extent on 2nd.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kristina Luce

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Had a bar beneath the hostel

Disliked: I was supposed to be in a 12 person mixed room - really it was 11 boys and me, one girl, which I was not prepared for at all. The room STANK.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Nursultan Nazymbek

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Smells socks

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The room was really cold, like the street, heating system only on at certain hours. The room wass freaking cold and the shower was burning hot, super contrast. The staff came to check the heating system and said if its broken, I will be panicked cz he dont know how to fix it, and laughed off, leaving me there trembling in cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Orlandi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very big, cheap and really close to the city centre. There is a nice kitchen and a good living room with free wifi.

Disliked: There is any locker in the room and any light for the guests.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 October 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: no security, people who hadn't even checked in could just walk up to the dorms and slip in... git my laptop and camera stolen while I stayed here too. Keep away, that is my suggestion.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Press

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 October 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are friendly, good location and the place is clean and comfortable. Easily better than some of the other back packer hostels in Bristol.

Disliked: Nothing. It's good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi is really good, it works in the rooms! It was in a great location, walking distance around the city! the beds were clean, and comfy. It had a cool vibe, kitchen and common room were great! Easy place to make friends

Disliked: Always a long wait for showers which weren't that clean, only 4 powepoints in a room of 12, noisy at night with the partying from the bar and bowling ally, the under 30 rule doesn't apply here - 21 yr old female with old men in her room it was uncomfortable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hannah Davis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

04 October 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Everything was fine really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, good location.

Disliked: Absence of personal (for each bed) electrical sockets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronja Haapanen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2013 Ronja would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel in Bristol and maybe one of the best I've ever stayed in! Awesome location, great staff and facilities and simply superb atmosphere with lots of fun people. Can't recommend if you only want to sleep, it's a lot of young people and just above a bowling place and bar.

Disliked: Ronja left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: situated in the centre, friendly staff, good price, tidy, nice graffiti art inside

Disliked: the steps in the shower are quite high. bowling and bar may be distracting if you are a light sleeper. you can't really sit properly in bed because the upper bed is a bit low.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Matt Gooding

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

10 July 2013

Liked: There was a bed

Disliked: We stayed here on the way to the Glastonbury festival and arrived quite late after flying from Ireland. We asked the guy on reception if there was a supermarket where we could buy food and drink for the festival and he just stared at us and said 'No'. He then showed us where the toilets and showers were, which was unnecessary as we could smell them from the other end of the corridor. The facilities at the festival were cleaner than at this hostel! We were aware that this was a party hostel and might be a bit loud, but I was surprised that the courtyard onto which all the rooms overlook was open all night with people shouting until about 3.30 am making it impossible to sleep. Overall, one of the worst hostels I've stayed in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun, terrific, helpful staff. Frosty areas to hang out. Lots of jacks everywhere to plug in computer. Free WiFi, TV, books. Use of full kitchen - made paella and baked a cake! Yay! Showers can be locked so you can take your bag with you. Smack dab in center of city for easy access to tons of shops. Really good value for money!

Disliked: If you like hot showers and attack-hose-water-pressure, you'll cry.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

luke Hockey

Alone

City break

12 June 2013 luke would recommend this property

Liked: Top location, welcoming staff, good kitchen and common areas.

Disliked: No locker in my room. Was told they were working on sorting that out. However I could store my important items in a room in the foyer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Egan-Perkins

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2013 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lovely building, everyone was friendly, good communal spaces and showers etc

Disliked: My room, a 12 dorm, was incredibly packed of beds. Nowhere really to put your stuff, not even a spare corner, and nowhere secure in the rooms, though the reception did say something about a secure space somewhere else!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgios Prodromidis

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2013 Georgios would recommend this property

Liked: Clean facilities

Disliked: Nothing i stay too little not to like something

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taz Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

19 April 2013 Taz would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent accommodation, central location, easy to find, spacious, clean beds, well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: The only issue I had was the shower facilities, hot water didn't last long!


See all Bristol hostels