HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel Brighton

Hostel

33 Richmond Place, Brighton, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 49%

Facilities 54%

Location 83%

Safety 61%

Staff 67%

Value 60%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].



For 10+ people, group terms and conditions apply, please see groups details for more information or contact the hostel.

Group Booking:
Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice.
No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above.
If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 49%

Facilities 54%

Location 83%

Safety 61%

Staff 67%

Value 60%

Showing 51-51 of 51 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the common room, the cleanliness, that there where so many toilets on differnet floos

Disliked: On the most toilets was no toilet paper or it was not reachable/ blockaded

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked that al the beds had a personal light and power point and curtain.

Disliked: I stayed on new years eve and was a little disappointed that the hostel had not organised any pre party events. They could not even make any recommendation of where to go.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The place is well situated in brightonGood price good place

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: location, value for money, social life, good showers

Disliked: internet does not work properly, no lift , have to climb 50 steps to reach 3rd floor

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly staff and great location

Disliked: I didn't like the triple beds. They were quite uncomfortable and the bed on top was a nightmare.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and was easy to find. Beds were comfortable and rooms were safe and secure.

Disliked: The shower I went in was a bit odd. You had to keep pushing the tap in to keep it going every 15 seconds or so. Other than that they were fine.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is ok for a few nights with decent showers and washrooms. The bedrooms are a bit small though and a little stuffy. Matresses are ok. Good location.

Disliked: There was confusion over the bunks despite them being clearly marked. Came back late one night to find someone had taken by bunk and moved my belongings. Also had a few personal items stolen, so don't leave anything unlocked - there is also a free luggage room (though anyone can ask for the key).

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel is probably one of the best I've ever been in; wi-fi is availible even in the rooms, everything is clean and people are really friendly there. I've enjoyed really good time there.

Disliked: I think there weren't any lockers in the room, but it wasn't huge problem for me, although for someone else it could be.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: I really liked how welcome I was made to feel, the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. They made sure that all travelers were made to feel included and we all went out as a large group which was more than I had expected.

Disliked: The only thing that I disliked about this property was that the kitchen facility was small.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We were given a very warm welcome by the staff and they were very chatty and approachable throughout our stay. We liked the modern decor and the ease of using the facilities such as the kitchen, and the common room felt open and accessible. The location was good fro us - not too far from the seafront as well as being easy to find from the train station and only a short walk to the Lanes. We also liked how there was no curfew, as we stayed out late for many of the nights we were there, and the ones when we stayed in, we were not disturbed by any guests coming in and had no trouble sleeping!

Disliked: On the website, we were informed there would be luggage lockers in the room. From the shelving that was between the bunkbeds, you could see that they once had locker doors on. This would have been desirable, as the luggage room could have been accessed by any of the number of guests staying there, and although we hired an individual locker, it was small and effort to get to the basement to access it. Also, the day before we left, the coded door handle on our room was broken/not functioning so anyone could have walked in. The rooms were baking hot throughout the day, but we chose not to spend much time in them anyway. The common room was comfortable enough to be in during the day. The shower facilities could do with a bit of work - there isn't much room to get in through the doors of the cubicles and once you're in, not much space to get dressed. We ended up getting ready in the bathroom/toilets each time.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability