HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of YHA Bristol

Hostel | 14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, Bristol, England BS1 4QA

88.6% Overall Rating

297 out of 313 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

Baran Alp thinks…

"There are plugs and reading lights in every bed. Toilet and showers are separately so two people can use them at the same time. There was a free luggage room where you can store your luggage after…"

Read all YHA Bristol reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.29

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via the website for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
26.60 USD

Hostel 84.0% 242 reviews
Avonside Guest House
39.89 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 221 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
54.02 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
29.09 USD

Hostel 73.6% 415 reviews
Homestay Bristol
41.56 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 39 reviews
The Washington
54.02 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
41.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.3% 4 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
16.62 USD

Hostel 72.7% 214 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

297 out of 313 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bristol'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 241 of 278 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, very clean, central to city, easy to find.

Disliked: There was a bunch of kids screaming and banging on the floor above the dorms which was slightly annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bader AlSaif

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Bader would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have been.. staff very friendly .. and the hostel is huge .. in a great location. I liked the fact that the computers have a card reader so I can view the pictures i took from my camera.

Disliked: I didnt like the fact that i have to pay for internet ,,, should be provided for free i think..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small dorm room with en-suite facilities. Relaxing lounges with comfy sofas, TVs etc.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location on the quay, in the city centre and close to bars, shops, restaurants. Very clean with good facilities including free luggage storage and a cafe/bar open until 1am.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: organised and clean

Disliked: no check in until 3pm

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by the harbourside, lively place to be. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Clean facilities. Games room etc nice added extra.

Disliked: Can't think of anything!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place, nice people

Disliked: there was nothing that i didn´t like, there only could be more bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK JAMES TAYLOR

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2011 MARK JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location, clean, tidy and not too crowded

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous location on the waterfront, the staff were incredibly helpful, great kitchen facilities with a supermarket only a short walk away.

Disliked: The showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmospheric, comfortable, good location

Disliked: No free Wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a very good hostel, quite clean and comfortable. It´s a little bit expensive, but it´s a really very good hostel.

Disliked: When i arrived the heat of my room didn´t work and i had to wait until 7 pm to change my room because the member of the staff thought that i was lying but i was right and finally they changed my room to a better one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chris Ham

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: * Central location and by the waterfront therefore next to bars, cafes and City centre shops. Friendly and informative staff, nice Self Catering Kitchen and lounge. * The Apple cider boat nearby, and the old Bristolian.

Disliked: Although the Showers on my creaky floor were nice and hot, they could have been installed /designed a bit better. There was hardly any room to dry yourself and dress in the cubicle, and when you opened the shower door you are out on the main landing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean. and staffs are nice.

Disliked: you have to pay the membership fee which is ridiculous.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abel Gnecco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Abel would recommend this property

Liked: everything, really like my room and my bed, nice and comfortable, and of the staff Romi were lovely

Disliked: nothin'

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location in the centre of Bristol and great value for money.

Disliked: N?A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joao Teixeira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 February 2011 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: It seems to be a safe bet. Clean rooms and toilets.

Disliked: A too close to "hotel-style" way of working but in young decoration building., i.e. the hostel should hold more activities to promot people interaction.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 January 2011

Liked: the good location

Disliked: poor cleaness, the smell in the room wasn't very nice. 20pounds a night sharing room with other 3 people is quite expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Asplin

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location is key. You will not find a better place for it.

Disliked: Not much to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a hotel. It is very clean, organized, stylish, luxurious, comfortable, etc. The ensuite rooms are just as if you would find in a good hotel.

Disliked: The wifi is extremely expensive. You have to give them an arm and a leg (1 pound) for every 15 minutes. Also, they do not have free breakfast like some other hostels do. And of course, there's the membership fee that you have to pay if you're not a member.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zenash Clarke

Alone

Business / conference

10 January 2011 Zenash would recommend this property

Liked: So Clean !! Staffs are very helpful and welcoming and effiecent. The location is convenient and beautiful.

Disliked: In the bed room (I stayed in shared room with 4 beds). I like to have a separate light beside my bed. the swich is there but for some reason all of them don't work. That is very important. Because I like to read before I sleep and that doesn't disturb others. That is the only thing. Otherwise I am so happy. I have experience in different cities with shared room and decided it will be the last option. But I love YHA Bristol. Now I know where to stay when I come to Bristal. Keep doing the good work.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms. decent bathrooms. good quality beds and linen

Disliked: confusion over description of facilities included. we chose this hostel because we though breakfast was included in price. its not. the way it was advertised makes you believe it is included

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

03 January 2011

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: i can't stand for the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Maestri

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2010 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. street signs pointing the way. Was a fair walk from the bus and train station though.

Disliked: Even though it is a youth hostel there were fairly mature residents staying there.


See all Bristol hostels