We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 1 North Street, Stokes Croft, Bristol, England BS1 3PR

73.8% Overall Rating

320 out of 417 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Iva Janiga thinks…

"This hostel is in a great location, right near the bus station and 15 minutes walk from the town center. I stayed during the week so it was quiet but I imagine it's noisy on the weekends as there is…"

Read all The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: Once you have completed your reservation,you will need to contact the property directly to provide them with your 3 digit CVV number from your credit/debit card to secure the booking. Failure to do this may result in your booking being cancelled. We do not accept stag and hen groups. Please call us direct for group bookings as different pay conditions apply. Group bookings are 8+ guests. Group bookings made on Hostelbookers will not be accommodated.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
16.23 USD

Hostel 80.6% 249 reviews
YHA Bristol
22.72 USD

Hostel 87.3% 319 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
50.31 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Homestay Bristol
24.26 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 42 reviews
Avonside Guest House
38.95 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 223 reviews
The Washington
41.38 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
38.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.8% 7 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
19.47 USD

Hostel 63.9% 226 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.8%

Overall Rating

320 out of 417 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 257 of 269 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, it was quiet at night and the facilities were pretty good.

Disliked: The beds were very hard and the coverlets were quite thin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Magdalena Urbaniak

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2011 Maria Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Great pub with a big beer garden downstairs.

Disliked: Very uncomfortable beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are nice and its a fantastic location if you dont know bristol very well.

Disliked: If its an actual nights sleep you are after, dont count on it here. Firstly as people walk along the corridoor it actually shakes your room. While the ridiculously loud music in the bar is going on you wil not get a wink of sleep. And as for saterday night id suggest finding yourself a good seat in the bus station if you fancy a sleep. Its hard to decifer if the banging loud music or the shaking walls which are a result of the music are more annoying. Strangely enough the loud chattering of the drinkers outside are the least of your sleeping problems!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Tagney

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 September 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: No dislikes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and happy to give us any information on local clubs and bars that may appeal to our tastes, and they got a pub next door which has great outside courtyard (despite being next to pub it is NOT noisy). Also we stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm and it had plenty of room and very clean, the beds were firm and just as I prefer them.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and hostel, clean with friendly staff.

Disliked: Just a word of warning if you're using the lockers, don't bring too chunky a padlock or you won't be able to lock it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jia hung chiou

Alone

Events / festivals

15 August 2011 jia hung would recommend this property

Liked: BED

Disliked: KITCHEN

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the pub

Disliked: beds were a little too hard, and common spaces not perfectly placed

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Timothy Parsons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011

Liked: Staff helped me.

Disliked: Noisy until 3am, so no sleep. Rude guest in my dorm punched me in the leg. Changed rooms and staff said they would talk to the heavily intoxicated thug from Germany that did it. Microwave doesn't work. Wifi doesn't work apart from in the noisy bar downstairs. So, want wifi? Site in a noisy bar area with drunks.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Neil Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and entertainment

Disliked: charged us entry into the bar once we checked out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Penny Holden

Alone

Business / conference

12 July 2011 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: Great People

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011

Liked: That it was walking distance from the coach station and to the town centre. There were 12 power sockets in the room for 3 people! The couch was good, it was more comfortable than my bed.

Disliked: If you would like to sleep on a mattress that is harder than the wooden chair which was in the room or to use an extremely thin pillow which you need to fold in half - then go for it. I swapped beds one night and the mattress on that bed was very springy - so I either woke up with a stiff back or a sore prodded one. One of the pillows in the room was made of beans...not beanbag beans, heat bag beans. The locks on the room were quite shabby and the kitchen was dreadful considering they did not offer breakfast. There was only one small bowl in the entire kitchen. I really cannot see where my money went in this place as even the reception closed for some part of the day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joo Sin Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Joo Sin would recommend this property

Liked: The price and the environment.

Disliked: The location is not as stated in Google Map.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location. You can hardly be any closer to the city centre.

Disliked: Make you pay for everything (Internet, Luggage, Laundry...) other hostels we visited had those services for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry robinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 June 2011 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: AN ALL ROUND GREAT PLACE, GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT LOCATION, GREAT EVERYTHING!!!!!! I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO EVERYONE WHO NEEDS A PLACEBTO CHILL, PARTY AND AS A BRILLIANT LAUNCH PAD. THANK-YOU, THAT IS ALL x

Disliked: NOT APPLICABLE :O)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Estibaliz De Miguel

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2011

Liked: Free access to the internet

Disliked: Almost everything. It´s shabby and noisy. I don´t understand how this place has licence to be a hostel. I left the hostel a night before as I didn´t want to have another night of nightmare there and they justified that because it was in the centre of the city. Incredible anwser!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly helpful and lovely staff

Disliked: Slightly under resourced kitchen

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joanna Pilch

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011

Liked: Localization in interesting district - a lot of street art nerby.

Disliked: Everything, one of the worst hostels ever. A dorm was small, if it's full there's absolutely no space for your things, there are no bulbs in bed lamps, and the ceiling one is so weak, that it barely gives any light. The bed was extremly uncomfortable, I had to use matress from other bed to make it possible to sleep on it. You can't close the door unless you shut them and make a lot of noise. The self-catering kitchen stinks, oh my god, it looks like it hasn't been cleaned for a loooong time. There are no kitchen utensils, the fridge is covered in stainds from liquids and oil, The hostel has a strange demand, and I suppose not really in accordance to law, of keeping guest's ID during the stay. You can spot mould on kitchen and bathroom walls. Receptionists could be informed better about the city, especially when it comes to distances like to the bus station.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011

Liked: Pretty close to city center

Disliked: The showers weren't good, mattresses and pillows were pretty bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... very friendly and helpful staff, very good location (close to city centre and coach station).

Disliked: I liked everything.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an ok hostel. Pub downstairs which is always good, but very noisy and there was a stag night nextdoor which kept us up. Pretty good location, and very helpful staff.

Disliked: No breakfast on offer, and the kitchen stunk. TV room to hang out in, but the tv didn't work when I was there. Unisex toilets/showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern toilet facilities

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robyn Way

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 February 2011 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city

Disliked: Lockers downstairs and the woman that booked me in was a bit disinterested and pointed me in the direction of my room. Saw other staff being more courteous so I guess I just lucked out there. Also no wifi in rooms - this was very difficult for me as I work while travelling so had to go to the bar which was not ideal

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was not bad, right next to the bus station. Toilets and bedrooms might look old, but they were very clean. Overall good value for money.

Disliked: Matress and pillow not too comfortable.


See all Bristol hostels