We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bristol hostels

Reviews of The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 1 North Street, Stokes Croft, Bristol, England BS1 3PR

79.7% Overall Rating

324 out of 421 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2015)

Anne Cejpova thinks…

"Great location, got a 4 bed dorm instead of 8 bed dorm, got all we could expect for the money we paid :)"

Read all The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please Note: Once you have completed your reservation,you will need to contact the property directly to provide them with your 3 digit CVV number from your credit/debit card to secure the booking. Failure to do this may result in your booking being cancelled. We do not accept stag and hen groups. Please call us direct for group bookings as different pay conditions apply. Group bookings are 8+ guests. Group bookings made on Hostelbookers will not be accommodated.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bristol?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bristol

Rock 'n' Bowl
18.21 USD

Hostel 85.3% 260 reviews
YHA Bristol
28.84 USD

Hostel 89.0% 324 reviews
Berkeley Square Hotel
57.68 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Homestay Bristol
25.80 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 44 reviews
Avonside Guest House
36.43 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 225 reviews
The Washington
44.78 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Clifton Hotel
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.7% 9 reviews
007 Bristol Hostel
18.21 USD

Hostel 62.7% 227 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

324 out of 421 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Full Moon Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 261 of 273 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room wasn't very nice, furniture was old and depressing, dirty walls. There is a lot of stairs, which can be a problem, if you carry a lot of luggage.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It is a noisy place where is difficult to sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa rashleigh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: the room was heaps cosy, and they put a heater in my room so i could be warm :)

Disliked: my bed was fine, but i did notice some other beds had very thin matresses. also the kitchen was very ill-equipped

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: noise facilities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere, night life available.

Disliked: Seemed highly unorganized, several groups' bookings were messed up so they were overbooked and ran out of beds for groups who had already pre-booked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: man kann sogar eine nacht nur buchen und das war wichtig!

Disliked: lärmende gäste in der nacht um halb 3 früh

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service, location

Disliked: A bit old, not so clean and not so friendly for a girl alone.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Claire Noone

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012

Liked: The location in Stokes Croft was quite good and the area amazing and artistic. The bar under the hostel was quite a good starting point to a night out.

Disliked: This hostel or "Hotel" as its advertised on the door is all about making money. Anyone off the street can walk upstairs, from the bar into the sleeping quarters. The doors do not lock properly, the matress i was sleeping on was no thicker than 2 inches. The lights and locks in the shower block did not work and the smell in all toilets and shower areas made me feel ill. For the price i paid i expected not to go days without toilet paper and at least some toast for breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facility and Friendly service and also value of the money .

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012

Liked: staff

Disliked: kitchen is really awful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ekaterina Baburina

Alone

Events / festivals

29 May 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm was clean and spacious and half-empty, and there were lots of vacant bathrooms. The hostel is very close to coach station, which is convenient.

Disliked: Showers were in poor condition: no hooks to hang a towel, or a broken lock.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Scott Riddell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012

Liked: Right next to pub

Disliked: Kitchen was not very clean and smelt. The bunk bed was one of the most uncomfortable i have ever slept in. The matress was wafer thin and I could feel every wooden slat below it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Really hard beds, could hear everything through the thin walls - particularly doors closing and people walking down corridor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to town, so easy to get around as a traveller, it was also close to pubs and clubs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Head

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: There was such a cool atmosphere. Everyone was really friendly and having a good time.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anna Chuter

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2012

Liked: It's in a good location, easily within walking distance of the attractions in the main city centre. It was also very clean and the beds are sturdy and a decent length for bunks. The bar on site is quite lively and not too expensive and it didn't seem to matter what time you rolled in at night. There was a good selection of maps and leaflets with information about Bristol and an internet computer that was free to use (tho slow).

Disliked: However, the whole place is a bit run down - the self catering kitchen has tiles hanging off the walls and broken cupboards and drawers. All of the beds in our room were hard and uncomfortable - I've slept in plenty of hostels and these were probably the worst mattresses I've come across so far, barely any softer than sleeping on the floor. Although there were lamps next to the bunks none of them had lightbulbs that worked and there were also plenty of bulbs missing in the bathrooms. Overall, not a place to spend much time in - this is a hostel for dumping your stuff in and then going out drinking - and not a place for a quiet night.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 March 2012

Liked: good situated in Bristol, short way to the Bus station

Disliked: unorganized stuff, doors didn't work, rooms consisted only with beds, no room for luggage

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Svetko

Alone

City break

14 March 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: 3 clubs and bars around the hostel:)

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

brenda devine

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 brenda would recommend this property

Liked: It's location .... It was very central

Disliked: The showers were just a little too spartan. Just a shelf in them and longer curtains would have helped and toilet roll supplies needed checking more often

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms, very friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great backpackers in Bristol. In a pretty handy spot, very close to Cabot Circus and the bus station. Very clean rooms/bedding and comfortable. Nice pub downstairs, very cosy with lots of atmosphere. Good wifi, in the rooms also.

Disliked: There is a kitchen, but it could do with a bit more TLC, running low on cutlery and the microwave has about had it. But it got my dinner cooked! Just be aware that they do charge 5 pounds for parking (still a bargain in the UK!)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the city centre, quiet

Disliked: parking not free (£5 per night), bedding not very comfortable

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 December 2011

Liked: people were friendly

Disliked: dirty showers and bathrooms mattrasses so thin, was like sleeping on the floor a lot of noise from the bar downstairs till late

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 November 2011

Liked: It's very close to the centre and the parking is only £5 a day. If you're planning on going out everynight of your stay in Bristol and could happily sleep comfortably on the floor, this place will be fine for you.

Disliked: Beds - it's one thing for hostel to be cheap and rough n ready but the beds here are literally a bit of material over bunk bed slats. I've stayed in hostels around the world and this is the worst for beds. At least they didn't have bed bugs I guess. Showers - grotty, my feet felt more dirty on leaving them. Toilets are unisex and constantly stinking and cold. The on site parking is pretty much in the smoking section for the bar and I was a bit nervous of getting my car damaged. I'm not sure they could offer on-site parking for everyone who books so while I could, it's probably a good idea to ring before going to make sure you'll have a space.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fast internet access, the big conference room, absolutely clean sanitary rooms, always very kind and cheerful staff

Disliked: When I arrived there was a party in the ground floor. Nothing against it, but it would be great to know that before. But don't worry: it was just one night. Every night after I had a wonderful sleep


See all Bristol hostels