We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of YHA Bristol

Hostel | 14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, Bristol, England BS1 4QA

89.4% Overall Rating

310 out of 326 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2015)

Bryn Bennett thinks…

"Excellent value, nice private rooms and fantastic location for the middle of town. Staff were wonderful as well and very supportive while I had a breakdown while trying to sort 14 people into rooms"

Read all YHA Bristol reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.82

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded*** ***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.*** *All bookings for more than 16 people will not be accepted by YHA and will be cancelled.*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
20.36 USD

Hostel 83.9% 270 reviews
Avonside Guest House
40.73 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 231 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
47.78 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
27.41 USD

Hostel 77.5% 423 reviews
Homestay Bristol
23.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 45 reviews
The Washington
42.29 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
39.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 9 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
18.80 USD

Hostel 63.9% 232 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

310 out of 326 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bristol'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 252 of 291 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abel Gnecco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Abel would recommend this property

Liked: everything, really like my room and my bed, nice and comfortable, and of the staff Romi were lovely

Disliked: nothin'

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location in the centre of Bristol and great value for money.

Disliked: N?A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joao Teixeira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 February 2011 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: It seems to be a safe bet. Clean rooms and toilets.

Disliked: A too close to "hotel-style" way of working but in young decoration building., i.e. the hostel should hold more activities to promot people interaction.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 January 2011

Liked: the good location

Disliked: poor cleaness, the smell in the room wasn't very nice. 20pounds a night sharing room with other 3 people is quite expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Asplin

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location is key. You will not find a better place for it.

Disliked: Not much to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a hotel. It is very clean, organized, stylish, luxurious, comfortable, etc. The ensuite rooms are just as if you would find in a good hotel.

Disliked: The wifi is extremely expensive. You have to give them an arm and a leg (1 pound) for every 15 minutes. Also, they do not have free breakfast like some other hostels do. And of course, there's the membership fee that you have to pay if you're not a member.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zenash Clarke

Alone

Business / conference

10 January 2011 Zenash would recommend this property

Liked: So Clean !! Staffs are very helpful and welcoming and effiecent. The location is convenient and beautiful.

Disliked: In the bed room (I stayed in shared room with 4 beds). I like to have a separate light beside my bed. the swich is there but for some reason all of them don't work. That is very important. Because I like to read before I sleep and that doesn't disturb others. That is the only thing. Otherwise I am so happy. I have experience in different cities with shared room and decided it will be the last option. But I love YHA Bristol. Now I know where to stay when I come to Bristal. Keep doing the good work.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms. decent bathrooms. good quality beds and linen

Disliked: confusion over description of facilities included. we chose this hostel because we though breakfast was included in price. its not. the way it was advertised makes you believe it is included

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

03 January 2011

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: i can't stand for the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Maestri

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2010 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. street signs pointing the way. Was a fair walk from the bus and train station though.

Disliked: Even though it is a youth hostel there were fairly mature residents staying there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelsey Fox

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering
Business / conference
Events / festivals

27 November 2010 Kelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and clean and modern looking - it's brilliant. 24 hour reception which is dead comforting and a wicked living room space, good facilites on offer - also location is ideal as I work a lot in the harbourside area. It's near everything. Gorgeous café and what not. I love it!

Disliked: It would be nice if they had free wi-fi - although internet pricing not too unreasonable. Other than that it's champion.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Very good breakfast.

Disliked: We were booked for 4 personnes and we were divided in two rooms of 4.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nicole Gallop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness

Disliked: Internet is waaay too expensive. A lot of older people and seniors stay here

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location, decor, common room, breakfast, staff. Shower was annoying, nowhere to put towel&clothes

Disliked: Shower was annoying, nowhere to put towel&clothes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Appeared modern and v clean, cosy atmosphere, lovely breakfast included. Staff helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice central property with all mod cons

Disliked: Showers were somewhat dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

debora santos

With friends / other travellers

27 September 2010 debora would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place!!!

Disliked: debora left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Housed in a converted warehouse, on a quayside, it is bright & modern. Plenty of communal spaces, including a bar. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to citycenter

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignas Rubikas

Alone

City break

13 September 2010 Ignas would recommend this property

Liked: For absurdly low price, they gave full breakfast in a buffet. moreover, the place couldn't be better - I've walked through much of Bristol, yet ended up wandering around the hostel, as it was the most beautiful place I've seen in Bristol, with river dock and gulls, etc.

Disliked: Oh, think for yourself: [ . . . . . . . . . ]. I liked everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Interior decoration. 100% cleanliness.

Disliked: Lots of noise from street during the night, even with window closed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location. Free breakfast was hotel quality and the communal kitchen was always clean and tidy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely one of the best hostels in Europe. Loooove the full English breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is brilliant

Disliked: No kitchen for self-cathering


See all Bristol hostels