We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel

Hostel | 33 Richmond Place, Brighton, England BN2 9NA

65.9% Overall Rating

185 out of 232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Berta Kreismontaite thinks…

"I felt welcome from the second I entered the Hostel. Staff seemed very nice and helped me to manage my accidentally booked 8 beds instead of 2. Location was also very convenient. In general terms,…"

Read all Journeys Brighton Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Group Booking: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above. If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Atlantic Seafront
44.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 51 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
20.29 USD

Hostel 96.8% 589 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kings Arms Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 84.6% 77 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
71.41 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
istanbulev guesthouse
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 23 reviews
The Old Palace Guest House
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 60 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
30.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

185 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Brighton Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 219 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...........

Disliked: Claustrophobic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Berta Kreismontaite

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

12 August 2014 Berta would recommend this property

Liked: I felt welcome from the second I entered the Hostel. Staff seemed very nice and helped me to manage my accidentally booked 8 beds instead of 2. Location was also very convenient. In general terms, all guest seemed to respect each others privacy AND SLEEP!

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 August 2014

Liked: The location and price

Disliked: The showers, toilets, dorms room and bedding and common room was so dirty i had to go and get clean products to clean everything.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff in good location.. free breakfast is a plus. I may be a bit harsh overall I did have a good stay here. I am English and this was my first time in a hostel on home soil.

Disliked: I could smell the room before I opened the dorm door. The smell of B.O was unbelievable! Can't sit up in bed unless your on the top bunk out of three or a child. I dont think any hostel in the uk is value for money

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very nice common area, staff were lovely and healpful.

Disliked: The rooms got very hot, could deal with better ventilation/fans in the bigger dorms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2014

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, location, luggage storage, 10 minute walk from beach

Disliked: This hostel seems to attract an older crowd, did not see one younger person when I was there. We were suppose to spend a night but ended up just storing our luggage. I would avoid this hostel next time and stay somewhere else in Brighton.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: The location is good and the beds are comfortable. This hostel is fine if you don't intend to spend much time there other than to sleep.

Disliked: If I hadn't had a music festival to spend my time at all weekend, I would've been pretty miserable at this hostel. The rooms were cramped with very little storage or room to hang out. At times, the bathrooms were filthy and the showers tended to flood. I found the lounge on the main level a bit uncomfortable as it was hard to tell who were guests, friends of staff, or staff. The breakfast was cereal and tea, which wasn't much compared to other hostels I staid in across the UK.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff happy to entertain a large group of us

Disliked: Showers and toilets in need of an overhaul!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like staff are welcoming and always there to help. It is 5 minutes from everywhere you need to go in Brighton

Disliked: Fire alarm went off 3 times at 2am with no explanation or sorry. Room was always hot even window open and then was so loud at night as we couldn't close the window

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anna Kyriakidou

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty,doors were black from dirt, claustophobic beds, cant even sit cause its so low, dirty, broken things, just a few toilets, some broken, disguistingly blocked etc The breakfast is the cheapest milk with cereals and the cheapest bread with a jar of jam, its not a buffet

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014

Liked: the location was good - easy to walk to centre and pier

Disliked: the dorm room was ridiculously cramped - almost no floor space; the reception area was also a bar so there were random people hanging around at night - didn't feel very secure. continental breakfast was quite poor compared to other hostels. generally not a good atmosphere.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sylvanus Iro

Alone

Shopping

22 May 2014 Sylvanus would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: taking your bath outside your room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Philip Duval

Alone

Business / conference

22 May 2014

Liked: It's near a good shop.

Disliked: Pretty much everything. I've travelled to 53 countries and i've not seen many hostels as cruddy as this.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Needed a cheap bed for the night and a shower in the morning. For £11 I got everything I needed satisfactorily provided for what I was paying. No complaints and will use again.

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Purchase

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: They have a pool table, foosball table and good couches.

Disliked: The drainage of the showers room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

maria aquilina

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 April 2014 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, value for money

Disliked: Toilets and showers need updating

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was spectacular.

Disliked: Nothing really, the basement toilet was kind of difficult to actually get in or out of.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 November 2013

Liked: the location and the color of beds

Disliked: Had mushrooms in the bathrooms (I have pictures) the bad hygiene and management of the horrible hostel. the man shouted me several times just for asking. is racist about Spanish, I cheated and haggled with the price (which I think is not legal) and especially with uneducated people. For the rest good, clean beds, good breakfast, kitchen (when the manager wants to open it, because it does not meet the schedule) is clean and complete. Please let's stop at the foot of the hostel manager. Thanks

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ashley White

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful.

Disliked: The triple bunks were a big of a nightmare and the room was cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Many toilets and clean, free wifi, power outlets at each bunk bed, many seats in the common area, a communal computer, free storage for your luggage

Disliked: Small kitchen and a single small fridge, the showers are kinda bad (but manageable with hot water), they shut the only common area at 2am because they have a bar license - so if you just want to chill after a loud evening at the common area - good luck.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were ok for the price and the location was quite good too.

Disliked: The showers were a bit untidy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kim Konings

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 September 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Love the rooms! Curtains around the beds make them very private. Personal plug point and light. Nice clean linen. Beds don't squeak. Great atmosphere. Great location right by North Laines and close to the seaside and London Road. Good breakfast...nice coffee and chocolate cereal = a luxury.

Disliked: Showers aren't very nice, but bearable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lloyd Miller

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: Really affordable beds, yet still top class service, and a happy atmosphere.

Disliked: Lloyd left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and kind and knew what was going on around the area. There's a great atmosphere in the TV/game room which makes it even more easy to get some new friends. The breakfast had both white and brown bread and three kinds of cereal so there's a bit more to choose from than other places.

Disliked: They could have cleaned the rooms and toilets/showers a bit more. In the shower room it got really moisture because there weren't any air circulation and it also smelled a bit of moisture. The toilets is really small to get into. The lowest bed in the is really low.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stephen Marsden

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: friendly reception

Disliked: the pillows - i have never seen a pillow as thin as these, i did ask the maid for more but i didnt get any. shower areas need mats down as there is no dry area to get dry. the ones i went to use i had to cross a pool of water in and out of them. ladders on the beds could do with being a softer tread as its not comfy on the feet climbing up there. a table or some shelving in the rooms would be nice too