HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

The Old Palace Guesthouse Guesthouse

7 Madeira Place, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 75%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Once booking is made via the website the property will contact you to take the first night payment, Otherwise your rooms reservation wont be confirmed.

Please note you will need to contact the property directly to confirm payment details and to confirm your arrival within 24 hours of making your booking. Failure to do so may result in your booking being cancelled and no refund will be given of the pre-payment. The properties contact email address can be found on your booking confirmation email.


Cancellation must be in writing by email.
Please Note: Check in is possible between 12:30 and 8:30 pm if you arrive after 08:30 pm you will not be able to check in and your booking may be cancelled.

THE PROPERTY CHARGES 5£ EXTRA FOR PAYMENT WITH CREDIT CARD!

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 75%

Location 98%

Safety 86%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Showing 21-30 of 58 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: A

Disliked: B

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great value, friendly, and clean.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Liked: All you would expect, really enjoyed our stay here

Disliked: didn't get a sea view

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The location was very good and it was easy to find.

Disliked: I felt the staff were unhelpful and almost indifferent. When I arrived and wanted to pay by card they said it was an extra £5 to pay by card which i declined but after spending 6 months travelling in UK guesthouses, hotels, hostels and B@Bs card payment is pretty standard and a £5 charge is extortion. It was also already the most expensive for what I actually got. The garden view should really say 'no view' or 'concrete view'. The wifi connection was awful. In my room there was only a single milk portion. At breakfast my beans were luke warm, I had an over cooked tomato and half a mushroom, which was a bit of a joke. I don't normally complain but I don't normally stretch my budget to £40, especially when throughout the year I have found places better than this for much less. It was not worth it and the atmosphere was unappealing. Hospitality is not their speciality. Brighton is great though.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was exactly what I needed, good price, great location, not a massive room but I really enjoyed my stay

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked the location - not too far from the city centre.

Disliked: A very small room, quite cold, very little choice for breakfast.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: In a pretty central location, close to some lovely restaurants

Disliked: no parking spaces. And we had a few noisy guests!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, no frills but adequate

Disliked: thin walls, lumpy mattress

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was excellent, staff friendly and helpful, very clean. Was expecting to have to pay crazy prices due to the Great Escape, but wasn't terrible in the end. Value for money, not bells and whistles.

Disliked: Breakfast only between 8-9am, not ideal if in Brighton for a festival, probably won't be getting up that early. Walls quite thin, gap beneath door allowing noise from stairway straight into the room.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Clean and great position

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability