HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Bristol Bristol Hostel

14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, BS1 4QA, Bristol, England

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.83USD

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded***

***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.***

*All bookings for more than 16 people will not be accepted by YHA and will be cancelled.*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 17:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 87%

Showing 31-40 of 52 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Spacious TV rooms. Comfortable.

Disliked: No free wifi. No ground floor bedrooms. No free tea and coffee.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Breakfast a liitle poor

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean, nice room. Great location. Only stayed one night so we didn't really use the bar etc but it looked fine

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The building is a lovely old building right on the river and close to the harbour, it has a prime location right in the town centre and around a 10 minute walk from the station (hungover walk). The staff were friendly other than the occasional reference to our group as the "noisy ones" but it was all in good humour. The lounge area was perfect to crash into after a busy night out in Bristol to enjoy a few drinks and watch TV. The beds were good value for money in the private dormitories we booked and ours had a nice view of the city at night (we booked three rooms for four people in each). The doors were open all night assuming you had a card key which was very convenient also. There was also a games room, self-catering available and a restaurant available for use by guests which we did not manage to make use of but I'm sure that if we had stayed for longer than 1 night we would have found very useful. There was also a lively, easygoing atmosphere that made everyone feel comfortable and the sofas in the lounge were top-notch.

Disliked: When I booked the hostel using hostel bookers I ensured that with each private room I booked they had a private bathroom (as in an en suite) because I thought the last thing we would want to be doing at 3 in the morning was walking across the hallway to use the facilities potentially waking up other guests. When I arrived they had the 3 rooms booked but only 2 of them had private bathrooms, I asked the receptionist if all 3 had private bathrooms and was shocked when he told me only 2 were booked with the bathrooms, I had forgotten the booking forms so I took his word for it and decided not to make a fuss, however when I got back I saw that I DEFINITELY did book 3 private bathrooms, which were slightly more expensive. Also, one of said bathrooms was really quite grimy, there was a flickering light and mildew and other mould between the tiles. The room itself was clean but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Also, there were originally 12 people meant to be in our group but only 9 could make it, so we decided to put 3 people in each room instead of 4 leaving one spare bed in each room. For perfectly valid security reasons the hostel made us put down the name of each person staying in the room, along with ID and one person's contact details in case any damage was caused. In the room I was in we put all of our bags on the one spare bunk and went out to the 02 Academy to see Flux Pavilion play at around 7:20. When we got back to our room the spare mattress had been taken along with the pillows and duvet. I had no problem with this but the way our bags had just been dumped on a windowsill where there was clearly condensation was not acceptable, my bag was partially open and consequently whilst moving it some items of clothing and other things fell out, nothing to my knowledge is missing. I understand that they may have needed the mattress for another room or to ensure nobody else came back with us who was not on the records but if this was the case they should have informed us that this was the procedure if not every single bed in the room was filled, which they did not. The hostel knew from the offset that there would not be 4 people per room and did not mention anything to anyone in our group about the removal of mattresses. It would have been nice to know that this would occur as we genuinely thought we had been robbed when we came back. Unfortunately the late night receptionist on duty was not much help when asked about it, offering little explanation. The same thing had happened in the other two rooms where one mattress was taken without any guests in the room being informed.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendly staff. very helpful and the location. close to everything

Disliked: Hallway out of lift had a chemical smell...very strong. lasted a couple of days

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The location and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: Everything was nice!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The whole setting of the property. High level of possible privacy for a low prize.

Disliked: Internet was not for free, if you do not have a membership YHA. Breakfast was offered for .£ 5. That is quite a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: Shower room

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great central location, walking distance from nearly everything. I stayed in a small 4 person dorm room with en suite bathroom which was wonderful. Each bed has it's own plug and light which is very helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: it was very clean

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability