We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of YHA Bristol

Hostel | 14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, Bristol, England BS1 4QA

89.0% Overall Rating

308 out of 324 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2015)

anabel aguilera dominguez thinks…

"The atmosphere is amazing, everyone is friendly and the kitchen, toilets and room are clean! Nice experience."

Read all YHA Bristol reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.40

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded*** ***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.*** *All bookings for more than 16 people will not be accepted by YHA and will be cancelled.*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
17.79 USD

Hostel 82.4% 258 reviews
Avonside Guest House
35.58 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 225 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
45.21 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
25.94 USD

Hostel 79.7% 421 reviews
Homestay Bristol
25.20 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 43 reviews
The Washington
40.02 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
37.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 9 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
17.79 USD

Hostel 63.9% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

308 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bristol'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 250 of 289 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gracia Lopez

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 October 2012 Gracia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for going out and visiting the city!

Disliked: We didn´t spend much time in the hostel itself but all new and it good shape! nothing we disliked. Maybe the fact that there is no breakfast...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, and cleanliness

Disliked: the unwillingness of staff to try to help with an eaarly checkin despite several emails and being up all night........

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sanjay Valavil

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

25 September 2012 Sanjay would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and clean.

Disliked: Very hard to find by car due to no sign on the road side of the building, and unclear sign on the pedestrian side. They should advise where the cheaper carpark is too. Also towels not included. Could hear a noisy extractor vent all night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Lovely staff. Clean. Cheap

Disliked: Loud snorer in the room. Loud people in room above. Very bright green light in the room (presumably for fire exit.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Shaw

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 September 2012 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nicely decorated, centre of Bristol so really great location, food and drink available was great. Fab value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paolo Cardillo

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2012 Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best thing. Also the rooms and the facilities of the hostel are ok

Disliked: Paolo left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff were the hilights

Disliked: My room was located next to the main road however it did not take long to get used to the noise and overall I had a very enjoyable stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Wilson

Alone

Events / festivals

20 August 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dom Thorpe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Dom would recommend this property

Liked: It was fairly basic but clean friendly and perfectly located.

Disliked: The showers were slightly too hot even when on the coldest setting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfulness of staff as I have not hostelled previously.

Disliked: Perhaps the ease of obtaining access to the suitcase store. Although there was no problem at all, I felt there was no check on who was given the 'key'. Not a fault of the hostel, and can happen at any hostel but a general comment. Occasionally, it is sad that some guests are not so considerate when returning to their room late at night/early morning - talking loudly and letting doors slam. However, overall a good experience at Bristol YHA.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, cheap price, helpful staff.

Disliked: Disorganisation over allocation of beds in dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the security and cleanliness. ensuite bathrooms is also a plus

Disliked: that brekkie wasnt included. no big deal as a cafe was on site

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elcy Nwokeji

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 July 2012 Elcy would recommend this property

Liked: I love the friendly staff, good customer service, the location is fine although I found it a bit difficult to locate but was my fault. The place was very neat, I actually surprised when I got there. Yeah! It was an awesome experience, being my first time in using such facility. Great job! Keep it up!

Disliked: The only problem was the noise from outside the building. I would suggest that a sound proof windows be fitted in. Anyway, I wouldn't know if the hostel has got one because the window was open because of heat....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sandra stanley

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 July 2012 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area's are very nice the whole place has a very cosmopolitan feel and has a good atmosphere. The hostel is a really nice old building situated on the quayside.

Disliked: The locks on some of the communal toilet doors were a bit stiff and hard to use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: J'ai trouvé l'ensemble de l'hôtel très agréable. De l'établissement en lui-même et des services proposés au personnel. On s'y sent bien et en sécurité.

Disliked: rien

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to be!

Disliked: My room was very small and a little dark, but I didn't spend that much time at the hostel anyway ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,convient location,friendly helpful staff & good value for money.

Disliked: I can't think of anything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Average facilities

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

kate adler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lockers in rooms, comfy beds

Disliked: communual toilets didnt always flush, female staff not friendly, had to pay extra for alot of things ie. 5pounds wifi for the day, extra 5pounds for breaky, extra 3pound luggage storage...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Carter

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

21 May 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Near to all ammeneties, pubs and restaurants, great for travellers visiting Bristol. I would stay here again, it was friendly, well presented, better than the Travelodges and some nearby Hotels and for well over half the price. We had our own room and wet room which was great!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam dawes

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, cool place to stay at a very reasonable price:

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: Walls are a little thin.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean with fresh bedding and a warm comfortable atmosphere.

Disliked: i ate a pizza they cooked me in the cafe/bar and the next day had to run to the toilet several times to my embarassment... i am quite sure that what the cause of my guts!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Chuter

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice area, clean and fresh decoration, helpful staff. Bedroom had a sink and lockers. Bathroom had a toilet and shower (both separately lockable) with a small hall between the two that could be locked so plenty of space to put your clothes while showering and dry off afterwards. There was a lounge for guests and a mezzanine area open to the cafe and bar section so there were plenty of comfy sofas available. Self catering kitchen was large with plenty of equipment.

Disliked: The beds were a little shorter than standard and it would be better if the internet was a bit cheaper but otherwise this is a good hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moses Stevens

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 April 2012 Moses would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of Bristol, very close to Park Street and other major areas

Disliked: Nothing really, an excellent place with great service


See all Bristol hostels