HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Old Palace Guest House

Guesthouse | 7 Madeira place, Brighton, England Bn2 1tn

79.2% Overall Rating

44 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"The location was excellent for the Brighton marathon. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The bed was really big and so comfortable."

Read all The Old Palace Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 134.48

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Once booking is made via the website the property will contact you to take the first night payment, Otherwise your rooms reservation wont be confirmed. Please note you will need to contact the property directly to confirm payment details and to confirm your arrival within 24 hours of making your booking. Failure to do so may result in your booking being cancelled and no refund will be given of the pre-payment. The properties contact email address can be found on your booking confirmation email. Please Note: Check in is possible between 12:30 and 10:30 pm if you arrive after 10:30 pm you will not be able to check in and your booking may be cancelled. THE PROPERTY CHARGES 5£ EXTRA FOR PAYMENT WITH CREDIT CARD!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

istanbulev guesthouse
30.26 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 22 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
37.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Strawberry Fields
47.62 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Gullivers Hotel
57.99 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hamptons Hotel
96.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 15 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
16.64 USD

Hostel 83.8% 438 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
23.53 USD

Hostel 90.9% 572 reviews
Atlantic Seafront
50.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

44 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Old Palace Guest House'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent for the Brighton marathon. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The bed was really big and so comfortable.

Disliked: Slight problem with the drains but they did try to overcome this by providing air fresheners. The garden room really didn't have a view at all,

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was absolutely perfect, you could walk everywhere within 10 minutes. The lady who checked us in was lovely and we had plent of space in the rooms.

Disliked: The bathrooms were absolutely tiny, and smelt quite damp. And the breakfast was absolutely awful! The Beans tastes like chemical, the sausages were certainly not local- more frozen and cooked to the texture of cardboard, thr bacon tasted of pure salt- it made my mouth hurt, the egg was over cooked on all 7 of us, and the toast was stone cold. Worst thing I've ever eaten. The bedroom locks didn't seem too sturdy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Location excellent. Breakfast service very slow but correct. Food OK

Disliked: Floors creak. Windows need refurbishing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very kind and welcoming.

Disliked: Costly. But good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Check-out time of 10.00am on a Sunday morning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

30 September 2013

Liked: The bed was really comfortable

Disliked: Bathroom, breakfast and the kettle in the room was impossible to fill with water.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Broach

Alone

Business / conference

26 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value accomodation during the Labour Party conference. Four walls, a roof, a bed, a toilet, a shower for less than £40 per night, perfect. Good to see that this establishment didn't resort to extortionate prices unlike other competitors. Free wifi as well was a useful bonus albeit intermittent. Very easy to find and close to all necessary local facilities.

Disliked: Breakfast could have been more generous- one rasher of bacon, one eff, one sausage, a small half tomato and a piece of toast isn't very filling after an evening of free fringe beer!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Old Palace Guest House has a brilliantly cosy, quaint and inviting atmosphere which makes you feel instantly at home. Though small in size the guest house was still perfectly quiet throughout the night, despite our stay being over the weekend. The bed in the Double Deluxe room (no.4) was incredible - the mattress was like sleeping on a giant marshmallow and made it difficult to resist falling straight to sleep at night. The rooms were also readily equip with everything you'd need, including tea and coffee making facilities which really makes a difference first thing in the morning! And the staff were really lovely and eager to help with any problems including offering hairdryers in the morning and letting us stash our bags away after checkout while we explored town before our evening train journey home.

Disliked: The breakfast service included in the price of the stay could have been slightly improved. As the dinning area was very small, it was often full straight away and we were turned away on the first occasion and told to come back later. Then on the second occasion we had to wait a long and hungry 20 minutes before even having our orders taken, though the kitchen were extremely apologetic for the delay. But all in all, minor issues with an otherwise flawless service.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Finnur Einarsson

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

13 September 2013

Liked: A

Disliked: B

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, friendly, and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All you would expect, really enjoyed our stay here

Disliked: didn't get a sea view

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2013

Liked: The location was very good and it was easy to find.

Disliked: I felt the staff were unhelpful and almost indifferent. When I arrived and wanted to pay by card they said it was an extra £5 to pay by card which i declined but after spending 6 months travelling in UK guesthouses, hotels, hostels and B@Bs card payment is pretty standard and a £5 charge is extortion. It was also already the most expensive for what I actually got. The garden view should really say 'no view' or 'concrete view'. The wifi connection was awful. In my room there was only a single milk portion. At breakfast my beans were luke warm, I had an over cooked tomato and half a mushroom, which was a bit of a joke. I don't normally complain but I don't normally stretch my budget to £40, especially when throughout the year I have found places better than this for much less. It was not worth it and the atmosphere was unappealing. Hospitality is not their speciality. Brighton is great though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Malgorzata Rogowska

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013

Liked: I liked the location - not too far from the city centre.

Disliked: A very small room, quite cold, very little choice for breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what I needed, good price, great location, not a massive room but I really enjoyed my stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

sherry harrow

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 June 2013 sherry would recommend this property

Liked: In a pretty central location, close to some lovely restaurants

Disliked: no parking spaces. And we had a few noisy guests!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shelley Huebner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, no frills but adequate

Disliked: thin walls, lumpy mattress

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, staff friendly and helpful, very clean. Was expecting to have to pay crazy prices due to the Great Escape, but wasn't terrible in the end. Value for money, not bells and whistles.

Disliked: Breakfast only between 8-9am, not ideal if in Brighton for a festival, probably won't be getting up that early. Walls quite thin, gap beneath door allowing noise from stairway straight into the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee harris

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 May 2013 lee would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great position

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location with plenty of useful shops within a 2 minute walk, beds were comfy and clean, staff were pleasant and courteous, great price for rooms.

Disliked: It can be quite noisy at night (although this could be put down to other guests and the thinness of the walls, both of which can't be helped and therefore no blame can be allocated.)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nicola Ghidini

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

11 November 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, really gentle, good position

Disliked: Not a great atmosphere, the room was a bit cold, it is a little too expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Watson

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: It was a central location to all the Brighton attractions.

Disliked: Walls are thin and I could hear everything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elle Mclaughlin

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Elle would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing you can walk out the front door and see Brighton Pier, it was minutes away from the Lanes. It was very clean and more towels etc were offerred in the morning. Free wifi!! Comfy beds. Plenty of coat hangers

Disliked: No fridge, no window views of anything on the ground floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. After being sceptical about being asked to pay when we got there rather than when we checked out (my friend reminded me that we weren't in a hotel) my thoughts about the place got better each night we stayed. Our room was tidied during our 3 night stay and we managed 2 out of the 3 breakfasts, during which the staff made you feel right at home, and even asked how you liked your eggs! We were also given a breakfast dessert one morning, which really exceeded our expectations! (this was the highlight of the week) The place was clean, and sweet and the location was perfect. Within a few minutes walk we were able to get to the lanes, pubs and clubs and the seafront.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked about it, (unless you count the mirror in the bathroom being too high for short people) but it was a really convenient and pleasant place to stay on a budget :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff and location

Disliked: Parking was not available on site. You had to pay to use a local NCP. This wasn't really as advertised on hostelbookers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dino Alimanovic

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 June 2012 Dino would recommend this property

Liked: l

Disliked: l