We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of Rock 'n' Bowl

Hostel | 22 Nelson Street, Bristol, England BS1 2LA

84.6% Overall Rating

218 out of 276 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2015)

"The staff was very nice and helpful and it was no problem to extend my stay for an additional night."

Read all Rock 'n' Bowl reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send the security code (CVV/CVC) of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits of the number on the signature strip at the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in you losing your reservation Cancellation Policy Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Payments made to the website are non-refundable. Check-In/Out Details Earliest check-in: 15:00 Latest Check-out: 12:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
26.87 USD

Hostel 73.1% 427 reviews
YHA Bristol
29.17 USD

Hostel 89.4% 326 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
72.15 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Avonside Guest House
39.91 USD

Guesthouse 85.6% 234 reviews
Homestay Bristol
31.09 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 49 reviews
The Washington
47.59 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
53.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 9 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
18.42 USD

Hostel 64.8% 233 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

218 out of 276 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rock 'n' Bowl'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 236 of 270 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2015

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful and it was no problem to extend my stay for an additional night.

Disliked: I know it is not their fault, but the pub right next to the hostel is incredibly loud and made it hard to find any sleep. For people who want to party, this might be an ideal hostel. For those who want to relax after an exhausting day of traveling, I wouldn't recommend it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Gassner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: You get discout for the bowling and restaurant that is next to the hostel. The hostel is very centrally located and you can get everywhere by feet.

Disliked: WiFi has a problem with whatsapp, you will need some time to change some settings and get your whatsapp working.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andreas Dobler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was great!

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gibney

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

13 August 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town. Staff were friendly and helpful with directions. Have some friendly guests from spain staying there. . Had a free BBQ on the sunday and staff went out of their way to invite new guests. Had a relaxing area with table tennis table and couches, places to set your laptop up with sockets to recharge phones etc.

Disliked: Maybe downstairs would have been cool to sit but the bowling alley is loud. Push button shower.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Anna Fenton

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2015

Liked: I really wanted to like this hostel - as the building and location was so cool. However, the room was tiny (the bed was really small for 2 people!) and the curtain didn't get cover the window, so we got woken up very early. My main problem was that my bike helmet was stolen from the secure room, and none of the staff were particularly helpful about this. I guess I'm just lucky it wasn't my bike.

Disliked: -Tiny room -Tiny bed -Bike helmet stolen from secure room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

inga kasinskaite

Alone

Business / conference

14 June 2015 inga would recommend this property

Liked: For people who benefits art to luxury freedom to" rules" should definitely stay in; Great location + reasonable price, friendly staff. Ideally to come with your friends and have a good time!

Disliked: I stayed on Friday night because I had courses on Saturday and I needed woke up fresh and early, so at this point the music from the bar was irritating cause was loud and after midnight

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything, bar & bowling, helpful friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception and the kitchen are open 24 hours. Instead of having big showers, there are small rooms having one shower and one toilet in it, which is perfect to get ready. The 4er rooms are comfortable and the information given by the staff of the hotel (how to get to the hostel, where to find anything) is absolutely amazing.

Disliked: -

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 June 2015

Liked: Good location. Some staff are friendly. kitchen facilities are ok.

Disliked: Room smelt of stale cigarettes. There are too few showers for the number of guests. Most of the rooms do not have lockers so there will probably not be a secure place to store your valuables. The Hostel demanded photo ID and threatened to cancel the booking; photo ID may be common in continental Europe but in the UK it is very unusual! I also got emails just an hour before I arrived threatening to cancel the booking because they did not have some of my payment details, which I find very strange given that I'd managed to pay the deposit via Hostelbookers and had had no problems in booking the bed. Overall it is very expensive for what it is, but then it has so little competition in Bristol that it can almost do what it likes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, large common areas and kitchen, key card entry on doors.

Disliked: No lockers, single bathrooms were pretty dirty and two of the three closest to our room were out of order. Our room smelled.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my short stay at the Rock n Bowl. The kitchen and lounge room were nice and large and well looked after by other visitors. Could do with some under bed lockers but they have safe storage at reception for all valuables. The showers are nice but quite wet - and hard to go to the toilets when they are all taken. A bit pricey over the weekend, but I think during the week the rate is alright. Overall a great vibe and very friendly staff, we will definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Showers not well ventilated Not many separate toilets to bathroom Weekend price too expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar downstairs is a lot of fun.

Disliked: Washroom facilities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MARIA TZIAKOURI

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2015 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, large, airy and sunniness! The common room was really nice. The staff was friendly and helpfull! Good showers, perfect location!!

Disliked: MARIA left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

leire grande

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 April 2015 leire would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Elesia

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2015 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: It got noisy on a Thursday night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was amazing, having a kitchen was very useful as well. good communal atmosphere

Disliked: not being able to have food and drink the room was annoying. could do with some chairs in the bedrooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is easy to find and centrally located. There is no parking though, and not even really a place to full over and unload, so you'll need to think about this if you are driving here. There is a nice big kitchen and a chill out room, so depending if you are looking for lively socialising or book reading, you have somewhere to go.

Disliked: On a Friday and Saturday night the outside of the hostel was very noisey due to the location of the hostel in town and the bar on the bottom floor. I was able to sleep through it all (as I am a heavy sleeper) but other members of the group found it a bit harder. The hostel was a bit grubby. I wouldn't see it was dirty, but needed a lick of paint or a good deep clean on the carpets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, easy to find you way around from here by foot. Cool bar underneath with cheap drinks and friendly staff

Disliked: room and showers both had a smell of pee. Windows are very old and let a lot of the cold in. Beds aren't very comfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Foo Shen Hwang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2014 Foo Shen would recommend this property

Liked: It honestly felt like home away from home. If I were to go to specifics, I'll start off by saying that the prices are really reasonable for what you get. They have a kitchen (other travelers often leave extra groceries behind so you should check it out before buying yours to save up on cash :D), warm showers in the toilet and a ping pong table. Plus, they are really festive and once you get to know the staff, they are pretty nice. During Christmas Eve, there was a huge party that was loads of fun and they even had a turkey and everything. It's also located in the centre of Bristol so walking around is easy. Overall, I will miss that place :D

Disliked: My room smelled a little stinky feet, but it's not too bad. The wifi is a little unstable at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew McEnroe

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

24 December 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Big and clean kitchen, huge terrace with bar, pizza and bowling (discounts for the hostel guests). Helpful and professional staff, comf bed, central location and cheap price.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Denise Vaughan

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 December 2014 Christine Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Close to evrything, helpful friendly staff, vetyborfanised- tubs for fridges supplied, free ear plugs, names for beds etc staff recommnedatuins for places to eat, large sociable and clean kitchen, hairdryer s, washing facillities if needed. One of the best hosyels I have staued j

Disliked: If I HAD to be forced to choose something, soe of thr showers needed a little revamp (stull very clean thoigj)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bed!

Disliked: Very noisy and bed uncomfortable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Haw

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 November 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a really great location- right opposite the main shopping/entertainment areas of Bristol city centre! It's also a fairly easy walk up to Temple Meads station. I really liked the fact that it had a lot of unqiue artwork inside of it because it's clearly taken inspiration from the gorgeous city it is situated in. Discount on pizza was fantastic too and £51 for three nights in Bristol city centre? That's pretty amazing value.

Disliked: My only complaint is that it was cold in the hostel. However, I would attribute this to the cold weather during my stay and the fact that it is an older building.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014

Liked: Good location, spacious common rooms and overal not such a bad vibe.

Disliked: Noise. As in very very loud noise till early morning hours. Highly NOT recommended for staying during the weekend.


See all Bristol hostels