We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of YHA Bristol

Hostel | 14 Narrow Quay, Somerset, Bristol, England BS1 4QA

87.3% Overall Rating

303 out of 319 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Catherine Robins thinks…

"Location, staff were helpful, places to sit and chat late at night, open 24 hours."

Read all YHA Bristol reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will not be refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via the website for more than 16 people will be cancelled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
16.23 USD

Hostel 81.7% 248 reviews
Avonside Guest House
38.95 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 223 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
50.31 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel
28.40 USD

Hostel 73.8% 417 reviews
Homestay Bristol
26.13 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 42 reviews
The Washington
38.14 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
38.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.5% 6 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
19.47 USD

Hostel 63.9% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

303 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bristol'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 284 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness and helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Breakfast a liitle poor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: Everything was nice!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Samuel Allerton

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

08 December 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The building is a lovely old building right on the river and close to the harbour, it has a prime location right in the town centre and around a 10 minute walk from the station (hungover walk). The staff were friendly other than the occasional reference to our group as the "noisy ones" but it was all in good humour. The lounge area was perfect to crash into after a busy night out in Bristol to enjoy a few drinks and watch TV. The beds were good value for money in the private dormitories we booked and ours had a nice view of the city at night (we booked three rooms for four people in each). The doors were open all night assuming you had a card key which was very convenient also. There was also a games room, self-catering available and a restaurant available for use by guests which we did not manage to make use of but I'm sure that if we had stayed for longer than 1 night we would have found very useful. There was also a lively, easygoing atmosphere that made everyone feel comfortable and the sofas in the lounge were top-notch.

Disliked: When I booked the hostel using hostel bookers I ensured that with each private room I booked they had a private bathroom (as in an en suite) because I thought the last thing we would want to be doing at 3 in the morning was walking across the hallway to use the facilities potentially waking up other guests. When I arrived they had the 3 rooms booked but only 2 of them had private bathrooms, I asked the receptionist if all 3 had private bathrooms and was shocked when he told me only 2 were booked with the bathrooms, I had forgotten the booking forms so I took his word for it and decided not to make a fuss, however when I got back I saw that I DEFINITELY did book 3 private bathrooms, which were slightly more expensive. Also, one of said bathrooms was really quite grimy, there was a flickering light and mildew and other mould between the tiles. The room itself was clean but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Also, there were originally 12 people meant to be in our group but only 9 could make it, so we decided to put 3 people in each room instead of 4 leaving one spare bed in each room. For perfectly valid security reasons the hostel made us put down the name of each person staying in the room, along with ID and one person's contact details in case any damage was caused. In the room I was in we put all of our bags on the one spare bunk and went out to the 02 Academy to see Flux Pavilion play at around 7:20. When we got back to our room the spare mattress had been taken along with the pillows and duvet. I had no problem with this but the way our bags had just been dumped on a windowsill where there was clearly condensation was not acceptable, my bag was partially open and consequently whilst moving it some items of clothing and other things fell out, nothing to my knowledge is missing. I understand that they may have needed the mattress for another room or to ensure nobody else came back with us who was not on the records but if this was the case they should have informed us that this was the procedure if not every single bed in the room was filled, which they did not. The hostel knew from the offset that there would not be 4 people per room and did not mention anything to anyone in our group about the removal of mattresses. It would have been nice to know that this would occur as we genuinely thought we had been robbed when we came back. Unfortunately the late night receptionist on duty was not much help when asked about it, offering little explanation. The same thing had happened in the other two rooms where one mattress was taken without any guests in the room being informed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hana Cagankova

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 November 2013 Hana would recommend this property

Liked: The whole setting of the property. High level of possible privacy for a low prize.

Disliked: Internet was not for free, if you do not have a membership YHA. Breakfast was offered for .£ 5. That is quite a lot.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Karl Leung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen

Disliked: Shower room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinne Riendeau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, walking distance from nearly everything. I stayed in a small 4 person dorm room with en suite bathroom which was wonderful. Each bed has it's own plug and light which is very helpful.

Disliked: Corinne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pavla Srumova

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Pavla would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: seagulls yelling all night:)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tobias Sauter

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013

Liked: location rooms are clean

Disliked: noisy, slow and disturbing elevator

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located in city centre

Disliked: no bin in the room no hooks in the shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Lo Shen Khong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2013 Stephen Lo would recommend this property

Liked: its own unique facilities, complete and its all what you needed in a hostel, center location to the city, worth the stay

Disliked: not enough socket plugs, bed's own privacy and lightings. Just in case you back to hostel late at night, you'll need a torch light to search for your own stuffs without disturbing other roomates

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Emerson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 July 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel than a hostel. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Staff were wonderfuly friendly. It is in a perfect location in Bristol and has a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Our room wouldn't lock. I assume this is not normal though the staff were pretty helpful but didn't have the tools to fix the door. Aside from that the hostel was fine.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location, great view!

Disliked: Staff must speak other langueges...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tracy Williams

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with food and shopping nearby, historical dockyard atmosphere and nearby sights, elevator would have been a plus but was out of order while we where there. Great breakfast good price.

Disliked: This hostel allows hen and batchelor parties (many YHA's don't). Very loud on Saturday night, Sunday was much better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Initially got a bad impression checking in, seemed a bit up itself for just a hostel. However friendly staff and excellent breakfast changed mind.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, fantastic location and very clean and modern hostel. I had an excellent stay, This really is the place to be. It's safe and secure and very friendly.

Disliked: I only wish the Wifi was free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Right in the middle of Bristol. Within walking distance to just about anything!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location and very helpful staff

Disliked: no mixed dorms. in order to stay together, we had to get a private room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice comfortable rooms, great kitchen

Disliked: No free wifi, expensive breakfast, limited powerpoints, awkward showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Clifford

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 April 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean hostel in the middle of Bristol

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pauline Irving

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2013 Pauline would recommend this property

Liked: It is an old building so has character from the outside but is modernised inside and offers several seating areas. I think because it is an old building the walls are thick stone and it seemed quite at night. It also has a good reception area where you can purchase hot or cold drinks.

Disliked: Squeaky floor boards on Level 5!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Tan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Heating was good and our dorm (5-bedder female) was very clean. Reception decor was nice and location was great (10-min walk to main shopping street)

Disliked: Shower kinda spurtedd everywhere and there was no shower curtain to lessen the spray. Aso, more hooks should be added in the shower to hang clothes

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 March 2013

Liked: location is ok

Disliked: the staff is very rude and unpolite, and there is strange people coming in and out of the building during the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. I got the room with four beds and shower and toilet even though I paid for the 6-bed room with a shared bathroom.

Disliked: No free internet and no free food or drinks.


See all Bristol hostels