HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Old Palace Guest House

Guesthouse | 7 Madeira place, Brighton, England Bn2 1tn

79.2% Overall Rating

44 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"The location was excellent for the Brighton marathon. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The bed was really big and so comfortable."

Read all The Old Palace Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 134.23

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Once booking is made via the website the property will contact you to take the first night payment, Otherwise your rooms reservation wont be confirmed. Please note you will need to contact the property directly to confirm payment details and to confirm your arrival within 24 hours of making your booking. Failure to do so may result in your booking being cancelled and no refund will be given of the pre-payment. The properties contact email address can be found on your booking confirmation email. Please Note: Check in is possible between 12:30 and 10:30 pm if you arrive after 10:30 pm you will not be able to check in and your booking may be cancelled. THE PROPERTY CHARGES 5£ EXTRA FOR PAYMENT WITH CREDIT CARD!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

istanbulev guesthouse
41.95 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 22 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
39.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Strawberry Fields
47.53 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Gullivers Hotel
49.50 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.3% 10 reviews
Hamptons Hotel
96.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 15 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
16.61 USD

Hostel 83.8% 438 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
25.17 USD

Hostel 90.9% 572 reviews
Atlantic Seafront
50.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

44 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Old Palace Guest House'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 51 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alper cevik

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 May 2012 alper would recommend this property

Liked: worth for every penny :) we were very happy with the accommodation and staff. we saw few bad reviews before we booked the room but our experience was great. nice rooms very big, freshly cooked full english breakfast, showers are bit small but plenty towels and very clean. after the breakfast they offered us turkish coffee GOD... you need to try it. there was nothing to say bad about this guest house. guys please go and see it by yourself. we'll be keep coming back guys thanks for the hospitality.

Disliked: nothing...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: I found it rather shabby & dingy, and also rather overpriced.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've started to make this the only place we stay when in Brighton. The staff are helpful and friendly and the location couldn't be more central. Vege breakfast and soya milk was no problem for them and they went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Our room was as quiet as you could hope for. What more could we want?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I wanted a small room for three nights, no frills,just something that was comfortable and would serve as a good base during my stay in the city. I got exactly this with the Old Palace which was in a fantastic location, right next to the coast. My room was small but very nice and clean, the shower was good and breakfast was delicious. I found the owners and employees to be extremely friendly and helpful. They agreed to let me check in after the official time as I arrived late at night and on my final day they were kind enough to allow me to leave my bags with them. This enabled me to spend an extra day in the area without dragging my suitcase around, which was very much appreciated. Many thanks :-) I'll stay again or will encourage my friends to do so.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Hyde

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

21 February 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and comfortable beds! We did not get up early enough for breakfast so we could not comment on the taste! Liked paying by cash on arrival. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: The room was very cold but as we came home very late could not mention it to anyone. The room was a miss match of furniture. With less but more pleasant pictures it would have looked much better.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samuel Roberts

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

19 February 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, good location, pleasant staff. Provided breakfast and accommodation, as a B&B should.

Disliked: Decor was seemingly done by someone unsure of which end of a screwdriver is which - so not one for aesthetes but doesn't really detract. My only real gripe was that the room wasn't cleaned during our 2 night stay; the cleaning didn't matter much as we hadn't made a mess, but we had run out of teabags.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

george wallace-grundy

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 george would recommend this property

Liked: From first stepping into this Hotel, we recieved a very warm welcome. The staff were top rate and very helpful, even going out of there way to cook me fried bread for breakfast.,The rooms were very clean,and its a great location from all that is Brighton we loved the stat that much, we are staying again in feb 2012 for my stag weekend and again in april for our few days honeymoon trip to c Steps

Disliked: We had to leave :-(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FRANCESCA DOLBY

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2011 FRANCESCA would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfy rooms in a good location

Disliked: had to pay booking fee in cash?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was pretty good considering the price.

Disliked: The hotel was pretty tired. The ensuite was TINY! It was a shower with so little room you couldn't turn or bend down. The sink was also pathetic and there was no shelf in the room for you to put anything on. As it was December it was rather cold and the room was heated inadequately.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location by pier & pubs/restaurants

Disliked: Dirty towel, TV poor reception, bathroom door would not close.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They helped us to find the best route for arriving to the our conference meeting. Also, every day, they took care to restore the supply of tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the room.

Disliked: There was a misunderstanding regarding the possibility of car parking. They do not have a private car parking area. Only public parking limited at 2 hours, if it was available at the moment.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Everitt

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

17 October 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Super-comfortable bed, very polite and helpful staff. The room was great value for the price we paid, I would stay there again. The location was great aswell; literally right on the seafront and 5 minutes away from central Brighton and the Laines etc.

Disliked: Not much really. Maybe could've done with a bar of soap in the bathroom, but I can't say that's really a complaint, and I'm sure if I asked they would've given me one!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Pinfield

As a family with children

City break

10 October 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: great location and very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: towels and soap could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, large rooms with en-suite, very clean (bedding changed every few days), tea and coffee making facilities and flatscreen TVs with freeview in room, peaceful.

Disliked: You need to pay for the room in cash. Would have preferred credit card, but it was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay...lovely owner and great location at a very good price..all you'll need in Brighton

Disliked: nothing...it was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelena Zaricnaja

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

15 September 2011 Jelena would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the sea and pier, comfy beds, quite clean, things such as hair dryers available at the office, very friendly and smiley owners.

Disliked: One of the nights either the owners or someone who was staying had a 'garden' party and wouldn't shut up until 3 AM, couldn't sleep and no one asked them to be quiet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caroline debnam

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

04 September 2011 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the room was clean. I would describe it as a frielndly quirky guest house.

Disliked: My bed was'nt all that comfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

engels aguilar

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

17 August 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: the manager trying to make extra money when i arrived, and also her arguing with me about something non sense since i had the booking for a single room and she pushed me to get a double, without a reasonable answer!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

benjamin farmer

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the pier. My girlfriend and i were on top floor and found it very quiet and got a good nights sleep. They didnt claim to be anything they wernt and at £40 per person per night with a quality free breakfast and a clean room you couldnt ask much more in the middle of summer in brighton (cheapest we found a week out from travelling there). Very friendly owners. Would definately stay again.

Disliked: Shower head had fallen down, had to hold in hand. You could call it slightly dated i guess but it is clean and tidy and the price is right. Its not luxury, just a decent bed close to everything and thats all we wanted.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, offered me tee when I came, we had a nice chat and they made me feel warmly welcome. Brealfast was good and there was plenty of it. The location couldn't be better: It's very close to the seafront, just few steps from the sea and very close to the center too in a peaceful zone of the city.

Disliked: I had a single room which was rather small. I had a bathroom, which was nice. It's difficult to find a single room in Brighton with a reasonable price in high season. The room was worth the money I paid when considering the prices in Brighton in general.

The property's response is...