HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 1 North Street, Stokes Croft, Bristol, England BS1 3PR

73.6% Overall Rating

314 out of 409 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

kelly cracknell thinks…

"If you are looking for a place to party and meet people then it has a good party scene"

Read all The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: Once you have completed your reservation,you will need to contact the property directly to provide them with your 3 digit CVV number from your credit/debit card to secure the booking. Failure to do this may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
22.69 USD

Hostel 76.6% 217 reviews
YHA Bristol
29.91 USD

Hostel 86.4% 304 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
52.09 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Homestay Bristol
40.97 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 35 reviews
Avonside Guest House
40.33 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 214 reviews
The Washington
42.85 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
40.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.3% 4 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
16.80 USD

Hostel 69.5% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

314 out of 409 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 251 of 262 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and hostel, clean with friendly staff.

Disliked: Just a word of warning if you're using the lockers, don't bring too chunky a padlock or you won't be able to lock it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jia hung chiou

Alone

Events / festivals

15 August 2011 jia hung would recommend this property

Liked: BED

Disliked: KITCHEN

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the pub

Disliked: beds were a little too hard, and common spaces not perfectly placed

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Timothy Parsons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011

Liked: Staff helped me.

Disliked: Noisy until 3am, so no sleep. Rude guest in my dorm punched me in the leg. Changed rooms and staff said they would talk to the heavily intoxicated thug from Germany that did it. Microwave doesn't work. Wifi doesn't work apart from in the noisy bar downstairs. So, want wifi? Site in a noisy bar area with drunks.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Neil Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and entertainment

Disliked: charged us entry into the bar once we checked out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Penny Holden

Alone

Business / conference

12 July 2011 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: Great People

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011

Liked: That it was walking distance from the coach station and to the town centre. There were 12 power sockets in the room for 3 people! The couch was good, it was more comfortable than my bed.

Disliked: If you would like to sleep on a mattress that is harder than the wooden chair which was in the room or to use an extremely thin pillow which you need to fold in half - then go for it. I swapped beds one night and the mattress on that bed was very springy - so I either woke up with a stiff back or a sore prodded one. One of the pillows in the room was made of beans...not beanbag beans, heat bag beans. The locks on the room were quite shabby and the kitchen was dreadful considering they did not offer breakfast. There was only one small bowl in the entire kitchen. I really cannot see where my money went in this place as even the reception closed for some part of the day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joo Sin Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Joo Sin would recommend this property

Liked: The price and the environment.

Disliked: The location is not as stated in Google Map.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location. You can hardly be any closer to the city centre.

Disliked: Make you pay for everything (Internet, Luggage, Laundry...) other hostels we visited had those services for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry robinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 June 2011 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: AN ALL ROUND GREAT PLACE, GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT LOCATION, GREAT EVERYTHING!!!!!! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO EVERYONE WHO NEEDS A PLACEBTO CHILL, PARTY AND AS A BRILLIANT LAUNCH PAD. THANK-YOU, THAT IS ALL x

Disliked: NOT APPLICABLE :O)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Estibaliz De Miguel

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2011

Liked: Free access to the internet

Disliked: Almost everything. It´s shabby and noisy. I don´t understand how this place has licence to be a hostel. I left the hostel a night before as I didn´t want to have another night of nightmare there and they justified that because it was in the centre of the city. Incredible anwser!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly helpful and lovely staff

Disliked: Slightly under resourced kitchen

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joanna Pilch

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011

Liked: Localization in interesting district - a lot of street art nerby.

Disliked: Everything, one of the worst hostels ever. A dorm was small, if it's full there's absolutely no space for your things, there are no bulbs in bed lamps, and the ceiling one is so weak, that it barely gives any light. The bed was extremly uncomfortable, I had to use matress from other bed to make it possible to sleep on it. You can't close the door unless you shut them and make a lot of noise. The self-catering kitchen stinks, oh my god, it looks like it hasn't been cleaned for a loooong time. There are no kitchen utensils, the fridge is covered in stainds from liquids and oil, The hostel has a strange demand, and I suppose not really in accordance to law, of keeping guest's ID during the stay. You can spot mould on kitchen and bathroom walls. Receptionists could be informed better about the city, especially when it comes to distances like to the bus station.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011

Liked: Pretty close to city center

Disliked: The showers weren't good, mattresses and pillows were pretty bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... very friendly and helpful staff, very good location (close to city centre and coach station).

Disliked: I liked everything.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an ok hostel. Pub downstairs which is always good, but very noisy and there was a stag night nextdoor which kept us up. Pretty good location, and very helpful staff.

Disliked: No breakfast on offer, and the kitchen stunk. TV room to hang out in, but the tv didn't work when I was there. Unisex toilets/showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern toilet facilities

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robyn Way

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 February 2011 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city

Disliked: Lockers downstairs and the woman that booked me in was a bit disinterested and pointed me in the direction of my room. Saw other staff being more courteous so I guess I just lucked out there. Also no wifi in rooms - this was very difficult for me as I work while travelling so had to go to the bar which was not ideal

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was not bad, right next to the bus station. Toilets and bedrooms might look old, but they were very clean. Overall good value for money.

Disliked: Matress and pillow not too comfortable.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

26 November 2010

Liked: It's central andthere wasn't too much noise from the pub below but I go to be late and it was early in week.

Disliked: Air of neglect and indiffernce

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like very much the people who were very frendly and smily people , also the location and the backyard

Disliked: i did not like the smell in some parts of the building

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff and the rooms.

Disliked: The noise from the pub and the snoring roommate.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: car parking, city within easy reach, clean.

Disliked: coffee/ drinks machine would have been nice but nothing to particularly dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Indrajit Chatterjee

Alone

17 September 2010 Indrajit would recommend this property

Liked: A good overall hostel experience, convenient and clean. With good hepful staff.

Disliked: Music until late!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Warde

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

30 August 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Overall it was a good stay, facilities were decent and the location was great for our 2 night stay.

Disliked: The shower heads need de-scaling as they squirt all over the place and make the dry floors around it wet and the pillows, which are giant bean bags are hard to sleep on.


See all Bristol hostels