We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel

Hostel | 33 Richmond Place, Brighton, England BN2 9NA

65.9% Overall Rating

185 out of 232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Berta Kreismontaite thinks…

"I felt welcome from the second I entered the Hostel. Staff seemed very nice and helped me to manage my accidentally booked 8 beds instead of 2. Location was also very convenient. In general terms,…"

Read all Journeys Brighton Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Group Booking: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above. If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Atlantic Seafront
56.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 51 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
22.74 USD

Hostel 95.9% 587 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.36 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kings Arms Hostel
9.75 USD

Hostel 87.0% 68 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
24.20 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
istanbulev guesthouse
35.73 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 23 reviews
The Old Palace Guest House
32.48 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 60 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
44.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

185 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Brighton Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 219 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and not far from the station.

Disliked: No air conditioning so it was stuffy and hot!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They didn't have record of my reservation so I had to stay in a room I didn't book. The showers were clean but the water was either burning hot or freezing cold. Otherwise pretty nice place to stay. No lockers in the large dorms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ka Pui Hui

25 June 2010 Ka Pui would recommend this property

Liked: me and my friends were having difficulty to sleep during the night, it was very hot in the room (only 1 fan for a 18 bed dorm), and some boys who shared the room with us was drunk and it was a disaster

Disliked: Ka Pui left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was wonderful experience in journey

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It needs bigger signs on the front saying what it is. It is in an obvious position but it took me a while to actually work out it was right in front of me. Speaking to others, they did the same. BUT nice hostel, very little space in rooms for everyone's luggage.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

11 June 2010

Liked: Proximity to centre is really the only good point about this hostel. It was very noisy from other hostel users coming and going at all hours. We were on the 3rd floor and it was VERY hot in our room when we stayed. There was no air con so forced to sleep with the window open. The hostel is on a busy road and we were frequently woken up by people shouting/arguing outside at street level and sirens/road noise. We paid almost £100 per night between 3 of us which is a total rip off for the room and facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, nice place, friendly staff, but just one small thing; shower is not good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Edward Orrock

10 June 2010

Liked: I would not recommend staying in the 18 bed dorms. Yes, its cheap and the hostel itself is fairly decent but with 18 people you can't be guaranteed more than 3 hours sleep a night. Otherwise was a fairly decent hostel. Probably wouldn't stay with them again however as it was a fair way from central areas of Brighton.

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne Chia

22 May 2010 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: Ridiculously clean toilets and bunks.

Disliked: Yvonne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giulia D'Apolito

18 May 2010 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: Hi!!I was in this hostel, and i can describe it, like a very nice place for stay , with a really interesting and friendly staff...:PThe room is very cleanly like everything inside the hostel.:))And the Hostel is very close to the city, so..you just need to start your feet..and walk... and enjoy Brighton...good trip...:D

Disliked: Giulia left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 May 2010

Liked: Friendly staff and great location. It was also a bit frustrating since you're expected to make your own bed and there were lots of sheets missing. This isn't the biggest deal for me, I just went to reception and got more sheets, but it was more of a problem when people were coming in at 2 or 3 in the morning, realised they didn't have sheets, then went back and forth and had to put the lights on and spend quite a bit of time figuring it all out while the rest of us were trying to sleep. So don't expect to arrive and fall into bed, you arrive and you've got work to do!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Gómez Aliaga

13 May 2010 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: don't fancy, thanks

Disliked: Miguel left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is in a good location, near the city centre. The breakfast was a little bit poor... the toilets were clean...but our room was really small for 6 people. In general is a good Hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Akhil Kommadath

04 May 2010 Akhil would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were large and good. Great value for money.

Disliked: Akhil left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they doubled booked us and gave us our 2 nights for free and another free night for in the future if we wanted to come back. Very friendly staff and fun people. The hostel is like a pub at night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 April 2010

Liked: Cheap as chips and you know it. Everything felt really cramped, even as someone who's used to staying in hostels. It almost seems like the voyagers army barracks, with beds aligned in a room the shape of a corridor. The kitchen is also really tiny and even the downstairs social space fills up fast and doesn't feel like a place you can just chill. Expect to pay an addition £1 for a locker, £1 for luggage storage, and there's a 60p charge for using your card at check-in. Breakfast is cereal and toast, tea and coffee, pretty standard. The location is really fantastic, right near the pier, the pavilion, the lanes, buses and the train station. Brighton is also awesome. Check out the cheap Mexican food place across the street called Los Taquitos-- they are friendly and cheap and yum!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

28 March 2010

Liked: The location was quite good - just a few minutes away from a nice market with little shops and food stores ...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar downstairs and curtains on the beds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything is great except for some inconsiderate room mates who doesn't care if they are disturbing other people!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location clean freindly very helpful staff, First time visitng Brighton wpould reccommend to others ans also will return

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked it because it was very modern and clean and very nice atmosphere but I need to say that there is a problem of organisation somehow, regarding the beds ...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Friederike Thieme

18 February 2010 Friederike would recommend this property

Liked: The area downstairs was really fun, the interior is also good.

Disliked: Friederike left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dean pulcella

09 February 2010 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: I it fine for what i needed.

Disliked: Dean left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price was very chap for Brighton

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna George

07 February 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: everything was quite good.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.