We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of YHA Bristol

Hostel | 14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, Bristol, England BS1 4QA

87.3% Overall Rating

303 out of 319 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Catherine Robins thinks…

"Location, staff were helpful, places to sit and chat late at night, open 24 hours."

Read all YHA Bristol reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via the website for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
16.23 USD

Hostel 81.7% 248 reviews
Avonside Guest House
38.95 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 223 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
50.31 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
28.40 USD

Hostel 73.8% 417 reviews
Homestay Bristol
26.13 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 42 reviews
The Washington
39.76 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
38.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 6 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
19.47 USD

Hostel 63.9% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

303 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bristol'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 284 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011

Liked: location and food

Disliked: being accommodated on top of the establishment with the gulls and the pidgeons making noise all the time and being changed from one room to another although reserving it 2 months ahead

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and clean, so close to the city centre you can walk there, big rooms.

Disliked: Our shower made a loud beep sound when we put it on. Very annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and pleasant place to stay.

Disliked: a little bit far from the train station on foot, but as said there are clear signs at each junction.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stefan Moellmann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, provides you with basically everything you need on a budget trip: a nice bed in a clean room for a reasonable price. I changed my plans and wanted to stay 2 nights instead of 1. So I wrote them an e-mail (in advance) and it was no problem at all! That was very nice and uncomplicated!

Disliked: A few more toilets/showers per floor would be nice. I did not find any information about towels on their internet description. On location I found out that they charge 2 GBP for it (which is alright, but it would be nice to know in advance).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine McVeigh

Alone

Business / conference

27 June 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy with a nice atmosphere and bands playing on a Friday evening.

Disliked: No towel or soap in the bathrooms. There was an additional charge if you are not a YHA member which I did not notice being mentioned on the hostel bookers webpage - it is however, on the YHA home page.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, very clean, central to city, easy to find.

Disliked: There was a bunch of kids screaming and banging on the floor above the dorms which was slightly annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bader AlSaif

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Bader would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have been.. staff very friendly .. and the hostel is huge .. in a great location. I liked the fact that the computers have a card reader so I can view the pictures i took from my camera.

Disliked: I didnt like the fact that i have to pay for internet ,,, should be provided for free i think..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small dorm room with en-suite facilities. Relaxing lounges with comfy sofas, TVs etc.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location on the quay, in the city centre and close to bars, shops, restaurants. Very clean with good facilities including free luggage storage and a cafe/bar open until 1am.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: organised and clean

Disliked: no check in until 3pm

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by the harbourside, lively place to be. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Clean facilities. Games room etc nice added extra.

Disliked: Can't think of anything!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place, nice people

Disliked: there was nothing that i didn´t like, there only could be more bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK JAMES TAYLOR

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2011 MARK JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location, clean, tidy and not too crowded

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous location on the waterfront, the staff were incredibly helpful, great kitchen facilities with a supermarket only a short walk away.

Disliked: The showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmospheric, comfortable, good location

Disliked: No free Wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a very good hostel, quite clean and comfortable. It´s a little bit expensive, but it´s a really very good hostel.

Disliked: When i arrived the heat of my room didn´t work and i had to wait until 7 pm to change my room because the member of the staff thought that i was lying but i was right and finally they changed my room to a better one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chris Ham

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: * Central location and by the waterfront therefore next to bars, cafes and City centre shops. Friendly and informative staff, nice Self Catering Kitchen and lounge. * The Apple cider boat nearby, and the old Bristolian.

Disliked: Although the Showers on my creaky floor were nice and hot, they could have been installed /designed a bit better. There was hardly any room to dry yourself and dress in the cubicle, and when you opened the shower door you are out on the main landing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean. and staffs are nice.

Disliked: you have to pay the membership fee which is ridiculous.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abel Gnecco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Abel would recommend this property

Liked: everything, really like my room and my bed, nice and comfortable, and of the staff Romi were lovely

Disliked: nothin'

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location in the centre of Bristol and great value for money.

Disliked: N?A

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joao Teixeira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 February 2011 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: It seems to be a safe bet. Clean rooms and toilets.

Disliked: A too close to "hotel-style" way of working but in young decoration building., i.e. the hostel should hold more activities to promot people interaction.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 January 2011

Liked: the good location

Disliked: poor cleaness, the smell in the room wasn't very nice. 20pounds a night sharing room with other 3 people is quite expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Asplin

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location is key. You will not find a better place for it.

Disliked: Not much to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a hotel. It is very clean, organized, stylish, luxurious, comfortable, etc. The ensuite rooms are just as if you would find in a good hotel.

Disliked: The wifi is extremely expensive. You have to give them an arm and a leg (1 pound) for every 15 minutes. Also, they do not have free breakfast like some other hostels do. And of course, there's the membership fee that you have to pay if you're not a member.


See all Bristol hostels