HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel Brighton Hostel

33 Richmond Place, Brighton, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 56%

Location 84%

Safety 62%

Staff 67%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].



For 10+ people, group terms and conditions apply, please see groups details for more information or contact the hostel.

Group Booking:
Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice.
No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above.
If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 51%

Facilities 56%

Location 84%

Safety 62%

Staff 67%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location, 5 minutes from train station and next to laines. Staff were lovely, especially Sylvia who is so welcoming and a great laugh. Would recommend :)

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff were nice location is good definitely worth considering if hostelling in Brighton.

Disliked: I checked in and paid in full when I went to pay for another night the receptionist said I hadn't paid but I had, then I got back and someone else was in my bed space that I had paid for it was probably just an administrative error

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Close to city center and good for just sleeping the night.

Disliked: Unsafe - someone steal perfume, someone drink out Pepsi-cola (it was closed unopened bottle, stored in closed bag) - so other hostel customers were checking our bag content from closed bags.Room often was stinky because of dirty clothes (socks).There were problems with hostel staff as they do not control situation in rooms. Only one bed that were assigned was free. In other already was sleeping random guy - who did not give place for us. Staff said to choose another bed and said that will change information in system. Two days later - bags from that bed was dropped out and bed gaved to another customer - so nothing was changed in system.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Their were some nice guests at the hostel and a few stories to tell. The staff were patient with me on the first night as I couldn't pay the remainder of my balance as I'd lost my wallet. Thankfully it turned up and I had a good time.#;

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Near train station

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: location comfortable bunks

Disliked: dirty carpets poorley decorated

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing and that's being polite

Disliked: - the beds (if you can call them that) we're unclean- there was a poo on the floor in the bathroom- the gentlemen on reception was flash and rude. - it was loud- I felt unsafe- anyone could walk into the luggage room once collected the key.DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Dirty and smelly

Disliked: Poor cleanliness

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The people who work at this hostel are darlings. Very nice, very helpful. Downstairs the hostel is very clean, brightly lit, there is a storage space for luggage that is quite secure, the location is good, the price is fair... Though slightly more than some surrounding hostels.

Disliked: The female dorm... Was a hot mess. To say the least. It smelled like a literal vagina. It's warm, and suffocating, and smelly. Like an unwashed vagina. Not very pleasant. Maybe it was just an off day, but Jesus, I would not recommend it. Also, a woman came in drunk at 1:30 am, screaming and yelling, proceeded to climb up to the top bunk and pissed all over the woman that was below. If anything I would say this gives journeys hostel a higher rating than I would have given initially, because it was hilarious. Succinctly put. The staff are angels, the location is great, the female only room is like a page out of dante's depiction of a girls locker room. Do not sleep there.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Excellent choice for stag do where a bed and a bit of breakfast was our only priority. Close to station, pubs and seafront.

Disliked: hard to tell who was guest and who was staff

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability