HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea

Hostel | 11 Seafield Road, Brighton, England BN3 2TN

85.9% Overall Rating

58 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/10/2014)

"Clean, cleaned & tidied daily. I stayed in a private room. 5 min walk to station. Front staff helpful in organizing tours & helping with directions. Nice cafe/restaurant just up the road"

Read all Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge. Hostelbookers Cancellation Policy - 48 hours notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival is required via email - for group bookings of four people or more we require 7 days notice - In the event of a no-show without cancellation we reserve the right to charge your credit card to a maximum of your first two night's stay. An admin fee of 10% will be charged for all cancelations. * Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge. Check out time is 10:00 (can be extended) Check in time is after 15.00 (luggage can be dropped in earlier) For group bookings of 4 people or more - we require 7 days notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival for a valid cancellation. At least one person in the group has to be over 18. Please note that there are occasions when our manager brings in his friendly dog !

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

SoBo House Brighton
14.61 USD

Hostel 90.4% 532 reviews
Smart Sea View Brighton
16.21 USD

Hostel 80.7% 210 reviews
Lichfield House
94.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Miami Hotel
24.34 USD

Hotel 75.0% 16 reviews
Kings Hotel
39.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.8% 17 reviews
Andorra Guest Accomodation
56.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 49 reviews
West Beach Hotel
28.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.2% 31 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
51.93 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

58 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cleaned & tidied daily. I stayed in a private room. 5 min walk to station. Front staff helpful in organizing tours & helping with directions. Nice cafe/restaurant just up the road

Disliked: Very loud, obnoxious guests next door

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location for me - I just needed a last minute place to stay for my last 2 nights in Brighton (or hove) that was close to train station where I was departing from. The staff was friendly and I liked that it had a kitchen to use. The bathrooms were quite clean and the showers were very nice.

Disliked: There was no elevator . This generally wouldn't matter to me but I hurt my leg quite bad during my trip and had to limp up the stairs to the top floor which took a while.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful Wifi was good in the lobby but wasn't available anywhere else. Location was brilliant, around the corner from the train station and a 15 minute walk from City Centre. The bus was just up the road. And hove was just great

Disliked: No lockers in the room, only lockers available were taken

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very safe and secure.

Disliked: Staff a bit rude when checking in

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guest kitchen was very clean and well equipped. We were upgraded to a four bed dorm (instead of a 7bed dorm), which was nice for us. It's very quiet at night, no noise from the communal areas.

Disliked: We disliked the distance from Brighton central, but we were aware of this when booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it is a bit far from the citycenter it is easy to reach with public transports. There is a young atmosphere, a lot of informations provided for trips, cultural sightseeing and so on. Breakfast is of good quality and you have a nice buffet.

Disliked: Small room, and quite small bathroom.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My first time in Brighton and First time at this hostel. Very new and modern. Friendly people, some were a bit rude. Easy check in and , lovley staff who assisted with bags

Disliked: Some guests were a bit rude.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent,the room I stayed in was spacious and very stylish, and the bed was very comfortable.The staff was loveliest I've ever come across and the breakfast great ! I'd definitely stay there again

Disliked: confusing with a car , notmuch parking

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: neat and clean room, warm extra blankets to

Disliked: No lockers free, no change was give for the wash machine

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, good roommates. close to beach

Disliked: staff quit rude

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2014

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: As soon as we stepped out the front of the backpackers we knew that the hostel was going to be dodgy. There were a lot of drunk men hanging around the backpackers. My friend and I would be stared at if we walked into the common areas and we felt really uneasy staying at this property due to this. They always seemed to be drinking. Our corridor stunk like weed and the guys in the room up from is had parties through out the night. I think this hostel attracts a lot of unemployed guests as it had a 6 week deal where people can stay for 6 weeks for £7.50 a night. My friend and I were always in our room before it got too late because we were scared of some of the other guests. The hostel is a 40 minute walk from Brighton pier, however there are a lot of buses that going into the town centre near by. Although the hostel is cheap I would have preferred to pay a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, good coffee , clean bed, quiet room. Good location, I came and left in the night. Free internet

Disliked: bathroom could be nicer, it was very wet with no ventilation and no mop available

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally friendly and helpful reception staff. Smile and 'good morning' from room cleaning staff Plenty of lounge and common-room space

Disliked: couple of unexplained banging of doors in our corridor about 3am on the first night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, just few steps from bus stop also 5 minutes from the centre of the city. Room was clean, toilets and showers also, very nice! Free wifi in the social room in the ground floor. Lockers and washing machines. I just enjoyed my stay here!

Disliked: The breakfast provided was really minimal

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its a very very friendly hostel, clean, good people, everything was so cool. Also my room has a window on the roof so I could see the sky while in my bed, so great.

Disliked: breakfast was late

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first time staying in a hostel/budget hotel. I was actually pleasantly suprised. I had heard horror stories from friends about hostels or backpackers over seas, but the BYH was great. very clean and modern and some great characters in the house. staff were proffesional and really went out of their way to assist us, even asking very annoying questions.

Disliked: The plug in the room didnt work

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi is always a bonus, but the signal was weak so I had to stay near the door of my room to receive it. The place was clean, and there was tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Disliked: It was budget place. This is of course reflected in the price, however

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security

Disliked: Curtains didn't cover the window No curtain/blind in the bathroom No bathroom on my floor Very squeaky beds Uncomfortable mattresses Very poor wifi connection in room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Dawoes

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2014 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: had a two bed private and it felt like I was staying at hotel! Such a nice room and saved so much money for the value of a hotel. Staff was super friendly and really helpful!

Disliked: noisy guests and neighbours

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, good value and I felt safe here with 24 hour Reception and codes for doors.

Disliked: Bathroom was a bit small for 8 of us.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The security. Separate codes for each door so that's goood

Disliked: The volume of other people staying in the hostel, I know the hostel staff can't help that but couldn't there be "lights out" time because the noise was still going on until 12-1

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

daniel vuilleumier

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 July 2014 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and filled with people lots of space downstairs and a outside area

Disliked: Cleanliness of kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Dan Shirley

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Although slightly outside of Brighton the hostel was close enough to walk and had a late opening shop near by.

Disliked: Seriously wobbly bunks in the room we had, neither of us could move without setting it swaying and creaking.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sophie Panting

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 June 2014

Liked: the TV in the room and the full length mirror. towels were provided along with a kettle for tea and coffee.

Disliked: Where do I start? I have stayed in many hostels with hostelbookers and I've never been disappointed until now. The windows were filthy, there wasobvious damp on the wall and the bunk bed literally rocked when the person the top changed positions. At one point she sneezed and I thought the top half was going to come crashing down on top of me. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night for about 20 mins with no staff coming to check on us and at about 3 in the morning we could hear every word of the marital the couple next door were having. You could hear doors slamming all night long. if you want somewhere to sleep, find somewhere else. The window in our room also didnt shut and the shower filled up like a bath after standing in it for a few minutes. I dread to think why. 3 of us were staying in the room, each paying £42 a night - total of £126 a night. This is the most expensive hostel i have stayed in and by far the worst.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the beach - which is what I came down to Brighton for!

Disliked: Bit noisy as there was a stag do in the room next door..