HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea

Hostel | 11 Seafield Road, Brighton, England BN3 2TN

76.9% Overall Rating

45 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Stacey Dawoes thinks…

"had a two bed private and it felt like I was staying at hotel! Such a nice room and saved so much money for the value of a hotel. Staff was super friendly and really helpful!"

Read all Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge. Hostelbookers Cancellation Policy - 48 hours notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival is required via email - for group bookings of four people or more we require 7 days notice - In the event of a no-show without cancellation we reserve the right to charge your credit card to a maximum of your first two night's stay. An admin fee of 10% will be charged for all cancelations. * Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge. Check out time is 10:00 (can be extended) Check in time is after 15.00 (luggage can be dropped in earlier) For group bookings of 4 people or more - we require 7 days notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival for a valid cancellation. At least one person in the group has to be over 18. Please note that there are occasions when our manager brings in his friendly dog !

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

SoBo House Brighton
16.59 USD

Hostel 74.1% 520 reviews
Smart Sea View Brighton
16.57 USD

Hostel 80.0% 206 reviews
Lichfield House
96.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Miami Hotel
28.20 USD

Hotel 77.6% 14 reviews
Kings Hotel
48.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.8% 17 reviews
Andorra Guest Accomodation
66.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 48 reviews
West Beach Hotel
33.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.2% 31 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
70.49 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

45 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security

Disliked: Curtains didn't cover the window No curtain/blind in the bathroom No bathroom on my floor Very squeaky beds Uncomfortable mattresses Very poor wifi connection in room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Dawoes

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2014 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: had a two bed private and it felt like I was staying at hotel! Such a nice room and saved so much money for the value of a hotel. Staff was super friendly and really helpful!

Disliked: noisy guests and neighbours

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, good value and I felt safe here with 24 hour Reception and codes for doors.

Disliked: Bathroom was a bit small for 8 of us.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The security. Separate codes for each door so that's goood

Disliked: The volume of other people staying in the hostel, I know the hostel staff can't help that but couldn't there be "lights out" time because the noise was still going on until 12-1

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

daniel vuilleumier

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 July 2014 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and filled with people lots of space downstairs and a outside area

Disliked: Cleanliness of kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Dan Shirley

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Although slightly outside of Brighton the hostel was close enough to walk and had a late opening shop near by.

Disliked: Seriously wobbly bunks in the room we had, neither of us could move without setting it swaying and creaking.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sophie Panting

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 June 2014

Liked: the TV in the room and the full length mirror. towels were provided along with a kettle for tea and coffee.

Disliked: Where do I start? I have stayed in many hostels with hostelbookers and I've never been disappointed until now. The windows were filthy, there wasobvious damp on the wall and the bunk bed literally rocked when the person the top changed positions. At one point she sneezed and I thought the top half was going to come crashing down on top of me. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night for about 20 mins with no staff coming to check on us and at about 3 in the morning we could hear every word of the marital the couple next door were having. You could hear doors slamming all night long. if you want somewhere to sleep, find somewhere else. The window in our room also didnt shut and the shower filled up like a bath after standing in it for a few minutes. I dread to think why. 3 of us were staying in the room, each paying £42 a night - total of £126 a night. This is the most expensive hostel i have stayed in and by far the worst.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the beach - which is what I came down to Brighton for!

Disliked: Bit noisy as there was a stag do in the room next door..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ashlea Scicluna

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 May 2014

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: Staff were unfriendy and unwilling to do the little, helpful things that make hostels great places. There were just two shared showers available to us in the whole place. You had to pay extra for every little thing (towels I think is okay but luggage storage is a bit of a money-grab). The location is fine but based mostly on the coldness of the staff and the lack of bathrooms, I'd say pay a few pounds more and stay somewhere closer to the centre.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sally Nott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I entered my hostel room and decided I could not possibly stay there after 30 seconds. I did not get my money back as I need to cancel more than 48hours prior. I felt unsafe when I entered the room, could hardly get to my bed for other people's belongings and the mattress and bedding looked very old and dirty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonably priced accomm

Disliked: Carrying suitcases up and down stairs.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Adam Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2014

Liked: security

Disliked: the bed sheets had not been changed, it was a bit smelly and not worth the 200 pounds a room we spent between us for one four person room, get a nice hotel an bang someone on the floor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Middleton

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

13 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff on arrival were good, and when I discovered I was on the top floor one of them offered to help me with my bags which was a nice touch.

Disliked: Lifts would be good.. there are 3 stories and only stairs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Molly Copeland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: Safety is important so I thought 24 hour coded access was really good!

Disliked: Would have liked to come in the summer when it's a bit busier!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of facilities such as computers, large shared kitchen, tv room and vending machines. Selection of food available looked good but didn't try.

Disliked: I paid a much higher price than the dormitory rate for a private room but all I got was a bunk bed in an empty dormitory. On top of this I had to pay a £10 deposit - which wasn't mentioned when I booked - and there weren't even staff present in the morning to give it back to me so I had to go all the way back later in the day! Also the radiator wasn't working but they did give me a portable one. Finally, the sound insulation wasn't good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of communal space to meet other travelers, warm comfortable rooms and cheap!!

Disliked: Wasn't aware that lockers needed own locks before I came, so bring your own

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not as loud as some of the hostels in the town center...nice chilled and quiet.

Disliked: Breakfast was too late, I had to leave!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were really friendly (staff & guests) and felt very safe there. All good!

Disliked: The beds were a little hard for my taste but I guess that's personal preference..breakfast finished at 10 which meant I missed it as I had a lay in!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would stay again.

Disliked: A bit further away from where I needed to be (over in Kemptown) but buses ran often enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Turner

Alone

Events / festivals

16 December 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived late and was pleased to find there is 24hr staff so got to room straight away. Food was also served late and cheap!

Disliked: The rooms are basic - bed, bathroom and a desk but that's expected at a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just stayed for a night. When I checked in I mentioned my early start the next day, and they offered to book me a taxi which was helpful as am not from the area. Clean, affordable and friendly - will book again!

Disliked: Had to leave too early for breakfast..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great and rooms clean. Kitchen you can use downstairs (but I didn't as the food to order was great and very cheap!)

Disliked: Got a little cold but they gave me a heater and turned it up straight away when I asked, very accommodating!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I will definitely come back if ever in Brighton again. Experience at this hostel was better than any other I have stayed in. Close to the beach and shops, and a nice walk into town. Great!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great by the sea. Staff were helpful and having dinner available was nice!

Disliked: Nothing!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Annick Nougbele

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

20 October 2013

Liked: None.

Disliked: Everything. Uncleanliness and not value from money. Completely different from what you see on the picture.