We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel

Hostel | 33 Richmond Place, Brighton, England BN2 9NA

62.2% Overall Rating

189 out of 242 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2015)

Mark Lester thinks…

"Excellent choice for stag do where a bed and a bit of breakfast was our only priority. Close to station, pubs and seafront."

Read all Journeys Brighton Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Group Booking: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above. If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Atlantic Seafront
48.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 51 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
14.96 USD

Hostel 98.1% 596 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
22.44 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kings Arms Hostel
10.47 USD

Hostel 85.5% 93 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
176.54 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
istanbulev guesthouse
29.92 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 23 reviews
The Old Palace Guest House
29.92 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 61 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
33.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.2%

Overall Rating

189 out of 242 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Brighton Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
44.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
63.2%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 198 of 229 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Charlie Phelps

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015

Liked: Nothing and that's being polite

Disliked: - the beds (if you can call them that) we're unclean - there was a poo on the floor in the bathroom - the gentlemen on reception was flash and rude. - it was loud - I felt unsafe - anyone could walk into the luggage room once collected the key. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 February 2015

Liked: Dirty and smelly

Disliked: Poor cleanliness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Lester

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

02 February 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent choice for stag do where a bed and a bit of breakfast was our only priority. Close to station, pubs and seafront.

Disliked: hard to tell who was guest and who was staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

MORGAN MYERS

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 February 2015 MORGAN would recommend this property

Liked: The people who work at this hostel are darlings. Very nice, very helpful. Downstairs the hostel is very clean, brightly lit, there is a storage space for luggage that is quite secure, the location is good, the price is fair... Though slightly more than some surrounding hostels.

Disliked: The female dorm... Was a hot mess. To say the least. It smelled like a literal vagina. It's warm, and suffocating, and smelly. Like an unwashed vagina. Not very pleasant. Maybe it was just an off day, but Jesus, I would not recommend it. Also, a woman came in drunk at 1:30 am, screaming and yelling, proceeded to climb up to the top bunk and pissed all over the woman that was below. If anything I would say this gives journeys hostel a higher rating than I would have given initially, because it was hilarious. Succinctly put. The staff are angels, the location is great, the female only room is like a page out of dante's depiction of a girls locker room. Do not sleep there.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: - The room/bathroom/toilets/sheets and kitchen were disgusting (we found a mushroom growing in one of the showers!) - Many shower rooms were out of order, the whole hostel was under works to fix bits and pieces, with plaster and work tools all over the place. When we arrived we found the whole content of one of the bathrooms (toilet, shower cubicle and pipes) that had been ripped out in the corridor to get to our room, with water and dirt everywhere. - The heating in the room wasn't working - we had to ask the manager to give us a small electrical heater - The staff was barely polite to us, looking clearly annoyed as we asked for help and advices. - The other guests were insultive, rude and almost threatening to us, as we were a group of girls. - The general atmosphere was more the one of a homeless refuge than a youth hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly environment

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

emma ward

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2015

Liked: the staff

Disliked: it was dirty grimy and gloomy

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...........

Disliked: Claustrophobic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Berta Kreismontaite

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

12 August 2014 Berta would recommend this property

Liked: I felt welcome from the second I entered the Hostel. Staff seemed very nice and helped me to manage my accidentally booked 8 beds instead of 2. Location was also very convenient. In general terms, all guest seemed to respect each others privacy AND SLEEP!

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 August 2014

Liked: The location and price

Disliked: The showers, toilets, dorms room and bedding and common room was so dirty i had to go and get clean products to clean everything.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff in good location.. free breakfast is a plus. I may be a bit harsh overall I did have a good stay here. I am English and this was my first time in a hostel on home soil.

Disliked: I could smell the room before I opened the dorm door. The smell of B.O was unbelievable! Can't sit up in bed unless your on the top bunk out of three or a child. I dont think any hostel in the uk is value for money

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very nice common area, staff were lovely and healpful.

Disliked: The rooms got very hot, could deal with better ventilation/fans in the bigger dorms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2014

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, location, luggage storage, 10 minute walk from beach

Disliked: This hostel seems to attract an older crowd, did not see one younger person when I was there. We were suppose to spend a night but ended up just storing our luggage. I would avoid this hostel next time and stay somewhere else in Brighton.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: The location is good and the beds are comfortable. This hostel is fine if you don't intend to spend much time there other than to sleep.

Disliked: If I hadn't had a music festival to spend my time at all weekend, I would've been pretty miserable at this hostel. The rooms were cramped with very little storage or room to hang out. At times, the bathrooms were filthy and the showers tended to flood. I found the lounge on the main level a bit uncomfortable as it was hard to tell who were guests, friends of staff, or staff. The breakfast was cereal and tea, which wasn't much compared to other hostels I staid in across the UK.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff happy to entertain a large group of us

Disliked: Showers and toilets in need of an overhaul!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like staff are welcoming and always there to help. It is 5 minutes from everywhere you need to go in Brighton

Disliked: Fire alarm went off 3 times at 2am with no explanation or sorry. Room was always hot even window open and then was so loud at night as we couldn't close the window

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anna Kyriakidou

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty,doors were black from dirt, claustophobic beds, cant even sit cause its so low, dirty, broken things, just a few toilets, some broken, disguistingly blocked etc The breakfast is the cheapest milk with cereals and the cheapest bread with a jar of jam, its not a buffet

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014

Liked: the location was good - easy to walk to centre and pier

Disliked: the dorm room was ridiculously cramped - almost no floor space; the reception area was also a bar so there were random people hanging around at night - didn't feel very secure. continental breakfast was quite poor compared to other hostels. generally not a good atmosphere.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sylvanus Iro

Alone

Shopping

22 May 2014 Sylvanus would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: taking your bath outside your room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Philip Duval

Alone

Business / conference

22 May 2014

Liked: It's near a good shop.

Disliked: Pretty much everything. I've travelled to 53 countries and i've not seen many hostels as cruddy as this.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Needed a cheap bed for the night and a shower in the morning. For £11 I got everything I needed satisfactorily provided for what I was paying. No complaints and will use again.

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Purchase

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: They have a pool table, foosball table and good couches.

Disliked: The drainage of the showers room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

maria aquilina

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 April 2014 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, value for money

Disliked: Toilets and showers need updating

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was spectacular.

Disliked: Nothing really, the basement toilet was kind of difficult to actually get in or out of.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 November 2013

Liked: the location and the color of beds

Disliked: Had mushrooms in the bathrooms (I have pictures) the bad hygiene and management of the horrible hostel. the man shouted me several times just for asking. is racist about Spanish, I cheated and haggled with the price (which I think is not legal) and especially with uneducated people. For the rest good, clean beds, good breakfast, kitchen (when the manager wants to open it, because it does not meet the schedule) is clean and complete. Please let's stop at the foot of the hostel manager. Thanks