HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of YHA Bristol

Hostel | 14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, Bristol, England BS1 4QA

88.9% Overall Rating

295 out of 310 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

"Clean, nice room. Great location. Only stayed one night so we didn't really use the bar etc but it looked fine"

Read all YHA Bristol reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.45

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via the website for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
27.09 USD

Hostel 81.6% 239 reviews
Avonside Guest House
40.63 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 221 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
64.33 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
29.63 USD

Hostel 75.0% 413 reviews
Homestay Bristol
36.99 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 38 reviews
The Washington
45.71 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
42.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.3% 4 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
16.93 USD

Hostel 72.7% 214 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

295 out of 310 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bristol'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 238 of 275 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elcy Nwokeji

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Elcy would recommend this property

Liked: I love the friendly staff, good customer service, the location is fine although I found it a bit difficult to locate but was my fault. The place was very neat, I actually surprised when I got there. Yeah! It was an awesome experience, being my first time in using such facility. Great job! Keep it up!

Disliked: The only problem was the noise from outside the building. I would suggest that a sound proof windows be fitted in. Anyway, I wouldn't know if the hostel has got one because the window was open because of heat....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sandra stanley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 July 2012 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area's are very nice the whole place has a very cosmopolitan feel and has a good atmosphere. The hostel is a really nice old building situated on the quayside.

Disliked: The locks on some of the communal toilet doors were a bit stiff and hard to use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: J'ai trouvé l'ensemble de l'hôtel très agréable. De l'établissement en lui-même et des services proposés au personnel. On s'y sent bien et en sécurité.

Disliked: rien

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to be!

Disliked: My room was very small and a little dark, but I didn't spend that much time at the hostel anyway ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,convient location,friendly helpful staff & good value for money.

Disliked: I can't think of anything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Average facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

kate adler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lockers in rooms, comfy beds

Disliked: communual toilets didnt always flush, female staff not friendly, had to pay extra for alot of things ie. 5pounds wifi for the day, extra 5pounds for breaky, extra 3pound luggage storage...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Carter

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

21 May 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Near to all ammeneties, pubs and restaurants, great for travellers visiting Bristol. I would stay here again, it was friendly, well presented, better than the Travelodges and some nearby Hotels and for well over half the price. We had our own room and wet room which was great!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam dawes

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, cool place to stay at a very reasonable price:

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: Walls are a little thin.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean with fresh bedding and a warm comfortable atmosphere.

Disliked: i ate a pizza they cooked me in the cafe/bar and the next day had to run to the toilet several times to my embarassment... i am quite sure that what the cause of my guts!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Chuter

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice area, clean and fresh decoration, helpful staff. Bedroom had a sink and lockers. Bathroom had a toilet and shower (both separately lockable) with a small hall between the two that could be locked so plenty of space to put your clothes while showering and dry off afterwards. There was a lounge for guests and a mezzanine area open to the cafe and bar section so there were plenty of comfy sofas available. Self catering kitchen was large with plenty of equipment.

Disliked: The beds were a little shorter than standard and it would be better if the internet was a bit cheaper but otherwise this is a good hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moses Stevens

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 April 2012 Moses would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of Bristol, very close to Park Street and other major areas

Disliked: Nothing really, an excellent place with great service

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's quiet and conducive for staying

Disliked: too little showers and the shower motion light turn itself off after only a few seconds and need the user to move near the door for it to turn on again, causing me to spend more of my time in it in darkness.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, in the heart of city!

Disliked: It was very noisy early in the morning, doors banging, lift beeping, people talking, sounded like the walls were made of plasterboard??

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: strange lady staying in my room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 March 2012

Liked: Staff very friendly. Very flexible about storing luggage before and after checking in/out. Very central location. Easy to find.

Disliked: Should have access to Princes St where most people arrive from. Poorly cleaned and maintained. Noisy at night facing waterside. Rear faces busy road so lots of shaking from traffic. Not a place for a quiet stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, it is clean and new and you feel confortable in the rooms and in the common areas.

Disliked: You have to pay for wifi and you can only use it in the lower floors, I was in the 5th floor and I couldn't connect.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Chanel Gray

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 March 2012

Liked: Clean room/bathroom

Disliked: Staff didn't give us the correct information about the breakfast so we missed out which were not to happy about. The towel hire was very expensive as well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb. Right in the center. Also it has a nice friendly feeling.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

katrina Hollingsworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Close to canals and city centre Kitchen facilities were good

Disliked: The lift was terribly slow and we had no access to the stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Coyle

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

24 December 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to town centre and all the pubs/clubs/shops. The nearest set of pubs are about a two minute walk away! Set on the canal so very scenic. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and nice atmosphere. Literally only used YHA as a bed for the night, didnt use any of their facilities (internet, lounge etc) so can't rate these unfortunately. Definitely recommended as a place to stay!!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gunes Bildik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Gunes would recommend this property

Liked: It's location is great! It is very near to clubs and the city centre. Bristol is a beautiful city and YHA is a great plave to stay while you are in it.

Disliked: The bathrooms are very dirty and have no air-conditioning so the smell is very bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern

Disliked: pipes too loud


See all Bristol hostels