HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel

Hostel | 33 Richmond Place, Brighton, England BN2 9NA

74.6% Overall Rating

175 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/11/2013)

"Many toilets and clean, free wifi, power outlets at each bunk bed, many seats in the common area, a communal computer, free storage for your luggage"

Read all Journeys Brighton Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Group Booking: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above. If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Atlantic Seafront
50.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 45 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
25.15 USD

Hostel 90.9% 572 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
25.15 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
16.60 USD

Hostel 83.8% 438 reviews
istanbulev guesthouse
41.91 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 22 reviews
The Old Palace Guest House
33.53 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 52 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
39.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.5% 3 reviews
Gullivers Hotel
49.46 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.3% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.6%

Overall Rating

175 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Brighton Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 200 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Galvin

07 September 2009 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful with some other travellers who were not too considerate.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Very clean hostel. Nice place to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is almost brand new.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was totally renovated, but in a beautiful old building and awesome location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stephen Woodward

10 August 2009 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and was nice to have breakfast included this made it very cheap. Staff were friendly and helpful.The large 18 bed room I was in was a bit to cramped, also there was not enough room on the floor for bags and not everyone used the lockers which were £1 per day and worth using (As plenty big enough). I was like a sauna at night and could do with air con in a room that packed (There wasn't enough room to site up in bed). I'd probably pay an extra few pound next time as a little more space would be worth while assuming the other rooms had more space. could do with showing a layout of the rooms. This probably wouldn't be my first choice probably why they still had room when I booked late.

Disliked: stephen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Harris-King

05 August 2009 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed friendly venue, good locatin in Brighton. Good to have Breakfast included. Also lots helpful & useful info in the reception area.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was a real friendly atmosphere and it served its purpose

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kathleen hamilton

03 August 2009 kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: all was ok with this hostel

Disliked: kathleen left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

03 August 2009

Liked: Location was good, staff members happy to help

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Simon Roworth

03 August 2009

Liked: This hostel is the pits. I booked a month in advance and requested a bottom bunk as I have a disability and am unable to climb the ladder to the top bunk. I received an email saying this had been arranged yet wheN I checked in I found this not to be the case and a young Swedish girl had to be moved for me to get a bottom bunk. When the girl arrived back at the hostel at 0145 the following morning she woke me up and argued with me for 15 mins that U was in her bunk. The following day when I arrived back at the hostel I found I had been moved yet again to another bunk which was not a bottom bunk. I made my situation clear at reception who tried to help but ended up checking out and going home. There is no Manager on site at the hostel, apparently he is based in London. Refunds cannot be given at the hostel, you have to write to Head Office in London for that to be arranged. All in all, an exceptionally bad experience. Will never return there or recommend the hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great people, great building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The individual curtains around the bunks meant you could get a good sleep and it felt much more private. Staff were friendly and helpful and the whole experience was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chloe Sharp

22 July 2009 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: First hostel stay but I'm impressed, staff are very helpful - will give you a map of the area, directions etc

Disliked: Chloe left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Francis Oak

22 July 2009 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: Cheaper than hotels but a bit dear for budjet travellers.

Disliked: Francis left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aimee MOrgan

20 July 2009 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nicely decorated. The dorms were the best I've slept in with indidual curtains round the bunks and private light. Breakfast was good and they don't seem to be too strict about times , just incase you over sleep. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Aimee left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean!!!now it's under construction..... so when I see of its appearance, I just worried. but it was SO cool and clean,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Journeys was a bright and friendly hostel and perfect for our stay in Brighton. Only a few minutes from the pier and the lanes. Even breakfast was included! I would definately stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was new and clean. The staff was very helpful, great location, between shopping district and the beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

camille short

09 July 2009 camille would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is still a work in progress (only opened last week) but i had a fantastic time. It was easy to meet people. The staff were friendly and so were the other guests.

Disliked: camille left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean rooms/showers, the best hostel in brighton!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luke Stuart

08 July 2009 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: It was a friendly, welcoming place and the breakfast was a real bonus.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Saltmarsh

29 June 2009 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms where easy to access, Location was good as it was only 5 mins from the station. I found that there was parking around the site, although it was limited and throughout an estate. Very helpful and freindly staff, breakfast was included.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.