HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Old Palace Guest House

Guesthouse | 7 Madeira place, Brighton, England Bn2 1tn

80.6% Overall Rating

50 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2014)

David Creek thinks…

"Helpful courteous staff with a ready welcome and smile. Very clean premises throughout and my single deluxe was just that with a comfy bed. Lovely powerful shower with constant hot water. Good free…"

Read all The Old Palace Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 132.87

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Once booking is made via the website the property will contact you to take the first night payment, Otherwise your rooms reservation wont be confirmed. Please note you will need to contact the property directly to confirm payment details and to confirm your arrival within 24 hours of making your booking. Failure to do so may result in your booking being cancelled and no refund will be given of the pre-payment. The properties contact email address can be found on your booking confirmation email. Cancellation must be in writing by email. Please Note: Check in is possible between 12:30 and 8:30 pm if you arrive after 08:30 pm you will not be able to check in and your booking may be cancelled. THE PROPERTY CHARGES 5£ EXTRA FOR PAYMENT WITH CREDIT CARD!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

istanbulev guesthouse
38.20 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 23 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
45.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews
Kings Arms Hostel
11.63 USD

Hostel 88.6% 62 reviews
Strawberry Fields
47.97 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 4 reviews
Gullivers Hotel
65.60 USD

Hotel 4 star 81.4% 12 reviews
Hamptons Hotel
44.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 15 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
24.75 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
YHA Brighton
35.71 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

50 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Old Palace Guest House'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 59 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee harris

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 May 2013 lee would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and great position

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location with plenty of useful shops within a 2 minute walk, beds were comfy and clean, staff were pleasant and courteous, great price for rooms.

Disliked: It can be quite noisy at night (although this could be put down to other guests and the thinness of the walls, both of which can't be helped and therefore no blame can be allocated.)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nicola Ghidini

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

11 November 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, really gentle, good position

Disliked: Not a great atmosphere, the room was a bit cold, it is a little too expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Watson

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: It was a central location to all the Brighton attractions.

Disliked: Walls are thin and I could hear everything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elle Mclaughlin

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Elle would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing you can walk out the front door and see Brighton Pier, it was minutes away from the Lanes. It was very clean and more towels etc were offerred in the morning. Free wifi!! Comfy beds. Plenty of coat hangers

Disliked: No fridge, no window views of anything on the ground floor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. After being sceptical about being asked to pay when we got there rather than when we checked out (my friend reminded me that we weren't in a hotel) my thoughts about the place got better each night we stayed. Our room was tidied during our 3 night stay and we managed 2 out of the 3 breakfasts, during which the staff made you feel right at home, and even asked how you liked your eggs! We were also given a breakfast dessert one morning, which really exceeded our expectations! (this was the highlight of the week) The place was clean, and sweet and the location was perfect. Within a few minutes walk we were able to get to the lanes, pubs and clubs and the seafront.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked about it, (unless you count the mirror in the bathroom being too high for short people) but it was a really convenient and pleasant place to stay on a budget :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff and location

Disliked: Parking was not available on site. You had to pay to use a local NCP. This wasn't really as advertised on hostelbookers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dino Alimanovic

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 June 2012 Dino would recommend this property

Liked: l

Disliked: l

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alper cevik

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 May 2012 alper would recommend this property

Liked: worth for every penny :) we were very happy with the accommodation and staff. we saw few bad reviews before we booked the room but our experience was great. nice rooms very big, freshly cooked full english breakfast, showers are bit small but plenty towels and very clean. after the breakfast they offered us turkish coffee GOD... you need to try it. there was nothing to say bad about this guest house. guys please go and see it by yourself. we'll be keep coming back guys thanks for the hospitality.

Disliked: nothing...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: I found it rather shabby & dingy, and also rather overpriced.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've started to make this the only place we stay when in Brighton. The staff are helpful and friendly and the location couldn't be more central. Vege breakfast and soya milk was no problem for them and they went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Our room was as quiet as you could hope for. What more could we want?

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I wanted a small room for three nights, no frills,just something that was comfortable and would serve as a good base during my stay in the city. I got exactly this with the Old Palace which was in a fantastic location, right next to the coast. My room was small but very nice and clean, the shower was good and breakfast was delicious. I found the owners and employees to be extremely friendly and helpful. They agreed to let me check in after the official time as I arrived late at night and on my final day they were kind enough to allow me to leave my bags with them. This enabled me to spend an extra day in the area without dragging my suitcase around, which was very much appreciated. Many thanks :-) I'll stay again or will encourage my friends to do so.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Hyde

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

21 February 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff and comfortable beds! We did not get up early enough for breakfast so we could not comment on the taste! Liked paying by cash on arrival. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Disliked: The room was very cold but as we came home very late could not mention it to anyone. The room was a miss match of furniture. With less but more pleasant pictures it would have looked much better.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samuel Roberts

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

19 February 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, good location, pleasant staff. Provided breakfast and accommodation, as a B&B should.

Disliked: Decor was seemingly done by someone unsure of which end of a screwdriver is which - so not one for aesthetes but doesn't really detract. My only real gripe was that the room wasn't cleaned during our 2 night stay; the cleaning didn't matter much as we hadn't made a mess, but we had run out of teabags.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

george wallace-grundy

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 george would recommend this property

Liked: From first stepping into this Hotel, we recieved a very warm welcome. The staff were top rate and very helpful, even going out of there way to cook me fried bread for breakfast.,The rooms were very clean,and its a great location from all that is Brighton we loved the stat that much, we are staying again in feb 2012 for my stag weekend and again in april for our few days honeymoon trip to c Steps

Disliked: We had to leave :-(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FRANCESCA DOLBY

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 December 2011 FRANCESCA would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfy rooms in a good location

Disliked: had to pay booking fee in cash?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was pretty good considering the price.

Disliked: The hotel was pretty tired. The ensuite was TINY! It was a shower with so little room you couldn't turn or bend down. The sink was also pathetic and there was no shelf in the room for you to put anything on. As it was December it was rather cold and the room was heated inadequately.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location by pier & pubs/restaurants

Disliked: Dirty towel, TV poor reception, bathroom door would not close.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They helped us to find the best route for arriving to the our conference meeting. Also, every day, they took care to restore the supply of tea, coffee, sugar and milk in the room.

Disliked: There was a misunderstanding regarding the possibility of car parking. They do not have a private car parking area. Only public parking limited at 2 hours, if it was available at the moment.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Everitt

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

17 October 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Super-comfortable bed, very polite and helpful staff. The room was great value for the price we paid, I would stay there again. The location was great aswell; literally right on the seafront and 5 minutes away from central Brighton and the Laines etc.

Disliked: Not much really. Maybe could've done with a bar of soap in the bathroom, but I can't say that's really a complaint, and I'm sure if I asked they would've given me one!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Pinfield

As a family with children

City break

10 October 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: great location and very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: towels and soap could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, large rooms with en-suite, very clean (bedding changed every few days), tea and coffee making facilities and flatscreen TVs with freeview in room, peaceful.

Disliked: You need to pay for the room in cash. Would have preferred credit card, but it was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay...lovely owner and great location at a very good price..all you'll need in Brighton

Disliked: nothing...it was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelena Zaricnaja

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

15 September 2011 Jelena would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the sea and pier, comfy beds, quite clean, things such as hair dryers available at the office, very friendly and smiley owners.

Disliked: One of the nights either the owners or someone who was staying had a 'garden' party and wouldn't shut up until 3 AM, couldn't sleep and no one asked them to be quiet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caroline debnam

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

04 September 2011 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the room was clean. I would describe it as a frielndly quirky guest house.

Disliked: My bed was'nt all that comfortable.