HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

The Old Palace Guesthouse Guesthouse

7 Madeira Place, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 75%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Once booking is made via the website the property will contact you to take the first night payment, Otherwise your rooms reservation wont be confirmed.

Please note you will need to contact the property directly to confirm payment details and to confirm your arrival within 24 hours of making your booking. Failure to do so may result in your booking being cancelled and no refund will be given of the pre-payment. The properties contact email address can be found on your booking confirmation email.


Cancellation must be in writing by email.
Please Note: Check in is possible between 12:30 and 8:30 pm if you arrive after 08:30 pm you will not be able to check in and your booking may be cancelled.

THE PROPERTY CHARGES 5£ EXTRA FOR PAYMENT WITH CREDIT CARD!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 75%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Showing 41-50 of 58 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: We've started to make this the only place we stay when in Brighton.The staff are helpful and friendly and the location couldn't be more central.Vege breakfast and soya milk was no problem for them and they went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.Our room was as quiet as you could hope for. What more could we want?

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I wanted a small room for three nights, no frills,just something that was comfortable and would serve as a good base during my stay in the city. I got exactly this with the Old Palace which was in a fantastic location, right next to the coast. My room was small but very nice and clean, the shower was good and breakfast was delicious. I found the owners and employees to be extremely friendly and helpful. They agreed to let me check in after the official time as I arrived late at night and on my final day they were kind enough to allow me to leave my bags with them. This enabled me to spend an extra day in the area without dragging my suitcase around, which was very much appreciated. Many thanks :-) I'll stay again or will encourage my friends to do so.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: The friendly staff and comfortable beds! We did not get up early enough for breakfast so we could not comment on the taste! Liked paying by cash on arrival. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: The room was very cold but as we came home very late could not mention it to anyone. The room was a miss match of furniture. With less but more pleasant pictures it would have looked much better.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping

Liked: Good value, good location, pleasant staff. Provided breakfast and accommodation, as a B&B should.

Disliked: Decor was seemingly done by someone unsure of which end of a screwdriver is which - so not one for aesthetes but doesn't really detract.My only real gripe was that the room wasn't cleaned during our 2 night stay; the cleaning didn't matter much as we hadn't made a mess, but we had run out of teabags.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean, comfy rooms in a good location

Disliked: had to pay booking fee in cash?

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping

Liked: The staff were very pleasant.The breakfast was pretty good considering the price.

Disliked: The hotel was pretty tired.The ensuite was TINY! It was a shower with so little room you couldn't turn or bend down. The sink was also pathetic and there was no shelf in the room for you to put anything on.As it was December it was rather cold and the room was heated inadequately.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Central location by pier & pubs/restaurants

Disliked: Dirty towel, TV poor reception, bathroom door would not close.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: They helped us to find the best route for arriving to the our conference meeting. Also, every day, they took care to restore the supply of tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the room.

Disliked: There was a misunderstanding regarding the possibility of car parking.They do not have a private car parking area.Only public parking limited at 2 hours, if it was available at the moment.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway

Liked: Super-comfortable bed, very polite and helpful staff. The room was great value for the price we paid, I would stay there again. The location was great aswell; literally right on the seafront and 5 minutes away from central Brighton and the Laines etc.

Disliked: Not much really. Maybe could've done with a bar of soap in the bathroom, but I can't say that's really a complaint, and I'm sure if I asked they would've given me one!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: great location and very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: towels and soap could be better

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability