HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of YHA Bristol

Hostel | 14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, Bristol, England BS1 4QA

86.4% Overall Rating

289 out of 304 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

"The hostel is in the heart of Bristol, the double-room we stayed in was clean, had everything we needed for a one-night stay, it was well-heated and had a great view on the Floating Harbour."

Read all YHA Bristol reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.39

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via the website for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
22.70 USD

Hostel 76.1% 214 reviews
Avonside Guest House
40.35 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 214 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
60.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
29.42 USD

Hostel 73.6% 409 reviews
Homestay Bristol
40.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 35 reviews
The Washington
42.87 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
40.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.3% 4 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
16.81 USD

Hostel 72.6% 202 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

289 out of 304 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bristol'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 232 of 269 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 October 2011

Liked: New, tidy and stylish. Kitchen is very well supplied.

Disliked: The place is quite a rip-off for what you get. Seriously, who charges for the use of computers/wi-fi these days? And the price is not even reasonable - 8 pound for a day of Internet access, like we were in 1995 or something. Add to that 3 pounds of YHA supplement, and another 5 pounds for breakfast, and your 15-pounds overnight stay is already up to 30 - to share a tiny bedroom with 3 other people. At that price range, you may be wondering if it wouldn't be a better deal to get a private room in a B&B elsewhere. On top of that, staff is dry and unfriendly - I suppose they must charge extra for a smile. And the in-house bar/cafe - guess what - charges high-street prices. Doesn't make a lot of sense for a hostel, no matter how modern it is. I guess the "inspire all, broaden horizons, adventure and discovery" spirit they advertise at the hostelbooker's overview stops right at the door.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jane Manners

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2011 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting conversion of old property. Excellent location for centre of Bristol.

Disliked: Not enough noise reduction internally - ie old echoing building and sound travelling through walls and floors. It really, really needs double glazing or something to prevent noise coming in from outside. It would appear that much clubbing happens directly opposite till 4.00- or 5.00 in the morning. This just isn't something that people need. There were two groups of young children there and a good amount of middle aged folk too. The 'twin' room was a bunk bed room - not what was expected either. There was only one room key between the two of us which meant quite a lot o running up and down 4 floors

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt duffield

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 September 2011 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .cleaness

Disliked: .stair

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Rooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. It was newly refurbished, and the rooms were clean and functional. Each bed had its own light and plug point, unlike some hostels I have stayed in, where there is only one plug socket between 8 people.

Disliked: Because its so central it could be quite noisy, but I had ear plugs and slept fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, beds, kitchen, breakfast

Disliked: loud people in th hall

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: no complaints

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice facilities, friendly and helpful stuff, good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the hostel is hot and stuffy. The lift is funny and crazy. Not so safe. My room is 4 beds but the 5th guy can get in and take his belonging in the middle of the night without any problem. If he wants , he can steal our stuffs any time ..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, easy access to the city

Disliked: £2 for a towel?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicest YHA hostel in the UK, it has excellent facilities, helpful staff, very clean and modern

Disliked: not enough lockers in rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011

Liked: location and food

Disliked: being accommodated on top of the establishment with the gulls and the pidgeons making noise all the time and being changed from one room to another although reserving it 2 months ahead

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and clean, so close to the city centre you can walk there, big rooms.

Disliked: Our shower made a loud beep sound when we put it on. Very annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and pleasant place to stay.

Disliked: a little bit far from the train station on foot, but as said there are clear signs at each junction.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stefan Moellmann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, provides you with basically everything you need on a budget trip: a nice bed in a clean room for a reasonable price. I changed my plans and wanted to stay 2 nights instead of 1. So I wrote them an e-mail (in advance) and it was no problem at all! That was very nice and uncomplicated!

Disliked: A few more toilets/showers per floor would be nice. I did not find any information about towels on their internet description. On location I found out that they charge 2 GBP for it (which is alright, but it would be nice to know in advance).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine McVeigh

Alone

Business / conference

27 June 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy with a nice atmosphere and bands playing on a Friday evening.

Disliked: No towel or soap in the bathrooms. There was an additional charge if you are not a YHA member which I did not notice being mentioned on the hostel bookers webpage - it is however, on the YHA home page.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New, very clean, central to city, easy to find.

Disliked: There was a bunch of kids screaming and banging on the floor above the dorms which was slightly annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bader AlSaif

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Bader would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have been.. staff very friendly .. and the hostel is huge .. in a great location. I liked the fact that the computers have a card reader so I can view the pictures i took from my camera.

Disliked: I didnt like the fact that i have to pay for internet ,,, should be provided for free i think..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small dorm room with en-suite facilities. Relaxing lounges with comfy sofas, TVs etc.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location on the quay, in the city centre and close to bars, shops, restaurants. Very clean with good facilities including free luggage storage and a cafe/bar open until 1am.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: organised and clean

Disliked: no check in until 3pm

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by the harbourside, lively place to be. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Clean facilities. Games room etc nice added extra.

Disliked: Can't think of anything!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place, nice people

Disliked: there was nothing that i didn´t like, there only could be more bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK JAMES TAYLOR

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 April 2011 MARK JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location, clean, tidy and not too crowded

Disliked: nothing


See all Bristol hostels