HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea

Hostel | 11 Seafield Road, Brighton, England BN3 2TN

80.1% Overall Rating

33 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2014)

Sarah Middleton thinks…

"Staff on arrival were good, and when I discovered I was on the top floor one of them offered to help me with my bags which was a nice touch."

Read all Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.34
  • Towel USD 1.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge. Hostelbookers Cancellation Policy - 48 hours notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival is required via email - for group bookings of four people or more we require 7 days notice - In the event of a no-show without cancellation we reserve the right to charge your credit card to a maximum of your first two night's stay. An admin fee of 10% will be charged for all cancelations.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

SoBo House Brighton
16.72 USD

Hostel 80.6% 501 reviews
Smart Sea View Brighton
16.70 USD

Hostel 71.5% 169 reviews
The Miami Hotel
25.08 USD

Hotel 77.5% 8 reviews
Kings Hotel
52.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.8% 17 reviews
Andorra Guest Accomodation
66.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.3% 42 reviews
West Beach Hotel
29.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.8% 30 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
41.80 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
41.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

33 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Adam Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2014

Liked: security

Disliked: the bed sheets had not been changed, it was a bit smelly and not worth the 200 pounds a room we spent between us for one four person room, get a nice hotel an bang someone on the floor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Middleton

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

13 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff on arrival were good, and when I discovered I was on the top floor one of them offered to help me with my bags which was a nice touch.

Disliked: Lifts would be good.. there are 3 stories and only stairs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Molly Copeland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: Safety is important so I thought 24 hour coded access was really good!

Disliked: Would have liked to come in the summer when it's a bit busier!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of facilities such as computers, large shared kitchen, tv room and vending machines. Selection of food available looked good but didn't try.

Disliked: I paid a much higher price than the dormitory rate for a private room but all I got was a bunk bed in an empty dormitory. On top of this I had to pay a £10 deposit - which wasn't mentioned when I booked - and there weren't even staff present in the morning to give it back to me so I had to go all the way back later in the day! Also the radiator wasn't working but they did give me a portable one. Finally, the sound insulation wasn't good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of communal space to meet other travelers, warm comfortable rooms and cheap!!

Disliked: Wasn't aware that lockers needed own locks before I came, so bring your own

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not as loud as some of the hostels in the town center...nice chilled and quiet.

Disliked: Breakfast was too late, I had to leave!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were really friendly (staff & guests) and felt very safe there. All good!

Disliked: The beds were a little hard for my taste but I guess that's personal preference..breakfast finished at 10 which meant I missed it as I had a lay in!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would stay again.

Disliked: A bit further away from where I needed to be (over in Kemptown) but buses ran often enough.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Turner

Alone

Events / festivals

16 December 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived late and was pleased to find there is 24hr staff so got to room straight away. Food was also served late and cheap!

Disliked: The rooms are basic - bed, bathroom and a desk but that's expected at a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just stayed for a night. When I checked in I mentioned my early start the next day, and they offered to book me a taxi which was helpful as am not from the area. Clean, affordable and friendly - will book again!

Disliked: Had to leave too early for breakfast..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great and rooms clean. Kitchen you can use downstairs (but I didn't as the food to order was great and very cheap!)

Disliked: Got a little cold but they gave me a heater and turned it up straight away when I asked, very accommodating!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I will definitely come back if ever in Brighton again. Experience at this hostel was better than any other I have stayed in. Close to the beach and shops, and a nice walk into town. Great!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great by the sea. Staff were helpful and having dinner available was nice!

Disliked: Nothing!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Annick Nougbele

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

20 October 2013

Liked: None.

Disliked: Everything. Uncleanliness and not value from money. Completely different from what you see on the picture.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

simon wood

Alone

City break

16 August 2013 simon would recommend this property

Liked: first approach, to a place with many doors. Good security in each room. Beds clean and no rubbish around. Very hot showers, however read on. Kitchen good. Happy staff.

Disliked: Where to start, limited toilets and showers, the shower needs updating as holder is broken but Good hot water, the toilet stated its checked every 30 mins this was not the case. Would love to work there and show how to run the place, being a manager of a large accommodation backpackers, but overall some things need attention but happy to stay again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, newly refurbished. Very cosy. TV in room, WIFI! Great spot and reasonable price

Disliked: Lockers all full

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daxter Jenilee

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 August 2013 Daxter would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all the facilities i required for my visit to brighton. Beach, night life , shops and pubs!! good atmosphere and cheap

Disliked: person before me left the bathromm full of water and messy! people need to have consideration in hostels as i nkow the cleaners are not on duty 24/7

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked: Beautiful location; really friendly, helpful staff; homely feel.

Disliked: Disliked: One of the bunkbeds in the 4 dorm room was really squeeky.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Peters

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very relaxed and fitting for Brighton, and the staff was extremely helpful in advising us on local activities and amenities, and kindly let us borrow an OS map for some hikes along the coast. The breakfasts were good and generous, the kitchen was convenient and the hostel ran smoothly without a long list of rules and regulations. There was free parking right across the street, and a local shop with food etc. right next to the hostel. I would highly recommend, for convenience, value and most of all, pleasant host

Disliked: Disliked:Code for doors, did not remember it and the bathroom was rather small

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013

Liked: The surrounding area of hove was nice.

Disliked: The rooms were disgusting. Our room had something which I can only describe as a brown stain on the wall. They were very overpriced at £33 for a bunk bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Zure LeRoux

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2013 Zure would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN AND GREAT LOCATION. VERY HELPFUL STAFF AND THE MANAGER TOO.

Disliked: HAD SOPME ISSUES WITH LOUDNESS OF OTHER GUESTS - MANGERS SORTED THIS OUT RIGHT AWAY

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure hostel that was definatly worth the money

Disliked: Check in took a while and there was some complications

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to amenties and the sea. Friendly service and great people

Disliked: smallish bathroom, pillows

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013

Liked: Good as a last resort if all the other hostels are fully booked.

Disliked: The extra charge for breakfast. I understand that I booked at the last minute but for £30 per night in a 4 bed dorm, at least include breakfast. The rooms don't offer very good sound proofing from other guests walking up the stairs and corridors.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the owners and their willingness to do anything they could to improve your stay, even little details like wind shields for the beach and latest surf report!

Disliked: Squeaky bed but expected with bunks