HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Bristol Bristol Hostel

14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, BS1 4QA, Bristol, England

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.83USD

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded***

***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.***

*All bookings for more than 16 people will not be accepted by YHA and will be cancelled.*

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 17:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 87%

Showing 21-30 of 52 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Quaint and marvellous location. Friendly staff. Wonderful really.

Disliked: Few people around but I guess that's not the hostel's fault.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room was very clean and neat. It felt very safe and secure.

Disliked: For the most part I really liked the YHA Bristol. The only two things I didn't really like were that there was no internet connection in the room and the breakfast was a bit too expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel is in the heart of Bristol, the double-room we stayed in was clean, had everything we needed for a one-night stay, it was well-heated and had a great view on the Floating Harbour.

Disliked: What I didn't like was that internet has to be paid (50 pennies per 10 min.s) and that was quite a lot of noise coming from the corridors at night -- but nothing above the average hostel noise level.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location of YHA Bristol was fantastic. The staff were also extremely knowledgable and helpful.

Disliked: I have nothing major to report that was bad.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location

Disliked: Expensive considering that things like WiFi and breakfast are not even included

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The YHA in Bristol is in a great location as it is very central and many sights and shopping areas can be reached on foot easily. When I was there they also had a live band in the foyer which had a lot of young people come to the hostel for a nice little party. I enjoyed that. For other people it might have been a problem because I just heard about the band when I got there. So it definitely was not a quiet night.

Disliked: The young man at the reception was nice, but seemed a little rushed and not very organized, so I didn't feel quite as welcome as I would've liked. There were quite a few people at the reception though and going back and asking for something again wouldn't have been a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great atmosphere and character, very well located, safe, pretty confortable room, bar & coffee

Disliked: 10:00AM checkout

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: friendly staff, comfortable, good value and location

Disliked: need your own padlock

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: The location was great! It was quiet evn though there were a lot of pubs close to the hostel. The staff really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: They DON'T have free wifi.. This is really a huge disadventage and nowadays really uncommon.. Unfortunately the toilet in our room was broken, so we couldn't use it and had to use the one in the corridor. The elevator makes a lot of noise and you can hear it inside your room.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: In a convenient and attractive area. Room was clean and had ample lockable storage (take your own padlock). Staff were very helpful and tried their best to sort out a couple of problems with the room

Disliked: The self catering kitchen could have been a little better equipped but was adequate when only s few people were using it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability