We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea

Hostel | 11 Seafield Road, Brighton, England BN3 2TN

82.9% Overall Rating

68 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2015)

"The other guests in the hostel were very friendly and kindly gave us some important information the staff didn't give us (e.g. how to check out)."

Read all Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge. Hostelbookers Cancellation Policy - 48 hours notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival is required via email - for group bookings of four people or more we require 7 days notice - In the event of a no-show without cancellation we reserve the right to charge your credit card to a maximum of your first two night's stay. An admin fee of 10% will be charged for all cancelations. * Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge. Check out time is 10:00 (can be extended) Check in time is after 15.00 (luggage can be dropped in earlier) For group bookings of 4 people or more - we require 7 days notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival for a valid cancellation. At least one person in the group has to be over 18. Please note that there are occasions when our manager brings in his friendly dog !

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

SoBo House Brighton
13.97 USD

Hostel 83.0% 548 reviews
Smart Sea View Brighton
14.19 USD

Hostel 78.1% 230 reviews
The Miami Hotel
23.41 USD

Hotel 75.0% 16 reviews
Kings Hotel
61.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 20 reviews
Andorra Guest Accomodation
70.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.1% 55 reviews
West Beach Hotel
37.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.5% 32 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
65.55 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
54.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.9% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

68 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 79 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2015

Liked: The other guests in the hostel were very friendly and kindly gave us some important information the staff didn't give us (e.g. how to check out).

Disliked: - Shower was unclean and didn't drain properly - Very unclean kitchen, full of dirty dishes and rotten food in the fridges (for that reason we could not use the kitchen properly) - Smelly kitchen because it was used as part smoking area - Creaky uncomfortable beds - Lots of warnings and prohibitions which were not controlled at all (e.g. wash dishes, label food, 10 people at 3am at front door...) - No atmosphere at all - Lot of long-term guests

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 June 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Overpriced weekend rates. Stayed two nights in 4 bed private bathroom dorm. The bathroom door wouldn't lock or stay shut and would swing open. Understandably the girl in our room didn't want to use it and had use the communal bathroom every time even though she had paid for private bathroom. The bunk beds are extremely squeaky and loose and the top bunk would almost tip over as I climbed up. The sheets and towel provided had a horrible damp smell. The staircase had this ability to make even the smallest of people sound like they were a giant with concrete shoes and I was woken numerous times by other guests. All the dorm and smoke stop doors slam shut and cause more unnecessary noise. The free breakfast was corn flakes or chocolate corn flakes and there was no bowels or coffee mugs so I missed out even though I made it in time for the ridiculous half hour window. The most unintelligent thing this hostel has done has made check out time at 10am but the reception desk doesn't open until 10am. I needed to leave before that time so had to drop my towel at the office door and forfeit the £5 deposit. Overall I had unpleasant stay at this hostel and to make a bad place worse I was sharing my room with 2 gays who did gay spooning and gay talk in front of me. I have nothing against gays but took offence to their behaviour in front of my eyes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Compared with other hostels I have stayed in I fimd this one satisfactory. The room was secure and spotless. My belongings were placed in my locker for safe keeping. The staff were friendly and approachable, with good customer service skills.

Disliked: I would had liked a pair of plug sockets with my bed instead of 2 shard doubles. Most people have more than one device these days. I have had this service in Cardiff and was shocked nit to find it here. Also I would have liked my locker to be inside my room and not in a hallway. Again I have had this at other hostels and even though I felt that they were safe, I would rather they were in my room. This also cits down suspects if anything goes missing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and Secure

Disliked: Early check out

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great fun, if you are up for this kind of partying. Personally I enjoyed my stay there, everybody was very friendly.

Disliked: Internet usage was quite slow but upside it was free and unlimited and can only use in common area

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED it here. We extended our stay for 3 more nights and still didn't want to leave. Amazing staff, great rooms, great facilities. So much fun!

Disliked: Check out time too early (but is option to pay for extended check out)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful, and they tried to make sure everyone had a good time.

Disliked: The fact it wasn't peak season and there weren’t so many travellers more longer stay people

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere if partying is your desire. The parties run late (or early depending on your point of view) and all of the people staying are loads of fun, and just looking to have an adventure. The location is in a very nice and close to town.

Disliked: internet was quiet slow

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: recomendable

Disliked: que for showers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sadieka Hartogh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2015 Sadieka would recommend this property

Liked: -Great location, exactly where I needed to be, close to all amenities. The guests in the room were nice genuine people and the downstairs common areas had lots of character and lots to keep you occupied

Disliked: The people in the room next to us were rather noisey and kept us all up till late partying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay in this hostel, because it had all I needed: a comfy bed, a clean bathroom in the room, a big kitchen (that was cleaned several times a day). The location is also good.

Disliked: Far from brighton if you have to walk

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: stayed here for 11 nights and it became my home away from home. Clean and comfortable. I met SO MANY amazing people from all over. I loved that it didn't feel like a big dorm or busy hotel. It was cozy and had the perfect laid back atmosphere to make friends and just hang out. staff was super helpful and chill

Disliked: Some obnoxious guests stealing food and not cleaning up after themselves, little control over this

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cleaned & tidied daily. I stayed in a private room. 5 min walk to station. Front staff helpful in organizing tours & helping with directions. Nice cafe/restaurant just up the road

Disliked: Very loud, obnoxious guests next door

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location for me - I just needed a last minute place to stay for my last 2 nights in Brighton (or hove) that was close to train station where I was departing from. The staff was friendly and I liked that it had a kitchen to use. The bathrooms were quite clean and the showers were very nice.

Disliked: There was no elevator . This generally wouldn't matter to me but I hurt my leg quite bad during my trip and had to limp up the stairs to the top floor which took a while.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful Wifi was good in the lobby but wasn't available anywhere else. Location was brilliant, around the corner from the train station and a 15 minute walk from City Centre. The bus was just up the road. And hove was just great

Disliked: No lockers in the room, only lockers available were taken

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very safe and secure.

Disliked: Staff a bit rude when checking in

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guest kitchen was very clean and well equipped. We were upgraded to a four bed dorm (instead of a 7bed dorm), which was nice for us. It's very quiet at night, no noise from the communal areas.

Disliked: We disliked the distance from Brighton central, but we were aware of this when booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it is a bit far from the citycenter it is easy to reach with public transports. There is a young atmosphere, a lot of informations provided for trips, cultural sightseeing and so on. Breakfast is of good quality and you have a nice buffet.

Disliked: Small room, and quite small bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My first time in Brighton and First time at this hostel. Very new and modern. Friendly people, some were a bit rude. Easy check in and , lovley staff who assisted with bags

Disliked: Some guests were a bit rude.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent,the room I stayed in was spacious and very stylish, and the bed was very comfortable.The staff was loveliest I've ever come across and the breakfast great ! I'd definitely stay there again

Disliked: confusing with a car , notmuch parking

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: neat and clean room, warm extra blankets to

Disliked: No lockers free, no change was give for the wash machine

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, good roommates. close to beach

Disliked: staff quit rude

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2014

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: As soon as we stepped out the front of the backpackers we knew that the hostel was going to be dodgy. There were a lot of drunk men hanging around the backpackers. My friend and I would be stared at if we walked into the common areas and we felt really uneasy staying at this property due to this. They always seemed to be drinking. Our corridor stunk like weed and the guys in the room up from is had parties through out the night. I think this hostel attracts a lot of unemployed guests as it had a 6 week deal where people can stay for 6 weeks for £7.50 a night. My friend and I were always in our room before it got too late because we were scared of some of the other guests. The hostel is a 40 minute walk from Brighton pier, however there are a lot of buses that going into the town centre near by. Although the hostel is cheap I would have preferred to pay a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good coffee , clean bed, quiet room. Good location, I came and left in the night. Free internet

Disliked: bathroom could be nicer, it was very wet with no ventilation and no mop available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally friendly and helpful reception staff. Smile and 'good morning' from room cleaning staff Plenty of lounge and common-room space

Disliked: couple of unexplained banging of doors in our corridor about 3am on the first night.