HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Brighton Youthful Hostel.....by the Sea Brighton Hostel

11 Seafield Road, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 81%

Safety 83%

Staff 79%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.57USD

Important Information

Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge.

Hostelbookers Cancellation Policy
- 48 hours notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival is required via email - for group bookings of four people or more we require 7 days notice
- In the event of a no-show without cancellation we reserve the right to charge your credit card to a maximum of your first two night's stay.
An admin fee of 10% will be charged for all cancelations.

* Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge.

Check out time is 10:00 (can be extended)
Check in time is after 15.00 (luggage can be dropped in earlier)

For group bookings of 4 people or more - we require 7 days notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival for a valid cancellation. At least one person in the group has to be over 18.

Please note that there are occasions when our manager brings in his friendly dog !

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 78%

Location 81%

Safety 83%

Staff 79%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: We enjoyed the chance to leave and enjoy breakfast on the seaside at The New Club. In other words I cannot rate this property. After travelling Europe and Turkey for six months, this rated the worst. Access to buses network good. Able to take number 1 or 6 to Brighton then 12x to Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters. Network day card 7 quid.

Disliked: Nothing Youthful. Check in was slap dash. No orientation to the building. Share property for people staying long term. Not a hostel environment. Share 4 beds were old metal frames. squeaky and mattresses had hard waterproof covers and the springs could be felt. Barely room to turn around in ensuite. Morning weekend hobs turn on at 9.30 - hardly convenient. No check out staff till 10am to make complaints to. Cost. Dirty floors and rails.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The girl at the reception was nice, but this place needs a renewal.

Disliked: The hostel is very old, and the rooms are old and creepy as well. There were chicks on the ground floor, awful. There was no cold water in the sink, so you can imagine brushing my teeth with hot water how comfortable was. I don t even want to talk about the mattresses or the sheets, they were clean but please buy new one.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Good location, very close to the beach and about 30 min walk from Brighton Pier.

Disliked: The beds. Squeaky, noisy and uncomfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The other guests in the hostel were very friendly and kindly gave us some important information the staff didn't give us (e.g. how to check out).

Disliked: - Shower was unclean and didn't drain properly- Very unclean kitchen, full of dirty dishes and rotten food in the fridges (for that reason we could not use the kitchen properly)- Smelly kitchen because it was used as part smoking area- Creaky uncomfortable beds- Lots of warnings and prohibitions which were not controlled at all (e.g. wash dishes, label food, 10 people at 3am at front door...)- No atmosphere at all- Lot of long-term guests

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Overpriced weekend rates. Stayed two nights in 4 bed private bathroom dorm. The bathroom door wouldn't lock or stay shut and would swing open. Understandably the girl in our room didn't want to use it and had use the communal bathroom every time even though she had paid for private bathroom. The bunk beds are extremely squeaky and loose and the top bunk would almost tip over as I climbed up. The sheets and towel provided had a horrible damp smell. The staircase had this ability to make even the smallest of people sound like they were a giant with concrete shoes and I was woken numerous times by other guests. All the dorm and smoke stop doors slam shut and cause more unnecessary noise. The free breakfast was corn flakes or chocolate corn flakes and there was no bowels or coffee mugs so I missed out even though I made it in time for the ridiculous half hour window. The most unintelligent thing this hostel has done has made check out time at 10am but the reception desk doesn't open until 10am. I needed to leave before that time so had to drop my towel at the office door and forfeit the £5 deposit. Overall I had unpleasant stay at this hostel and to make a bad place worse I was sharing my room with 2 gays who did gay spooning and gay talk in front of me. I have nothing against gays but took offence to their behaviour in front of my eyes.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Compared with other hostels I have stayed in I fimd this one satisfactory. The room was secure and spotless. My belongings were placed in my locker for safe keeping. The staff were friendly and approachable, with good customer service skills.

Disliked: I would had liked a pair of plug sockets with my bed instead of 2 shard doubles. Most people have more than one device these days. I have had this service in Cardiff and was shocked nit to find it here. Also I would have liked my locker to be inside my room and not in a hallway. Again I have had this at other hostels and even though I felt that they were safe, I would rather they were in my room. This also cits down suspects if anything goes missing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: LOVED it here. We extended our stay for 3 more nights and still didn't want to leave. Amazing staff, great rooms, great facilities. So much fun!

Disliked: Check out time too early (but is option to pay for extended check out)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe and Secure

Disliked: Early check out

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere if partying is your desire. The parties run late (or early depending on your point of view) and all of the people staying are loads of fun, and just looking to have an adventure. The location is in a very nice and close to town.

Disliked: internet was quiet slow

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The place is great fun, if you are up for this kind of partying. Personally I enjoyed my stay there, everybody was very friendly.

Disliked: Internet usage was quite slow but upside it was free and unlimited and can only use in common area

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability