HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

The Old Palace Guesthouse Guesthouse

7 Madeira Place, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 75%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Once booking is made via the website the property will contact you to take the first night payment, Otherwise your rooms reservation wont be confirmed.

Please note you will need to contact the property directly to confirm payment details and to confirm your arrival within 24 hours of making your booking. Failure to do so may result in your booking being cancelled and no refund will be given of the pre-payment. The properties contact email address can be found on your booking confirmation email.


Cancellation must be in writing by email.
Please Note: Check in is possible between 12:30 and 8:30 pm if you arrive after 08:30 pm you will not be able to check in and your booking may be cancelled.

THE PROPERTY CHARGES 5£ EXTRA FOR PAYMENT WITH CREDIT CARD!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 75%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Showing 31-40 of 58 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Ideal location with plenty of useful shops within a 2 minute walk, beds were comfy and clean, staff were pleasant and courteous, great price for rooms.

Disliked: It can be quite noisy at night (although this could be put down to other guests and the thinness of the walls, both of which can't be helped and therefore no blame can be allocated.)

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Really clean, really gentle, good position

Disliked: Not a great atmosphere, the room was a bit cold, it is a little too expensive

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a central location to all the Brighton attractions.

Disliked: Walls are thin and I could hear everything.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good value for money. Location excellent. Breakfast service very slow but correct. Food OK

Disliked: Floors creak. Windows need refurbishing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was amazing you can walk out the front door and see Brighton Pier, it was minutes away from the Lanes. It was very clean and more towels etc were offerred in the morning. Free wifi!! Comfy beds. Plenty of coat hangers

Disliked: No fridge, no window views of anything on the ground floor

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best thing about it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. After being sceptical about being asked to pay when we got there rather than when we checked out (my friend reminded me that we weren't in a hotel) my thoughts about the place got better each night we stayed. Our room was tidied during our 3 night stay and we managed 2 out of the 3 breakfasts, during which the staff made you feel right at home, and even asked how you liked your eggs! We were also given a breakfast dessert one morning, which really exceeded our expectations! (this was the highlight of the week) The place was clean, and sweet and the location was perfect. Within a few minutes walk we were able to get to the lanes, pubs and clubs and the seafront.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked about it, (unless you count the mirror in the bathroom being too high for short people) but it was a really convenient and pleasant place to stay on a budget :)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: staff and location

Disliked: Parking was not available on site. You had to pay to use a local NCP. This wasn't really as advertised on hostelbookers

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: l

Disliked: l

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: worth for every penny :)we were very happy with the accommodation and staff. we saw few bad reviews before we booked the room but our experience was great. nice rooms very big, freshly cooked full english breakfast, showers are bit small but plenty towels and very clean. after the breakfast they offered us turkish coffee GOD... you need to try it. there was nothing to say bad about this guest house. guys please go and see it by yourself.we'll be keep coming back guys thanks for the hospitality.

Disliked: nothing...

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: I found it rather shabby & dingy, and also rather overpriced.

Check Availability