We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 1 North Street, Stokes Croft, Bristol, England BS1 3PR

73.1% Overall Rating

327 out of 427 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2015)

"Close to Bristol nightlife.This a large hostel where you can meet many new people."

Read all The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: Once you have completed your reservation,you will need to contact the property directly to provide them with your 3 digit CVV number from your credit/debit card to secure the booking. Failure to do this may result in your booking being cancelled. We do not accept stag and hen groups. Please call us direct for group bookings as different pay conditions apply. Group bookings are 8+ guests. Group bookings made on Hostelbookers will not be accommodated.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
24.56 USD

Hostel 84.6% 276 reviews
YHA Bristol
29.17 USD

Hostel 89.4% 326 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
72.15 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Homestay Bristol
31.09 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 49 reviews
Avonside Guest House
39.91 USD

Guesthouse 85.6% 234 reviews
The Washington
47.59 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
53.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 9 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
18.42 USD

Hostel 64.8% 233 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

327 out of 427 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
69.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 265 of 279 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly helpful and lovely staff

Disliked: Slightly under resourced kitchen

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joanna Pilch

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011

Liked: Localization in interesting district - a lot of street art nerby.

Disliked: Everything, one of the worst hostels ever. A dorm was small, if it's full there's absolutely no space for your things, there are no bulbs in bed lamps, and the ceiling one is so weak, that it barely gives any light. The bed was extremly uncomfortable, I had to use matress from other bed to make it possible to sleep on it. You can't close the door unless you shut them and make a lot of noise. The self-catering kitchen stinks, oh my god, it looks like it hasn't been cleaned for a loooong time. There are no kitchen utensils, the fridge is covered in stainds from liquids and oil, The hostel has a strange demand, and I suppose not really in accordance to law, of keeping guest's ID during the stay. You can spot mould on kitchen and bathroom walls. Receptionists could be informed better about the city, especially when it comes to distances like to the bus station.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011

Liked: Pretty close to city center

Disliked: The showers weren't good, mattresses and pillows were pretty bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... very friendly and helpful staff, very good location (close to city centre and coach station).

Disliked: I liked everything.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an ok hostel. Pub downstairs which is always good, but very noisy and there was a stag night nextdoor which kept us up. Pretty good location, and very helpful staff.

Disliked: No breakfast on offer, and the kitchen stunk. TV room to hang out in, but the tv didn't work when I was there. Unisex toilets/showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern toilet facilities

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robyn Way

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 February 2011 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city

Disliked: Lockers downstairs and the woman that booked me in was a bit disinterested and pointed me in the direction of my room. Saw other staff being more courteous so I guess I just lucked out there. Also no wifi in rooms - this was very difficult for me as I work while travelling so had to go to the bar which was not ideal

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was not bad, right next to the bus station. Toilets and bedrooms might look old, but they were very clean. Overall good value for money.

Disliked: Matress and pillow not too comfortable.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

26 November 2010

Liked: It's central andthere wasn't too much noise from the pub below but I go to be late and it was early in week.

Disliked: Air of neglect and indiffernce

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like very much the people who were very frendly and smily people , also the location and the backyard

Disliked: i did not like the smell in some parts of the building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff and the rooms.

Disliked: The noise from the pub and the snoring roommate.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: car parking, city within easy reach, clean.

Disliked: coffee/ drinks machine would have been nice but nothing to particularly dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Indrajit Chatterjee

Alone

17 September 2010 Indrajit would recommend this property

Liked: A good overall hostel experience, convenient and clean. With good hepful staff.

Disliked: Music until late!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Warde

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

30 August 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Overall it was a good stay, facilities were decent and the location was great for our 2 night stay.

Disliked: The shower heads need de-scaling as they squirt all over the place and make the dry floors around it wet and the pillows, which are giant bean bags are hard to sleep on.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Friendly Staff and facilities clean.

Disliked: Due to being a hostel and people coming and going at different times it can be hard to get to sleep if you are getting up early the next day. However don't let this put you off its a great place to get your head down for a night and good value for money.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010

Liked: Spacious, well ventilated rooms. Plenty of space for luggage storage.

Disliked: Dirty kitchen and bathroom. No space for putting your clothes when getting changed in the bathroom.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Credit card machine didnt work, had to pay cash, first there was only one computer that worked that all the internet didnt work, made me change rooms, got bug bites all over my body, kitchen was disgusting.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 July 2010

Liked: Reception was always open.

Disliked: I had to give my driving licence to reception when we came. We paid our stay when we came but they didn`t put it down so when we were leaving they didn`t know that we had paid it already. Beds were very uncomfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great and the staff really helpful and nice.

Disliked: Limited wify reception.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

21 June 2010

Liked: Terrible beds ja pillows, smelly and dirty kitchen, bored staff, no internet, bad shovers, untidy frontyard. Probably one of the worst hostels where I have been. Wouldn't recomend to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience and the welcome even after arirving very late

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Clare Voke

01 June 2010 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property was great. It is situated right in the heart of Bristol and the staff were always helpful and polite.

Disliked: Clare left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verity Flute

06 May 2010 Verity would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, cheap, good food and drink, organic, free range, locally sourced produce. Recycling encouraged. Hot showers. Pub attached, great atmosphere. Cosy common/tv room. All round good vibe. And v close to alot of good live music pubs, clubs and cafes.

Disliked: Verity left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tim Williams

05 April 2010

Liked: Stayed here on Easter Friday, for one night. Girl at reception was great, very helpful and nice. Usual hostel drill. Location was good, we had a car and it was easy to get to. Rooms were secured by fingerprint lock, but lockers were downstairs in communal access area. Beds were thin, crappy mattress, pillows resembled sandbags, not good! Massive party downstairs and in the carpark and outside the window. Super loud till very late. Freezing cold shower with sticky/grungy floor. Otherwise, was a good stopover in town, but would not stay again.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 April 2010

Liked: the staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Bristol hostels